12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress?

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I'm trying to understand how people continually used the fact comerford and mcgeeney got bans so Connolly had to for to be consistent but yet Philly McMahon got a ban for verbal abuse and none of the people seem to feel the same thing should apply for Brendan Murphy or not even a whimper in the media about it."
Can you post a link to what exactly Murphy said to be classed as "verbal abuse"?

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 600 - 09/06/2017 07:53:28    1997182

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Can you post a link to what exactly Murphy said to be classed as "verbal abuse"?"
Were you at the game? Not sure it was clear on TV but it was clear to most who were there that he was verbally abusing and pointing his finger at the official as he left the pitch. When Philly was banned there was no information as to what he exactly said just that he was banned due to "abusive language towards a referee". Talk all you want about consistency but it has to work both ways.

gingerdub (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 09/06/2017 10:00:13    1997207

I think the Dubs are going to appeal but it probably would be in their own interests to let it go and let him see out his suspension quietly.
Paul Galvin got a 6 month ban in 2008, on his own insistence the Kerry County Board kept appealing it and finally got it down to 3 months but ultimately he was never at the required fitness or standard to come on in that final against Tyrone. For Kerry's sake it would have been better if the 6 month ban stuck.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 09/06/2017 10:52:45    1997234

Replying To woops:  "I think the Dubs are going to appeal but it probably would be in their own interests to let it go and let him see out his suspension quietly.
Paul Galvin got a 6 month ban in 2008, on his own insistence the Kerry County Board kept appealing it and finally got it down to 3 months but ultimately he was never at the required fitness or standard to come on in that final against Tyrone. For Kerry's sake it would have been better if the 6 month ban stuck."
The decision will be Connolly's

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 09/06/2017 11:35:25    1997246

The ban at this stage is only proposed its an administration exercise, the next stage is a verbal hearing if Dermo decides to take that route, im not sure what discretion their is to even reduce the ban or is it just a blanket 12 weeks.

The appeal stage is after hearing if the ban upheld and Connolly chooses to go down that route.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/06/2017 12:22:14    1997273

Fair play to Diarmuid Connolly, took it on the chin like a man,I respect that. hopefully he'll come back as good as ever.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2759 - 10/06/2017 00:15:19    1997478

Replying To TheUsername:  "The ban at this stage is only proposed its an administration exercise, the next stage is a verbal hearing if Dermo decides to take that route, im not sure what discretion their is to even reduce the ban or is it just a blanket 12 weeks.

The appeal stage is after hearing if the ban upheld and Connolly chooses to go down that route."
Connolly has decided NOT to appeal his 12 week ban.

Now the fun starts .... Prepare for a Summer full of suspensions now that the GAA have opened a can of worms.

Not sour grapes at all here but curious why was Murphy of Carlow not given a suspension for his verbal abuse of the match officials whilst Philly was suspended .??

Consistency must be applied going forward otherwise we are wasting our time. ...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 10/06/2017 02:44:56    1997488

Can of worms now opened!

Now the CCCC can reverse the decisions of officials. Now every decision can be overturned.

Expecting a Summer of bans now. And you know what, its what you all asked for.

Connolly got burned, but dont whine when it happens to other county stars.

Cant wait for the "hes not that type of player brigade".

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 10/06/2017 16:13:26    1997602

Replying To JayP:  "Can of worms now opened!

Now the CCCC can reverse the decisions of officials. Now every decision can be overturned.

Cant wait for the "hes not that type of player brigade"."
Fair play to Diarmuid Connolly. He knew he broke the rules and he's taking his punishment. He could be back as a better player, a more responsible player come all-ireland semi final stage.

Too many posters on here see incidents through county tinted glasses.

A good day for officials and those in the gaa who aspire to officiate. Diarmuid was wound up and you can't have officials feeling intimidated. If Brendan Murphy gets a ban fair enough too.

It's high tide we stopped paying lip service to discipline in our games and actually implemented consistent rules.

Diarmuid Connolly will turn 30 this year so it'll do Dublin no harm to blood the large number of talented forwards they have over the next few matches.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/06/2017 16:39:51    1997606

I must be watching different games to you because I rarely if ever see the players touch a ref.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 600 - 10/06/2017 16:40:28    1997607

Can of worms, can of worms. Sensationalist oul talk. The gaa season will progress as it does every year with the same number of controversies, good games, poor games, heroes and villains.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/06/2017 16:41:52    1997608

Cans of worms are easily eradicated. They move pretty slowly and can be controlled with most pesticides. It's not a lab experiment gone wrong where a mutant virus has been created that could wipe out mankind!

Outdated cliché of a phrase.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/06/2017 16:45:08    1997609

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I must be watching different games to you because I rarely if ever see the players touch a ref."
I seen it today when the wexford player got yellow carded in the hurling he out his hand on the ref.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2017 21:08:22    1997677

It is amazing that within a few days of this happening there were over 600 posts on here about it - many explaining why it was so important for the game that Connolly serve a ban but why he wouldn't due to Dublin bias. Since it has been confirmed that he would miss 12 weeks there have only been a handful of posts. Cluxton will need to be very careful in the games ahead - I imagine every move he makes will be closely monitored by these same people to ensure he is fully compliant with the rule book.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 10/06/2017 21:08:58    1997679

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I seen it today when the wexford player got yellow carded in the hurling he out his hand on the ref."
Can you tell which player? I'd be genuinely interested in having a look again to see what went on. And I hope it's not some lad about to be booked toddling over to the ref with a meek look on his face puts his hand on his shoulder and saying "sure look ref you can't book me for that every time I breath in that lads direction he's tumbling like a sack of spuds and sure me granny was only saying last night you were the best ref in Ireland and are a shoe in for reffing the All Ireland final" yellow card produced. Couple of pats on the shoulder to the ref. Game carries on. If that's your comparison this argument is finished. But if it's genuine I'd love to have a look.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 600 - 10/06/2017 22:48:34    1997723

Perhaps it's best this thread is put to bed.

What's done is done now and hopefully Connolly will learn his lesson his time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/06/2017 23:10:56    1997729

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I seen it today when the wexford player got yellow carded in the hurling he out his hand on the ref."
Ah would you go away out of that. Surely even you can understand it's the manner in which it occurs not solely the fact of it occurring.

Did the Wexford player confront the ref aggressively, firmly place his outstretched hand on the refs chest with the implied threat of pushing him over and did the Wexford player jab two fingers aggressively and threateningly close to the refs face? Answer is no on all counts.

Your comparison is completely and utterly bogus. You've made a fool of yourself by making it.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 10/06/2017 23:33:45    1997738

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Ah would you go away out of that. Surely even you can understand it's the manner in which it occurs not solely the fact of it occurring.

Did the Wexford player confront the ref aggressively, firmly place his outstretched hand on the refs chest with the implied threat of pushing him over and did the Wexford player jab two fingers aggressively and threateningly close to the refs face? Answer is no on all counts.

Your comparison is completely and utterly bogus. You've made a fool of yourself by making it."
Did he put a hand on the ref? 12 week ban. Its the rules.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 11/06/2017 02:04:01    1997768

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Can you tell which player? I'd be genuinely interested in having a look again to see what went on. And I hope it's not some lad about to be booked toddling over to the ref with a meek look on his face puts his hand on his shoulder and saying "sure look ref you can't book me for that every time I breath in that lads direction he's tumbling like a sack of spuds and sure me granny was only saying last night you were the best ref in Ireland and are a shoe in for reffing the All Ireland final" yellow card produced. Couple of pats on the shoulder to the ref. Game carries on. If that's your comparison this argument is finished. But if it's genuine I'd love to have a look."
Doesnt matter about any decision. Now the CCCC overrule any decision? Was it wide! Replay. Penalty, no.......it should have been. Joe Sheridan......Louth win!

Television match officials are the only way forward?

Yes.......Although we seen it and done fuck all........Dermo assualted the linesman?

Even you anti Dubs can see where this is all going!

The GAA cant defend this........the ref thought Connolly done nothing. Media thought he did. Ref wrote it up as social media went wild in his match report. Every decision in a gams can be reviewed now. Wow. Can of worms.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 11/06/2017 02:13:46    1997771

Only 11 weeks to go now. :)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/06/2017 11:34:27    1997835