12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress?

Joe Brolly is the legal eagle here, or do we have more in the house? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 07/06/2017 19:33:27    1996633

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "I would say Jim Gavin is fuming deep down.

As the lads on OFF the Ball said it is a big distraction for the entire group.

Now Dublin are a superb side so it may not hurt them too much- time will tell.

I hope Michael Murphy gets protected next week v Tyrone. Still though, the Glenswilly man usually doesnt look his cool - a top pro."
Let's hope Sean Cavanagh does as well. Fair's fair and all that.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/06/2017 21:23:11    1996678

The fact that this thread is so long surely states that the players, management, fans and pundits can only guess at what way the authorities will view a certain situation. It should be clear and rubber stamped as regards the punishment for every incident. Only one appeal should be allowed and if that fails the punishment should be doubled.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 651 - 07/06/2017 23:13:24    1996721

You can't lay a finger on a match official, now it looked soft enough but sadly Connolly did and he has to get the 12 week ban, if the GAA decide to shorten or remove the ban this time then they are making a mockery of the rules and the game, officials have to be protected, remember a few years ago at a I think it was a Connacht club match an umpire was struck by somebody, situations like that can't happen, just look at what the refs and the CCCC have done in the past when a mêlée happens near the end of the game, ref shows a few yellow cards and that's that, now you have this off the ball crap and mêlée at loads of games, just look at the Down Armagh game last Sunday, at least 2 should have seen a red card after the black card. The GAA have to tackle these incidents and put a halt to it once and for all

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 07/06/2017 23:30:22    1996730

At this stage it is time to end the Free DC campaign.

Let him serve his ban, however severe if may seem to be.

If nothing else it will keep all the anti Dubs a little quiet for 3months..
It was unbelievable the amount of pundits and fans who roared from the roofstops DC has to get a 12 week ban, but for no other reason than to see him and the Dublin team suffer and have a handicap for 3 months and possibly for the benefit of their own county.
What goes around comes around lads.... Be careful what you wish for.....

But if Philly gets a 1 match ban for verbal abuse and DC gets 3 months for this, then by hell the GAA better enforce their new strict enforcement of the rules across the board going forward, and that includes Murphy of Carlow for his verbal abuse after receiving his deserved 2nd yellow card v Dublin.
Surely he too deserves a 1 match ban.
If not, then the rules are not worth the paper the are wrote on...
And the next time another player steps out of line, he has to be made an example of also.

But make no mistake, if you poke the bear be prepared for a response... JG will have a siege mentality re-enforced this year because of all this.
I fully expect a more focussed driven and determined Dublin team this year as a result. No more mister nice guy Jim.....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 08/06/2017 08:21:11    1996758

At the end if the day what do we want?

The rules are there, if they're broke then we should punish as per the rules. Surely people have had enough of the farcical situation where people are getting off on technicalities within the Gaa. No it wasn't a serious offence but an offence nonetheless.

Maybe Connolly will finally learn and move on, he is one the best footballers I've ever seen but has on numerous occasions overstepped the line yet ended up not being punished as per the rules. Basically he has previous and has previously gotten away with it. That itself leads to a situation where he actually doesn't need to learn from his mistakes because people are constantly making excuses for him and ends up getting away with it anyway.

Maybe this one time if Connolly does get punished he might actually learn from his mistake for a change. Surely that's in the greater interest of both the player and Dublin alike. Chances are Dublin will still be in the championship when he returns and after finally serving a deserved suspension it might dawn on him that he isn't going to get away with it every time.

A diarmuid Connolly fresh and finally actually focussed on football after realising he isn't always going to get away with indiscretions is surely something that bodes better for Dublin in the long term.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1353 - 08/06/2017 09:14:45    1996778

Replying To tearintom:  "At the end if the day what do we want?

The rules are there, if they're broke then we should punish as per the rules. Surely people have had enough of the farcical situation where people are getting off on technicalities within the Gaa. No it wasn't a serious offence but an offence nonetheless.

Maybe Connolly will finally learn and move on, he is one the best footballers I've ever seen but has on numerous occasions overstepped the line yet ended up not being punished as per the rules. Basically he has previous and has previously gotten away with it. That itself leads to a situation where he actually doesn't need to learn from his mistakes because people are constantly making excuses for him and ends up getting away with it anyway.

Maybe this one time if Connolly does get punished he might actually learn from his mistake for a change. Surely that's in the greater interest of both the player and Dublin alike. Chances are Dublin will still be in the championship when he returns and after finally serving a deserved suspension it might dawn on him that he isn't going to get away with it every time.

A diarmuid Connolly fresh and finally actually focussed on football after realising he isn't always going to get away with indiscretions is surely something that bodes better for Dublin in the long term."
The rules are the rules , now read the previous post.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/06/2017 10:20:00    1996800

What's the difference between targeting and playing on the edge?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 08/06/2017 10:30:30    1996809

After looking at the incident again a fee times I have to agree that Connolly did wrong to poke the linesman who also seemed to take a step backwards but can any fair minded sports person seriously say the punishment fits the crime.He deserves some kind of ban for his rush of blood to the head but 12 weeks almost the whole season is way over the top when you see some of the stuff that goes unpunished

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 08/06/2017 12:51:59    1996893

Replying To dubarra:  "After looking at the incident again a fee times I have to agree that Connolly did wrong to poke the linesman who also seemed to take a step backwards but can any fair minded sports person seriously say the punishment fits the crime.He deserves some kind of ban for his rush of blood to the head but 12 weeks almost the whole season is way over the top when you see some of the stuff that goes unpunished"
But what ban? That's the question

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/06/2017 14:16:15    1996945

Replying To royaldunne:  "But what ban? That's the question"
The length of the ban is as much about sending out a message that players cannot under any circumstances lay hands on officials as it is a punishment.

If players get the notion that officials are fair play then the day is not far away when we wont have any officials.

Yes, it's unfortunate for Connolly, there wasn't much in it, but the rule is there in black & white & he broke it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/06/2017 15:02:14    1996977

Replying To dubarra:  "After looking at the incident again a fee times I have to agree that Connolly did wrong to poke the linesman who also seemed to take a step backwards but can any fair minded sports person seriously say the punishment fits the crime.He deserves some kind of ban for his rush of blood to the head but 12 weeks almost the whole season is way over the top when you see some of the stuff that goes unpunished"
I think it's used as a deterrent to be honest, I mean there has to be a strong message sent out that it will not be tolerated.

Paul Galvin got 6 months for knocking a notebook out of refs hand and rightly so.

Paul was our best player and our captain at the time as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/06/2017 15:31:24    1996984

Diarmuid Connolly is guilty end of, why does Joe Brolly want to get him off? The evidence shows he done it.

Just read that Evan Comerford is considering switching to playing soccer due to his ban, what a loss if he does

His first sending off, no evidence and no one willing to help him, yet evidence shows Connolly putting his hands on the lines man, he's in trouble numerous times yet everyone is defending him

WW9 (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 08/06/2017 18:20:53    1997054

Replying To WW9:  "Diarmuid Connolly is guilty end of, why does Joe Brolly want to get him off? The evidence shows he done it.

Just read that Evan Comerford is considering switching to playing soccer due to his ban, what a loss if he does

His first sending off, no evidence and no one willing to help him, yet evidence shows Connolly putting his hands on the lines man, he's in trouble numerous times yet everyone is defending him"
I think at this stage it is not DC, the few are defending but the severity of the ban and inconsistencies with the enforcement of the rules.

Commerford is a good example of that also - yet Murphy of Carlow suffers no suspension for his verbal abuse.

If the GAA are gonna take a hard line on this that is fine by me, but enforce it unilaterally.
Plus, as I have stated - 3 months is a bit severe for a lower end offence of abuse of match officials especially when both linesman and ref do not act on it during the game itself.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 08/06/2017 18:47:34    1997062

its amazing all those saying connolly is gulity end of
yet none of them are calling for brendan murphy to be suspended for verbally abusing the same linesman
isnt he guilty too? or is it because he wasnt wearing a blue jersey ye dont want to see him get his suspension?
if rules are rules then surely ye must feel he has to be punished aswell?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/06/2017 19:26:49    1997077

Replying To royaldunne:  "But what ban? That's the question"
Ah one match ban I think would be fair.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 08/06/2017 19:48:29    1997081

Replying To WW9:  "Diarmuid Connolly is guilty end of, why does Joe Brolly want to get him off? The evidence shows he done it.

His first sending off, no evidence and no one willing to help him, yet evidence shows Connolly putting his hands on the lines man, he's in trouble numerous times yet everyone is defending him"
Evidence also shows Brendan Murphy verbally abusing the same linesman
I don't hear you calling for him to get the one match ban that goes for doing that?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/06/2017 19:50:06    1997082

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Evidence also shows Brendan Murphy verbally abusing the same linesman
I don't hear you calling for him to get the one match ban that goes for doing that?"
Just wondering, yes or no answer, if Murphy got the one game ban you are calling for would you then accept the Connolly ban? I only ask because you keep equating the two.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 08/06/2017 21:22:58    1997105

Replying To kildare73:  "Just wondering, yes or no answer, if Murphy got the one game ban you are calling for would you then accept the Connolly ban? I only ask because you keep equating the two."
I'm trying to understand how people continually used the fact comerford and mcgeeney got bans so Connolly had to for to be consistent but yet Philly McMahon got a ban for verbal abuse and none of the people seem to feel the same thing should apply for Brendan Murphy or not even a whimper in the media about it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/06/2017 22:28:33    1997135

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I'm trying to understand how people continually used the fact comerford and mcgeeney got bans so Connolly had to for to be consistent but yet Philly McMahon got a ban for verbal abuse and none of the people seem to feel the same thing should apply for Brendan Murphy or not even a whimper in the media about it."
The media didn't go ott with the one match ban for Philly, a lot of people were wondering why he didn't play on sat night so its not being blown out of proportion,
Regarding Dc he is guilt of the rule he broke i for one think its a shame not seeing him play but i ref games and you can't do what he did regardless of of it was a push/ shove or put hand on linesman he has done wrong, there is no trial by media here he's just guilt of what he did full stop.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 08/06/2017 23:38:56    1997162