12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress?

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Thatd fine if it were within the rules to change your mind after the game
But it's not within the rules to do that is the point im making.
a ref cannot take no action on a strike offence in a game and then after the match decide you know what I think I now feel he deserves a red card for that and proceed to get him suspended.
it's not how it works"
I think that is the nub of it for me.

Not about the incident or the suspension according to the rules. But was all due process observed? Im not so sure it has been, reports of a debrief post game before the completion of the match report, smacks of aligning stories and self defense tactics by the officials with the knowledge that they have failed to apply the rules in their witnessing of the game. also a reaction to the pending media frenzy and their own part in it.

If due process has been gerrymandered because of a mistake by the officials to apply the rules during the game, then that needs to be challenged for the good of the game. Regardless if the suspension sticks or not.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/06/2017 11:46:08    1996348

The biggest danger for All-Ireland winning teams who have been at the top of the tree for a few years is that they lose their intensity in training and performances drop. After this fiasco, and Philly getting suspended for something we see very often but rarely punished, I'd imagine training in the Dublin camp will pick up a gear in the coming weeks.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/06/2017 11:55:41    1996358

Far more serious? Do you even remember it? Players from both sides were involved in pushing and shoving and Walsh had his hurl extended and it hit the ref. It isn't even relevant when it comes to this thread. How in gods name you think it was a very serious incident is beyond me? In that case you should go through every hurling game and pick out all the incidents where a player purposely digs his marker into the ribs with the hurl, which is a strike which should lead to a ban. Picking out the odd incident and trying to say Connolly is being treated unfairly is just laughable.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts:5071 - 07/06/2017 11:37:58

I do indeed remember the Walsh incident. Do you?

Tommy Walsh came into a group of players (ref included) swinging his hurl. He wasn't in control of himself and he injured the referee. You rarely see a player on a hurling pitch out of control of his hurl like that. And yes hurlers should be banned for striking opponents/referees imo. You disagree? Why?

That's far more serious than what Connolly did (who still as I say deserves his ban).

I don't see where I stated that I think Connolly is being treated unfairly? Could you direct me to the post so I can clarify as it isn't my intention to put across that point of view.

I just don't think that people dismissing the Walsh incident as something frivolous is correct. That type of view point is why there are a lot of people of the opinion that what Connolly did was harmless.

If you think that Connolly deserves his ban then it is impossible to say that Walsh should not have been suspended following a far worse incident. And to be clear just because Walsh got away with it doesn't mean that I think Connolly should get away with it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2017 12:43:32    1996387

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Do not appeal

Let it go, he will be back for the semi
Imagine the reception he will get and the buzz for his return come August
The Blue Panther returns

We will make a semi without you DC, come back fresh, ready and with a clean slate!!

God help who ever we meet that day, the genius will tear them apart"
Clean slate........if he gets a black card he is out of the final. It really wouldn't surprise me if he came on as a sub with 20 mins to go and gets a black card 10 mins later. love watching the guy play but he is a liability.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/06/2017 12:43:47    1996388

Replying To MesAmis:  "Far more serious? Do you even remember it? Players from both sides were involved in pushing and shoving and Walsh had his hurl extended and it hit the ref. It isn't even relevant when it comes to this thread. How in gods name you think it was a very serious incident is beyond me? In that case you should go through every hurling game and pick out all the incidents where a player purposely digs his marker into the ribs with the hurl, which is a strike which should lead to a ban. Picking out the odd incident and trying to say Connolly is being treated unfairly is just laughable.

Tommy Walsh came into a group of players (ref included) swinging his hurl. He wasn't in control of himself and he injured the referee. You rarely see a player on a hurling pitch out of control of his hurl like that. And yes hurlers should be banned for striking opponents/referees imo. You disagree? Why?

That's far more serious than what Connolly did (who still as I say deserves his ban).

I don't see where I stated that I think Connolly is being treated unfairly? Could you direct me to the post so I can clarify as it isn't my intention to put across that point of view.

I just don't think that people dismissing the Walsh incident as something frivolous is correct. That type of view point is why there are a lot of people of the opinion that what Connolly did was harmless.

If you think that Connolly deserves his ban then it is impossible to say that Walsh should not have been suspended following a far worse incident. And to be clear just because Walsh got away with it doesn't mean that I think Connolly should get away with it."
Missing the point.......,.again. If we were to go through every game in the last 10 years i'm sure there have been loads of incidents missed. Keep banging on about the Walsh incident, totally different to what we are discussing. Pointless. Bring up recent incidents where a player abused and handled a linesman if you want, at least we can then compare like for like.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 07/06/2017 13:04:38    1996418

Replying To TheFlaker:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Jesus lads Tommy Walsh incident being used here as a reference, any more straws to clutch at?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts:5068 - 07/06/2017 09:15:25

You're right of course. The two incidents are poles apart. The Walsh incidents which was not dealt with was far more serious.

I think Connolly deserves his ban by the way but the way in which the two incidents were dealt with are interesting in that they highlight the inconsistencies at the heart of GAA disciplinary proceedings. Inconsistencies that all counties fall foul of at times as well as benefiting from time to time."
Far more serious? Do you even remember it? Players from both sides were involved in pushing and shoving and Walsh had his hurl extended and it hit the ref. It isn't even relevant when it comes to this thread. How in gods name you think it was a very serious incident is beyond me? In that case you should go through every hurling game and pick out all the incidents where a player purposely digs his marker into the ribs with the hurl, which is a strike which should lead to a ban. Picking out the odd incident and trying to say Connolly is being treated unfairly is just laughable."
Your actually helping Connolly case here by saying if Walsh was to get a suspension you would in turn need to go through all games where refs have been touched
Hello isn't that the same thing here
Connolly got the suspension when you could go through all games and see similiar instances???
Philly McMahon got suspended for verbal abuse in league final to an official
Brendan Murphy committed that same offence last Saturday but so far there hasn't been any calls for him to be slapped with the same sanction.
It you hang on about applying rules equally to all counties why aren't you looking for this to be enforced on Murphy ???

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 13:05:24    1996419

Replying To MesAmis:  "Far more serious? Do you even remember it? Players from both sides were involved in pushing and shoving and Walsh had his hurl extended and it hit the ref. It isn't even relevant when it comes to this thread. How in gods name you think it was a very serious incident is beyond me? In that case you should go through every hurling game and pick out all the incidents where a player purposely digs his marker into the ribs with the hurl, which is a strike which should lead to a ban. Picking out the odd incident and trying to say Connolly is being treated unfairly is just laughable.

If you think that Connolly deserves his ban then it is impossible to say that Walsh should not have been suspended following a far worse incident. And to be clear just because Walsh got away with it doesn't mean that I think Connolly should get away with it."
"Tommy Walsh came into a group of players (ref included) swinging his hurl."

You obviously don't remember the incident as well as you think you do, if that's your recollection of it.

Walsh was already in the group of players. It was the ref who came into the group, trying to break it up. Walsh didn't intentionally make aggressive contact with a match official, unlike Connolly. Big difference. Whether players should be sent off or banned for unintentional contact with match officials is another debate, but to compare the two incidents is a complete false equivalence, and you know it.

I'm sure a mitigating factor in Connolly's ban is his appalling disciplinary record, both on and off the field. It cannot exactly be said that his latest indiscretion is "out of character" unfortunately.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/06/2017 13:26:23    1996430

Missing the point.......,.again. If we were to go through every game in the last 10 years i'm sure there have been loads of incidents missed. Keep banging on about the Walsh incident, totally different to what we are discussing. Pointless. Bring up recent incidents where a player abused and handled a linesman if you want, at least we can then compare like for like.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts:5073 - 07/06/2017 13:04:38

I don't understand the point I'm missing.

The Walsh incident highlights how the GAA has dealt with an issue involving a player and an official. At the time there was no furore so therefore it was passed off as harmless. Some people are trying to do the same with the Connolly incident and pass it off as harmless. I disagree with that. It is important to take a stand against those who treat the officials badly.

I didn't bring up the Walsh incident, I responded to someone who belittled it and tried to pass it off as harmless. Again my point being that incidents like the Walsh and Connolly ones should not be passed off as harmless imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2017 13:37:57    1996436

You obviously don't remember the incident as well as you think you do, if that's your recollection of it.

Walsh was already in the group of players. It was the ref who came into the group, trying to break it up. Walsh didn't intentionally make aggressive contact with a match official, unlike Connolly. Big difference. Whether players should be sent off or banned for unintentional contact with match officials is another debate, but to compare the two incidents is a complete false equivalence, and you know it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts:479 - 07/06/2017 13:26:23

Whether or not Walsh was already in the group or came into the group is irrelevant. Walsh may not have intended to hit the referee however what was he doing with his hurl? He wasn't in control and thus he unintentionally had a physical altercation with the ref. Injuring the referee in the process. Walsh, along with Connolly, had a physical altercation with a match official. How they did it was different, I never said it was the same, but they still both did it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2017 13:42:43    1996441

Forget what has happened in the past. For me it comes down fo what type of an association do we want to be involved in????

DC is one of the most recognisable faces and names for the younger members of our association. My young boy kicks ball most days, and loves to dream of being a Michael Murphy, DC or a Sean Cavanagh. He sees something then copies it. Good and bad!

Players have a responsibility to play the game in the right ethos, IMO. Laying a hand on an official is out of order end off.

I would love if Jim Gavin, (who I might add makes a point of telling us in most interviews that Dublin play the game the right way), would come out and say that DC was wrong. He deserves a punishment and we will stand by what is decided by the CCCC.

We are on a slippery slope. A line needs to be drawn in the sand by all of us, we should never accept this type of behaviour.

Unfortunately we all know what is most likely to happen!!!

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 07/06/2017 14:21:11    1996472

Deserved every bit of the 12 weeks. When you break the rules, you can't complain when you get punished, irrespective of what anyone else got or didn't get.

TomReilly (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 07/06/2017 14:34:13    1996484

Replying To DLlegends:  "Forget what has happened in the past. For me it comes down fo what type of an association do we want to be involved in????

DC is one of the most recognisable faces and names for the younger members of our association. My young boy kicks ball most days, and loves to dream of being a Michael Murphy, DC or a Sean Cavanagh. He sees something then copies it. Good and bad!

Players have a responsibility to play the game in the right ethos, IMO. Laying a hand on an official is out of order end off.

I would love if Jim Gavin, (who I might add makes a point of telling us in most interviews that Dublin play the game the right way), would come out and say that DC was wrong. He deserves a punishment and we will stand by what is decided by the CCCC.

We are on a slippery slope. A line needs to be drawn in the sand by all of us, we should never accept this type of behaviour.

Unfortunately we all know what is most likely to happen!!!"
So should Brendan Murphy come out and hold his hands up and take a ban for verbally abusing the same official in the same game?
Is he not setting a bad example for kids in Carlow who look up to him?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 15:04:21    1996508

Replying To JayP:  "12 weeks. Typical GAA witch hunt.

A certain Mayo player grabbed a ref by the face in last years AI Final. Nothing mentioned about that at the time.

We could say GAA rules seem to only get enforced after Spillane and Co. on Sunday nights!"
Bullsh*t. No matter who you are or where you come from if you lay hands on an official and point fingers in his face it's intimidation and deserves a ban. It has nothing to do with a players past behaviour, good or bad.

Officials need protection, they get enough abuse as it is.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/06/2017 15:08:11    1996513

Replying To DLlegends:  "Forget what has happened in the past. For me it comes down fo what type of an association do we want to be involved in????

Unfortunately we all know what is most likely to happen!!!"
I agree with all of that. It was the very same view I had as when a player infamously dived and feigned injury resulting in an opponent being sent off 2 years ago in an AI quarter final. Funnily enough some of those most keen for Connolly to now accept his ban were also some of those who complained hardest about unfair treatment, media witch hunts and players being unfairly singled out back then. There are far too many talking out of both sides of their mouths when it comes to discipline in the GAA.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/06/2017 15:08:45    1996515

Replying To TomReilly:  "Deserved every bit of the 12 weeks. When you break the rules, you can't complain when you get punished, irrespective of what anyone else got or didn't get."
excellent first post , well done sir !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2017 15:17:20    1996522

Replying To superbluedub:  "excellent first post , well done sir !!"
No doubt we'll be seeing a lot more of TomReilly, a bit like football_man from Leitrim with a similar thunderous debut!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 07/06/2017 15:25:34    1996528

Replying To Soma:  "I agree with all of that. It was the very same view I had as when a player infamously dived and feigned injury resulting in an opponent being sent off 2 years ago in an AI quarter final. Funnily enough some of those most keen for Connolly to now accept his ban were also some of those who complained hardest about unfair treatment, media witch hunts and players being unfairly singled out back then. There are far too many talking out of both sides of their mouths when it comes to discipline in the GAA."
Couldn't agree more but parochial bias has always been the food of choice here ,there is a new medical condition just been diagnosed called Hoganstand Dementia

Root causes""" county in a spot of bother the type you don't normally defend ""
Symptoms """ Constant shifting of position and posting with Trump like confidence""
prognosis """ Most likely to last until the end of September """

Its been noted Hoganstand Dementia has no known cure and is likely to re-occur around late spring early summer.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/06/2017 15:31:56    1996531

Replying To Laois76:  "Bullsh*t. No matter who you are or where you come from if you lay hands on an official and point fingers in his face it's intimidation and deserves a ban. It has nothing to do with a players past behaviour, good or bad.

Officials need protection, they get enough abuse as it is."
As another poster pointed out. As Brendan Murphy left the field, he verbally abused the linesman in a threatening manner. Philly McMahon was serving a one game ban last Saturday for the same offence.

Why did the CCCC not give Brendan Murphy a one game ban on Tuesday?

Witch hunt.... Well if applying the rules when you feel like it isn't a witch hunt then what is? So Murphy is from Carlow and McMahon is from Dublin, but Murphy gets no ban? How does that work?

The match officials ignored Connollys "push" during the game. The ref seen it, the linesman was "pushed" yet they didn't do anything about it? Was the linesman too traumatized to report it until after the match?

We all know they cobbled together their story after getting told it was all over social media and TV that Connolly had pushed the linesman. They added it to the match report to cover their own backsides.

The media seen it was Connolly and wet themselves with delight. Not a word that Murphy had verbally abused the linesman. But who cares, we have something juicy to talk about, we have a Dub, and more importantly it's "Dermo". Let's go to town on this!!!

Pat, what do you think of Brendan O'Sullivan, doping and the lack of clarity in this case. "We'll all I can say is Brendan is a lovely fella who would never do anything knowingly to enhance his performance"

Pat, what do you think of Connolly pushing incident. "Well it's a clear 12 week ban. He's a gouger from Dublin, I heard he once threw a granny out of a seat on a Dublin bus. He also pissed on Michael Collins grave, and I do believe he's an ISIS member"

Witch Hunt!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 07/06/2017 15:35:02    1996533

Thanks boys, yous are great lads. Happy enough now myself!

TomReilly (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 07/06/2017 15:40:40    1996535

Replying To hill16no1man:  "So should Brendan Murphy come out and hold his hands up and take a ban for verbally abusing the same official in the same game?
Is he not setting a bad example for kids in Carlow who look up to him?"
I know what you mean.

But in all seriousness, you are always going to have disgruntled players voicing their distaste at being sent off. I have no issue with that, unless it is in a derogatory fashion.

But laying a hand on an official is not on. End off.

We are at a very delicate crossroads in GAA, which is built upon respect, inclusiveness and grassroots. It is all our responsibility to hold our hands up and say I'm not standing for that. The culture of win at all costs is turning kids and parents away in their droves to other sports.

The GAA needs to stand tall and say " abusing officials is not us". This is not part of the sport that I love and respect.

Believe me I know where Dub supporters are coming from. If it was MM, would I gave the same response. Well I can honestly say yes.

Sometimes the hardest thing to do is the right thing to do.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 07/06/2017 15:52:22    1996544