12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress?

The cccc met yesterday
So why are we not seeing any news on Brendan Murphy receiving a one match ban for his verbal abuse on the linesman as he left the pitch? Surely the linesman has to have informed the ref to put in match report after all Philly McMahon received a one match ban arising from a similiar incident in the national league final.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 10:31:18    1996262

Jesus lads Tommy Walsh incident being used here as a reference, any more straws to clutch at?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts:5068 - 07/06/2017 09:15:25

You're right of course. The two incidents are poles apart. The Walsh incidents which was not dealt with was far more serious.

I think Connolly deserves his ban by the way but the way in which the two incidents were dealt with are interesting in that they highlight the inconsistencies at the heart of GAA disciplinary proceedings. Inconsistencies that all counties fall foul of at times as well as benefiting from time to time.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2017 10:31:28    1996263

I must admit I would prefer if DC didn't get suspended but he can clearly be seen giving the linesman a light push and shouting abuse at him. The rule seems fairly straight forward too. What I find funny is certain Dublin supporters trying to justify / defend DC on account of the "attention" he gets on the pitch. Every top class player get abuse, be it a club or county level. It is one thing I would love to see stamped out. The Gouch got it every time he pulled on a jersey but he very seldom let it get to him. Over the years may Dublin players have dished out this abuse, Keith Barr telling Mick Lyons "his ma was a slapper" & Micks classic response is one famous example. Ciaran Wheelan is another former Dublin player who had a habit of giving out special attention to his direct opponent as does Philly McMahon, Eoghan O'Gara and DC himself. So Dublin fans please remember that while you are busy point the finger at everyone else that you need to get your own house in order first.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 07/06/2017 10:38:24    1996267

Replying To hill16no1man:  "But aren't the gaa equally breaking the rules here?
The ref and linesman seen the incident and deemed it not worthy of action. That therefore means the cccc have no place in this incident. We know this as often we see players get yellow cards for striking offences and the matter is classed as dealt with and there hands are tied they cannot upgrade to red card. So why now are they allowed change the rule to suit this case."
It was a soft push as most people agree and maybe the officials didn't think much of it at the time, but the ref is entitled to have a think about it and decide that it's not good enough even if minor. When McCarthy got a black in the final people were banging on that it was a rash decision by the ref, there should be video refs etc.
The officials would have been negligent in their duty to not include it. If they didn't then they would be condoning pushing officials even if it was minor

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/06/2017 10:39:27    1996270

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Exactly you can be certain a gaa official was over his shoulder when he was filling out that report telling him what to put in it."
Regardless if the referee saw it or didn't see it or dealt with it or didn't deal with it or reported it or didn't report it. Connolly did it. It was inoccuous. it was stupid it was harmless. But Connolly is probably the most high profile player in the country. He knows he's under scrutiny and it was in a game that Dublin were always going to win. No matter what mistakes Diarmaid makes he never seems to learn from them (Discipline wise). He doesn't need everyone to defend him he just needs to Cop on a bit. In reality he'll possibly miss one Competetive Game (Quarter final) hell be fresh for the Semi and Final. no harm done. I seem to remember he got off a genuine red card to play in the AI Final in 2011. maybe this is a bit of Karma!!

fearcliste (Wexford) - Posts: 178 - 07/06/2017 10:41:29    1996272

Replying To Superglue:  "That if the ref gave him a red card there he'd have only got a 1 match ban.
If that's the case then the ref was right not to red card him and put the incident in his report after."
Not sure I follow Superglue, are you saying that if a red card incident occurs in a match, a referee doesn't issue it in the hope that he'll get a longer ban on review by the CCCC?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 07/06/2017 10:42:26    1996273

Replying To keithlemon:  "Not sure I follow Superglue, are you saying that if a red card incident occurs in a match, a referee doesn't issue it in the hope that he'll get a longer ban on review by the CCCC?"
Had he got a red card in the game for this incident the suspension would still have been for 12 weeks.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/06/2017 11:10:28    1996299

Is Philly McMahon injured or why was he not playing against Carlow.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 07/06/2017 11:11:52    1996302

He should take his ban, It was minor enough but rules are rules. Especially as there are 2 similar recent incidents that received 12 weeks (Comerford and McGeeney).

He got off in 2011 and 2015 and he has clearly not learned his lesson. This might do him the world of good both mentally and physically and he comes back firing in August when Dublin really need him.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 07/06/2017 11:13:29    1996306

Replying To keithlemon:  "Would have got a one match ban for a straight red"
No he wouldn't, he would still get 12 weeks. Where are you getting a one game ban from? If anything, after a straight red for laying a hand on the linesman, the 12 week ban would be more clear cut.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 07/06/2017 11:13:37    1996307

The difference for me between this incident and Connolly's tow other high profile incidents, the read cards against Mayo and Donegal in All-Ireland Semi-Finals, is that this incident seems fairly black and white to me. He pushed the linesman and the rulebook clearly states that there is a 12 week suspension for such an infringement. Fair enough.

The other two incidents weren't as black and white.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2017 11:18:40    1996314

Replying To Soma:  "Had he got a red card in the game for this incident the suspension would still have been for 12 weeks."
The lads on Newstalk last night were saying that a red card would have resulted in a 4 week ban (1 match)
Apologies if I'm wrong but that's where I'm getting it from

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 07/06/2017 11:24:29    1996320

Replying To xxx:  "Is Philly McMahon injured or why was he not playing against Carlow."
He was suspended for game.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/06/2017 11:24:40    1996322

Replying To xxx:  "Is Philly McMahon injured or why was he not playing against Carlow."
He was serving a one match ban for abusive language towards a referee in the league final

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 07/06/2017 11:25:27    1996324

Replying To Superglue:  "It was a soft push as most people agree and maybe the officials didn't think much of it at the time, but the ref is entitled to have a think about it and decide that it's not good enough even if minor. When McCarthy got a black in the final people were banging on that it was a rash decision by the ref, there should be video refs etc.
The officials would have been negligent in their duty to not include it. If they didn't then they would be condoning pushing officials even if it was minor"
Thatd fine if it were within the rules to change your mind after the game
But it's not within the rules to do that is the point im making.
a ref cannot take no action on a strike offence in a game and then after the match decide you know what I think I now feel he deserves a red card for that and proceed to get him suspended.
it's not how it works

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 11:31:28    1996332

Replying To fearcliste:  "Regardless if the referee saw it or didn't see it or dealt with it or didn't deal with it or reported it or didn't report it. Connolly did it. It was inoccuous. it was stupid it was harmless. But Connolly is probably the most high profile player in the country. He knows he's under scrutiny and it was in a game that Dublin were always going to win. No matter what mistakes Diarmaid makes he never seems to learn from them (Discipline wise). He doesn't need everyone to defend him he just needs to Cop on a bit. In reality he'll possibly miss one Competetive Game (Quarter final) hell be fresh for the Semi and Final. no harm done. I seem to remember he got off a genuine red card to play in the AI Final in 2011. maybe this is a bit of Karma!!"
Thats fine thats your opinion
But equally you cannot decide to break the rules like the gaa are doing.
every weekend offences go unpunished or don't receive the required punishment
The gaa can't go back on games and decide the ref was wrong here so we are going to re ref it now and change decisions he made. Its not how it works.
Meath v Louth in 2010 is an example they knew the ref and umpires made a wrong decisom but their hands were tied just as they should be here as that's the rules.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 11:36:02    1996334

Replying To keithlemon:  "The lads on Newstalk last night were saying that a red card would have resulted in a 4 week ban (1 match)
Apologies if I'm wrong but that's where I'm getting it from"
Think Newstalk are wrong here. 1 Match ban for a straight red is correct if its a standard one, bad tackle, foul play, punching etc. However this was not standard. The rules state that a incident involving laying a hand on an official is 12 weeks. So whether he got a straight red or not at the time, the rules state 12 weeks, which is what he got. He cannot get any lower for this incident.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2407 - 07/06/2017 11:37:49    1996335

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jesus lads Tommy Walsh incident being used here as a reference, any more straws to clutch at?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts:5068 - 07/06/2017 09:15:25

You're right of course. The two incidents are poles apart. The Walsh incidents which was not dealt with was far more serious.

I think Connolly deserves his ban by the way but the way in which the two incidents were dealt with are interesting in that they highlight the inconsistencies at the heart of GAA disciplinary proceedings. Inconsistencies that all counties fall foul of at times as well as benefiting from time to time."
Far more serious? Do you even remember it? Players from both sides were involved in pushing and shoving and Walsh had his hurl extended and it hit the ref. It isn't even relevant when it comes to this thread. How in gods name you think it was a very serious incident is beyond me? In that case you should go through every hurling game and pick out all the incidents where a player purposely digs his marker into the ribs with the hurl, which is a strike which should lead to a ban. Picking out the odd incident and trying to say Connolly is being treated unfairly is just laughable.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 07/06/2017 11:37:58    1996336

Replying To keithlemon:  "He was serving a one match ban for abusive language towards a referee in the league final"
Which I presume Brendan Murphy will now equally recieve for his abusing an official in Saturday's match as he left the pitch. Those are the rules and must be applied equally

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 11:39:08    1996338

Replying To keithlemon:  "The lads on Newstalk last night were saying that a red card would have resulted in a 4 week ban (1 match)
Apologies if I'm wrong but that's where I'm getting it from"
I don't know how they came to that conclusion but if he had been sent off it would have been for minor interference with a match official and that has a minimum suspension of 12 weeks.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 07/06/2017 11:43:06    1996343