12 weeks for Connolly. Is a GAA Witch Hunt in progress?

Replying To Soma:  "It's a real pity for those who love watching the games best players that we won't get to see him for 3 months but if it puts an end to all these myths about southern bias, anti-ulster agendas, Dublin favouritism and only the small counties getting punished it will be well worth it."
Let's wait on the, ahem, appeals procedure. Dublin seem to have a magic wand there.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 06/06/2017 20:49:23    1995999

First off it wasn't Spillane or O'Rourke who put their hands on linesman, it wasn't Rachel Weiss , or any the sky pundits, it was Connolly in a game that Dublin were never going to lose . Perhaps your anger,disappointment, frustration should be directed at him, witch hunt??? Ahh come on the only one who let dubs down was Connolly himself, no one else. Perhaps take off blue tinted glasses and see the problem isn't witch hunts the Sunday or anything else, the problem would never have arose if Connolly could behave himself. That is the issue.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2017 21:01:06    1996012

Poor Diarmuid, so many incidents but of course he is the victim. Get a grip lads. When do you think this lad might learn a lesson? Dispute the severity if you want but don't dispute the stupidity of it..........again.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/06/2017 21:08:52    1996023

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Haha didn't Tommy Walsh actually strike a ref with a hurl in an all Ireland final a few years back for kilkenny"
Jesus Hill. He didn't mean it. You know that. Watch the clip again.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/06/2017 21:13:02    1996029

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dubs should dry their eyes and take the punishment. Connolly is a superb footballer but he has to get the message that he is subject to the rules like everyone else. This self pitying, myopic, paranoid nonsense from Dublin fans really takes the biscuit. They have had Croke Park, the CCCC, media and many officials in their back pocket for quite a while now and the rest of the country have had their fill of their whinging. I wouldn't be surprised if Dublin do appeal and Connolly gets off on some technicality or legal argument. That however is why Gaelic Games is struggling in places, the one team, one dimension of the Association."
I think the main reason Connolly should get this ban is not just because of the incident but because of the two other times he has (and shouldn't have) won appeals with the CCCC not to mention he has serious anger issues and it need to be made an example of.

It's not just on the pitch if anyone remember this incident a few years back

The man needs a bit of sports anger management, there are a few other players in teams across the country that could do with it to...but Connolly is nearly in some incident every game; and you can't at this stage say it's down to everyone being against Dublin..It's just common sense. A fantastic footballer but one with anger issues that you can see on and off the pitch. He could do with those 12 weeks to seriously take a good look at how he's repeatedly letting his team down. He's lucky he plays for Dublin as his discipline goes largely unnoticed because of all the trophies coming in..If he was on a Kerry /Tyrone/mayo or in fact most of the top ten teams he would be viewed as letting his fans and team down.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 06/06/2017 21:14:58    1996032

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Let's wait on the, ahem, appeals procedure. Dublin seem to have a magic wand there."
I don't remember you being as measured in your posts a couple of years ago when an Ulster player was suspended by the CCC after an incident in Croke Park! Of course he was successful with that appeal as well.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 06/06/2017 21:47:20    1996063

Will be very interesting watching games this year with a spotlight now on this I expect a few more cases of this nature.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/06/2017 22:28:48    1996091

If the dubs appeal and lose their appeal could Connolly get a longer ban?

I'm not suggesting ,only asking is all.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/06/2017 22:42:47    1996103

The fact that it was a Dublin ball is irrelevant .
The fact that Connolly is a brilliant player is irrelevant .
He blatantly broke a clearly defined and very necessary rule.
End of story.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 06/06/2017 22:57:15    1996110

I think when a person get's to 30 or 31 year's of age it's high time that person started to take responsibility for their own actions

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 06/06/2017 23:14:41    1996118

Replying To JayP:  "12 weeks. Typical GAA witch hunt.

A certain Mayo player grabbed a ref by the face in last years AI Final. Nothing mentioned about that at the time.

We could say GAA rules seem to only get enforced after Spillane and Co. on Sunday nights!"
Why can't he just behave tho surely that's the bigger question
........ it was a nothing game against a poor division 4 side I dunno what he was doing getting involved tbh !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 06/06/2017 23:22:30    1996123

Replying To rossy15:  "Why can't he just behave tho surely that's the bigger question
........ it was a nothing game against a poor division 4 side I dunno what he was doing getting involved tbh !"
Nobody really knows Diarmuid, not even Diarmuid, he has a red mist instilled in him and I don't think anyone can control it, he'll be remembered for it as much as his brilliance, but will never be forgotten.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 06/06/2017 23:46:13    1996133

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Jesus Hill. He didn't mean it. You know that. Watch the clip again."
yeah the ref was struck in the whilst he was in the middle of a passage of play. fik me pink how many more incidents are these dub fans want to pull out of the woodwork, such condoning of connollys action is the reason the game is in the dire state its in today, when every indisciplined action is appealed till the death. Maybe the officials should lay down a marker and say if this is appealed and won then we're out

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 07/06/2017 00:17:58    1996141

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "I think the main reason Connolly should get this ban is not just because of the incident but because of the two other times he has (and shouldn't have) won appeals with the CCCC not to mention he has serious anger issues and it need to be made an example of.

It's not just on the pitch if anyone remember this incident a few years back

The man needs a bit of sports anger management, there are a few other players in teams across the country that could do with it to...but Connolly is nearly in some incident every game; and you can't at this stage say it's down to everyone being against Dublin..It's just common sense. A fantastic footballer but one with anger issues that you can see on and off the pitch. He could do with those 12 weeks to seriously take a good look at how he's repeatedly letting his team down. He's lucky he plays for Dublin as his discipline goes largely unnoticed because of all the trophies coming in..If he was on a Kerry /Tyrone/mayo or in fact most of the top ten teams he would be viewed as letting his fans and team down."
Well said...

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 07/06/2017 01:22:25    1996146

Whinging babies. We are down our really talented goalkeeper for 12 weeks too and he wasn't wearing a Tipp jersey when he did his offence. At least ye got to Connolly wear blue this summer.

We'll probably be gone out of the championship by the time his suspension is up cos he is such a valuable player to us. Connolly will be back as fresh as a daisy for Dublin to help them when they need him the most.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/06/2017 01:58:55    1996150

He pushed the linesman, who should have reported it to the ref at the time.. Straight red, he gets the usual ban. Dublin down to 14 v Carlows 15 at the time in a close game. Dublin would have won, but never by 12,, would have been a 5/6 point game at most.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 07/06/2017 02:53:25    1996152

Irrespective of the force he used or not even if he didn't touch the linesman he should still have been banned for the aggression shown to the linesman like McGeeney was.

If the first bloke found doping at the Tour de France after lance Armstrong used a lower dose should his suspension have been less?

The rules are there and Connolly is unlucky in some ways that they have been very publicly enforced recently but luck would have nothing to do with it if he'd kept his head.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 07/06/2017 07:37:08    1996161

Jesus Hill. He didn't mean it. You know that. Watch the clip again.
The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts:674 - 06/06/2017 21:13:02

True Walsh didn't mean to hit the ref but what exactly was he doing swinging his hurl down into a group of players? He physically assaulted the ref drawing blood by being out of control of his actions. Far worse than Connolly.

If Connolly deserves his suspension (and I don't dispute that he does) I don't think anyone can argue that Walsh didn't deserve a suspension following that game.

The difference being is that not much was made of the Walsh incident afterwards by fans and media alike therefore no action was taken.

There's a suspicion that had Bernard Brogan being the protagonist of the incident that it might have been a different story. That would be wrong as the suspension is right in my opinion but it's hard to see it being the same as it is with Connolly.

We've seen it before in the GAA that incidents do not get looked back at unless there is a furore over them. It's unfortunate but that's the reality.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2017 08:06:47    1996167

yeah the ref was struck in the whilst he was in the middle of a passage of play. fik me pink how many more incidents are these dub fans want to pull out of the woodwork, such condoning of connollys action is the reason the game is in the dire state its in today, when every indisciplined action is appealed till the death. Maybe the officials should lay down a marker and say if this is appealed and won then we're out
bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts:138 - 07/06/2017 00:17:58

The ref was struck by Walsh when the game had stopped.

If Connolly deserves his suspension (which I agree he does) then Walsh really should not be have gotten away with a far worse assault. I don't see how anyone could see those two incidents are believe that only the more minor incident deserves a suspension.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/06/2017 08:19:50    1996170

Replying To duckula20:  "Irrespective of the force he used or not even if he didn't touch the linesman he should still have been banned for the aggression shown to the linesman like McGeeney was.

If the first bloke found doping at the Tour de France after lance Armstrong used a lower dose should his suspension have been less?

The rules are there and Connolly is unlucky in some ways that they have been very publicly enforced recently but luck would have nothing to do with it if he'd kept his head."
Fair enough comment Duckula, but I think most Dubs are frustrated with the amount of abuse Dermo takes on and off the ball, the sledging etc. and he gets no protection from the match officials whatsoever I know the marquee players on all teams get similar treatment but not at the level Dermo gets it!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 07/06/2017 08:28:28    1996171