Sympathy for the Devil

Look Connolly has nobody to blame but himself and there is no witch hunt in this particular incident although I do believe there has been in the past.

Connolly has a huge target on his back and will get nothing easy (same as AOS).

Having said all that 12 weeks is very harsh. I don't believe a Carlow player would have been cited for this.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 08/06/2017 21:35:03    1997112

Replying To yew_tree:  "Look Connolly has nobody to blame but himself and there is no witch hunt in this particular incident although I do believe there has been in the past.

Having said all that 12 weeks is very harsh. I don't believe a Carlow player would have been cited for this."
You believe wrong, see: Tipperary.

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 08/06/2017 21:55:07    1997122

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Was a nothing incident. People need to have some bloody cop on. Leave Connolly alone and let him play his football. Some people are always looking for ways to stymie good players and their teams other than by beating them on the score board. A load of nonsense in all seriousness."
An honest unbiased post at last. Fair play.

Imo a 1 month ban for an incident like Connolly's is sufficient increased for 2nd offences - 3 months is madness.

Much more serious things occur with less of a sanction.

Main point is consistency though - if this is the road the gaa want to go down and with Philly's suspension for verbal abuse, then do it for every player and every team. GAA picking and choosing certain incidents and not others is why a player like Commerford is considering his future unfortunately.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 08/06/2017 22:04:15    1997125

Replying To yew_tree:  "Look Connolly has nobody to blame but himself and there is no witch hunt in this particular incident although I do believe there has been in the past.

Having said all that 12 weeks is very harsh. I don't believe a Carlow player would have been cited for this."
Totally agree - he should know better.

A bloddy line ball in a game that the result of which was never in doubt - crazy to lose the rag for something like that.

If he was a young and inexperienced player you could understand but he is a long time out of gaa football nappies...

Any ban apparently includes him not being able to training with the team also, so there is no way he could be drafted back into to team for a Possible semi final.
It would cause a mutiny.... The team doesnt centre around him no matter how good he is.

So if he cops a 3month ban - I fully expect not to see him again this season.
And that is what irks many people - a season ended for something like that.
Madness.

Rules are rules and officials need not to be abused, but a bit of common sense in the longevity of this suspension needs to be addressed going forward.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 08/06/2017 22:14:12    1997128

Replying To Fionn:  "An honest unbiased post at last. Fair play.

Imo a 1 month ban for an incident like Connolly's is sufficient increased for 2nd offences - 3 months is madness.

Much more serious things occur with less of a sanction.

Main point is consistency though - if this is the road the gaa want to go down and with Philly's suspension for verbal abuse, then do it for every player and every team. GAA picking and choosing certain incidents and not others is why a player like Commerford is considering his future unfortunately."
I agree that consistency is a problem and people are bringing up various incidents in the past that went unpunished, but for me interfering with officials is a line in the sand. GAA should use this as a starting point to come down heavy and enforce the rules. Refs at all levels should be encouraged to act on incidents like these within matches and include them in their reports. Verbal abuse, physical intimidation and physical abuse from players/manager / backroom teams etc against refs is not acceptable.

Generally in the GAA at all levels the ref is generally respected, we need that to continue, but each year we see more and more shouting in refs faces and bumping into them etc. Maybe it comes from the premiership, I don't know. Premiership seem to think it adds to the theatre so do nothing about it. I laugh every year when they announce a new 'respect' initiative.

Anyway, Connolly should have more sense. Great player (nearly as good as Murphy)

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 09/06/2017 11:46:17    1997252

Replying To Fionn:  "Totally agree - he should know better.

A bloddy line ball in a game that the result of which was never in doubt - crazy to lose the rag for something like that.

If he was a young and inexperienced player you could understand but he is a long time out of gaa football nappies...

Any ban apparently includes him not being able to training with the team also, so there is no way he could be drafted back into to team for a Possible semi final.
It would cause a mutiny.... The team doesnt centre around him no matter how good he is.

Madness.

Rules are rules and officials need not to be abused, but a bit of common sense in the longevity of this suspension needs to be addressed going forward."
He is indeed out of nappies a long time but even if he wasn't I wouldn't excuse it.We are all told right from when we started at under 8 level that you don't give guff to the ref, the ref is always right etc etc.
What the hell was he at? Stop making excuses for him and he might cop on.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 09/06/2017 13:12:36    1997290

Reading the way this was handled, Connolly, be he right or wrong, has been stitched up big time here!
Was'nt in the original referees report, but the report was "altered" at a later date!
What the actual feck like....so its like the was TOLD to enter it in his match report....

This is a stitch up and it stinks to high heaven

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/06/2017 13:23:27    1997297

Some good posts here. Have just read Conor Mortimer's comments and he more or less sums it up. Problem here is that we may get several incidents over any weekend. Quite a lot of these incidents go no further after the ref's whistle but others get taken up the SG and their pundits (in this case Pat Spillane). SG can quickly label a player to be a certain type (Galvin, Cavanagh, Connolly) and from on he is not judged independently. Lesser known (or more limited players) can go about constantly committing fouls or breaking rules but will always remain under the radar. Pot luck if they cop a ban as the SG will pay no heed to what they've done.

They should keep it simple. After the game, a quick review with the ref. Someone can highlight to the ref that he may have missed something and he can request a further review. Sends out all the wrong signals if we have to wait to see what is included in the SG highlight package before committees take their next steps.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 09/06/2017 13:26:38    1997299

Fully agree lads.

He should know better at this stage and only himself to blame.

Both annoying and frustrating to be honest.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 09/06/2017 13:35:10    1997306

DC's actions can't be condoned. He was wrong to do what he did and he should serve the ban for the indiscretion. However I do have some sympathy for him because it was trial by media. Sky Sports went to town on it and then we had Spillane on the Sunday Game and let's be honest his only concerns is that Kerry retain Sam. I really would have loved to see a debate on the innocent drug taking of his fellow county man being debated on the Sunday Game and I can guarantee you he would play the same card as Thomas O' Shea with Paul Kimmage. " Ah is a lovely lad" bla bla bla. Kerry will play every trick possible to bring an end to Dublin dominance and they have a plethora of ex-players in the media spouting of at every opportunity. Eamon Fitzmaurice done everything he could do before this year's league final to drag up isolated incidences over the last number of years by Dublin players against Kerry, of course no balance in any of his arguments. Of course again Kerry never do anything over zealous in big games. League match in tralee seen them at their best. Time for the Sunday game to change it's format and get rid of some of the older ex-players and bring in some fresh blood.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 09/06/2017 14:08:09    1997319

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Reading the way this was handled, Connolly, be he right or wrong, has been stitched up big time here!
Was'nt in the original referees report, but the report was "altered" at a later date!
What the actual feck like....so its like the was TOLD to enter it in his match report....

This is a stitch up and it stinks to high heaven"
How can you say he was stitched up when we all saw what he did?
Or are you claiming it was an optical illusion?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 09/06/2017 15:07:10    1997346

Jaysus lads c'mon.

He pushed the linesman. That equals a 12 week ban.

Open and shut case.

Time for others to step up and Connolly to get his head right if we make the semi-finals.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 09/06/2017 15:19:01    1997351

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Reading the way this was handled, Connolly, be he right or wrong, has been stitched up big time here!

This is a stitch up and it stinks to high heaven"
Genuine question but do you have a link with proof for any of this? I'd genuinely be very interested in seeing it.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 09/06/2017 15:24:57    1997353

Replying To Adamski:  "DC's actions can't be condoned. He was wrong to do what he did and he should serve the ban for the indiscretion. However I do have some sympathy for him because it was trial by media. Sky Sports went to town on it and then we had Spillane on the Sunday Game and let's be honest his only concerns is that Kerry retain Sam. I really would have loved to see a debate on the innocent drug taking of his fellow county man being debated on the Sunday Game and I can guarantee you he would play the same card as Thomas O' Shea with Paul Kimmage. " Ah is a lovely lad" bla bla bla. Kerry will play every trick possible to bring an end to Dublin dominance and they have a plethora of ex-players in the media spouting of at every opportunity. Eamon Fitzmaurice done everything he could do before this year's league final to drag up isolated incidences over the last number of years by Dublin players against Kerry, of course no balance in any of his arguments. Of course again Kerry never do anything over zealous in big games. League match in tralee seen them at their best. Time for the Sunday game to change it's format and get rid of some of the older ex-players and bring in some fresh blood."
Bring in different panelist wouldn't make a bit of difference with the Sunday Game. Every ex player will always look after their own county team, Ciaran Wheelan does it for Dublin, Colm O'Rourke does it for Meath, Peter Canavan always has Tyrone (and Ulsters) best interests at heart. The fairest contributor ever on the Sunday Game was Tony Davis, he was always fair and never tried to make a name for himself like Pat Spillane or Joe Brolly. Jarlath Burns is another pundit who's opinion I like. Sure even "twinkle toes Des" is very pro Dublin and you can see him getting upset if anyone of the other say anything negative about them. It human nature in all fairness, but there is a cuteness about a lot of the Kerry pundits to protect their own corner and get a dig in anywhere they can.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 09/06/2017 15:25:50    1997354

Madness.

Rules are rules and officials need not to be abused, but a bit of common sense in the longevity of this suspension needs to be addressed going forward."
It is also not the first time of sideline madness from Connolly. Remember the drawn All Ireland final last year, Dublin line ball under the Hogan on hill 16 end...Connolly grabs the ball and goes for a point instead of playing keep ball. Now it didn't matter eventually because Dublin won the replay but Id say Jim Gavin was not a happy camper.

Even the Carlow game...there was no need to be fighting for a line ball when the game was over and everyone knew Dublin had the game won.

If I were a Dublin fan I would be frustrated as hell because on his game and when focused the man is unstoppable.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 09/06/2017 15:27:11    1997356

Replying To the_walls:  "Genuine question but do you have a link with proof for any of this? I'd genuinely be very interested in seeing it."
Joe Brolly's twitter has all the info
No mention in initial referees report, suddenly "appeared" afterwards
rotten

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/06/2017 16:29:34    1997368

Replying To Adamski:  "DC's actions can't be condoned. He was wrong to do what he did and he should serve the ban for the indiscretion. However I do have some sympathy for him because it was trial by media. Sky Sports went to town on it and then we had Spillane on the Sunday Game and let's be honest his only concerns is that Kerry retain Sam. I really would have loved to see a debate on the innocent drug taking of his fellow county man being debated on the Sunday Game and I can guarantee you he would play the same card as Thomas O' Shea with Paul Kimmage. " Ah is a lovely lad" bla bla bla. Kerry will play every trick possible to bring an end to Dublin dominance and they have a plethora of ex-players in the media spouting of at every opportunity. Eamon Fitzmaurice done everything he could do before this year's league final to drag up isolated incidences over the last number of years by Dublin players against Kerry, of course no balance in any of his arguments. Of course again Kerry never do anything over zealous in big games. League match in tralee seen them at their best. Time for the Sunday game to change it's format and get rid of some of the older ex-players and bring in some fresh blood."
You see, I don't agree with this. The section of the Sunday Game that dealt with this went out maybe 27 hours after the incident. It was discussed everywhere, here included in between the incident and the SG. It seems convenient to always say that the SG are quick to condone, and blame them for bigging things up. Did you expect them not to talk about it? From my recollection, they discussed the incident, looked at what the rule states and gave a point of view about it. Just so happened to be Spillane who was there (gotta say, I was disappointed Whelan wasn't there - was looking forward to see what he would have said) Can't understand this hate for what they've said.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 09/06/2017 17:03:40    1997381

Replying To yew_tree:  "

Madness.

It is also not the first time of sideline madness from Connolly. Remember the drawn All Ireland final last year, Dublin line ball under the Hogan on hill 16 end...Connolly grabs the ball and goes for a point instead of playing keep ball. Now it didn't matter eventually because Dublin won the replay but Id say Jim Gavin was not a happy camper.

Even the Carlow game...there was no need to be fighting for a line ball when the game was over and everyone knew Dublin had the game won.

If I were a Dublin fan I would be frustrated as hell because on his game and when focused the man is unstoppable."
Not so much mate, hes a maverick, an enigma, genius touched with hot temper. Frustrating as hell when it doesn't come off/or banned. He however has been a star on 4 All Ireland winning teams, he owes us or the county very little to be honest and his legacy is already guaranteed. here is nothing left in the game for him to win to be honest. Its remarkable he still has the passion to bring him to the occasional incident.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/06/2017 17:19:09    1997391

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "You believe wrong, see: Tipperary."
Well the Carlow player wasn't cited for his verbal abuse of said linesman

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/06/2017 18:13:26    1997411

Replying To TheUsername:  "It is also not the first time of sideline madness from Connolly. Remember the drawn All Ireland final last year, Dublin line ball under the Hogan on hill 16 end...Connolly grabs the ball and goes for a point instead of playing keep ball. Now it didn't matter eventually because Dublin won the replay but Id say Jim Gavin was not a happy camper.

If I were a Dublin fan I would be frustrated as hell because on his game and when focused the man is unstoppable."
Not so much mate, hes a maverick, an enigma, genius touched with hot temper. Frustrating as hell when it doesn't come off/or banned. He however has been a star on 4 All Ireland winning teams, he owes us or the county very little to be honest and his legacy is already guaranteed. here is nothing left in the game for him to win to be honest. Its remarkable he still has the passion to bring him to the occasional incident."]He hasn't won player of the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/06/2017 18:36:29    1997418