Sympathy for the Devil

Well, ye got what ye wanted lads. 12 weeks it is.

So be it.

Horseman pass by........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/06/2017 17:54:59    1995819

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Well, ye got what ye wanted lads. 12 weeks it is.

So be it.

Horseman pass by........"
Was hardly what we wanted, don't be so sensitive. You cannot lay a hand on an official. 12 week ban is the rules. He had to get banned, otherwise we may as well throw out the rulebook. Officials have to be protected or this would have opened a can of worms

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 06/06/2017 18:05:04    1995831

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Well, ye got what ye wanted lads. 12 weeks it is.

So be it.

No he got what he deserved.

A push is a push is a push - no matter how 'gentle' ye guys seem to think it is.

The legal eagles will no doubt be sent in now.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 06/06/2017 18:18:11    1995841

So be it.

I'm not surprised the linesman didn't flinch after that mad call he made which caused the whole thing in the first place.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 06/06/2017 18:19:57    1995843

its gas how many of the haters are from Kildare!!!!

(funny also how all players on all sides seem to have come out on Diarmuid's side, but all the "fans" on HS have come out against him!)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/06/2017 18:36:20    1995856

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Am I right that the Evan Comeford incident is very different in that he rand a distance, chased down a ref, verbally abused him and then pushed him?
I am not saying that IS what happened, its what I was told happened? Is this the case, and if so, its completely different ffs!"
I don't know exactly what comerford did but I do know that both players have been found guilty of breaking the same rule - minor interference with an official.

The breach carries a 12 week minimum ban so both got the most lenient ban possible once found guilty - didn't see the comerford incident but Connolly definitely is guilty of that breach. I don't see how there can be any argument in that regard.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/06/2017 18:46:06    1995866

So be it.

Time to climb down Liam.There are some who will be happy as they are jealous of Dublin's strength and success but i honestly think most people were appalled by what he did and just wanted to see the rules applied & officials supported.If a player did that in rugby or soccer they would be off straight away.We all criticise refs & linesmen but without them where would we be?
The rule is clear , you cannot interfere with an official.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 06/06/2017 18:58:50    1995878

So be it.

Not everyone ready to move on. I see one of your countymen expects this to be appealed and appealed and appealed until "justice is done" or at least until the suspension is overturned.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 06/06/2017 19:23:36    1995903

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Am I right that the Evan Comeford incident is very different in that he rand a distance, chased down a ref, verbally abused him and then pushed him?
I am not saying that IS what happened, its what I was told happened? Is this the case, and if so, its completely different ffs!"
Was that on whatsapp?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/06/2017 19:43:45    1995937

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "I dont think he should get any ban there was nothing in it and was caused by the official somehow given the line ball to carlow when everyone else watching seen the Carlow keeper kick the ball straight out over sideline from the kickout.

How many times do we see lads up touching and trying to intimidate the ref? If it was any other player in the country it would have been already forgotten about."
If an official gets a call wrong they are fair game ... get a grip

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 06/06/2017 21:20:29    1996037

Respect for officials is non existent... it's rampant but this crossed the line ... yes it was a gentle poke in the chest but it's the ultimate disrespectful act and we need to protect the official. Some crazy posters have said that the linesman brought it upon himself ... yes he's the best player of his time yes I'm jealous as hell of his talent... I also hate to see his temperament when my kids are watching and we see all that's wrong with his game... I've seen crazy decisions I've said. Blind At refs and felt like a twat later ..anyway the dubs will now probably put the best legal teAm money can buy on this and the circus will continue .... won't someone please think of the ratings I mean the children

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 06/06/2017 21:28:42    1996049

In the scale of what else is going on in the world these days this really is very small potatoes indeed.

Horsemen indeed.......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/06/2017 21:36:19    1996057

Bit early in the year for Connolly to have to launch into da appeals process...he's going to rack up some legal fees this summer... He's building a record P Galvin wud b proud of this year!!!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 06/06/2017 22:48:48    1996108

Replying To Breffni39:  "Galvins act was much more aggressive than Connollys"
Ah but, ah but, ah but.

He didn't hurt him, the referee didn't flinch and so forth.

The crux of the matter is that Connolly aggrieved that a decision went against him (for right or wrong) made physical contact with a match official, that much is undeniable.
The how hard do you have to strike an official to receive the 12 week ban is nonsense and very sad for those trying to make that case as every county in Ireland has difficulties getting referees to facilitate our games and the CCCCCCC need to ensure that our match officials are protected at all levels.

Tipp lad gets 12 weeks
McGeeney gets 12 weeks for verbal abuse
Connolly gets 12 weeks also.

Dublin CB are giving the option to appeal to the player. I hope someone is advising Connolly to do the right thing and take it, not some motormouth like Joe Brolly who sees a few column inches in his area of expertise (law, not football I might add) using the lad to be the big lad in the limelight.

As for ex players coming out with their nonsense, what would you expect them to say, has anyone asked those tasked with getting referees to take games up and down the country what they think should happen and the implications that may have further down the line with lads potentially using the "sure Diarmuid Connolly got away with it" defence the next time a referee is interfered with...

Do the right thing and be consistent GAA aficionado's.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 07/06/2017 10:23:41    1996256

Replying To bricktop:  "Ah but, ah but, ah but.

The crux of the matter is that Connolly aggrieved that a decision went against him (for right or wrong) made physical contact with a match official, that much is undeniable.
The how hard do you have to strike an official to receive the 12 week ban is nonsense and very sad for those trying to make that case as every county in Ireland has difficulties getting referees to facilitate our games and the CCCCCCC need to ensure that our match officials are protected at all levels.

Tipp lad gets 12 weeks

Dublin CB are giving the option to appeal to the player. I hope someone is advising Connolly to do the right thing and take it, not some motormouth like Joe Brolly who sees a few column inches in his area of expertise (law, not football I might add) using the lad to be the big lad in the limelight.

As for ex players coming out with their nonsense, what would you expect them to say, has anyone asked those tasked with getting referees to take games up and down the country what they think should happen and the implications that may have further down the line with lads potentially using the "sure Diarmuid Connolly got away with it" defence the next time a referee is interfered with...

Do the right thing and be consistent GAA aficionado's."
Agree with you bricktop
However, like I said before, they need to have zero tolerance on touching referee's full stop.
Someone else made the argument, in the 2015 AI final, after he was eye gouged by Philly McMahon, Kieran Donaghy ran straight to the referee and put his hands on him to get his attention. That to me is exactly the same rule break as Connolly's in this matter.

*Disclaimer - this is not an anti-Kerry post, just pointing out lack of consistency in rules applied

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 07/06/2017 10:38:35    1996268

So be it.

So did you. You asked for justice and you got it

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 07/06/2017 10:59:20    1996286

Replying To bricktop:  "Ah but, ah but, ah but.

Tipp lad gets 12 weeks

Do the right thing and be consistent GAA aficionado's."
Oh yeah they're both at the lower end of the aggression scale I just don't agree that Galvin's was just "a petulant act". It was more aggresive than what Connolly did. Can you imagine if Connolly knocked the flag out of the linesmans hand? It wouldn't be considered petulant that's for sure.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 07/06/2017 11:42:29    1996342

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Isnt it interesting how many "fans" are baying for DC's blood, yet amost every single player who has commented is on his side saying no way should he get a lenghty ban.
Tomas O'Se, Marc O'Se, Johnny Doyle,Anthony Masterson, Colm Parkinson, Joe Brolly, Conor Mortimer, John Galvin etc etc etc have all come out saying he is unfairly treated here

Myself, I was livid with him initially, but having rewatched the incident, I totally agree with Tomas O'Se when he said "if a fella gets 12 weeks for that its a joke"
The linesman didnt even flinch, he paid no heed to it atall.....

The ironic thing is, if he does get 12 weeks, its backdated to saturday which means it expires the day BEFORE Dublins scheduled AI Semi Final, so in a weird way, it may work in his favour as he has less games to get into trouble in before the real stuff starts :)

Johnny Doyle yesterday in his column said if this was anyone else there would be zero furore, and that DC should face no ban.

Justice for Diarmuid (2017!)"
Dublin might not make the semi finals

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 07/06/2017 13:56:06    1996452

It's the thin end on the wedge ex players are saying no ban he didn't flinch, keep those statements in the bank for the day an official gets a thump they will be the first on their soap boxes telling us all how officials should not be touched....
Ex county players circle the wagons in a mixed up sense of loyalty , one player hits another in a match ex player will tell you he's not that kind of player it out of character , a player Kerry failed a drug test recently Daragh O'Shea writes a joke he had with Thomas over a drug test. Marc O'Shea was on the radio and all he kept saying was he's a goodfella.

The GAA is loosing it's way and because the guys at the top are racking in the money they will never fix it.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 07/06/2017 14:26:36    1996477

Replying To bennybunny:  "eye gouging in an All-Ireland final gets you a one match ban in a league game.

Multiple incidents of biting gets you ..well..nothing at all..

Why should pushing a linesman warrant a suspension?

Why the furore indeed."
Are you talking about actual biting incidents or alleged incidents as there is a huge difference? You'd see a lot worse in club football on a Sunday in any park. I guess the question is, does any player (imagine Eoin Cadogan for example) deserve to miss 2 or 3 vital county championship games for what essentially amounted to an innocuous push, which the experienced officials themselves didn't think was worthy of disciplinary action on the day? The law is the law but I think the spirit was more in the context of a violent action on an official and not a prod in the heat of the moment following an incorrect decision. Regardless I think Connolly should get a ban, pethaps one match for that but where is the consistency? Murphy verbally abused the officials on Sat and it hasn't received a mention let alone action. Why not?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/06/2017 21:17:52    1996676