Connolly interfering with match official

Just seen it. No defence for that, silly and surely going to result in a 12 week ban.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 04/06/2017 23:17:04    1994765

Replying To Donegalman:  "There wasnt an awful lot in it in fairness. I would say people should calm down."
Exactly....

Whilst I dont condone any sort of abuse towards match officials, there seems to be a lot of over reaction here.

Personally, for most people I don't think it is because a match official was physically abused but rather to see Connolly get suspended and the Dubs handicapped for the majority of the championship.

And to see the Carlow official close to the incident waving like mad like he was flagging down a taxi summed it up for me.....

I wont and dont defend DC but he gets sfa protection from match officials, and if banned then so be it...

But lets not be hypocritical here, the majority of peoples main reason for over reaction is not one for the love of the rules of the GAA but for their own agenda...

Like I said - if he does get suspended then he only has himself to blame.
Flawed genius is a very apt description of him to be honest.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 04/06/2017 23:22:34    1994769

Replying To royce:  "Not sure if it was mentioned already, Paul Galvin got 12 weeks for slapping a note book out of a referres hand, in the same aggressive manner as Connolly."
yes it was mentioned

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/06/2017 23:26:56    1994777

Replying To Passer_By:  "The man was like a bull. The linesman just shrivelled in awe and the ref did absolutely nothing, but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards following continuous cynical behaviour by Jonny Cooper who knowingly knew he was vulnerable on a soft yellow card. That killed the game we were competing very well in until then.

Shove on the linesman aside (which is an absolute open and shut case), the vulgar finger poking into the face was/is indicative of what a nasty side there can be to an otherwise seriously undisputed talented player.

Connollys yellow card gets little commentary at all here however. This was a blatant close line tackle that warranted more. It's a shame, but Dublin as All Ireland champions were seriously frustrated/rattled up to that point (indicative most so by Connollys over reaction), yet the game was killed a minute or so latter by Murphys sending off.

Fenton was nullified until Brendan went off and Connolly was largely insignificant save for the foregoing side show and an injury time 45 (three injury time scores that put an unwarranted dirtier look on the end scoreboard).

Some really dreadful referring put Dublin in the clear. A flattering shoreline really and we're a man down now for the qualifiers. Maybe we can appeal his first yellow card to the CCC (short for Carlow CountyCouncil lads, we might have a better chance if it's misaddressed - any dissent from Carlow is otherwise just thrown in the bin).

Meath and Kildare should take heart from yesterday. Westmeath too. They're not unbeatable in Leinster."
"but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards" this is exactly the type of comment that really beggars believe. You did see what Murphy did you not?.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 04/06/2017 23:27:49    1994778

Replying To arock:  "....... And the officials part in incidents has to be highlighted and explored too. The officials have to protect players by applying the letter of the law. Too many of our better players are targeted and when officials do intetvene it is way too late. It was a nothing incident anyone saying otherwise has some other agenda. Did he abuse the official? I dont believe from what I have seen he has he was entitled to make a point from a truly shocking nocall from the linesman who is probably embarrassed by it all."
I am in agreement, players when they cross the white line are scrutinised and punished for infractions, breaches of rules whatever. having trained for years and give their all only to be punished with inconsistencies would rile anyone. Yes the officials should have some official form of scrutiny { it's not like there aint enough suits around croke park every day } and actions taken. Consistency of the rules application would be a big help, but it still doesn't excuse any player for interfering with an official, be it physically, verbally or aggressive gesturing it's still abuse.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 04/06/2017 23:31:55    1994780

jeez louise that was well scrutinised on the sunday game NOT, spillane and orouke trying to make a point only to be shut up by the host { his name has eluded me tonight } several times

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 04/06/2017 23:35:02    1994783

Replying To bulmccabe:  "jeez louise that was well scrutinised on the sunday game NOT, spillane and orouke trying to make a point only to be shut up by the host { his name has eluded me tonight } several times"
I have no respect for the Sunday Game and haven't had for a while. Tyrone and Monaghan were slaughtered by them for alleged indiscretions while any negative talk about Dublin is off the agenda. It's moral cowardice of the worst kind.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 04/06/2017 23:47:37    1994791

Replying To arock:  ""but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards" this is exactly the type of comment that really beggars believe. You did see what Murphy did you not?."
Murphy fully deserved to be sent off.

Grabs Cooper around the mouth and neck and pulls him to the ground.

Anyone saying he didnt deserve to see the line is not being honest...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 04/06/2017 23:48:50    1994793

Replying To arock:  ""but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards" this is exactly the type of comment that really beggars believe. You did see what Murphy did you not?."
I know it's unbelievable how some people on here clearly misrepresent what happened. They are trying to say that Murphy shouldn't have been sent off by conflating it with the Connolly issue. Connolly should get 12 weeks as per the rulebook and Murphy should have got sent off, as clear a sending off as I've seen in a long time. The first yellow was a clothesline neck high tackle with the forearm, just because Kilkenny didn't fall over people think it's fine. The second yellow is borderline red on its own. Murphy let his team down, he's the journalist footballer, the one that the commentators have heard of before yesterday, but he was very poor on the day, terrible shots on a number of occasions. His midfield partner s.murphy was outstanding,

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 04/06/2017 23:52:32    1994798

I must say I have a little bit of sympathy for Connolly as you would need the patience of a saint ( which he clearly hasn't ) to put up with the 'winding up' which most of the top players endure. His reaction, I thought, was petty rather than anything else and a twelve week ban would be a bit harsh in my opinion. I was looking forward to Whelan's interpretation of the incident on the Sunday Game but, as they say about the politicians, he seemed to be unavailable for comment. However Des did his best at damage limitation. I'm just thankful Lee wasn't involved!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/06/2017 00:14:43    1994811

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271130

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/06/2017 01:17:39    1994820

Replying To bulmccabe:  "jeez louise that was well scrutinised on the sunday game NOT, spillane and orouke trying to make a point only to be shut up by the host { his name has eluded me tonight } several times"
Dez Cahill was the host tonight. I disagree that he was shutting up Orourke and Spillane. He was trying to put another incident in the same context while the pair were doing their best to get Connolly banned for a few months.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/06/2017 01:20:10    1994821

Interesting coverage, or suspicious lack of, in the national papers today ......... it's almost as if there is some sort of biased to contend with!!

Could the same be said of media coverage following the confrontation of a high profile intercounty player with a referee a number of years back, when he received unprecedented coverage for 'physical interference with a notebook'!

I just hope that the powers that be deal with the incident in accordance with the rule book!

Enjoy your Summer Dermo ;)

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 05/06/2017 07:16:58    1994835

The man was like a bull.

The man was like a bull as he had 3 Carlow players hanging off him not to mention some guy in a yellow bib that attempted to elbow him.

Shove on the linesman aside (which is an absolute open and shut case), the vulgar finger poking into the face was/is indicative of what a nasty side there can be to an otherwise seriously undisputed talented player.

He should not have lightly pushed the ref or remonstrated with the ref I agree. What's your opinion on how Brendan Murphy shouted at the ref after being sent off?

Connollys yellow card gets little commentary at all here however. This was a blatant close line tackle that warranted more. It's a shame, but Dublin as All Ireland champions were seriously frustrated/rattled up to that point (indicative most so by Connollys over reaction), yet the game was killed a minute or so latter by Murphys sending off.

I stand corrected but I didn't think Connolly got a yellow card? Perhaps I'd gine to get tea though! With due respect I don't believe at any point Dublin were rattled. Frustrated by your defensive structure yes but it wasn't the first time or the last time they will be frustrated this summer.

Some really dreadful referring put Dublin in the clear. A flattering shoreline really and we're a man down now for the qualifiers.

What dreadful refereeing in particular do you think helped Dublin?

Meath and Kildare should take heart from yesterday. Westmeath too. They're not unbeatable in Leinster.

No team in unbeatable.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts:392 - 04/06/2017 22:45:38   1994747

Post Reply Link 2 1

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/06/2017 08:05:05    1994837

Replying To Passer_By:  "The man was like a bull. The linesman just shrivelled in awe and the ref did absolutely nothing, but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards following continuous cynical behaviour by Jonny Cooper who knowingly knew he was vulnerable on a soft yellow card. That killed the game we were competing very well in until then.

Fenton was nullified until Brendan went off and Connolly was largely insignificant save for the foregoing side show and an injury time 45 (three injury time scores that put an unwarranted dirtier look on the end scoreboard).

Some really dreadful referring put Dublin in the clear. A flattering shoreline really and we're a man down now for the qualifiers. Maybe we can appeal his first yellow card to the CCC (short for Carlow CountyCouncil lads, we might have a better chance if it's misaddressed - any dissent from Carlow is otherwise just thrown in the bin).

Meath and Kildare should take heart from yesterday. Westmeath too. They're not unbeatable in Leinster."
A quick mention for Offaly too!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 05/06/2017 09:10:28    1994847

Replying To Ciarrai Abu:  "Interesting coverage, or suspicious lack of, in the national papers today ......... it's almost as if there is some sort of biased to contend with!!

Could the same be said of media coverage following the confrontation of a high profile intercounty player with a referee a number of years back, when he received unprecedented coverage for 'physical interference with a notebook'!

I just hope that the powers that be deal with the incident in accordance with the rule book!

Enjoy your Summer Dermo ;)"
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/analysis-no-justification-for-diarmuid-connollys-sideline-reaction-and-it-could-result-in-a-lengthy-ban-35788610.html

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/antagonise-diarmuid-connolly-and-you-always-get-a-reaction-pat-spillane-expects-12week-ban-35789217.html

http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/bbarry/diarmuid-connolly-altercation-linesman/

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.balls.ie/amp/gaa/diarmuid-connolly-push-linesman-366354

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.rte.ie/amp/880137

http://www.the42.ie/diarmuid-connolly/news/

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.thesun.ie/sport/gaa-football/1087724/diarmuid-connolly-could-face-lengthy-ban-over-altercation-with-linesman-in-dublins-win-over-carlow/

Just a sample for you. It seems Brendan O'Sullivan is not the only person in Kerry that has trouble with the internet!. Happy reading!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/06/2017 09:26:33    1994854

It's a pretty black and white case. Connolly put his hands on the official and by the precedent already set this year a 12 week ban at least has to apply. McGeeney didn't even touch Joe McQuillan and he got 12 weeks and then we have the keeper in Tipperary's case too. The GAA have no choice now but to follow through. Next time someone lays a hand on official this case will be quoted to get a player a reduced penalty if they don't apply the GAA's own rules.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/06/2017 10:12:05    1994883

Connolly is a excellent footballer and no one can see otherwise but what he done isbagainst the rules no matter how good or bad he is and people who are using the excuse that was being wound up and that made it okay for him to do what he did no it didn't , just because he is wound up does not make that okay, every county's target man is purposely taunted and annoyed on purpose but there not going and interfering with the linesman. Yes he may be the best footballer in country but no that doesn't make it okay

I have to say what he done was harmless but I'll be very disappointed if he is let away with it after Evan Comerford of Tipp revived 12 weeks for debating a free so I do think Connolly should take his ban and who knows it night teach him a lesson on why he has to keep his calm

WW9 (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 05/06/2017 10:33:51    1994893

Getting a bit sick of connolly now with his attitude problem.let us down to many times in big games getting himself sent off.even though hes still one of my favorite players when on song.but time and time again this stuff happens.i know theres a lot of times when hes targeted but thats just part of the game'the best players always are..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 05/06/2017 10:38:40    1994896

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DHuU3EdJ1NQ

Why do posters keep saying it's a black and white case when he barely touches him? The link above shows Donacha O Conor barely slap Aidan O Mahony he was sent off in a game that ended in a draw , O Conor was free to play in the replay when technically he did slap O Mahony but come on we all know common sense prevailed just like it should for Connolly, I've seen refs touched or pushed loads of times and not a word said about it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/06/2017 10:54:02    1994903