Connolly interfering with match official

Replying To JayP:  "Connolly gets targeted. Officials dont help him.

But it was a nothing incident. Cian O'Sullivan put his hand on the refs shoulder at one stage? As did the Carlow boys numerous times.

Constant outrage, its embarrassing. Sky play the incident over and over as its Connolly. If that was Lee Keegan they wouldnt show it. Wouldnt be a word said about it.

Nothing to see here..... lets move on"
officials may not help him... but he has never helped himself either

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/06/2017 14:45:31    1994439

Replying To Jackeen:  "Can't imagine he'd be banned for mouthing at the linesman after all the bold Aidan O'Mahony abusing the ref in 2015 final & got nothing. He did however touch The linesman...not assault like some are saying on Twitter and for that he will get a ban."
Do you ever stop referencing Kerry in your posts, i dont read the guff on here but every time i do you seem to be having a dig. Shifting the limelight to something Kerry related is getting a bit tiresome

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 04/06/2017 14:47:45    1994442

Replying To jimbodub:  "I take no pleasure in saying this

But I agree.

Although unlike the other players you correctly mentioned

Not one of those players were being specifically mentioned in the media by a former prominent plater to get cynically targeted as a form of tactic.

Connolly has no doubt had a very disruptive year to date and if this is investigated and a charge brought against him, well he's looking at 3 months

It's a great pity as there was truly nothing in it, but that's the rule, he lightly touched him out of frustration of being man handled once again with zero protection from officials

O'Se's cynical call to action has proven to be very effective wha!!

Imagine if a former Dub player made such a call in the media against one of Kerry's best players...

That's the difference UM!"
Was Connolly never targeted before Darragh wrote his article Jim?

You've obviously never played the game kid ,coz it has always gone on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/06/2017 14:50:22    1994444

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Galvin got six months for the notebook incident, which was a far less aggressive act IMO. Will be interesting to see what happens here. He'll get 3 months minimum anyway which means his season is pretty well over.

You'd have to question what he brings to the team at this stage. How many times has he let his manager and teammates down at this stage. It's a pity that this is what he will be most remembered for because he is so brilliant"
Galvin incident much less aggressive? Are you having a laugh

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 04/06/2017 14:54:23    1994448

Replying To waynoI:  "officials may not help him... but he has never helped himself either"
Completely agree with you. I had a sentence at the start of that post after I said officials dont protect him. The admin censored it. I just said "He has learnt nothing".

Meaning he knows guys are gonna foul him punch him etc. Hes the best player in the country on his day. They are gonna do their best to put him off. Some of the nonsense he has to put up is disgraceful. But he should know by now that he is a marked man. And officials have to look at themselves and protect the better players. But Connolly falls for this all the time.

But nothing in the incident with the linesman. He made a horrible call with the line ball. If anything is hurt it will be the linesmans pride after making such a bad call.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/06/2017 16:05:00    1994480

I think Le Keegan deserves a lengthy ban for this.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 04/06/2017 16:12:00    1994485

Replying To JayP:  "Completely agree with you. I had a sentence at the start of that post after I said officials dont protect him. The admin censored it. I just said "He has learnt nothing".

Meaning he knows guys are gonna foul him punch him etc. Hes the best player in the country on his day. They are gonna do their best to put him off. Some of the nonsense he has to put up is disgraceful. But he should know by now that he is a marked man. And officials have to look at themselves and protect the better players. But Connolly falls for this all the time.

But nothing in the incident with the linesman. He made a horrible call with the line ball. If anything is hurt it will be the linesmans pride after making such a bad call."
It's difficult to know what admins will allow or not since there are no guidelines on this.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 04/06/2017 16:14:01    1994487

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think Le Keegan deserves a lengthy ban for this."
YAWN

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/06/2017 16:22:44    1994490

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Was Connolly never targeted before Darragh wrote his article Jim?

You've obviously never played the game kid ,coz it has always gone on."
Do you think O'Se was right to talk about Connolly like that ?

Yes I have played the game but thankfully I didn't have a celebrity and house hold name former player directly calling me out in the national media to be target of cynical tactics.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2017 16:32:41    1994496

Patrick o Connor from Clare put his hand on the umpire in the first half there. I am waiting for the same uproar and 12 week ban. And the contention that Clare always get their way with disciplinary issues. Oh no wait its not the hated Dublin so it won't be mentioned.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 04/06/2017 16:42:15    1994501

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think Le Keegan deserves a lengthy ban for this."
He's not French.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 04/06/2017 17:06:35    1994518

Nearly every topic on this forum descends into a Dublin and Kerry boxing match and to be honest it is getting tiresome. Can we not just deal with then incident in hand?

As for the incident I thought it was minor enough but he did put his hand on the official so I am guessing they will come down hard on him. I think 3 months would be very severe, is that the mandatory suspension if found guilty?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 04/06/2017 18:04:29    1994548

Well the lunch mob are really on a roll here guilty as charged by the baying mob. Ah nothing incident some people need to get a life

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 04/06/2017 18:05:30    1994549

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Nearly every topic on this forum descends into a Dublin and Kerry boxing match and to be honest it is getting tiresome. Can we not just deal with then incident in hand?

As for the incident I thought it was minor enough but he did put his hand on the official so I am guessing they will come down hard on him. I think 3 months would be very severe, is that the mandatory suspension if found guilty?"
Well said

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 04/06/2017 18:10:44    1994551

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Nearly every topic on this forum descends into a Dublin and Kerry boxing match and to be honest it is getting tiresome. Can we not just deal with then incident in hand?

As for the incident I thought it was minor enough but he did put his hand on the official so I am guessing they will come down hard on him. I think 3 months would be very severe, is that the mandatory suspension if found guilty?"
12 weeks is the minimum punishment but it would be outrageous if it was anything over that. The incident if with another player would be a nothing incident, however he is screwed by it being with a linesman. It was a moment of madness and he will be punished for it. Forget the other bans already handed out this year, in isolation it is 12 weeks and it is hard to argue otherwise. It is going to be a tough summer for the lad as he cannot train with the team for those weeks. I hope he doesn't pack it in but he needs to work on his temper. His black card in the league final wasn't even provoked which is scary as Crowley was only on 90 seconds or so and Kerry were attacking. I believe had he not done that his experience would have carried Dublin through to win.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 04/06/2017 18:23:19    1994560

Replying To jimbodub:  "Do you think O'Se was right to talk about Connolly like that ?

Yes I have played the game but thankfully I didn't have a celebrity and house hold name former player directly calling me out in the national media to be target of cynical tactics."
Well Jim Darragh is paid by the independent to give his opinions so I do believe he was right.

And Darragh has been proved right imo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/06/2017 18:55:49    1994580

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well Jim Darragh is paid by the independent to give his opinions so I do believe he was right.

And Darragh has been proved right imo."
Grand.

Doesn't surprise me tbh

I wouldn't be happy with a former Dub player calling for a Kerry man to be cynically targeted

But then again, I was brought up well.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2017 19:18:33    1994595

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well Jim Darragh is paid by the independent to give his opinions so I do believe he was right.

I think that sort of response speaks volumes.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2017 19:28:21    1994605

Ive been looking at this incident and the more I see it the less I see. The officials made nothing of it during the game and this may well swing any decision in Connolly's favour. Yes there was a hand on, but Diarmuid is too beautiful a player to deprive the whole country from seeing his skills, I think if you put it to a vote, most of the country people would vote to keep Connolly on the pitch for the rest of the summer.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 04/06/2017 19:38:54    1994610

Whats wrong with you? I hated when players targeted Paul Galvin when he playing, the same as I'm not a fan of that shite on other players including when we did it, and still do. You are a disgrace to Kerry GAA with comments like that. Any real football fan would wish this never happened, the season will be the lesser without the talents of Connolly. However, if a player does something stupid, provoked or otherwise, they still deserve to be sanctioned.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 04/06/2017 19:53:31    1994624