Connolly interfering with match official

Replying To TheUsername:  "I actually hope this is appealed, not that i dont believe that he didnt break the rule or by the letter of the law he doesn't get the suspension, their is something murky going on here between the witnessing of the incident and the referee match report, the mentioned debrief is odd, if you are going to apply the rules so concretely on the player, grand i dont have a problem with that. If you do it without due process, however that deserves to be examined and i believe Dublin County Board has a right to do that.

I think that is a different fight to the whether he deserves the suspension or not, by the letter of the law he does. But i am not sure all the appropriate process's have been adhered to here.

I agree with the Tipp poster who said Comerford a bigger loss to them then Connolly to Dublin given the strength of the panel and i think a fresh Connolly come August could be massive. I think Dublin need to take this on for other counties.

Sleep well Blue Panther."
Blue Panther?? Is that what the Dubs call Connolly??

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/06/2017 12:28:46    1996375

Replying To westkerry:  "Yep lost more than we have won alright.
It always makes me laugh how Kerry's all Ireland's are handy yet the Dubs only win epic All Ireland's.
Come back when you win 37."
meow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/06/2017 12:36:26    1996382

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Man handled? I believe he refused to give them the ball back? It was their sideline ball was it not? Interesting you say man handled, many Dubs are claiming he was struck at least one player."
Incorrect decision , it was a Dublin side line ball .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2017 12:44:25    1996389

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "meow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:)"
Apologies Liam lad... I was in bad form yesterday!

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 07/06/2017 12:50:21    1996395

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Blue Panther?? Is that what the Dubs call Connolly??"
There will only ever be 1 blue panther , the great Anton o'toole

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2017 12:53:24    1996401

Replying To superbluedub:  "Incorrect decision , it was a Dublin side line ball ."
Painful stuff. I am not saying what it should have been, I am saying Connolly and the Carlow players knew which way the decision went which led to the sideline ball.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 07/06/2017 12:59:59    1996410

I find all this indignation about the sacorsanctness of the match officals interesting and a tad hypocritical
Why has nothing been mentioned about Brendan Murphys reaction to being sent off
Same match same linesman but murphy hurled a torrent of verbal abuse at him going off
Wheres the rage? Wheres the 12 week ban?
Wheres it being highlighted on all media platforms
Ah right yeah its not .. whys that?
And I was at the match and this happened right in front of me

TrueGrit (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 07/06/2017 13:03:05    1996415

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Painful stuff. I am not saying what it should have been, I am saying Connolly and the Carlow players knew which way the decision went which led to the sideline ball."
Wrong Connolly went over to get the sideline ball as he like everybody else in the ground seen it go directly out of play, the linesman somehow decided to blatantly ignore what he saw and wave flag for Carlow ball hence the Carlow players rushing over while Connolly was in the process of getting the ball.
he obviously didn't realise what was going on

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 13:11:43    1996424

Replying To superbluedub:  "There will only ever be 1 blue panther , the great Anton o'toole"
I thought Anton was the 'Great Wandering O'Toole', that's what my dad always called him!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/06/2017 13:20:54    1996426

Replying To TheHermit:  "I thought Anton was the 'Great Wandering O'Toole', that's what my dad always called him!"
Hermit I think your dad was referring to the 'wandering Bobby Doyle' Anton was definitely the Blue Panther and would grace today's team no problem. Always played well V Kerry.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/06/2017 13:41:52    1996440

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Blue Panther?? Is that what the Dubs call Connolly??"
no

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/06/2017 13:44:21    1996442

Replying To TrueGrit:  "I find all this indignation about the sacorsanctness of the match officals interesting and a tad hypocritical
Why has nothing been mentioned about Brendan Murphys reaction to being sent off
Same match same linesman but murphy hurled a torrent of verbal abuse at him going off
Wheres the rage? Wheres the 12 week ban?
Wheres it being highlighted on all media platforms
Ah right yeah its not .. whys that?
And I was at the match and this happened right in front of me"
Shouting isn't a physical act. Murphy had the good sense to control himself. That's one difference. A lesson Diarmuid is going to learn.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 07/06/2017 14:29:54    1996481

Replying To kildare73:  "Shouting isn't a physical act. Murphy had the good sense to control himself. That's one difference. A lesson Diarmuid is going to learn."
But it is a one match suspension
as we already know as philly McMahon sat out this very match because of that
So is there one rule for one and one for another here? There's clear evidence of this taking place the linesman seen and heard what he was on the receiving and of. Rules are rules

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 15:09:42    1996517

Replying To kildare73:  "Shouting isn't a physical act. Murphy had the good sense to control himself. That's one difference. A lesson Diarmuid is going to learn."
verbally abusing a lines man is a 1 match ban ??

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2017 15:14:18    1996521

So far I haven't read anyone from Dublin or anywhere else say that DC has done nothing wrong. So from what I gather on here somebody from Mayo is pictured with his hand in a refs face, Tommy Walsh assaulted a ref, Tyrone player pushed a ref etc.
Kieran Donaghy man handled ref (after he was gouged)A Carlow player shouted at an official. Philly McMahon suspended for 1game for verbally abusing an official.
All of which is great and all but what has it to do with DC pushing a linesman and shouting in his face while aggressively pointing​ his finger in the refs face?
Next I read about due process, loop holes and appeals. Give it a rest please.
Maybe just maybe DC along with management and players of Dublin Senior football team, the CEO of Dublin Co. Board and the supporters should just accept the punishment that DC has received for an obvious breach of the rules. Also what are the club refs in Dublin to think if this is appealled?
DC is a top class footballer but maybe it's time he (and everyone else) accepted his punishment. Maybe if Diarmuid had accepted his punishment in previous years he may have learned a few lessons and we all wouldn't be talking about DCs indiscipline, followed by a circus of appeals and DRAs CCCCs etc
Is John Mullane the last man to accept his punishment at intercounty?:-)

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 07/06/2017 15:58:36    1996549

Replying To realdub:  "no"
Ok just wondering because Username and another Dub called him that.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/06/2017 16:12:52    1996556

I think we're long since past the stage where there needs to be hindsight reviewing of games introduced to discourage players acting out of order during the game in the knowledge that they could be sanctioned afterwards. If it was in place for a few weeks and there were consequences I think you'd see lads behaving better.
Anything would be a step in the right direction that can help the officials as the amount of scrutiny of games is far greater than in the past but without any real benefit to the games. The players of course deserve better too and are being short changed by the current set up.Time the GAA head honchos moved out of the past for everyone's sake.
Diarmuid Connolly will serve the ban more than likely but that doesn't mean that the rule is right and justifies a twelve week lay off. It wasn't serious enough to warrant that kind of punishment.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/06/2017 17:48:45    1996592

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Ok just wondering because Username and another Dub called him that."
Ha ha, they might be of tender years I'm not sure, but the blue panther was and always will be Anton O'Toole.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/06/2017 19:45:20    1996636

And he's back. Free to train according to the front page. That would make a big difference to his to slot back in, if Dublin make it that far.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 05/07/2017 17:01:57    2011078

Jaysus the Kerry lads will be delighted :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 05/07/2017 17:19:11    2011087