Connolly interfering with match official

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Connolly has already gotten away with 2 red cards in AI Semi Finals!!!!

I'll believe this when I see it!"
Same here. The big BLUE rulebook has to be played yet!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2017 22:10:48    1996079

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Great achievement for the only football county in a hurling province. For a county that got a free ride for 120 years they should have more."
Is that the same province who had 2 semi finalists and a quarter finalist???

not bad for a Hurling province if Leinster did that you'd never hear end of it

Dont be huffy Just because we have achieved what we have without every conceivable advantage given to us by the GAA

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 06/06/2017 22:14:35    1996084

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Great achievement for the only football county in a hurling province. For a county that got a free ride for 120 years they should have more."
Yep lost more than we have won alright.
It always makes me laugh how Kerry's all Ireland's are handy yet the Dubs only win epic All Ireland's.
Come back when you win 37.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 06/06/2017 22:14:35    1996085

Is that the same province who had 2 semi finalists and a quarter finalist???

not bad for a Hurling province if Leinster did that you'd never hear end of it

Dont be huffy Just because we have achieved what we have without every conceivable advantage given to us by the GAA

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 06/06/2017 22:30:52    1996093

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Did the sideline ball take place before Connolly touched the ref?
that's what we were discussing
So where has 12weeks got to do with anything, you must have watched the tv in rewind or something"
if my aunt had balls, she would be my uncle.

Firinne (Laois) - Posts: 59 - 06/06/2017 22:39:29    1996097

it goes on all the time at club games, where refs just turn up with no one and start asking people from the two teams playing to do lines man. the shouting and finger pointing is unreal and yet nothing ever done about it,

xxr (Mayo) - Posts: 47 - 06/06/2017 23:08:35    1996114

Replying To rossy15:  "Maybe more nervous of kildare ....."
Doubtful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2017 23:12:43    1996115

Justified ban in my opinion, the rule is there. He has let his teammates down once again, all over a nothing line ball while winning handy. It is not the first time he has let down his teammates with his indiscipline & drawn unwanted attention on them in their search for three in a row. I don't think Gavin will be happy. Dublin should forget about the legal route & let him serve his suspension, perversely I think it would be a good thing he is banned as it allows someone else come in to stake a place, lots of talent there & will allow them focus on the football instead of being mired in controversy. No one questions his skill & ability or that he is targeted but his indiscipline is shocking. Ciaran Mc Manus is another talent who suffers similar abuse but doesn't get wrapped up in the hassle. Let him sit it out & learn from it,

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 06/06/2017 23:17:17    1996119

And also, the Kerry/Dublin slagging that's starting to become a feature on this forum is giving it back something it needs. It seems a few of the posters aren't exactly in love with each other, keep it up lads, place needs a good riot!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 06/06/2017 23:55:56    1996137

Replying To westkerry:  "Where there for the previous 30 odd years before that when ye couldn't beat us?
If you want to be smart lad come back when you have won 37.
Enjoy the success it won't last forever."
No I genuinely wasn't being smart there lad. Im just pointing out that you surely are sick of Dublin by now. God knows I was sick of Kerry in 2001, 2004, 2007 (that one hurt the most), 2009. You are well worth ye're 37 all Irelands although I think ye got a handy one in 2014.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 07/06/2017 00:09:50    1996138

Replying To westkerry:  "This reads like justification for shoving a match official ?
Your out of order there lad absolutely nothing justifies aggressive physical contact with a match official.
The fact you are worried about a sideline ball against a team you would beat by a cricket score come off it."
You obviously can't read then or jump to conclusions easily.
I never stated justification for anything.
The point is we need to start improving officiating or we will keep going around in circles like we have been doing.
Blaming players,cards and rules is what happens every week when the official's are not doing the job right there's not a peep. They are part of the game and their performances should be treated every bit as much as a player or manager.
they need to be made improve and when they have poor games the only way to make them up their performance is by punishing them like any player does by being dropped. The standard at the top is appalling do we not want to improve that standard?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 09:59:19    1996241

I actually hope this is appealed, not that i dont believe that he didnt break the rule or by the letter of the law he doesn't get the suspension, their is something murky going on here between the witnessing of the incident and the referee match report, the mentioned debrief is odd, if you are going to apply the rules so concretely on the player, grand i dont have a problem with that. If you do it without due process, however that deserves to be examined and i believe Dublin County Board has a right to do that.

I think that is a different fight to the whether he deserves the suspension or not, by the letter of the law he does. But i am not sure all the appropriate process's have been adhered to here.

I agree with the Tipp poster who said Comerford a bigger loss to them then Connolly to Dublin given the strength of the panel and i think a fresh Connolly come August could be massive. I think Dublin need to take this on for other counties.

Sleep well Blue Panther.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/06/2017 10:23:38    1996255

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You obviously can't read then or jump to conclusions easily.
I never stated justification for anything.
The point is we need to start improving officiating or we will keep going around in circles like we have been doing.
Blaming players,cards and rules is what happens every week when the official's are not doing the job right there's not a peep. They are part of the game and their performances should be treated every bit as much as a player or manager.
they need to be made improve and when they have poor games the only way to make them up their performance is by punishing them like any player does by being dropped. The standard at the top is appalling do we not want to improve that standard?"
You are right to a degree, officiating does need to improve but I don't think you can do much more with the actual officials because there will always be mistakes by the very fact they are human. They do need help though, whether it's in the form of technology or a fourth official overseeing things from a better vantage point. Most sports now give help to their referees in real time. They still have to keep the time for godsake! It's time the bigwigs in Croke Park dragged our game into the modern era. Officiating is hard enough.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 07/06/2017 11:04:09    1996289

Replying To westkerry:  "Yep lost more than we have won alright.
It always makes me laugh how Kerry's all Ireland's are handy yet the Dubs only win epic All Ireland's.
Come back when you win 37."
I never said dublin only win classic my point is for approx 100 years Kerry had to play 2 teams to win munster in a hurling province and get a free ride to a semi final....Kerry had to win 4 games to win an all-ireland before the introduction of the back door...They have had it handy they should on at least 50 considering they got a cake walk in munster 78 times.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/06/2017 11:08:22    1996294

Replying To kildare73:  "You are right to a degree, officiating does need to improve but I don't think you can do much more with the actual officials because there will always be mistakes by the very fact they are human. They do need help though, whether it's in the form of technology or a fourth official overseeing things from a better vantage point. Most sports now give help to their referees in real time. They still have to keep the time for godsake! It's time the bigwigs in Croke Park dragged our game into the modern era. Officiating is hard enough."
Connolly was man handled by 3 Carlow players , right in front of the linesman and in full view of the referee
what help did the 2 of them need there ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/06/2017 11:11:32    1996301

Feck it

I honestly dotn think Connolly should appeal

I actually agreed with him appeal the last couple of times

Donegal player dived and play acted to get him sent off - people seem to forget that when talking about Connolly getting off red cards

Keegan pulled and dragged him by the neck to the ground forcing his face into the ground, of course you have every right to react in order to free yourself. I'd have done the same and proper procedures were not taken in order for Connolly to have a fair hearing. That's why he got off... again I was happy to see that

But this time.. no

He made minimal contact and it was supposedly in the ref report and the rules are the rules - it should have been dealt with it on the pitch

It's a farcical amount of time out considering the lack of any sort of real malice but there was a huge amount made about it in the media and the significance of the altercation has been greatly over blown, but again he has to take this one IMO

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/06/2017 11:22:14    1996316

Replying To kildare73:  "You are right to a degree, officiating does need to improve but I don't think you can do much more with the actual officials because there will always be mistakes by the very fact they are human. They do need help though, whether it's in the form of technology or a fourth official overseeing things from a better vantage point. Most sports now give help to their referees in real time. They still have to keep the time for godsake! It's time the bigwigs in Croke Park dragged our game into the modern era. Officiating is hard enough."
A start would be to take out the discretion of the official in the rule book
Most of the inconsistencies within a game and from game to game come from this.
enforce the rule equally.
human error is one thing but blatant wrong calls like Saturday which resulted in this whole fiasco are not human error, if something as basic as a kickout going directly over the sideline without any players contesting for the ball cannot be called correct by a linesman or overruled by a ref it's not good enough at this level. Its the equivalent of a player missing a 14 metre free in front of the posts he would be taken off the frees immediately.
yet the linesman gets nothing.
for me video refs aren't a way of improving officiating as take rugby it's gone backwards they now can't make any decision by themselves and I'm talking about the most basic try they have to go up and ask a question that's not improving an official performance it's babying them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/06/2017 11:25:53    1996325

Replying To superbluedub:  "Connolly was man handled by 3 Carlow players , right in front of the linesman and in full view of the referee
what help did the 2 of them need there ?"
Man handled? I believe he refused to give them the ball back? It was their sideline ball was it not? Interesting you say man handled, many Dubs are claiming he was struck at least one player.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 07/06/2017 11:42:08    1996341

Replying To superbluedub:  "Connolly was man handled by 3 Carlow players , right in front of the linesman and in full view of the referee
what help did the 2 of them need there ?"
You see this game in game out. DC believed that it was a Dublin line ball (it was, should have been, but that's another issue). He held onto the ball, the 3 Carlow lads came in to wrestle the ball off him and he wouldn't let go (note when he dropped the ball, the Carlow lads went for the ball, it wasn't about DC, it was about getting the ball and taking the line ball) but he got more mad, and then remonstrated with the linesman. This pushing and shoving over a disputed ball happens all the time, is it right, no, but it happens. What goes on after is the problem. Just take the punishment, all the stuff leading up to it shouldn't have happened, but it did happen and he should have been big enough to walk away.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 07/06/2017 11:53:04    1996354

Replying To jacktheDub:  "I never said dublin only win classic my point is for approx 100 years Kerry had to play 2 teams to win munster in a hurling province and get a free ride to a semi final....Kerry had to win 4 games to win an all-ireland before the introduction of the back door...They have had it handy they should on at least 50 considering they got a cake walk in munster 78 times."
What's the excuse of ye boys so only having 26 when ye've always had a huge population and for the last 10 years Croke Park has pumped in millions to ye? An army of a backroom team, 20+ sponsors and particularly professional players and ye've still only managed a two in a row!

Actually scratch the 26, we all know that until the 1950's any titles won by Dublin were won by country lads piling their trade up there.

So being accurate, you have only 11 All-Ireland's since the policy was brought in to pick Dublin players only.

11 All-Ireland titles. If I was the GAA's accountant I'd be expecting heads to roll for that investment to return ratio ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/06/2017 12:13:40    1996368