Connolly interfering with match official

Don't see Dublin appealing, would just bring too much heat & focus on the panel.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 06/06/2017 19:11:07    1995893

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i said it on the other thread, its gas how many of the haters are from Kildare :) :)
I wonder why
Ye would be better off worrying about Meath lads, i hope they give ye a serious spanking"
yeah, good for you, its the attitude of some Dublin Supporters on this thread that is embarrassing.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 06/06/2017 19:12:08    1995894

Replying To kildare73:  "I said I knew what Comerford was charged with, which is exactly what Connolly was charged with. And now equal punishment has been given to both parties which is fair enough to most right thinking people."
But you dont know what comerford did to get his infraction do you? Your taking it upon yourself to assume somethinf
Because the word minor interference applies doesn't mean they both done the same thing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 19:18:45    1995899

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Hahaha we don't have the big bucks for nothing , we will be appealing and appealing and appealing til our man gets justice. 3 months for that embarrassing."
Spot on there, it is embarrassing. But not for the reason you put forward

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 06/06/2017 19:23:27    1995902

Replying To realman2:  "You can't have an acceptable level of contact with the referee. Hence 12 weeks is appropriate. Anyone who has played knows that you basically don't touch the referee...ever...it's not that hard to keep to."
I hate the mandatory sentences.

Some incidents are worse than others and deserve longer. 12 weeks is a lot for what he did. By the letter of the law the punishment is correct but in an ideal world I think we should be able to judge each situation on its own merits and 12 weeks is harsh.

I do think it was a push though. The linesman does step backwards as a result of it.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 06/06/2017 19:28:06    1995911

It's a fair result. The minimum ban is 12 weeks so anything more would be unjust. The toughest part will be when Connolly is banned from the Dublin and St Vincents training sessions for this period, coming back to a potential semi final (I believe) with no match sharpness would be a disaster for Dublin. Even then the question is will he have the ring rust gone by the final?

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 06/06/2017 19:31:39    1995917

This was inevitable as I mentioned earlier, I'm not overally concerned, there is a hearing and appeal process to go through yet. All that happened today was officials drank some coffee and applied a rule black and whitely. The nuance stage is just beginning.

Politically the CCCC had to do this today, they can't be seen to bend on the rule. However there is plenty of mitigation in the hearing and appeal process were rebuttal will be the order of the day.

Hopefully we can help Comerford too.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/06/2017 19:33:05    1995920

Replying To hill16no1man:  "That statement makes absoultly no sense at all, because they propose 12 weeks somehow you feel that makes me wrong????? You do realise what your actually saying there don't you?
I said he clearly waved for a sideline ball incorrectly before Connolly went near him how does Connolly getting a suspension change that course of events?????"
I really hate your attitude here.

The umpire making a mistake should have no bearing on how he is treated.

It's this sort of mindset that has our referees not getting the respect they deserve.

Maybe if there was more respect for officials you have more people prepared to do the job and the standard might improve.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 06/06/2017 19:33:22    1995921

Replying To TheUsername:  "This was inevitable as I mentioned earlier, I'm not overally concerned, there is a hearing and appeal process to go through yet. All that happened today was officials drank some coffee and applied a rule black and whitely. The nuance stage is just beginning.

Politically the CCCC had to do this today, they can't be seen to bend on the rule. However there is plenty of mitigation in the hearing and appeal process were rebuttal will be the order of the day.

Hopefully we can help Comerford too."
Be hopeful they don't make a scapegoat out of him they have tried to do that with lads from so called lesser counties. The might decide its time to go big!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/06/2017 19:37:05    1995926

Replying To CletusVanDamme:  "It's a fair result. The minimum ban is 12 weeks so anything more would be unjust. The toughest part will be when Connolly is banned from the Dublin and St Vincents training sessions for this period, coming back to a potential semi final (I believe) with no match sharpness would be a disaster for Dublin. Even then the question is will he have the ring rust gone by the final?"
Banned from training that is ludicrous if true!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/06/2017 19:39:21    1995930

12 weeks is savage punishment for such a minor offence, surely 4 weeks would be enough. I know the GAA have to protect the match officals but they need to take into account the severity of the incident. I would totally agree he deserves a ban but not for that long.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 06/06/2017 19:39:27    1995931

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Hmmm
legally it's the gaa here who are showing no respect for the rules, as the cccc are not allowed judicate on an incident that the officials have adjudicated on already.
they are breaking their own rules here. The officials seen the incident took no action therefore if this goes to the DRA it will be overturned on the basis"
The officials didn't adjudicate on it tho. Don't believe everything Brolly tells you on twitter.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/06/2017 19:39:28    1995932

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Banned from training that is ludicrous if true!"
Galvin got the same ban as Connolly and unless the rule has changed since, Galvin couldn't train with the panel for the period. I'm not sure with club, but definitely county.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 06/06/2017 19:43:00    1995936

Be some achievement if we do the 3-in-a-row after this

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 06/06/2017 19:46:46    1995940

Replying To Whammo86:  "I really hate your attitude here.

It's this sort of mindset that has our referees not getting the respect they deserve.

Maybe if there was more respect for officials you have more people prepared to do the job and the standard might improve."
Exactly, his attitude says more about who he is than anything...let's just excuse the push on the official, dear lord. There's wrong calls in every game but you don't see the officials being physically laid hands on.

Firinne (Laois) - Posts: 59 - 06/06/2017 19:47:57    1995942

I haven't commented on this but have had the popcorn and enjoyed the debate so far.
My opinion is the summer championship will be a poor place without Connolly.
Unfortunately the rule is very clear on this and they had little option.
The problem is the rule, it shouldn't be a 12 week automatic ban but rather a ban based on the individual circumstances.
It must sicken Gavin as it was a game that the Dublin team would win by a cricket score! Just like Galvin in 08 against Clare.
Connolly and Dublin GAA should take this on the chin, set an example here that you simply can't put a hand on an official.
For all the Dubs on here only one man is responsibility for this Mr Connolly himself.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 06/06/2017 19:52:32    1995946

Replying To cavanman47:  "The officials didn't adjudicate on it tho. Don't believe everything Brolly tells you on twitter."
By seeing the incident both the ref and linesman did though
So therefore cccc are in breach of their own rules here
I actually posted on here yesterday stating that long before brolly tweeted anything.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 19:54:17    1995948

If the Dubs appeal this then they are setting a very dangerous precedent for their own club games were effectively you are being given a carte Blanche to interfere with officials.......feel sorry for Connolly who is a class footballer and also a guy who does a lit around his own club but think he has crossed the line on this occasion .......difficult one for the Dubs but as I said if they don't suck this one up then it's dangerous times ahead in terms of discipline in their own club championship never mind making a mockery of the give respect campaign

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 06/06/2017 19:58:32    1995949

Replying To Whammo86:  "I really hate your attitude here.

Maybe if there was more respect for officials you have more people prepared to do the job and the standard might improve."
What are you talking about
You seem to be jumping in midway here without knowing what I was responding to.
I stated a simple fact that the linesman (not umpire as you say) made the incorrect call resulting in the Connolly incident after.
now the poster stated I was wrong simply because Connolly got a suspension.
please tell me how Connolly getting a suspension has any bearing on the order those events occured in ????
You need to read first before having a go at me in future

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 20:00:19    1995953

Replying To Firinne:  "Exactly, his attitude says more about who he is than anything...let's just excuse the push on the official, dear lord. There's wrong calls in every game but you don't see the officials being physically laid hands on."
Oh come off it your some baby
You know well you responded to my comment regarding its not a chicken or the egg syndrome
that it's clear the linesman made his error first and you childishly tried to suggest the sequence of events were wrong because Connolly got a ban
Hmmm I think you are caught with your pants down here
Admit it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 20:05:02    1995959