Connolly interfering with match official

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Did you see what comerford did???"
No but I know what he was charged with! McGeeney didn't even touch Joe McQuillan and he got a ban. Listen I wouldn't worry about it, I'm sure the really blue rulebook will come out and Mr Connolly will be grand.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2017 17:07:11    1995782

Replying To hill16no1man:  "For someone who quoted the rules a lot here you seem to misunderstand the rules that the cccc work under. There's a difference in a red sending off a player and a ref seeing an incident and not sending off a player which iswhat happened here so he is deemed to have dealt with the incident which means the cccc by the rules have no jurisdiction, the only thing they can go by is a match report and I don't see how a red can change his mind 45minutes later on an a decision without being told to do so by certain people which would therefore be breaking the rules again."
Hill its all speculative at the minute unit the CCCC have reviewed the Refs match report. If it says something along the line of "seen DC & the linesman have an altercation but it appeared harmless" then I dont think the CCCC would have any grounds for an intervention, as the ref would have seen and dealt with the issue. However if the report states "after the game the linesman informed me of an altercation between himself and DC" then the CCCC would be in a position to investigate. We will know more in the morning. I honestly wouldn't like to see DC suspended for 3 months for this but you have to admit he has a problem with controlling his temper on the pitch and for his own development he needs to control this.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 06/06/2017 17:07:54    1995783

Replying To hill16no1man:  "But your defending the blatant bad call the linesman and ref decided to make
Again if he doesn't make the bad call nothing happens
you can't keep protecting officials who can't officiate properly, they need to improve or be dropped"
So you're defending a blatant push on an official.
If he doesn't push the official nothing happens, most lads argue but get on with it.
You can't protect a lad when he pushes a ref or a lad who keeps brushing with the laws of the game. If players break the rules like this, they need to punished.

See what i did there (insert cool face)

Firinne (Laois) - Posts: 59 - 06/06/2017 17:12:08    1995784

Replying To hill16no1man:  "But your defending the blatant bad call the linesman and ref decided to make
Again if he doesn't make the bad call nothing happens
you can't keep protecting officials who can't officiate properly, they need to improve or be dropped"
Does that cover when they don't put certain things in match reports?

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2017 17:24:22    1995790

Replying To jimbodub:  "Fair play to Pat Spillane and his campaign

The only form of media he hasn't been calling for Connolly to be banned is shadow puppetry

TV, Radio, print media, social media

Doing his best to over blow what many have agreed right around the country is an almost nothing incident

He didn't even see the Comerford incident yet he was comparing it like for like on the Sunday game.

He still lightly put his hand on the lines man.. but the same lines man made nothing of the incident at the time, didn't flag it to the ref, the ref saw the incident and did nothing

It happened in the heat of the moment, he 100% shouldn't have done it but it's been greatly over blown.

Then you have others calling it "man handled"

I don't know, listen if he gets 3 months then fair enough but that is a grossly unfair ban considering the situation."
Jim
During the Sean Cavanagh witch hunt, and it was a witch hunt, you didn't condemn what was happening.
I actually thought Spillane and Colm O'R were quite level headed. Only covered it for a few seconds, said how they felt and moved on. Didn't go overboard unlike a certain Joe Brolly did. The Sunday game also commented on the Mattie Donnelly incident saying he should of been banned. (And he should of been, no clear footage so different to Connolly were it's very clear).

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/06/2017 17:30:24    1995795

Replying To kildare73:  "Does that cover when they don't put certain things in match reports?"
It covers the lot my friend
Will never improve unless their performances are judged in the same vein as any player or managers

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 17:33:03    1995798

Replying To kildare73:  "So Connolly was only trying to push some common sense into him? Let's see how that goes around the country this year. Officials will be thrilled."
Yeah because that's what I said
remember to flush after you go

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 17:35:05    1995801

Replying To kildare73:  "No but I know what he was charged with! McGeeney didn't even touch Joe McQuillan and he got a ban. Listen I wouldn't worry about it, I'm sure the really blue rulebook will come out and Mr Connolly will be grand."
If you don't know what comerford did then how do you know it's the same thing?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 17:39:09    1995805

Just for the record, those of you saying he "pushed the linesman" have either
1. Not seen the incident so havent a clue what they are talking about or..
2. Are just making shit up to suit their argument!

There was no "push"

Has no one stopped for a second to think, "hey, the linesman he so viciously assaulted, saw no harm in the incident at the time, did not react, did not tell the ref and saw fit to let the game go on as he didnt feel ...pushed...."

I am sure he is happy with ye all taking offence on his behalf tho lads!

That tells you all you need to know!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/06/2017 17:41:37    1995809

Replying To anto_meath:  "Hill its all speculative at the minute unit the CCCC have reviewed the Refs match report. If it says something along the line of "seen DC & the linesman have an altercation but it appeared harmless" then I dont think the CCCC would have any grounds for an intervention, as the ref would have seen and dealt with the issue. However if the report states "after the game the linesman informed me of an altercation between himself and DC" then the CCCC would be in a position to investigate. We will know more in the morning. I honestly wouldn't like to see DC suspended for 3 months for this but you have to admit he has a problem with controlling his temper on the pitch and for his own development he needs to control this."
Fair enough
I also think he gets abused on the pitch and officials need to punish that as much as he needs to control his reactions
Again all stems from officials not doing their job right if they stamp out targetting of players you don't get players reacting.
The ref was five yards away from the incident looking directly at it so it would be very fishy if he has in report he was only informed after the match.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 17:44:16    1995813

Replying To Firinne:  "So you're defending a blatant push on an official.
If he doesn't push the official nothing happens, most lads argue but get on with it.
You can't protect a lad when he pushes a ref or a lad who keeps brushing with the laws of the game. If players break the rules like this, they need to punished.

See what i did there (insert cool face)"
It's not a which comes first the chicken or the egg scenario my friend haha
The linesman made the call first that's quite clear

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 17:46:30    1995814

12 week ban confirmed just now. Not surprising, you just can't lay a hand on an official. Should do the right thing and accept and get on with things. Appealing and dragging this out will do no one any favours

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 06/06/2017 17:55:15    1995820

An open and shut case. Minor physical interference (laying a hand on, pushing, pulling or jostling') was made and that is enough for 12 weeks. Some Dublin posters are living in cloud cuckoo land. He's a big loss to the entertainment of the championship and he's blown his chance for a POTY and he's disrupted Dublin's prep but he'll be back for the big days.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 06/06/2017 17:56:10    1995822

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Just for the record, those of you saying he "pushed the linesman" have either

There was no "push"

Has no one stopped for a second to think, "hey, the linesman he so viciously assaulted, saw no harm in the incident at the time, did not react, did not tell the ref and saw fit to let the game go on as he didnt feel ...pushed...."

That tells you all you need to know!"
You are right Liam, it was not a serious incident but the fact is that players cannot lay hands on officials in any way, serious or not.

There can be no leeway of any description in this or some else will say "it was all right for Connolly so why not me".

It is very unfortunate for him as I don't think for one minute that he intended any harm but he really only has himself to blame.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/06/2017 17:57:07    1995823

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Just for the record, those of you saying he "pushed the linesman" have either

There was no "push"

That tells you all you need to know!"
Everyone watching the game saw the incident. There was contact with the linesman, which is a offence in the rule book . The event was replayed, and commented on, post match, and on the Sunday Game.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 06/06/2017 17:58:12    1995826

I don't think he should be banned. It really wasn't particularly bad what was done.

I'd have zero sympathy for him if he does get banned. He still should not have done what's he's done.

Some of the problem here is the stupid predetermined ban length attached with their rules. I'd much prefer there to be bans of appropriate severity and they get enforced.

1 game slap on the wrist and move on would be fine.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 06/06/2017 18:01:58    1995828

JUSTICE!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 06/06/2017 18:02:02    1995829

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Yeah because that's what I said
remember to flush after you go"
I said I knew what Comerford was charged with, which is exactly what Connolly was charged with. And now equal punishment has been given to both parties which is fair enough to most right thinking people.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2017 18:05:22    1995832

Not even sure they are living in cuckoo land or more so doing the old reliable 'everyone hates us rant' if it was one of my own I'd say the same. Can't do what he done end of.

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 06/06/2017 18:07:38    1995833

will go through the channels and eventually to the DRA and dermo is free

poor dubs playing the victim card on here is embarassing

ye were handed a couple of all irelands by match officials now take yer medicine

user.name (Leitrim) - Posts: 67 - 06/06/2017 18:07:41    1995834