Connolly interfering with match official

Replying To kildare73:  "Wouldn't be the first time he got off on a technicality. That's most people's problem. The rest of the country seems to have to serve their suspension though. This will be a good test of how much if a two tier GAA we still have."
https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.balls.ie/amp/gaa/why-was-lee-keegans-red-card-overturned-134366
 https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0819/722395-mayos-kevin-keane-wins-red-card-appeal/

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/tyrone-s-tiernan-mccann-has-eight-week-ban-thrown-out-1.2322416%3Fmode%3Damp

http://www.the42.ie/cathal-oconnor-clare-2898950-Jul2016/?utm_source=twitter_self

www.citylocal.ie/Kerry/news-in-Kerry/os-has-red-card-rescinded-7962/

http://www.irishnews.com/sport/2015/09/09/news/ronan-mcnamee-s-black-card-against-kerry-rescinded-257577/

Just a selection FYI!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/06/2017 14:27:20    1995628

Replying To jimbodub:  "That's not even remotely true

Many players from all over the country have had successful appeals against bans

At the end of the day

If the match officials did not report any wrong doing then there is nothing the CCCC can do about it."
Honest to jaysus Jimbo it's unreal!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/06/2017 14:28:25    1995629

Fair play to Pat Spillane and his campaign

The only form of media he hasn't been calling for Connolly to be banned is shadow puppetry

TV, Radio, print media, social media

Doing his best to over blow what many have agreed right around the country is an almost nothing incident

He didn't even see the Comerford incident yet he was comparing it like for like on the Sunday game.

He still lightly put his hand on the lines man.. but the same lines man made nothing of the incident at the time, didn't flag it to the ref, the ref saw the incident and did nothing

It happened in the heat of the moment, he 100% shouldn't have done it but it's been greatly over blown.

Then you have others calling it "man handled"

I don't know, listen if he gets 3 months then fair enough but that is a grossly unfair ban considering the situation.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/06/2017 14:28:39    1995630

Replying To benjyyy:  "How do you expect refereeing to improve with the lack of respect shown to them? They are constantly abused up and down the country. A players lays hands on a linesman and you have people everywhere playing it down. Why would anyone want to get into refereeing with that treatment? I'm honestly amazed we have as many refs as we do."
Exactly, no one thinks of how the refs might feel. They are happy to defend a lad who has done stuff on and off the field.

Firinne (Laois) - Posts: 59 - 06/06/2017 14:44:11    1995648

Replying To Jackeen:  "https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.balls.ie/amp/gaa/why-was-lee-keegans-red-card-overturned-134366
 https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0819/722395-mayos-kevin-keane-wins-red-card-appeal/

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/tyrone-s-tiernan-mccann-has-eight-week-ban-thrown-out-1.2322416%3Fmode%3Damp

http://www.the42.ie/cathal-oconnor-clare-2898950-Jul2016/?utm_source=twitter_self

www.citylocal.ie/Kerry/news-in-Kerry/os-has-red-card-rescinded-7962/

http://www.irishnews.com/sport/2015/09/09/news/ronan-mcnamee-s-black-card-against-kerry-rescinded-257577/

Just a selection FYI!"
Now show me instances where players from the lower profile teams got off. All your examples are from top level teams. Young Comerford didn't get off but then he's from Tipp, not Dublin level I know. Two tier GAA still applies.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2017 15:05:27    1995661

Replying To anto_meath:  "It looks fairly clear from the rules that DC will get a 12 weeks all things been equal. Now it depends on the refs match report and what DC actually said to the linesman. Looking at the footage on the Sunday Game, the Carlow manager standing close by seemed to be a bit shocked by it. It was a silly mistake by DC and 12 weeks is a very long suspension to get for what is a minor enough incident. Punch an opponent (which could be more harmful) and you get a 1 month ban, but they are the rules. I think people blaming RTE for highlighting the altercation are blinded by their own beliefs. It is the Sunday Games job to analyse the game, to give their opinions on what they witnessed, comment as to the quality of play and point out any breach of the rules. Has each panelist an affection toward their own county, of course they have, we all have. That is why there is 200 odd comments on this topic as many Dublin supporters try to defend DC when the footage suggests he breached the rules and therefore must be sanctioned in accordance with the rules. DC has fantasist footballing ability but he has a self discipline problem that he needs to address otherwise he will spend more time on the bench than on the pitch."
The Sunday game pick and choose what they analyse a perfect example was Sean cavanagh a couple of years for his tackle on mcmanus then you had mckiernan tackle at the end of the game against wasn't even mentioned. All you had was an analyst from a county that has had 2 doping question Marks over them settling a score. The sense of outrage is only because it was Connolly and Dublin of course Spillane would love to see Connolly suspended it would suit his county no end. People on here don't give a damn about rules they just want to see a lynching because who was involved.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 06/06/2017 15:21:13    1995677

Replying To kildare73:  "Now show me instances where players from the lower profile teams got off. All your examples are from top level teams. Young Comerford didn't get off but then he's from Tipp, not Dublin level I know. Two tier GAA still applies."
Thats not what you said. A ten minute search is all it took for me to find examples to dispel your statement. So no, it's not just Connolly that gets off. But here are some examples of non top tier counties that have gotten their suspensions overturned on appeal.

http://clareherald.com/2016/04/tubridy-red-card-overturned-ahead-of-div-3-final-with-kildare-567/

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/savage-has-red-card-overturned-1.415210%3Fmode%3Damp

http://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2013/07/11/4016681-huge-boost-for-westmeath-minors-as-isreals-red-card-is-rescinded/

http://m.herald.ie/sport/gaa/downs-gordon-boost-as-referee-fahys-second-red-card-of-summer-is-overturned-27880659.html

http://wicklowgaa.net/tag/wicklow/page/12/

http://www.wikiwand.com/en/Brendan_Murphy_(Carlow_footballer)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/06/2017 15:44:40    1995700

Scenes when Diarmuid Connolly get off with a warning and no further action haha

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/06/2017 15:53:31    1995704

Twice already in this thread I've mentioned the incident in the Clare v Limerick game where Patrick O Connor put his hand on the umpire. Yet not one of the dozens of posters on here who are preaching like Pharisees about adhering to the rulebook have said he should also get 12 week ban. I agree DC should get 12 weeks but it shows the hypocrisy of posters on here and that they are only all over this cos it's Connolly.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 06/06/2017 15:59:34    1995710

Replying To anto_meath:  "It looks fairly clear from the rules that DC will get a 12 weeks all things been equal. Now it depends on the refs match report and what DC actually said to the linesman. Looking at the footage on the Sunday Game, the Carlow manager standing close by seemed to be a bit shocked by it. It was a silly mistake by DC and 12 weeks is a very long suspension to get for what is a minor enough incident. Punch an opponent (which could be more harmful) and you get a 1 month ban, but they are the rules. I think people blaming RTE for highlighting the altercation are blinded by their own beliefs. It is the Sunday Games job to analyse the game, to give their opinions on what they witnessed, comment as to the quality of play and point out any breach of the rules. Has each panelist an affection toward their own county, of course they have, we all have. That is why there is 200 odd comments on this topic as many Dublin supporters try to defend DC when the footage suggests he breached the rules and therefore must be sanctioned in accordance with the rules. DC has fantasist footballing ability but he has a self discipline problem that he needs to address otherwise he will spend more time on the bench than on the pitch."
For someone who quoted the rules a lot here you seem to misunderstand the rules that the cccc work under. There's a difference in a red sending off a player and a ref seeing an incident and not sending off a player which iswhat happened here so he is deemed to have dealt with the incident which means the cccc by the rules have no jurisdiction, the only thing they can go by is a match report and I don't see how a red can change his mind 45minutes later on an a decision without being told to do so by certain people which would therefore be breaking the rules again.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 16:28:32    1995739

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "I wouldn't replace Connolly for Murphy any day. Murphy much better"
As a wwe wrestler Murphy would be
As he does more clothes lines in a game than the undertaker done in his carrear.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 16:31:32    1995744

Replying To benjyyy:  "How do you expect refereeing to improve with the lack of respect shown to them? They are constantly abused up and down the country. A players lays hands on a linesman and you have people everywhere playing it down. Why would anyone want to get into refereeing with that treatment? I'm honestly amazed we have as many refs as we do."
Well if you look at what started the situation a blatant inexcusable wrong call from said linesman, like there was nobody even contested the kickout it literally went from the keeper to the sideline untouched, the linesman shouldn't be let officiate if he can't get a basic call like that right. But yeah just focus on players and keep repeating these officiating disasters week in week out seems to be your answer, you will never improve anything that way

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 16:38:58    1995751

Replying To Jackeen:  "Thats not what you said. A ten minute search is all it took for me to find examples to dispel your statement. So no, it's not just Connolly that gets off. But here are some examples of non top tier counties that have gotten their suspensions overturned on appeal.

http://clareherald.com/2016/04/tubridy-red-card-overturned-ahead-of-div-3-final-with-kildare-567/

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/savage-has-red-card-overturned-1.415210%3Fmode%3Damp

http://www.westmeathexaminer.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2013/07/11/4016681-huge-boost-for-westmeath-minors-as-isreals-red-card-is-rescinded/

http://m.herald.ie/sport/gaa/downs-gordon-boost-as-referee-fahys-second-red-card-of-summer-is-overturned-27880659.html

http://wicklowgaa.net/tag/wicklow/page/12/

And" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.wikiwand.com/en/Brendan_Murphy_(Carlow_footballer)"
And these were all for minor physical interference with an official? Yes? Ah well sure then let him off so! Give the Tipp lads a shout and tell them Comerford is back in business.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2017 16:41:06    1995758

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Well if you look at what started the situation a blatant inexcusable wrong call from said linesman, like there was nobody even contested the kickout it literally went from the keeper to the sideline untouched, the linesman shouldn't be let officiate if he can't get a basic call like that right. But yeah just focus on players and keep repeating these officiating disasters week in week out seems to be your answer, you will never improve anything that way"
So Connolly was only trying to push some common sense into him? Let's see how that goes around the country this year. Officials will be thrilled.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2017 16:45:03    1995762

Replying To Hunter077:  "If Conolly dropped the ball and didn't hold on to it to wind up the Carlow lads he would not have lost his cool.

Michal Murphy gets targeted just like Conolly and doesn't act out in an unprofessional manner.

I hope he gets the 12 weeks"
He went to collect the ball because it was quite clear it was a Dublin ball
Where do you get he picked it up to wind up Carlow lads is strange.
I don't think he even seen the flag go up the wrong way as nobody in portlaoise expected him to somehow give a Carlow ball from their keeper kicking it straight out of play

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 16:47:07    1995763

Replying To Firinne:  "Exactly, no one thinks of how the refs might feel. They are happy to defend a lad who has done stuff on and off the field."
But your defending the blatant bad call the linesman and ref decided to make
Again if he doesn't make the bad call nothing happens
you can't keep protecting officials who can't officiate properly, they need to improve or be dropped

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 16:50:19    1995769

Replying To hill16no1man:  "As a wwe wrestler Murphy would be
As he does more clothes lines in a game than the undertaker done in his carrear."
I do find it amazing that even though there is no doubt of the brilliance of Connolly, the Dubs think there is nobody better. He isn't even the standout performer for Dublin in recent years.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 06/06/2017 16:50:32    1995771

Replying To kildare73:  "And these were all for minor physical interference with an official? Yes? Ah well sure then let him off so! Give the Tipp lads a shout and tell them Comerford is back in business."
Stop widening the goalposts. Your original post stated and I quote "The rest of the country seems to have to serve their suspension though". I've demonstrated that statement is incorrect. It makes no difference to this discussion what the infringement was for. All the best.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 06/06/2017 16:51:39    1995774

Replying To kildare73:  "And these were all for minor physical interference with an official? Yes? Ah well sure then let him off so! Give the Tipp lads a shout and tell them Comerford is back in business."
Did you see what comerford did???

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/06/2017 16:54:04    1995775

Stop widening the goalposts. Your original post stated and I quote "The rest of the country seems to have to serve their suspension though". I've demonstrated that statement is incorrect. It makes no difference to this discussion what the infringement was for. All the best

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/06/2017 17:03:48    1995781