Connolly interfering with match official

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Pillar reckons Connolly should be banned for 12 weeks so what ye think of that?

I suppose that's Darragh o'sé's fault as well."
Thomas O Se says 12 weeks for it is "a joke".

It's a tricky one.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/06/2017 23:16:32    1995316

It's worth mentioning Tipp have appealed over Comerford ban as well, could be an easy out for everyone here with the point mate.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/06/2017 23:21:33    1995319

Replying To Soma:  "Evan Comerford was suspended after his incident was included in the referees report and he was suspended by a committee in Tipperary. It is a totally different committee to the one that will be looking at the Connolly incident, which may not even feature in the referees report, so all talk that little Tipperary get treated differently to big bad Dublin is nonsense."
We just have higher standards to maintain. Our hurling manager isn't afraid to drop all star hurlers from his panel.

Striking an official isn't accepted in Tipp no matter who you are.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/06/2017 23:27:35    1995324

Replying To Passer_By:  "The man was like a bull. The linesman just shrivelled in awe and the ref did absolutely nothing, but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards following continuous cynical behaviour by Jonny Cooper who knowingly knew he was vulnerable on a soft yellow card. That killed the game we were competing very well in until then.

Shove on the linesman aside (which is an absolute open and shut case), the vulgar finger poking into the face was/is indicative of what a nasty side there can be to an otherwise seriously undisputed talented player.

Connollys yellow card gets little commentary at all here however. This was a blatant close line tackle that warranted more. It's a shame, but Dublin as All Ireland champions were seriously frustrated/rattled up to that point (indicative most so by Connollys over reaction), yet the game was killed a minute or so latter by Murphys sending off.

Fenton was nullified until Brendan went off and Connolly was largely insignificant save for the foregoing side show and an injury time 45 (three injury time scores that put an unwarranted dirtier look on the end scoreboard).

Some really dreadful referring put Dublin in the clear. A flattering shoreline really and we're a man down now for the qualifiers. Maybe we can appeal his first yellow card to the CCC (short for Carlow CountyCouncil lads, we might have a better chance if it's misaddressed - any dissent from Carlow is otherwise just thrown in the bin).

Meath and Kildare should take heart from yesterday. Westmeath too. They're not unbeatable in Leinster."
What match were you looking at murphy wasn't able for Fenton yesterday he offered very little before the sending off .His midfield partner was the only carlow player to give it a go

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 05/06/2017 23:43:24    1995334

It's almost laughable Dublin 'so called GAA fans' on here already looking for loopholes to get the guilty party off ....... he'll get what he rightfully deserves this afternoon! Broke the rules, must serve his punishment!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 06/06/2017 10:16:38    1995413

Replying To Ciarrai Abu:  "It's almost laughable Dublin 'so called GAA fans' on here already looking for loopholes to get the guilty party off ....... he'll get what he rightfully deserves this afternoon! Broke the rules, must serve his punishment!"
Yeah I heard Connolly goggled if he was allowed to touch a linesman but nothing came up about it so he said.. ah sure feck it!

He has nothing to answer for if you ask me!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/06/2017 10:27:58    1995421

Replying To Ciarrai Abu:  "It's almost laughable Dublin 'so called GAA fans' on here already looking for loopholes to get the guilty party off ....... he'll get what he rightfully deserves this afternoon! Broke the rules, must serve his punishment!"
Another one joins the lynch mob in wanting a player suspended for the whole summer for a nothing incident. In all my 50 yrs of following Gaelic Games I've never witnessed such a witch hunt .If one had not seen the incident you would think Connolly had kicked the linesman and ref around the field .

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 06/06/2017 10:45:23    1995435

Replying To TheUsername:  "Apologies if that seemed arrogant, of course Dublin could be beaten in a qualifier or puaterfinal.

I do have an evidance based confidence however of reaching that stage, 09 was the last time we failed to reach the semi, but like you say teams are there to beaten if the opposition are good enough. The beauty of competitive sport.

It's a debate a lot of Dublin lads are having at present mate, how much of a blow his loss will be, I tend to agree with you.

Are you confident yourself should WM make the LSF?"
Confident yes but local Derby could go either way

LLG (Westmeath) - Posts: 52 - 06/06/2017 10:54:07    1995440

Gaa need to stay consistent here and issue the 12 week ban, they need to keep with making a strong message that officials simply cannot be touched / interfered with during a match, end of!!
I think this is actually a blessing in disguise, Connolly needs a firm kick to cop himself on, it might get just be what is needed for him and Dublin management to reign in his disciplinary issues.
It also gives a chance to some of the new players to make a name for themselves this summer
If Dublin make it to the semi, more than likely, he comes back into the equation taking all the focus on whether or not he starts, what the opposition are going to do about him etc and that in turn takes a lot of heat off

That being said, the witch hunt on here is more laughable than the issue itself. Talk about everyones favourite pantomime villain

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/06/2017 11:31:27    1995468

This is a blessing for Dublin to be honest. He has been a liability for some time now and his only contributions are sporadic highlight reel scores. I honestly believe Dublin will be a better team with him off the pitch. Niall Scully got through a mountain of work the last day something Connolly hasn't been doing for some time now. I'd imagine another similar type of player being integrated and Dublin will be a better functioning outfit for it which is bad news for the rest of us.

BuffyBoffy (Mayo) - Posts: 244 - 06/06/2017 11:52:21    1995487

Replying To dubarra:  "Another one joins the lynch mob in wanting a player suspended for the whole summer for a nothing incident. In all my 50 yrs of following Gaelic Games I've never witnessed such a witch hunt .If one had not seen the incident you would think Connolly had kicked the linesman and ref around the field ."
You don't remember the Paul Galvin witch hunt no?

Led by RTÉ and the Sunday game , Paul actually got an initial 6 months ban which was reduced to 3 months after appeal.

How about the Sean cavanagh witch hunt?
Again led by RTÉ and the Sunday game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/06/2017 12:05:58    1995497

I don't really have any strong views on this subject as I can see both sides.

But the one thing that I do want to comment on and what I've found both very telling and very striking in this discussion on here is the number of Dublin posters who have stated that Dublin's legal team will force the CCC to back down, run for the hills etc.

It is as if they are proud that they have that power and legal expertise to ride rough-shod over the GAA's disciplinary procedures when they fell it necessary.

There seems to be a real unwillingness to accept any punishment given to their players for actions on the pitch. In fairness they are not the only county, but it is not great to see.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/06/2017 12:17:21    1995508

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You don't remember the Paul Galvin witch hunt no?

Led by RTÉ and the Sunday game , Paul actually got an initial 6 months ban which was reduced to 3 months after appeal.

How about the Sean cavanagh witch hunt?
Again led by RTÉ and the Sunday game."
So by your reckoning two wrongs make a right. ?

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 06/06/2017 12:23:46    1995512

Replying To Marse:  "Keeping telling yourself that, if it was a Lee Keegan we'd all be calling for his head. You have no defence here. He pushed, pointed and shouted at the lines man all in an aggressive manner. Doesn't matter how little contact there was, the fact is there was and that is down to Connolly and no one else."
This is a very fair and honest point from a Dublin supporter. Lee Keegan definitely plays the game on the edge and has got involved in some off the ball stuff in recent years but he shows great respect when it comes to officials. Remember when he got black carded in last years all ireland final replay, he accepted the decision and jogged off the field. The same can't be said for Connolly when he picks up a card of any colour. To be fair to Connolly he is in the majority when it comes to these scenarios as most players seem to struggle accepting decisions that go against. Brendan Murphy didn't cover himself in glory when he got sent off either. That said I don't think it comes into too many players heads to lay a hand on the referee/linesman when remonstrating with them because it will land them in hot water. You do see on occasion maybe the ref puts his hand on the player's shoulder while explaining a decision or vice versa but it's never in an agressive manner so people trying to compare these sort of scenarios with what Connolly done need to stop being in denial.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 06/06/2017 12:27:51    1995515

Replying To dubarra:  "Another one joins the lynch mob in wanting a player suspended for the whole summer for a nothing incident. In all my 50 yrs of following Gaelic Games I've never witnessed such a witch hunt .If one had not seen the incident you would think Connolly had kicked the linesman and ref around the field ."
You must've taken some time off between the drawn final and the replay last year then??

It's a 12 week ban. Simple.

Is it in the player's best interest for Dublin GAA to get him off the hook time and time again? You really have to wonder!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/06/2017 12:35:20    1995524

They are called RULES ffs! Why do you think they are there? So Connolly and Dublin can break them and get off all the time on technicalities and lawyers??

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 06/06/2017 12:40:37    1995528

Replying To dubarra:  "So by your reckoning two wrongs make a right. ?"
you said you have never seen a witch hunt like it and I just gave you 2 examples of even bigger witch hunts.

The man has done wrong, so should that be ignored?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/06/2017 12:41:34    1995529

Dubharra you can take whatever moral high ground you so wish to, however all anyone is asking for is consistency!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 06/06/2017 12:42:12    1995531

Ah but it's Dublin and we have seen their Teflon status over the past few years where nothing seems to stick. As I have said already Dublin have been accused of biting, eye gouging, off the ball hits and every time they come up smelling of roses.
Connelly's incident was minor BUT as Spillane said it's black and white according to the regulations. "Minor Interference, motion towards, physical contact" of the officials carries a 12 week ban. The dictatorial arrogance and dismissive ignorance of many Dublin fans is galling, it's as Dublin don't have to answer to anyone and the rules don't apply.
If Connolly and Dublin wriggle out of this on a technicality or the use of top legal briefs then the rest of us may as well fold up the tent and walk away for good.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 06/06/2017 12:50:46    1995534

Replying To TheHermit:  "I don't really have any strong views on this subject as I can see both sides.

But the one thing that I do want to comment on and what I've found both very telling and very striking in this discussion on here is the number of Dublin posters who have stated that Dublin's legal team will force the CCC to back down, run for the hills etc.

It is as if they are proud that they have that power and legal expertise to ride rough-shod over the GAA's disciplinary procedures when they fell it necessary.

There seems to be a real unwillingness to accept any punishment given to their players for actions on the pitch. In fairness they are not the only county, but it is not great to see."
Thats an odd one mate, why would you take unbradge with the County Board providing good legal representation to amueter sportsman to provide him with the best support to preserve his rights.

Personally think today will be a non event, he will get 12 weeks. Hearings and appeals will be next step.

Hopefully young Comerford get his reduced as well.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/06/2017 12:54:34    1995539