Connolly interfering with match official

Replying To arock:  "And so reading from that Cooper is responsible for Murphy acting the eejit! Terrible stuff really"
totally, both parties should be punished no matter who they are. no player/s are above the rules or the association.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 05/06/2017 19:49:19    1995215

Replying To Fionn:  "So did Murphy deserve to get sent off or not...????

Of course he did - a 2nd yellow was the least he deserved for grabbing a player by the mouth and also around the neck and throwing him to the ground..."
yes he did

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 05/06/2017 19:51:40    1995218

Replying To Fionn:  "So did Murphy deserve to get sent off or not...????

Of course he did - a 2nd yellow was the least he deserved for grabbing a player by the mouth and also around the neck and throwing him to the ground..."
yes he did, should actually have been a straight red with a severe suspension to follow. Any action with fingers in the mouth eyes or around the throat neck area could cause serious injury to a player. and could be seen as trying to cause serious injury to your opponent. Personally I have no time for this bullsh-t that takes place now trying from the throw in to get another player lined it should have no place in our games.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 05/06/2017 19:55:25    1995219

Bahaha its gas, theres people on here only praying Diarmuid gets done, rules are rules, but I wonder just how much the fact that the officials took no note of it during the game will affect the CCCC's verdict, seems there's a bit of a loophole there? Or maybe I'm wrong, please put me straight if I am.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 05/06/2017 19:56:49    1995220

Replying To arock:  ""but both sets of officials conspired to send off Brendan Murphy v shortly afterwards" this is exactly the type of comment that really beggars believe. You did see what Murphy did you not?."
Connollys physically manhandled and abused a linesman within 3 or 4 yards of the referee and absolutely nothing was done about it arock. Yet within a minute the opposite linesman called the Murphy incident to the referees attention and off he went on a second yellow.

Yes we all saw the Murphy incident and yes that yellow at least was warranted. But the same linesman never cited Cooper for illegally inhibiting Murphy from Joining a very very key moment of play when the match was still very much alive and in the mix. That's the bit that beggars belief to me. And all within about a minute.

Contrary to the Sunday Games analysis, Connolly got no particular gamesmanship or special attention from any Carlow player during the game that I saw. Nobody "poked the bear" Pat Spillane. He never got into the game and "reacted" very badly out of frustration.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 509 - 05/06/2017 20:01:44    1995223

Replying To Passer_By:  "Connollys physically manhandled and abused a linesman within 3 or 4 yards of the referee and absolutely nothing was done about it arock. Yet within a minute the opposite linesman called the Murphy incident to the referees attention and off he went on a second yellow.

Yes we all saw the Murphy incident and yes that yellow at least was warranted. But the same linesman never cited Cooper for illegally inhibiting Murphy from Joining a very very key moment of play when the match was still very much alive and in the mix. That's the bit that beggars belief to me. And all within about a minute.

Contrary to the Sunday Games analysis, Connolly got no particular gamesmanship or special attention from any Carlow player during the game that I saw. Nobody "poked the bear" Pat Spillane. He never got into the game and "reacted" very badly out of frustration."
He put his hand on his chest and said something to the effect of "that was our f##king ball" (which it was), get a lip reader to verify that if you wish, but manhandled and abused? If the ruling is 12 weeks so be it but don't exaggerate.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 05/06/2017 20:13:24    1995226

Replying To bulmccabe:  "its not a legal matter, its just that you have county boards using lawyers to bring legal parlance to disciplinary hearings for breaches of rules and to eek out any loop hole that can be exploited to get their man off even for what most ordinary joes would call an open and shut case."
I think your wrong here mate, I think a player has a right to legal represtation to ensure their legal rights aren't infrigened by an internal organisational action. That's true of any citizen.

In the case of an organisation with a large media profile and the effects that can have on an individual, it would be a very silly player who didn't have legal representation. The Due process of this needs to be immaculate.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/06/2017 20:20:57    1995230

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "For a tapping a linesman, give over. I'd back any player from any county over this. I'm after getting sent a picture of a certain players with his hands all over a ref in last years championship , players put their hands on refs and nothing is ever said. This is a witch hunt cause of who the player is.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:8630 - 05/06/2017 12:50:49
You cant touch a match official regardless of how you do it if you do you deserve a punishment. No witch hunt."
Several players during touched the ref on shoulder and back when speaki g to him. Do all these players get 12 week bans also ??

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 05/06/2017 20:23:39    1995233

Evan Comerford was suspended after his incident was included in the referees report and he was suspended by a committee in Tipperary. It is a totally different committee to the one that will be looking at the Connolly incident, which may not even feature in the referees report, so all talk that little Tipperary get treated differently to big bad Dublin is nonsense.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 05/06/2017 20:27:03    1995235

So to be clear on what Connolly has a right to do:

The CCCC will rule on the tomorrow.

Connolly then has a right to take his case to the central hearing committee, who can change the decision.

If upheld he can appeal to the central appeals committee.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/06/2017 20:43:49    1995242

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Paddy Russell gave a late free to JK Brackens (Templemore). Comerford came out remonstrating with him so he gave him a red card, Comerford gave him a push/shove for the red card. That's as I understand how it happened."
Hold on. So someone was sent off by Paddy Russell and actually left the field of play? Crazy stuff!

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 05/06/2017 20:46:42    1995245

Jes lads when you look at the state of things we haven't got much to talk about when all you have to worry about is should DC get a 12 week ban,
I think a 1 match ban would be enough for all he done, but it was a silly thing to do from such an experienced player,
I don't think his season should be ruined by this, he's one of the players you want to see in the big games in August, I hope common sense prevails.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 05/06/2017 20:48:27    1995247

Replying To TheUsername:  "So to be clear on what Connolly has a right to do:

The CCCC will rule on the tomorrow.

Connolly then has a right to take his case to the central hearing committee, who can change the decision.

If upheld he can appeal to the central appeals committee."
So in essence, the GAA who pour money by the lorry load into Dublin Gaa will be outdone by Dublin's top class law team indirectly paid for by the GAA /

Firinne (Laois) - Posts: 59 - 05/06/2017 21:16:11    1995259

Replying To Firinne:  "So in essence, the GAA who pour money by the lorry load into Dublin Gaa will be outdone by Dublin's top class law team indirectly paid for by the GAA /"
Chicken and egg mate in terms of who pours money into who.

They will have to revise their publicity strategy without Connolly this summer and possibly in the future.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/06/2017 21:24:13    1995264

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Jes lads when you look at the state of things we haven't got much to talk about when all you have to worry about is should DC get a 12 week ban,
I think a 1 match ban would be enough for all he done, but it was a silly thing to do from such an experienced player,
I don't think his season should be ruined by this, he's one of the players you want to see in the big games in August, I hope common sense prevails."
The powers that be haven't gotten wriggle room for "common sense to prevail". Minor physical interference with an official brings a 12 week ban under the Association rules. A sanction they have already enforced this season in other cases so hard to see how they can give a lower sanction to Connolly. Personally I don't care that it's Connolly, I think the rules have to be seen to be applied all around. Like I said earlier, interesting few days lie ahead.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/06/2017 21:26:03    1995265

Jes lads when you look at the state of things we haven't got much to talk about when all you have to worry about is should DC get a 12 week ban,
I don't think his season should be ruined by this, he's one of the players you want to see in the big games in August, I hope common sense prevails.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts:18 - 05/06/2017 20:48:27
It was physical interference/contact with a referee and all offences have minimum levels of suspension and thats why he will get 12 weeks. 1 match isnt enough and yes it was silly but its undefenceable.
If his season is ruined by this then its only his fault.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/06/2017 21:38:46    1995272

Replying To Soma:  "I presume any suspension he gets will be from the day the decision is made, not last Saturday as he wasn't sent off. A 12 week ban would mean he misses the semi-final in that case."
Presume wrong, according to the gaa disciplinary code any time defined suspension i.e. a suspension defined by period of time rather than a number of matches will commence from and include the day the player last played, therefore a 12 week suspension would terminate at 12 midnight Friday 25th August. A twelve week suspension would include all levels, teams and codes. Surely time that all suspensions were match defined and not time defined. Seems odd that some "infractions" can be punished with a one match ban and others with a two week ban which might mean nothing.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 05/06/2017 22:01:59    1995289

Replying To sligo joe:  "Presume wrong, according to the gaa disciplinary code any time defined suspension i.e. a suspension defined by period of time rather than a number of matches will commence from and include the day the player last played, therefore a 12 week suspension would terminate at 12 midnight Friday 25th August. A twelve week suspension would include all levels, teams and codes. Surely time that all suspensions were match defined and not time defined. Seems odd that some "infractions" can be punished with a one match ban and others with a two week ban which might mean nothing."
So it is, every day is a school day. If he is suspended it looks like he would be back should Dublin reach a semi-final. Could work out well for him and Dublin.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 05/06/2017 22:39:24    1995301

Pillar reckons Connolly should be banned for 12 weeks so what ye think of that?

I suppose that's Darragh o'sé's fault as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/06/2017 22:46:47    1995305

Replying To lilylanger:  "
Replying To HurlingSnob:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "For a tapping a linesman, give over. I'd back any player from any county over this. I'm after getting sent a picture of a certain players with his hands all over a ref in last years championship , players put their hands on refs and nothing is ever said. This is a witch hunt cause of who the player is.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:8630 - 05/06/2017 12:50:49
You cant touch a match official regardless of how you do it if you do you deserve a punishment. No witch hunt."
I've said on numerous occasions now that he should get 12 weeks. But there is so much more uproar over this because it's Dublin and Connolly. Would you agree with a 12 week ban for Patrick o Connor for putting his hand on the umpire in the first half of the hurling yesterday?"
I was literally just going to post something similar! Also if memory serves a whole host of mayo players rushed to the ref after the 2013 go so surrounding him with pointed fingers. Like you can't ban them all or should we according to lots on here. We need to apply common sense too. In my opinion this uproar is he cos Connolly just isn't like. Nothing else."]There mustn't be much of a history of finger pointing if you have to go back to something that might or might not have happened four years ago. You're not really helping the defence there. On the other hand it's good to see your lads are in Kildare are perfectly behaved.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/06/2017 22:59:35    1995309