Cork, in one word....

Sinking

Ironically the rowers are keeping Cork sport afloat!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 30/05/2017 11:35:43    1992098

Replying To eaglehaslanded:  "Cork, in one word....BRUTAL! No surprise there. Not taking from Waterford who were well capable of taking a Cork scalp this evening. The dogs of the road know this manager is well out of his depth for inter-county duty but players have to stand up and be counted when you have to depend on a player in the twilight of his career to come to the rescue. The League proved exactly where Cork currently stand, Div 2 or even Div 3."
reminiscent

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 30/05/2017 11:49:55    1992106

I have a funny feeling that Cork will do well this year on the back of that awful shite at the weekend

Too many good players.

If I was a Kerryman, I would be praying Tipp beat Cork, because no matter how badly they look right now, they are not that bad. They just aren't and there will be a performance, and chances are it will come from the blue.

Watch this space

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/05/2017 12:28:44    1992136

Sh*te

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 30/05/2017 12:30:55    1992137

I bet any money Cork trained extremely hard during the week in preparation for Tipp and overlooked the Deise.

As Tomas O Se said there are loads of quality Footballers in Cork and they didn't disappear overnight

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/05/2017 12:44:39    1992148

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I have a funny feeling that Cork will do well this year on the back of that awful shite at the weekend

Too many good players.

If I was a Kerryman, I would be praying Tipp beat Cork, because no matter how badly they look right now, they are not that bad. They just aren't and there will be a performance, and chances are it will come from the blue.

Watch this space"
I disagree I would much rather get a really tough match(es) in the Provincial series rather than play weak teams and then meet a Juggernaut not prepared properly whatsoever

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/05/2017 12:50:04    1992151

RUSTY

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 30/05/2017 14:19:07    1992211

wine

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/05/2017 14:24:24    1992215

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "I disagree I would much rather get a really tough match(es) in the Provincial series rather than play weak teams and then meet a Juggernaut not prepared properly whatsoever"
Sure ye are the feckin juggernaut!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/05/2017 14:54:07    1992239

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I have a funny feeling that Cork will do well this year on the back of that awful shite at the weekend

Too many good players.

Watch this space"
It is a shame the game was not shown on tv. It is kind of funny we get plenty of dead rubber games that are over at half time this time of year and everyone gives out. Then we have a minnow putting it up to and nearly beating a traditional superpower and everyone jumps on the bandwagon to laugh at the bigger team for nearly getting beat.....you can't please some people either way.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 30/05/2017 15:04:49    1992242

Replying To yew_tree:  "It is a shame the game was not shown on tv. It is kind of funny we get plenty of dead rubber games that are over at half time this time of year and everyone gives out. Then we have a minnow putting it up to and nearly beating a traditional superpower and everyone jumps on the bandwagon to laugh at the bigger team for nearly getting beat.....you can't please some people either way."
shame it wasnt on Newstalk
baffling decision by the GAA
Same with the limerick clare football game
exposure is priceless

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/05/2017 15:35:12    1992261

Talk of TV exposure I see Tipperary v Cork,Wexford v Kilkenny are on same day. Both have potential to be one sided and people will be giving out why did RTE show one and Sky show the other.
On topic at hand I fancy Cork to beat us as poor as they were against Waterford. We're missing players from last year and really only got promoted with the last kick of the league.
I know Cork are capable of better but pressure on Tipp to deliver too and prove their not a one hit wonder. On the other hand Cork have to prove too they are up there with the best and I think they may give this Tipp team a lesson in football.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 30/05/2017 18:17:43    1992331

Replying To yew_tree:  "It is a shame the game was not shown on tv. It is kind of funny we get plenty of dead rubber games that are over at half time this time of year and everyone gives out. Then we have a minnow putting it up to and nearly beating a traditional superpower and everyone jumps on the bandwagon to laugh at the bigger team for nearly getting beat.....you can't please some people either way."
http://hoganstand.com/forum/FindPostPage.aspx?MessageID=1992242

The only trouble is that this wan't an isolated incident or over-confidence from Cork. The opinion before the game was that we should manage to beat Waterford, anyway. When things began to get stick on the day, eyes were thrown to heaven, and it was a case of "we might have known. Par for the course with this team." The reaction was more resignation than surprise. After the last few years, supporters expect nothing and are rarely disappointed.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 31/05/2017 11:32:51    1992570

Replying To Midleton:  "http://hoganstand.com/forum/FindPostPage.aspx?MessageID=1992242

The only trouble is that this wan't an isolated incident or over-confidence from Cork. The opinion before the game was that we should manage to beat Waterford, anyway. When things began to get stick on the day, eyes were thrown to heaven, and it was a case of "we might have known. Par for the course with this team." The reaction was more resignation than surprise. After the last few years, supporters expect nothing and are rarely disappointed."
Given Comerford's suspension and other players that Tipp will be missing, I think the advantage for Saturday week has swung back in Cork's favour.

If the team has any sort of pride they will want to go out and put in a big performance due to all the criticism they've been getting in the neck the last few days.

Could be a very interesting game.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/05/2017 12:31:33    1992593

Cork

You did ask.....

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 01/06/2017 02:50:19    1992881