Championship Superstitions

Replying To OLLIE:  "One of my Championship Superstitions is that I give my better half a good poking before and after a match."
Ollie for herself's sake I hope Louth never do a five in a row :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/05/2017 12:59:29    1990987

Replying To Breffni39:  "
Replying To Offside_Rule:  "If I bless myself accidentaly going passed a Protestant church, i have to bless myself 3 times to "correct it" !!!!

Ha :-)

Did you not know if you bless yourself outside a Protestant church the devil moves 10 meters closer to you. Not sure if doing a further 3 times moves him backwards though or if it just brings him 30 meters closer."
It's a bit like The Chase"
Oh right - maybe that's what I was thinking of and it wasn't the Devil but The Beast. I am always getting organised Religion and TV shows confused.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/05/2017 12:59:36    1990988

Everytime i go the bloody Cusack we lose, Hoganstand all the way for me...

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 26/05/2017 14:11:24    1991014

Replying To MesAmis:  "Ollie that's a good one lad, I think we' ll all be chancing that one :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:5172 - 26/05/2017 12:40:19

I'm not sure if Ollie or his mot would be up for that."
Ya mes , now that I read it again it looks pretty bad.

We're turning into a swingers club on HoganStand, I can see it now on the 6 o'clock news :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/05/2017 14:11:46    1991015

Whatever top I wear to our first game of the Ulster Championship I have to wear it to every match after that til we're put out. Last weekend it was raining and a 7pm throw-in so I had my Monaghan hoody on me, which means even if it's 40 degrees in Breffni on the 11th I still have to wear that hoody! I also have to go to the games with the same people, I've fallen out with them in the past for daring to make plans without taking the football in to consideration....I still blame my aunty for the 2013 defeat to Tyrone, if she hadn't been in Lanzarote then things could have been so different.....

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 26/05/2017 14:13:46    1991017

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Is he in on it too Ollie....??"
Liam ask your better half. She will tell you ha.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/05/2017 14:52:22    1991032

Replying To MesAmis:  "Ollie that's a good one lad, I think we' ll all be chancing that one :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:5172 - 26/05/2017 12:40:19

I'm not sure if Ollie or his mot would be up for that."
MesAmis ill be up for it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/05/2017 14:53:29    1991033

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ollie for herself's sake I hope Louth never do a five in a row :D"
Jaysus Hermit I would be happy with one in a row.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/05/2017 14:55:08    1991034

more of a habit too,but i tend to be quiet when i get to the ground first,especially in croke park,thats were the nerves kick in,all that changes when the game starts,i tend to be in my own world and forget anyone is even there. the proud meathman comes out!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/05/2017 15:14:15    1991044

Replying To OLLIE:  "Liam ask your better half. She will tell you ha."
Boom! Well played sir!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/05/2017 15:41:03    1991063

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Boom! Well played sir!"
Liam your full of BS,I was walking to the Aviva, saw the first miserable magphie whore of the day, saluted like a private meeting Napoleon before Austerlitz, and what was the result?? 44-22, and if Munster only scored 3 I wouldn't have argued!!!

Effin Magpies,

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/05/2017 03:08:56    1991342

Replying To OLLIE:  "One of my Championship Superstitions is that I give my better half a good poking before and after a match."
Haha. Brilliant, I do the same. (with my other half , not yours obviously) lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2017 08:37:23    1991351

Replying To TheHermit:  "You can't be serious?!!!! Bloody hell now there is a man that's superstitious!!!!

Oh I forgot to mention Magpie's, EFFIN Magpie's.

On match day's I'm terrified of seeing them, one for sorrow, two for joy etc etc.

Worse the effers are all over the parks in Dublin!

I was walking through one last year on the way to Croker for the semi-final and what did I see out of the corner of my eye, but one of the Black and White whores looking at me, I knew Kerry's goose was cooked then before a ball was even thrown in.

Then on the way to the League final last month I spotted two of them landing in front of me, and I knew we would win.

I'm a fecking slave to them at this stage, someone was saying if you salute a lone magpie it negates it, but I don't know. I just hope I don't see any of them before a match this summer!"
A bit like paudie O'shea before the 82 final, think he passed a red haired woman when driving to the train and apparently said: 'we're f*cked!' A good passage from the book the kings of September.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 28/05/2017 09:47:21    1991361

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha. Brilliant, I do the same. (with my other half , not yours obviously) lol"
Royaldunne it has to be done. I have to keep the other half happy now and again.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 28/05/2017 11:50:19    1991385

One of my Championship Superstitions is that I give my better half a good poking before and after a match.

'a fav one of mine for a long time for tension relief and usta chance it at half time as well...but as time goes on and age catches up i had to leave out the ht one.. and we nearly got caught one day in the jacks in croker as well which didnt go down too well with herself..

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 28/05/2017 12:44:56    1991404

i generally have at least 3 cups of tea before i leave the house.
i then visit the holy stone of clonrichert or similar approved holy relic on the way to the match.
before the match i always have at least 2 ham sandwiches,and a pack of toffo's.
then 2 majors and it's in through the turnstile with me.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 28/05/2017 21:31:55    1991626

Replying To perfect10:  "i generally have at least 3 cups of tea before i leave the house.
i then visit the holy stone of clonrichert or similar approved holy relic on the way to the match.
before the match i always have at least 2 ham sandwiches,and a pack of toffo's.
then 2 majors and it's in through the turnstile with me."
Omg Toffos!!! Can't get them in Dublin anymore I don't think. Love them.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/05/2017 21:42:42    1991631

You may go visit the culchie cousins Jackeen, if you are stuck I'd say a chocolate eclair or an Emerald or a Scots Clan might do the trick?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 30/05/2017 17:06:04    1992304