Bernard Flynn v James Horan

This is bordering on crazy at this stage and most people dont even seem to know the full story. In said challenge game there was actually 2 games of 45mins each, O Shea played the first game in full and done his proper warm down with the team afterward's, he came on with a few minutes remaining in the second game for a "run around" and it was after this game that the kid's came to him for autograph's. This makes Flynn's comment's even more ridiculous and Horan is dead right

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 24/05/2017 14:44:27    1990275

Flynn is coming across as a bit of a primma donna & Horan is quite right to have a cut at him.

It's not before time that some of these media Z listers had their wings clipped.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/05/2017 15:14:14    1990287

its turning into a bit of a Tit for tat argument between the two !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 24/05/2017 16:24:50    1990320

Replying To glasagusdhearg:  "This is bordering on crazy at this stage and most people dont even seem to know the full story. In said challenge game there was actually 2 games of 45mins each, O Shea played the first game in full and done his proper warm down with the team afterward's, he came on with a few minutes remaining in the second game for a "run around" and it was after this game that the kid's came to him for autograph's. This makes Flynn's comment's even more ridiculous and Horan is dead right"
Go way outta that with your facts!!!!

Aidan O'Shea is a disgrace for being nice to some children!!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 24/05/2017 16:28:47    1990325

Tits are useful.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 24/05/2017 16:34:21    1990327

Replying To MesAmis:  "In fairness if Bernard Flynn doesn't want people going around and saying that something he said made him sound like an eejit then there is an easy enough solution."
Spot on. And then we could all get on with our lives...

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 24/05/2017 17:03:37    1990345

I loved Bernard Flynn's huffy description of himself... former player. Get off it Bernard, that was decades ago! Today you're a pundit paid to talk rubbish about current players and drum up controversy- and you're playing a blinder! Get off your high horse

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 24/05/2017 17:29:25    1990357

James Horan, lol, the most boring pundit ever. Listening to him would send you into a deep sleep, when he mentioned the word tit he forgot to say that as a player & then as a manager he had the best chance of breaking the hoodoo but on his watch they were always on the hind tit. Flynn was spot on with his observations, that Mayo team are not as one unit again this year, Bernard calls it as it is.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 24/05/2017 19:51:32    1990405

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tits are useful."
Indeed they are sure I have two myself :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/05/2017 20:21:27    1990413

Flynns medal haul in all Ireland's speaks for themselves.as opposed to horans failures. Horan should steer clear of such stuff. Mayo are an easy touch to slag cos they have so many times failed to deliever. That should give them ammunition going toward but time is running out and legs are getting older.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 24/05/2017 22:03:36    1990435

Look Bernard , Horan is just annoyed that you can look at your Celtic crosses (yep plural) and he has got diddly squat.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2017 22:16:22    1990442

Should all Mayo people in the Media quit their job, all Mayo players give no further interviews and Mayo give up football. It seems that's what the GAA world wants. Win an All Ireland or F off and shut up.

It's a cheap shot to come back and say "show me your all ireland medals" and is an escape route to actually debating the point in hand.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 24/05/2017 22:34:58    1990450

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look Bernard , Horan is just annoyed that you can look at your Celtic crosses (yep plural) and he has got diddly squat."
A lovely wife, five kids, a good job, or jobs and he'd give it all up for an All Ireland medal what! Sure that's what defines you as a man. I cry myself to sleep most nights cause I'm not one of the elite.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/05/2017 22:56:51    1990459

I have never seen anything like this before in Irish sport, to see certain individuals and a team persued and attacked with such venom is quite disturbing, certain people in online and written media seem to have made it their mission to bring this team down. It seem's everything now is measured by how many celtic crosses any 1 individual has. Some people seem to think you're not allowed to comment on anything or endorse anything unless you've won an All Ireland. If that's the case then Ciaran Whelan or Dessie Dolan should'nt be on the sunday game or some of the best player's to ever play the game from weaker counties like Mattie Forde or Declan Browne or Johnie Doyle should never be allowed to comment on or endorse anything. and to see the coverage on tv and the likes of the panel sitting there bursting themselves laughing at team's (usually the weaker team's) i remember watching the connacht final last year and Roscommon being laughed at. You would never see this from soccer or rugby pundit's, belittleing teams and individual's. Instead of looking at each game and taking that 1 game by itself the pundit's trot out the same old lines game after game after game. It's quite sickening to see certain media outlet's go down this road. In soccer, rugby, hurling, football i have never seen people persued like this before

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 24/05/2017 23:40:57    1990467

Replying To yew_tree:  "Should all Mayo people in the Media quit their job, all Mayo players give no further interviews and Mayo give up football. It seems that's what the GAA world wants. Win an All Ireland or F off and shut up.

It's a cheap shot to come back and say "show me your all ireland medals" and is an escape route to actually debating the point in hand."
You're correct and wrong ..or i could just say welcome to Ireland !

If Aidan O'Shea had two All Ireland medals in his back pocket and did what he did with the kids taken selfies and what not...people would be saying that's what the ethos of the gaa is all about a All Ireland winner taking time out to take selfies with kids ..lovely chap that Aidan O'Shea not one bit big headed , you can hear Marty Morrissey voice saying it right now..but he hasn't got all ireland medal yet and i hope someday he will have 2 or 3 !

But if Aidan O'Shea does win all ireland medal this year and also becomes player of the year...who got the best out of him ? Flynn or Horan ?

Did i say welcome to ireland :)

Keep away from Flynn he is to cute !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 25/05/2017 00:26:45    1990478

Replying To yew_tree:  "Should all Mayo people in the Media quit their job, all Mayo players give no further interviews and Mayo give up football. It seems that's what the GAA world wants. Win an All Ireland or F off and shut up.

It's a cheap shot to come back and say "show me your all ireland medals" and is an escape route to actually debating the point in hand."
People also forget how well Horan performed in the All-Ireland finals he did play in, especially in 1996 against Meath. It isn't his fault that he doesn't have a Celtic cross.

Seems like one's opinion is only valid if you have one, according to some on here. The irony of us nobodies commenting on an online forum about the very same topic seems to be lost...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/05/2017 04:36:03    1990486

Replying To moc.dna:  "James Horan, lol, the most boring pundit ever. Listening to him would send you into a deep sleep, when he mentioned the word tit he forgot to say that as a player & then as a manager he had the best chance of breaking the hoodoo but on his watch they were always on the hind tit. Flynn was spot on with his observations, that Mayo team are not as one unit again this year, Bernard calls it as it is."
that Mayo team are not as one unit again this year

Lets wait and see till 11th june

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 25/05/2017 07:37:33    1990492

Well said YT? This narrative thst one must possess a Celtic cross to have an opinion is ridiculous.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/05/2017 07:41:50    1990493

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look Bernard , Horan is just annoyed that you can look at your Celtic crosses (yep plural) and he has got diddly squat."
football still muck in meath? thanks for the land royaldunne ;)

maigheoabu2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 17 - 25/05/2017 10:57:53    1990555