Kildare v Laois

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Really Fancy Laois to win at 9/4.
League form is irrelevant

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts:307 - 28/05/2017

Carlow to beat the Dubs is like a licence to print money too sure..."
I cant see the Laois defence being able to cope with the Kildare attack. They were letting in big scores in Division 3. They shipped
3-16 against Offaly in the final match of the league. They just dont have any decent defenders. Timmons by far their best defender is
injured. Attride their next defender is out too. They have been forced to play damien o connor (half forward usually) and darren strong( attacking half back) in the corner back positions. They will ship 3-15+ ... have some good forwards, donie kingston is exceptional but cant defend ..

I think the spread on kildare is a great bet

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 29/05/2017 15:25:19    1991856

I cant see the Laois defence being able to cope with the Kildare attack. They were letting in big scores in Division 3. They shipped
3-16 against Offaly in the final match of the league. They just dont have any decent defenders. Timmons by far their best defender is
injured. Attride their next defender is out too. They have been forced to play damien o connor (half forward usually) and darren strong( attacking half back) in the corner back positions. They will ship 3-15+ ... have some good forwards, donie kingston is exceptional but cant defend ..

I think the spread on kildare is a great bet

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts:30 - 29/05/2017

Our own defence isn't exactly the most watertight one around either. Teams have been running through the middle against us for a few years now with relative ease. Donnellan put in some fantastic performances in the league though - we only conceded 3 goals and he made a number of good saves along the way.

Kingston is a threat no doubt and Laois have some players around the middle but I think we have more of a scoring threat even with our 2 first choice corner forwards out.

We've done well against Laois at all levels lately so unless O'Neill suddenly sends us out with a completely different game plan than the one we used during the league like he did last year I think we'll be alright.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 29/05/2017 15:41:11    1991866

Replying To Ah_Here:  "
Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Really Fancy Laois to win at 9/4.
League form is irrelevant

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts:307 - 28/05/2017

Carlow to beat the Dubs is like a licence to print money too sure..."

I think the spread on kildare is a great bet"
I'd say ye'd take Donie Kingston in Mayo and have an all-ireland by now with him. A full forward who's a prolific scorer and not the best defender.. I'd take that.

I don't mean to be putting down AOS again but Kingston is a big game player and would be worth more to ye in those big games you've lost over the years. Kingston always causes the Dubs problems. He doesn't get bullied by Philly MacMahon and imposes himself.

Regarding the match itself i think Kildare will be better all round and win. If Attride can play it'll be a big plus. Also having Padraig McMahon back adds experience to our defence. Obviously neither team are world beaters and in a derby match anything can happen.

Naturally i hope our lads pull off a surprise but if not i hope Kildare and Meath improve and give Dublin a game.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/05/2017 17:15:24    1991898

Laois are been written off in all quarters ...

MMMM they might have had a poor year but they still have players like John O'Loughlin ,Brendan Quigley Colm Begely Donie Kingston and that young goalie Brody who would make a lot of teams in ireland ...This might be closer than people think!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 30/05/2017 17:06:08    1992305

Kildare for this one

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 30/05/2017 19:07:13    1992350

If Kildare had Leitrim at home in the qualifiers & Leitrim's whole first 15 had headed off to the US after going out of Connacht, royaldunne would still be predicting a Kildare loss.

I think Laois are better than the league would suggest but I think we'll have too much for them still. (hopefully)

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 01/06/2017 11:40:30    1992976

Laois- woeful
Kildare- on the up

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 366 - 04/06/2017 16:35:17    1994497

Don't think any of us would have expected it to be that easy.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 04/06/2017 19:19:17    1994597

Well it was Div 1 against 4......

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 04/06/2017 20:59:46    1994672

Definitely put a few quid on Laois to get out of division 4 next year.

Assuming they introduce a division 5 of course...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 04/06/2017 23:15:40    1994763

No need to test the Laois team for performance enhancing drugs after the match today

EddieL (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 05/06/2017 00:25:00    1994814

Replying To 11jm11:  "Laois- woeful
Kildare- on the up"
favorites to beat meath

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2017 03:33:31    1994831

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Definitely put a few quid on Laois to get out of division 4 next year.

Assuming they introduce a division 5 of course..."
Great wit out of a few Kildare posters this morning.

Ye beat a poor Laois team, players aren't there or coming through. Easy to kick a team when down.

Ye have won nothing yet bar a Leinster Quarter Final. It's only 2 years since Kerry scored 7 goals in around 35 minuted football against Kildare.

A bit of perspective.. Good luck in the semi to genuine Kildare posters and fans.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 05/06/2017 10:07:19    1994877

Replying To EddieL:  "No need to test the Laois team for performance enhancing drugs after the match today"
Great wit out of a few Kildare posters this morning.

The first thing you need a test for is IQ.

Ye beat a poor Laois team, players aren't there or coming through. Easy to kick a team when down.

Ye have won nothing yet bar a Leinster Quarter Final. It's only 2 years since Kerry scored 7 goals in around 35 minuted football against Kildare.

A bit of perspective.. Good luck in the semi to genuine Kildare posters and fans.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 05/06/2017 10:09:41    1994878

Replying To Laois76:  "Great wit out of a few Kildare posters this morning.

The first thing you need a test for is IQ.

A bit of perspective.. Good luck in the semi to genuine Kildare posters and fans."
Was expecting a lot more fight from Laois yesterday. Looking at them going in at half time they looked jaded. Except for the young corner back there didn't seem to be much new players on the team. Is it time to introduce some under 21's and start rebuilding?

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 05/06/2017 16:54:13    1995106

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Was expecting a lot more fight from Laois yesterday. Looking at them going in at half time they looked jaded. Except for the young corner back there didn't seem to be much new players on the team. Is it time to introduce some under 21's and start rebuilding?"
I'm more than a bit surprised to see how much Laois have fallen back. I hadn't seen them over the league and I couldn't believe how they got relegated to div 4 but after looking at the game yesterday you could see why. Not fit enough, too reliant still on the older players and just didn't seem to have enough fight. Peter Creedon is a good coach but he has his hands full. I genuinely hope things improve, at my end of the county there's been a good rivalry over the years.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/06/2017 17:16:40    1995117

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Was expecting a lot more fight from Laois yesterday. Looking at them going in at half time they looked jaded. Except for the young corner back there didn't seem to be much new players on the team. Is it time to introduce some under 21's and start rebuilding?"
It probably is Conleth. Too many 31-32 year olds from the minor teams of 2003 and 2004.

Then again as Christy Ring used say don't bring on young fellas until you have something better to come on!

Best wishes in the semi final, Kildare have the makings of a fine team.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 05/06/2017 18:22:20    1995161

Replying To kildare73:  "I'm more than a bit surprised to see how much Laois have fallen back. I hadn't seen them over the league and I couldn't believe how they got relegated to div 4 but after looking at the game yesterday you could see why. Not fit enough, too reliant still on the older players and just didn't seem to have enough fight. Peter Creedon is a good coach but he has his hands full. I genuinely hope things improve, at my end of the county there's been a good rivalry over the years."
True. Laois/Kildare provided some great games.

I really don't know where it all went wrong. We produced great underage talent from 1994-2007 but seem to have become complacent.

Our population is comparable with Monaghan (we have a few more commuters) but are nowhere near there level at the moment. You really can't make excuses when counties of similar population produce the goods. Old problems like lack of discipline reappeared in the league.

But that cohort of older player (Timmons (though injured), Begley, Quigley, McMahon, Strong, Donoher,Davy Conway, Ross Munnelly are aged 30-32.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 05/06/2017 18:29:30    1995167

Replying To Laois76:  "It probably is Conleth. Too many 31-32 year olds from the minor teams of 2003 and 2004.

Then again as Christy Ring used say don't bring on young fellas until you have something better to come on!

Best wishes in the semi final, Kildare have the makings of a fine team."
Playing in div 3 actually helped us blend in some young players. Hopefully Laois use 4 as an opportunity to bring some youth in. Best of luck in the qualifiers.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 05/06/2017 19:07:45    1995198

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Playing in div 3 actually helped us blend in some young players. Hopefully Laois use 4 as an opportunity to bring some youth in. Best of luck in the qualifiers."
Thanks Conleth. The usual wait now for the draw and see who's going to the US :)

Ye should have a great game with Meath. As a poster in another thread mentioned 20 yrs on from the 3 great games between Meath and Kildare. Those games were the winning of Kildare's Leinster's in 1998 and 2000. You never know, you could be on the cusp of another great Kildare era and that will be good for football. Kildare fans are second to none in supporting their teams.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 05/06/2017 20:10:04    1995225