Dublin V Carlow

Hard luck to Carlow it was a great effort with regards to guts and intensity but they were never going to win this game unless they played with two forwards. Dubs done what they had to do with the help of the Fenton, Brogan and the ref.

Connolly should have walked simple as, you can not put a hand on an official in the manner he did while being verbal and get away with it.
Dublin had 3 soft frees. Mannion was barely touched and miss kicked so the ref gave a free for god knows what, then McCarthy over carried for the second one gets a big hit to his chest and a free in, finally Murphy was tackling Brogan instead of the ball but while he was tackling the man there was no free however when Murphy won the ball fairly he gives a free in yet there was a good few times Dublin players tackled the man and no free given for it.
Fenton only came into the game when Murphy was sent off which was a harsh first yellow and his second one was as clear as day but Cooper should have also got a yellow for pulling his jersey multiple times.

I think if Connolly walked and Murphy stayed on the field then it would have been a lot closer.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 03/06/2017 21:00:48    1994078

Replying To ziggy32001:  "wonder if it was a carlow player. real agenda if the gaa ignore this.."
Think we both know what the outcome would have been if it was a Carlow lad that behaved like Connolly. As Jim McGuinness said about Connolly in the post match analysis, 'its the same player over and over again getting into situations'. I suppose he never really gets punished so why would he stop is the answer to that observation. But man handling an official a new low.

Equineburger (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 03/06/2017 21:01:17    1994080

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "No, he didn't, I'm a man who supports Dublin over any other team bar my own(which makes me unpopular with some of my friends), ref was giving a lot to the Dubs and I counted at least 6 times he was standing barely 5 yards away and a Dub picked it straight off the ground or threw it, and that's before the frees he gave."
From what I could see he gave poor decisions against both sides.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/06/2017 21:02:04    1994083

Replying To realdub:  "From what I could see he gave poor decisions against both sides."
Well your eyes were covered with a shade of blue(!)

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 03/06/2017 21:18:32    1994095

Poor enough game.
Murphy's first yellow was soft enough but he could hardly complain about the second. While it was tma turning point, I still think Dublin would have won if Carlow had 15 on the pitch.
Connolly should be just cut loose at this stage. I don't believe he offers enough on the pitch to justify starting him and hoping he finishes a game. Yes he can kick some lovely scores when he's in the mood or when a game is already over but when the chips are down he's more likely to get involved in silliness than leading by example.

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 03/06/2017 21:21:19    1994100

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "Well your eyes were covered with a shade of blue(!)"
Nope, I don't suffer from that disease, I think my fellow posters would back me up on that. Maybe I'm just plain blind, but not dishonest!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/06/2017 21:26:01    1994105

Replying To Long.Dub.Glic:  "Poor enough game.
Murphy's first yellow was soft enough but he could hardly complain about the second. While it was tma turning point, I still think Dublin would have won if Carlow had 15 on the pitch.
Connolly should be just cut loose at this stage. I don't believe he offers enough on the pitch to justify starting him and hoping he finishes a game. Yes he can kick some lovely scores when he's in the mood or when a game is already over but when the chips are down he's more likely to get involved in silliness than leading by example."
Agree about Connolly , loses his rag (on a few occasions justifiably) and laughs it off like it's no big deal or acts innocent. Dublin are the best team in the country and have plenty of class to replace him. His teammates don't do it why should he be able to get away with it

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 03/06/2017 21:31:51    1994113

Replying To Long.Dub.Glic:  "Poor enough game.
Connolly should be just cut loose at this stage. I don't believe he offers enough on the pitch to justify starting him and hoping he finishes a game. Yes he can kick some lovely scores when he's in the mood or when a game is already over but when the chips are down he's more likely to get involved in silliness than leading by example."
Crazy post. Best ball player in Ireland, after MM of course. Flawed genius. In the big games come August he WILL be needed.

Much of opposition tactics surround nullifying DC. Frees up a hell of a lot of space for others. Pity he wouldn't cut out the crap though.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 03/06/2017 21:41:49    1994122

Dublin scored 19 points tonight Tyrone scored 22 last week and we were ultra defensive!! Dublin will still walk Leinster in 3rd gear will b August b4 any test

Tyronecelt (Tyrone) - Posts: 31 - 03/06/2017 21:44:54    1994126

Not the massive walkover I expected- Div 1 team vs Div 4. Connolly will be in very hot water for his altercation with the linesman. Such a shame such a talented player is consistently indisciplined.

PeggyGordon (Antrim) - Posts: 13 - 03/06/2017 21:59:03    1994131

Replying To realdub:  "Nope, I don't suffer from that disease, I think my fellow posters would back me up on that. Maybe I'm just plain blind, but not dishonest!"
Ah loom watch the game back. Not the dubs fault Ye were given frees but some of them were beyond a joke made no difference in the end but a closer game and it could have decided it. Refereeing was bad today

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 03/06/2017 22:15:29    1994147

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Ah loom watch the game back. Not the dubs fault Ye were given frees but some of them were beyond a joke made no difference in the end but a closer game and it could have decided it. Refereeing was bad today"
ref was poor but I've seen worse, we all know the standard of refereeing in this sport is poor in general

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/06/2017 22:20:30    1994152

Some big scores dished out by Dublin in the LSFC since 2013, so if Dublin can dish out those type of scores against more established and successful teams then an avalanche of scores was expected against a div.4 side like Carlow. To be honest if the truth was known I didn't expect Carlow to win but I was quietly confident they would make Dublin fight every inch of the way till the full time whistle and keep the scores to single figures, with Brendan Murphy on the field for the full game that's what would have happened of that I have no doubt. When Connelly was left on the field it had a telling effect on the remainder of the game and of the way things were to go from there, it sent out the wrong signal. It was 0-10 to 0-06 when Murphy was put off, great credit to the 14 Carlow lads in keeping Dublin to 0-09 for the remaining 27 mins, great credit to them as well for keeping Dublin from scoring even one goal, again where was that avalanche of goals.
I take great heart when I look at the scores that Dublin dished out to a variety of other counties since 2013 in the LSFC.

2017 LSFC Dublin 0-19 - Carlow 0-07
2016 LSFC
Dublin 2-19 Westmeath 0-10
2015 LSFC
Dublin 4-25 Longford 0-10, Dublin 5-18 Kildare 0-14, Dublin 2-13 Westmeath 0-06
2014 LSFC
Dublin 2-21 Laois 0-16, Dublin 2-25 Wexford 1-12, Dublin 3-20 Meath 1-10
2013 in the LSFC.
Dublin 1-22 Westmeath 0-09, Dublin 4-16 Kildare 0-09

for the record, both officials froze.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 03/06/2017 22:24:32    1994156

Dublin won without having to do a whole lot, they never looked troubled it was a very poor game. Can't understand what Dean Rock is doing in that team he is a huge luxury to be carrying a man solely for frees. Totally forgettable.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 03/06/2017 22:25:27    1994157

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Ah loom watch the game back. Not the dubs fault Ye were given frees but some of them were beyond a joke made no difference in the end but a closer game and it could have decided it. Refereeing was bad today"
Referee and linesman were bad.
Connolly should have been off before Murphy got red. Might have been a lot closer if Carlow had a spare man.
Minnows always get shafted. Would love to see the Dubs in an actual away match where the home town decisions go against them.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1114 - 03/06/2017 22:26:08    1994158

Just goes to show u that when dublin play outside of their home ground aka croke park that they are very vulnerable.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 366 - 03/06/2017 22:26:56    1994160

Fair play to Carlow great effort and Sean Murphy was outstanding. Dublin won but Carlow come out with great credit. Also Carlow now one of the few legitimate dual counties who commit fully to hurling and football.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 143 - 03/06/2017 22:45:19    1994170

What a damp squib of a game.
undoubtedly the worst championship game I have ever been to.
you had one team throw everybody inside their own 45 and rely on the ref to give them frees any time a tackle went in or the linesmen to give sideline balls their way.
Then you had the other sit in neutral gear and decide not to stretch their legs(McCafrey McCarthy and Kilkenny aside)
Very poor fare that had less intensity than an o Byrne cup game.
bottom line Carlow never believed they were going to win and Dublin never contemplated they could loose so you got a challenge game type.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/06/2017 22:46:15    1994171

Refereeing IS poor these days

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/06/2017 22:46:40    1994172

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Referee and linesman were bad.
Connolly should have been off before Murphy got red. Might have been a lot closer if Carlow had a spare man.
Minnows always get shafted. Would love to see the Dubs in an actual away match where the home town decisions go against them."
Yup. Poor old Fermanagh certainly did.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/06/2017 23:15:53    1994184