Dublin V Carlow

Replying To kikfada:  "Yes i think a lot of Leinster teams are underrated. Even Wicklow who have never won a Leinster are decent on their day and recently knocked out 3 Ulster teams out of the back door namely Fermanagh Cavan and Down under Micko."
when did they beat Cavan ? . I'm not saying they didn't, I just can't remember it.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/05/2017 23:47:58    1989641

Replying To s goldrick:  "when did they beat Cavan ? . I'm not saying they didn't, I just can't remember it."
Think it was in the 2009 year under Micko. They beat Fermanagh and Down I think before losing to Kildare in round 4.

Andy (Laois) - Posts: 371 - 23/05/2017 09:58:51    1989696

i would prefer moving to Munster then any other championship, think thats the one most in need of balancing.

Be great for football two of Kerry, Dublin and Cork going through the back door every year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/05/2017 10:21:12    1989704

Replying To TheUsername:  "i would prefer moving to Munster then any other championship, think thats the one most in need of balancing.

Be great for football two of Kerry, Dublin and Cork going through the back door every year."
Sure youll get your chance of the back door this year after the next round !

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 23/05/2017 11:08:46    1989723

Be some atmosphere in Portlaoise for this one...It's a great town for the beer with pubs down both sides of the one way main street .I live here and can't wait for it now.Carlow should bring a big support as well as its there biggest day in the sun for years...

Best Pubs are Kavanaghs lower main street little pub across from it called Bergins which has a lovely pint of plain.

Peigs in the top square is a fine GAA pub ...I could go on and on...It will be a great bank holiday saturday in the town of Portlaoise.

Amazing Laois can host Dublin this year but it couldn't last year?

The game itself will be a non even the handicap is 21 points and I think Dublin will cover that.

I hope carlow do well tho and I know plenty of locals already going to lend their support to their neighbours!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 23/05/2017 11:34:25    1989737

Replying To ziggy32001:  "pure madness...

didn't longford beat monaghan last year? they cannot buy a win in leinster.."
Yep and Longford have beat Derry and Donegal in recent times yet can win not one match in Leinster, the we better in Ulster nonsense is comical, facts are dubs would walk ulster most years too

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2017 11:37:03    1989739

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Don't think even a 'David vs Goliath' title would do this one any justice. Great win by Carlow yesterday but every game in Leinster is a mismatch and it is by far the least competitive Championship.

Think this one is a case of how much Carlow can hold Dublin to. I think if they held Dublin to 20 points it would be a good result for Carlow and then hopefully get a run in the back door.

Cant stop thinking about how competitive Leinster would be if Dublin weren't in it. It would be a really exciting championship. Maybe its time the GAA consider getting Dublin to compete in the Ulster Championship in the same way Galway have entered Leinster in hurling. Just a thought.........."
Whatever Dublin win by (if they do win) won't be much different than they would win by vs all other Ulster counties bar Donegal and Tyrone. I hate all the overhyping of the Ulster championship and slagging off of Leinster counties. If Carlow or Wicklow were playing in a low scoring provincial championship like Ulster they wouldn't be getting all the heavy beatings either. Sure didn't Monaghan win it a couple of times recently and didn't win a game outside of Ulster.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 23/05/2017 17:37:01    1989913

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "Don't think even a 'David vs Goliath' title would do this one any justice. Great win by Carlow yesterday but every game in Leinster is a mismatch and it is by far the least competitive Championship.

Think this one is a case of how much Carlow can hold Dublin to. I think if they held Dublin to 20 points it would be a good result for Carlow and then hopefully get a run in the back door.

Cant stop thinking about how competitive Leinster would be if Dublin weren't in it. It would be a really exciting championship. Maybe its time the GAA consider getting Dublin to compete in the Ulster Championship in the same way Galway have entered Leinster in hurling. Just a thought.........."
Also in the last 5 years, Monaghan were knocked out of the championship by Laois, Dublin, Longford and Tyrone twice. So Leinster counties aren't that bad now are they?

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 23/05/2017 17:59:15    1989924

Replying To HurlingSnob:  "Also in the last 5 years, Monaghan were knocked out of the championship by Laois, Dublin, Longford and Tyrone twice. So Leinster counties aren't that bad now are they?"
Ah you could argue about the amount of rest monaghan needed after getting knocked out of Ulster, and whether Moanaghan were as focused in the qualifiers.

But I take your point.

In saying that though the real judge of the strength of teams is in the league for 2018 it will be.
div 1 - two leinster teams
div 2 - two leinster teams
div 3 - four leinster teams
div 4 - three leinster teams

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 23/05/2017 19:11:01    1989958

Replying To carlowman:  "Carlow did very well yesterday and deserved their win over a Wexford who lost 3 key players in the first half. I think that Carlow played with a confidence and a pattern tin their play that has been absent in fomer teams. The players bought into the system and they now have the confidence now with the win But - what a daunting task now lies ahead!!!! Against the Dubs who are the favourites for the All Ireland! The game being played in Portlaoise is a no brainer in my opinion. The pitch does not matter. Carlow got a performance yesterday and the result followed. I despair when people start comparing how good Carlow are - especially after one win! Wexford were poor and without their 3 players were hamstrung form early in the game. Carlow have not put 2 back to back good performances in years. They will struggle against Dublin but if they perform as well as yesterday then that will be progress. Sustaining performances should be the aim. Carlow might then be a different proposition in the qualifiers. I am delighted for many of the older players who have stayed the course - In particular John Murphy and Daniel St Ledger and Paul Broderick whose contribution yesterday was immense. His free taking and scores from play in the first half were magnificent - one better than the other. Other players are not there that long really. Looking forward to a decent performance against the Dubs!"
Carlowman, just a couple of points re your post, we all know about the daunting task that lies ahead, and that Dublin are favourites to win out the all Ireland. The game being played in portlaoise is a no brainer in your opinion, fair enough but in my opinion it should be played in NCP, why,? Because Dublin wouldn't object, all Ireland champions in town, carnival atmosphere, young and old coming out to see Carlow play the all Ireland champions in our own back yard, bank holiday week end extra business for the town etc, etc. and yes the pitch does matter in my opinion, you go on to say you "despair when people start comparing how good Carlow are."- especially after one win! With no two back to back good performances in years, that all may be so, personally I was heartened with their performance through the league, in particular with Carlows game against Westmeath and Wexford, won one drew one, they could/should have won both, against the two teams that got promoted.
What excites me about all of this is two things and only two things, one, is their performance and their win against Wexford in the league, two, is their performance and their win against the same opposition Wexford a few weeks later in the leinster championship, that to me is a back to back win, and yes Carlow may very well struggle against Dublin and that is why I want to applaud them, and sing their praises first before/should that happen.
I pointed out in a previous post that Dublin did play Carlow in Dr.Cullen Park on bank holiday weekend at a time when Dublin's all Ireland medals were still hot in their pockets, on June 6th 1988, Dublin won 1-14 to 0-8, what's so different about this year, the only difference I see is their medals might be a little hotter in their pockets.
A change of venue in this case would not necessarily be a change of policy or setting a precedent,- merely a slight adjustment to their (GAA's) PR system.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 23/05/2017 21:34:36    1990013

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep and Longford have beat Derry and Donegal in recent times yet can win not one match in Leinster, the we better in Ulster nonsense is comical, facts are dubs would walk ulster most years too"
also in this years league the two teams that looked the worst against meath were from ulster...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/05/2017 21:48:18    1990020

Replying To supersub15:  "Carlowman, just a couple of points re your post, we all know about the daunting task that lies ahead, and that Dublin are favourites to win out the all Ireland. The game being played in portlaoise is a no brainer in your opinion, fair enough but in my opinion it should be played in NCP, why,? Because Dublin wouldn't object, all Ireland champions in town, carnival atmosphere, young and old coming out to see Carlow play the all Ireland champions in our own back yard, bank holiday week end extra business for the town etc, etc. and yes the pitch does matter in my opinion, you go on to say you "despair when people start comparing how good Carlow are."- especially after one win! With no two back to back good performances in years, that all may be so, personally I was heartened with their performance through the league, in particular with Carlows game against Westmeath and Wexford, won one drew one, they could/should have won both, against the two teams that got promoted.
What excites me about all of this is two things and only two things, one, is their performance and their win against Wexford in the league, two, is their performance and their win against the same opposition Wexford a few weeks later in the leinster championship, that to me is a back to back win, and yes Carlow may very well struggle against Dublin and that is why I want to applaud them, and sing their praises first before/should that happen.
I pointed out in a previous post that Dublin did play Carlow in Dr.Cullen Park on bank holiday weekend at a time when Dublin's all Ireland medals were still hot in their pockets, on June 6th 1988, Dublin won 1-14 to 0-8, what's so different about this year, the only difference I see is their medals might be a little hotter in their pockets.
A change of venue in this case would not necessarily be a change of policy or setting a precedent,- merely a slight adjustment to their (GAA's) PR system."
the game was a more even playing field in those days. dubs are miles everyone regarding playing ability,preparation,financing etc. still be great for these carlow players to play these lads. murphy would walk on the dublin team too!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/05/2017 21:52:53    1990022

Replying To ziggy32001:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "Carlowman, just a couple of points re your post, we all know about the daunting task that lies ahead, and that Dublin are favourites to win out the all Ireland. The game being played in portlaoise is a no brainer in your opinion, fair enough but in my opinion it should be played in NCP, why,? Because Dublin wouldn't object, all Ireland champions in town, carnival atmosphere, young and old coming out to see Carlow play the all Ireland champions in our own back yard, bank holiday week end extra business for the town etc, etc. and yes the pitch does matter in my opinion, you go on to say you "despair when people start comparing how good Carlow are."- especially after one win! With no two back to back good performances in years, that all may be so, personally I was heartened with their performance through the league, in particular with Carlows game against Westmeath and Wexford, won one drew one, they could/should have won both, against the two teams that got promoted.
A change of venue in this case would not necessarily be a change of policy or setting a precedent,- merely a slight adjustment to their (GAA's) PR system."
the game was a more even playing field in those days. dubs are miles everyone regarding playing ability,preparation,financing etc. still be great for these carlow players to play these lads. murphy would walk on the dublin team too!"
The game will be in Portlaoise no matter what now, tickets have been sold & are on sale. Stand tickets already seem to be hard to come by.

As for the game, well it's the All Ireland champions against what most people at least until recently would have called probably the worst team in Leinster. Handicap from Paddy Power is set at 21 points. Seems about right.

I see some posts above going back to 1988 and other teams/eras. Nothing to do with this year. As of now, this Dublin team is certainly one of the, if not the best team of all time. 2 All Irelands won, and can manage to send it's entire 35/40 man squad off on holidays and create a new side who manged to win the O'Byrne Cup beating the rest of Leinster!

Carlow have already overachieved by winning only their 2nd game in Leinster in 10 years. Bonus territory now v Dublin.
It's a showcase live on Sky too for the likes of Brendan Murphy who is among the top 5 midfielders in the country to be finally seen on a big stage. Same for Paul Broderick, and incredible corner forward with the most amazing left foot. 2nd top scorer on this years league despite missing 2 games, scored 10 points v Wexford. Hopefully they play at their best and make it competitive for as long as possible.

The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 23/05/2017 22:23:26    1990034

Replying To ziggy32001:  "
the game was a more even playing field in those days. dubs are miles everyone regarding playing ability,preparation,financing etc. still be great for these carlow players to play these lads. murphy would walk on the dublin team too!"
I'm not too sure about that ziggy, in fact you can go back a bit further than 1988 and it's more of the same, in that, the strong counties then are still the strong counties to day, the weak counties then are the same week counties to day, even if you look at Lonford, Westmeath, and Wexford, those three have breezed in and out of div.4 Longford won a Leinster senior title in 1967 (I think) Westmeath won one in the 00's under Paudie O'Shea (RIP) while Wexford got within touching distance of a leinster or two but it just didn't happen for them, other than that nothings new. We'll give 2010 a miss.

So I think the level playing field was about as level in the 80's as it is today.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 23/05/2017 23:01:09    1990051

Replying To poguemahone:  "How do ye see this one going?

Ah no, in fairness a great win for Carlow yesterday. By all accounts a very attacking performance. Can't recall the two teams meeting in the championship before so am guessing its before my time. Anyone know?"
Met in 1988. Carlow beat Laois in the first round. Big Quirke man midfield for Carlow.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/05/2017 23:18:33    1990056

A bit of nostalgia :)

Richie Kavanagh wrote a song about the Carlow team that beat Dublin in 1944 in the Leinster Final in Athy. 'The Carlow 15'. Tom 'Drakes' Walker was the star of theCarlow team and wait for it.. had 26 children!! With the same wife may i add!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zq8UovO_mBQ

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/05/2017 23:22:42    1990060

Replying To The Real 1944:  "
Replying To ziggy32001:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Carlowman, just a couple of points re your post, we all know about the daunting task that lies ahead, and that Dublin are favourites to win out the all Ireland. The game being played in portlaoise is a no brainer in your opinion, fair enough but in my opinion it should be played in NCP, why,? Because Dublin wouldn't object, all Ireland champions in town, carnival atmosphere, young and old coming out to see Carlow play the all Ireland champions in our own back yard, bank holiday week end extra business for the town etc, etc. and yes the pitch does matter in my opinion, you go on to say you "despair when people start comparing how good Carlow are."- especially after one win! With no two back to back good performances in years, that all may be so, personally I was heartened with their performance through the league, in particular with Carlows game against Westmeath and Wexford, won one drew one, they could/should have won both, against the two teams that got promoted.
The game will be in Portlaoise no matter what now, tickets have been sold & are on sale. Stand tickets already seem to be hard to come by.

As for the game, well it's the All Ireland champions against what most people at least until recently would have called probably the worst team in Leinster. Handicap from Paddy Power is set at 21 points. Seems about right.

I see some posts above going back to 1988 and other teams/eras. Nothing to do with this year. As of now, this Dublin team is certainly one of the, if not the best team of all time. 2 All Irelands won, and can manage to send it's entire 35/40 man squad off on holidays and create a new side who manged to win the O'Byrne Cup beating the rest of Leinster!

Carlow have already overachieved by winning only their 2nd game in Leinster in 10 years. Bonus territory now v Dublin.
It's a showcase live on Sky too for the likes of Brendan Murphy who is among the top 5 midfielders in the country to be finally seen on a big stage. Same for Paul Broderick, and incredible corner forward with the most amazing left foot. 2nd top scorer on this years league despite missing 2 games, scored 10 points v Wexford. Hopefully they play at their best and make it competitive for as long as possible."]Apologies. Drakes Walker had retired by 1944 but was a star of other Carlow teams before that.

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~irlcar2/carlow_milestones.htm

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/05/2017 23:26:27    1990062

I do not want to hear anyone trying to defend Connolly this time. Tired of hearing how he is targeted. Class player but again he goes overboard. Losing the plot over a line ball that was flagged to Carlow. Should have walked but the linesman and ref bottled it. But sure enough the Carlow man got the line. Joke.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7906 - 03/06/2017 20:09:51    1994025

Fair play to Carlow putting in massive effort. Red is a disgrace and should not see any more action this summer

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 03/06/2017 20:13:23    1994029

100% Flaker agree with ya. Sean Murphy is having a stormer of a game at midfield for Carlow

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 03/06/2017 20:21:03    1994032