Meath v Louth

Replying To jimbodub:  "All the pressure is on Meath

They've had a bit of hype on here as of late

Come on Louth.. hope ye stuff em!!"
Shocking pressure jim, unreal even if he wins all ire it mightn't be enough. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2017 21:12:56    1990425

Ok cheers lads good to know.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 24/05/2017 21:40:04    1990429

Look I dont want what I'm about to say to be taken as a dig at Louth.
But for last few matches v Louth we can all see that graham Reilly was been deliberately targeted and dragged around the place, with little protection from the officials, the ref in this match must be on top of his game, now look biggie is always going to be a target for opposition due to his abilities and pace, I accept that and so does every Meath fan, but even the most ardent critics of graham would have to agree the treatment he received was ott Last few meetings with the wee, and I understand it, he is one of our main threats, he is our captain and of course he lives very close to Louth border, so I get it, but my criticism is of the officials who see this happening and do nothing about it, a quick yellow card would send a message out, no I wont allow that in the game. That's all I ask for.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2017 21:52:59    1990433

Both teams have made improvements, Now two Div 2 teams, Louth have made great ground the last 2 years but I fear that Meath have just pushed on again under McEntee, and will have too much, Should Kildare get over Laois ( not a foregone conclusion by any means) I would fear Meath in the semis as they are becoming a dangerous team again.

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 24/05/2017 23:31:10    1990466

Replying To NorthKildare:  "Both teams have made improvements, Now two Div 2 teams, Louth have made great ground the last 2 years but I fear that Meath have just pushed on again under McEntee, and will have too much, Should Kildare get over Laois ( not a foregone conclusion by any means) I would fear Meath in the semis as they are becoming a dangerous team again."
kildare getting better too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2017 08:15:19    1990501

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look I dont want what I'm about to say to be taken as a dig at Louth.
But for last few matches v Louth we can all see that graham Reilly was been deliberately targeted and dragged around the place, with little protection from the officials, the ref in this match must be on top of his game, now look biggie is always going to be a target for opposition due to his abilities and pace, I accept that and so does every Meath fan, but even the most ardent critics of graham would have to agree the treatment he received was ott Last few meetings with the wee, and I understand it, he is one of our main threats, he is our captain and of course he lives very close to Louth border, so I get it, but my criticism is of the officials who see this happening and do nothing about it, a quick yellow card would send a message out, no I wont allow that in the game. That's all I ask for."
think it would be a big mistake for louth to do that again. reilly is a big player,but we also have lenihan,o'sullivan.newman,wallace who are all well able to do damage.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2017 08:18:19    1990504

Replying To OLLIE:  "That's like that part of County Monaghan where it's cut off from the rest of the county. You have to go through County Fermanagh to get to the rest of the county."
Back to the geography books for you.. no part of monaghan is like that.. ! headn to this game to hopefully see a good game as a neutral.. just think Meath are a bit further down the road in terms of having there team sorted

warriorgaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 20 - 25/05/2017 08:32:10    1990507

Replying To warriorgaa:  "Back to the geography books for you.. no part of monaghan is like that.. ! headn to this game to hopefully see a good game as a neutral.. just think Meath are a bit further down the road in terms of having there team sorted"
Warriorgaa I did up the Geography books for Monaghan. I am sorry to disappoint you but its true. If you are leaving Clones and you are heading to Cavan town you take the N54. This takes you in to County Fermanagh which now is the A3. Then you are back in to Monaghan (N54) , back again in to Fermanagh (A3) and then it heads in to County Cavan (N54).

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/05/2017 11:05:27    1990563

Replying To OLLIE:  "Warriorgaa I did up the Geography books for Monaghan. I am sorry to disappoint you but its true. If you are leaving Clones and you are heading to Cavan town you take the N54. This takes you in to County Fermanagh which now is the A3. Then you are back in to Monaghan (N54) , back again in to Fermanagh (A3) and then it heads in to County Cavan (N54)."
Yep. . ."no man's land"

Plenty of rubber laid down along that stretch!

I think he may be arguing about slightly different things tho. It's only reachable via road through fermanagh from either direction, but not separated completely from monaghan. If you fancied trekking across fields and hedges you could get there without leaving Monaghan (so technically not completely cut off)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 25/05/2017 12:16:46    1990590

Meath v Louth a rivalry that never gets stale. The venue will suit Louth more than us. The incentive for us is a leinster semi however for Louth a win over us would mean much more. Some said the unbeaten record v Westmeath in the championship would go on and look what happened in 2015. 1975 a long time for Louth and with a strong team having gained promotion deservedly they will be brimming with confidence and are no longer reliable on a few players and can play more as a unit. Ghosts of the past are well banished by now and Louth won't fear us if Graham is not up to his usual form and supply into full forward line issue persists I would fancy them.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 25/05/2017 12:41:15    1990613

Replying To Jimin10:  "Meath v Louth a rivalry that never gets stale. The venue will suit Louth more than us. The incentive for us is a leinster semi however for Louth a win over us would mean much more. Some said the unbeaten record v Westmeath in the championship would go on and look what happened in 2015. 1975 a long time for Louth and with a strong team having gained promotion deservedly they will be brimming with confidence and are no longer reliable on a few players and can play more as a unit. Ghosts of the past are well banished by now and Louth won't fear us if Graham is not up to his usual form and supply into full forward line issue persists I would fancy them."
why do you think the venue suits louth more than us?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2017 12:54:12    1990623

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yep. . ."no man's land"

Plenty of rubber laid down along that stretch!

I think he may be arguing about slightly different things tho. It's only reachable via road through fermanagh from either direction, but not separated completely from monaghan. If you fancied trekking across fields and hedges you could get there without leaving Monaghan (so technically not completely cut off)"
Yep Cavanman sorry that's what I mean. The Finn river cuts that part of Monaghan from the rest.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/05/2017 12:57:16    1990625

Replying To Jimin10:  "Meath v Louth a rivalry that never gets stale. The venue will suit Louth more than us. The incentive for us is a leinster semi however for Louth a win over us would mean much more. Some said the unbeaten record v Westmeath in the championship would go on and look what happened in 2015. 1975 a long time for Louth and with a strong team having gained promotion deservedly they will be brimming with confidence and are no longer reliable on a few players and can play more as a unit. Ghosts of the past are well banished by now and Louth won't fear us if Graham is not up to his usual form and supply into full forward line issue persists I would fancy them."
Jimin Louth don't have a great record in Parnell Park. Since 2004 they have played eight times in Leinster matches, qualifiers and Tommy Murphy matches and they have won two, drew one and lost five times with a win ratio of 25%.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/05/2017 13:03:21    1990628

Replying To OLLIE:  "Jimin Louth don't have a great record in Parnell Park. Since 2004 they have played eight times in Leinster matches, qualifiers and Tommy Murphy matches and they have won two, drew one and lost five times with a win ratio of 25%."
didn't louth have the option to play in navan last year? they do have a good record there. you beat us in the league there a few years ago beat us in the obc and almost beat us in 2002 there. also ye beat a good kildare team there in 10..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2017 13:25:54    1990639

Replying To OLLIE:  "Jimin Louth don't have a great record in Parnell Park. Since 2004 they have played eight times in Leinster matches, qualifiers and Tommy Murphy matches and they have won two, drew one and lost five times with a win ratio of 25%."
Lads louth are not going to go far in this championship...you can post up all the facts and statists of the day but overall they arent that good at all. We let them win us in the o byrne cup...it was obvious mc entee didnt want us to meet dublin so early on in the year when we werent ready. Enjoy the glory while it lasts.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 25/05/2017 13:39:31    1990648

Replying To ziggy32001:  "didn't louth have the option to play in navan last year? they do have a good record there. you beat us in the league there a few years ago beat us in the obc and almost beat us in 2002 there. also ye beat a good kildare team there in 10.."
Ziggy yes Louth did have the option to play Meath in Navan but that would be giving home advantage to Meath. The last time Meath beat Louth in Navan was in 2002. Since then Louth beat Meath in the league in 2012, drew with them in the O Byrne Cup in 2013 and beat Meath in this years Championship. Louth record has improved in Navan. But we lost Championship matches in Navan against Longford and Westmeath in 2001, Kildare and Meath in 2002, Cavan in 2003, Offaly in 2005. Highlights have been drawing with Tyrone in 2006 and beating Kildare in 2010.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/05/2017 13:41:39    1990649

Louth at 4/1 is surely buying money.... :D
I'm a bit surprised by the Meath confidence if I'm honest. Not sure where it is coming from. I'd be nervous if I was a Meath man.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/05/2017 15:46:48    1990706

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Lads louth are not going to go far in this championship...you can post up all the facts and statists of the day but overall they arent that good at all. We let them win us in the o byrne cup...it was obvious mc entee didnt want us to meet dublin so early on in the year when we werent ready. Enjoy the glory while it lasts."
McEntee himself said they were "bullied". Poor chaps. Meath simply not good enough on the day. Reilly was tossed about the field like a rag doll. In any case Dublin were in training camp in OB and it was their 7th choice team.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 25/05/2017 16:06:21    1990719

Replying To tiobraid:  "Louth at 4/1 is surely buying money.... :D
I'm a bit surprised by the Meath confidence if I'm honest. Not sure where it is coming from. I'd be nervous if I was a Meath man."
Of course they're nervous. When the wheels come off the pram this year though the manager can no longer get the blame (unlike previous 5 years) as they have the Alex Ferguson of GAA apparently.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 25/05/2017 16:10:50    1990721

Replying To tiobraid:  "Louth at 4/1 is surely buying money.... :D
I'm a bit surprised by the Meath confidence if I'm honest. Not sure where it is coming from. I'd be nervous if I was a Meath man."
Shame match isnt on TV as you and everyone else would then see where our confidence is coming from. Meath are unrecognizable compared to previous years, the belief and passion and above all clinical play is outstanding, someone said we have the Alex Ferguson of gaa ? No one said that, as that would be belittling the far superior Andy mcentee. All hail the messiah.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2017 17:03:21    1990737