Galway vs Mayo

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "The likes of Doherty were good scoring forwards a few years ago but the style of football Mayo play now does not get the best out of Mayo's forwards.

Anyone read Brollys article yesterday about rochford? Dont always agree with him but i taught it was very good. Apart for performing to a decent level in the two Final games last year against Dublin i think they have gone back a lot since Horan and Holmes/Connelly Management. What do Mayo posters think?"
We were better up front under Horan, had more balls to go put to win a match. Rochford seems to not want us to lose rather than get on the front foot. Having said that the defence is much better under Rochford and it needed to improve.

I met a Corofin man last year who told me that Rochford never plays the same team two games in a row, loves tinkering with things. Maybe he's over-thinking things? How Colm Boyle didn't start on Sunday is just baffling. Hopefully he'll start in 3 weeks. Anyways, it's easy for us to sort out the team from behind our keyboards. Rochford is a good guy and hopefully we can still have a long summer of football ahead.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 13/06/2017 12:44:36    1999013

Replying To cluichethar:  "Does anyone know what Comer said or done to Higgins to get him to lose it TV didn't really show a lot outside of the dangly bits getting squished"
I was at the game but recored The Sunday Game live and watch it yesterday evening. The first time the two (Comer & Higgins) were face to face was at that point, Comer did what every forward in the country does, stood up and marked the defender for the quick kick out. I watch it a few time, Doesn't look like he said anything, just putting pressure on the kepper and defender. This wasn't a Zidain vs Materazzi

I've posted this already on the Galway page but I don't understand why Higgins was applauded off the pitch by the Mayo supporters in the stand and then they started booing Comer. The man got hit the .....

*Course I'm totally bias*

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 13/06/2017 12:57:24    1999019

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Touche Law, I will give you that one :)

Well played Sir"
Gracious reply. Respect!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/06/2017 13:27:05    1999053

Boyle wasnt fit i dont think, i think it was when Conroy made a break down the field and everyone running back Boyle was slowly running back as in looked like he couldnt sprint. Plus he was taken off in the Sligo game and went off slowly like he was injured..

Didnt hear the cheers for Higgins when he was sent off but if there was it was stupid..like Galway fans booing O Connors frees thought that was poor..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 13/06/2017 17:26:47    1999224

Replying To tommy132:  "Boyle wasnt fit i dont think, i think it was when Conroy made a break down the field and everyone running back Boyle was slowly running back as in looked like he couldnt sprint. Plus he was taken off in the Sligo game and went off slowly like he was injured..

Didnt hear the cheers for Higgins when he was sent off but if there was it was stupid..like Galway fans booing O Connors frees thought that was poor.."
Now Now Tommy There was a some jeering at a bizzare decision to black card Flynn for not jumping out of the way, this was the only stage when a Mayo freetaker was jeered. Persistent jeers at Armstrong was a common theme throughout. The jeering of Comer was also a particular low point I felt.

WunderBar (Galway) - Posts: 290 - 13/06/2017 18:50:35    1999260

I'm confused did Galway lose this match because having read/listened to the analysis of Sunday's game (paper/blogs/podcasts) all of the talk is from a Mayo perspective, feel Galway again getting zero credit for this win.
The lazy analysis on Galway basically revolves around ya they have a crazy footballer in goals and a weak FB line, now let's get back and spend another hour talking about Mayo.

Fr_Tod_Unctious (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 13/06/2017 19:02:17    1999267

Replying To Fr_Tod_Unctious:  "I'm confused did Galway lose this match because having read/listened to the analysis of Sunday's game (paper/blogs/podcasts) all of the talk is from a Mayo perspective, feel Galway again getting zero credit for this win.
The lazy analysis on Galway basically revolves around ya they have a crazy footballer in goals and a weak FB line, now let's get back and spend another hour talking about Mayo."
On Off the Ball last night they spent 10/12 minutes on Mayo and squeezed in a quick minute on Galway at the very end as an afterthought. I was like lads there were two teams on the field on Sunday.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2220 - 13/06/2017 19:53:36    1999292

Replying To Marooned:  "On Off the Ball last night they spent 10/12 minutes on Mayo and squeezed in a quick minute on Galway at the very end as an afterthought. I was like lads there were two teams on the field on Sunday."
It was similar coverage for Wexford's win over Kilkenny. 'Is this the end of Kilkenny' but very little praise for a great Wexford win, just like there's been little praise for Galway for a great win, just prefer to talk about how Mayo did. Anyways, fair play to ye, it was a great win.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 13/06/2017 20:07:26    1999295

Replying To Fr_Tod_Unctious:  "I'm confused did Galway lose this match because having read/listened to the analysis of Sunday's game (paper/blogs/podcasts) all of the talk is from a Mayo perspective, feel Galway again getting zero credit for this win.
The lazy analysis on Galway basically revolves around ya they have a crazy footballer in goals and a weak FB line, now let's get back and spend another hour talking about Mayo."
We have to listen to this constant analysing of Mayo this year has been worse too many people using Mayo and any perceived problems in Mayo football to pedal their wears or to raise their own profiles. Ye guys haven't helped by beating us there will be constant talking about Mayo till our championship ends. I'm sick of people talking about what's wrong with Mayo and what Mayo need to win an all Ireland because it means sweet fa when those people aren't involved with the Mayo team.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 13/06/2017 20:10:10    1999297

There's a fascination in the media with this Mayo team, and to be fair you can hardly blame them. It's one of the best crops of players Mayo has ever produced, perhaps past the zenith of their abilities, and their potential to go on and do something that Mayo hasn't achieved since the '50s will inevitably attract a lot of attention.

And if this fascination for Mayo means we get to fly under the radar and not get hyped up, as is happening to our hurlers at the moment, then long may it last, say I.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/06/2017 20:44:18    1999306

Replying To Marooned:  "On Off the Ball last night they spent 10/12 minutes on Mayo and squeezed in a quick minute on Galway at the very end as an afterthought. I was like lads there were two teams on the field on Sunday."
Damien Comer was dead right to note this (lack of respect, flash in the pan call it what you want) when interviewed post match. Whatever about last year in Castlebar the general conversation is predominantly about Mayo with Galway a little after thought. I guess there is only one answer to this and am sure KW has this for the dressing room wall. I understand many Mayo posters wishing to analyse their team and where they are currently on the football map given their consistency since 2011. But the paid media. Alan Brogan in his sunday indo column more or less dismissed us last year post the Mayo win. And then when we won the Connacht final it did not seem to matter although winning a first provincial title in 8 yrs and with a young team surely was progress in itself. Will be interesting to see what he says this season if anything at all. I mean do analysts think the 'top 3' will remain so for the rest of time.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 13/06/2017 20:53:33    1999310

Galway did indeed win.
And do you know what, I'd be happy to have little made of it because it's soon enough they'll be talking Galway up and fellas will be wishing they'd shut the hell up.
Slip along under the radar and you'd be better off. If Galway win the next day out you'll get plenty of attention.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/06/2017 21:02:27    1999318

Replying To MTS:  "I was at the game but recored The Sunday Game live and watch it yesterday evening. The first time the two (Comer & Higgins) were face to face was at that point, Comer did what every forward in the country does, stood up and marked the defender for the quick kick out. I watch it a few time, Doesn't look like he said anything, just putting pressure on the kepper and defender. This wasn't a Zidain vs Materazzi

I've posted this already on the Galway page but I don't understand why Higgins was applauded off the pitch by the Mayo supporters in the stand and then they started booing Comer. The man got hit the .....

*Course I'm totally bias*"
I was at the front of the stand and honestly I didn't see what happened but the ref was a few yards away and had to see it clearly, I nor the people around me cheered or jeered, why because any fella that gets himself sent off doesn't deserve anything. The Galway black card, in real time I thought he was guilty and deserved the black card but when I saw it back on the big screen I realised he was the innocent party and in fact Cillian O'Connor should have been booked and the free given to Galway. 1 thing that Galway fans may not have noticed but Mayo fans spotted fairly often and that was time wasting, when a Galway player hit the ground you'd swear they were shot, frees took nearly 90 seconds to kick, I thought refs were suppose to stop that, frees were suppose to be taken within 30 seconds, was this a tactic by Walsh, maybe, but it worked. Other refs won't let that go later in the championship. Galway got their tactics right, Mayo did not

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 15/06/2017 12:02:02    1999897

Replying To riverboys:  "I was at the front of the stand and honestly I didn't see what happened but the ref was a few yards away and had to see it clearly, I nor the people around me cheered or jeered, why because any fella that gets himself sent off doesn't deserve anything. The Galway black card, in real time I thought he was guilty and deserved the black card but when I saw it back on the big screen I realised he was the innocent party and in fact Cillian O'Connor should have been booked and the free given to Galway. 1 thing that Galway fans may not have noticed but Mayo fans spotted fairly often and that was time wasting, when a Galway player hit the ground you'd swear they were shot, frees took nearly 90 seconds to kick, I thought refs were suppose to stop that, frees were suppose to be taken within 30 seconds, was this a tactic by Walsh, maybe, but it worked. Other refs won't let that go later in the championship. Galway got their tactics right, Mayo did not"
Never noticed but i did notice the amount of time COC was down rolling around after he hit Flynn resulting in the black card. Can hardly blame Comer for been down when he got the cheapshot to the nuts

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 15/06/2017 13:09:21    1999913

Time to park this I think and move on....Galway have a Connacht final to look forward to while Mayo seek redemption through the qualifiers. Many interesting twists and turns left in this Championship I suspect.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 15/06/2017 13:48:09    1999937

Replying To yew_tree:  "Time to park this I think and move on....Galway have a Connacht final to look forward to while Mayo seek redemption through the qualifiers. Many interesting twists and turns left in this Championship I suspect."
Never thought I'd agree with YT on anything!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 15/06/2017 15:38:29    1999996

Replying To riverboys:  "I was at the front of the stand and honestly I didn't see what happened but the ref was a few yards away and had to see it clearly, I nor the people around me cheered or jeered, why because any fella that gets himself sent off doesn't deserve anything. The Galway black card, in real time I thought he was guilty and deserved the black card but when I saw it back on the big screen I realised he was the innocent party and in fact Cillian O'Connor should have been booked and the free given to Galway. 1 thing that Galway fans may not have noticed but Mayo fans spotted fairly often and that was time wasting, when a Galway player hit the ground you'd swear they were shot, frees took nearly 90 seconds to kick, I thought refs were suppose to stop that, frees were suppose to be taken within 30 seconds, was this a tactic by Walsh, maybe, but it worked. Other refs won't let that go later in the championship. Galway got their tactics right, Mayo did not"
Watch the Sunday Game live (on RTE player). Use a stop watch on COC with frees in the first half and come back to me.

MTS (Galway) - Posts: 279 - 16/06/2017 12:06:15    2000288