Galway vs Mayo

Replying To festinog:  "Away outta that sham. Kept in it by a well taken but opportunistic goal. Galway led through out, and though we were nearly undone by nerves and inexperience in the last 10 minutes, it would take a real yoke to say we didn't deserve that win."
I am like that fest! Sorry! I was worried Mayo wouldn't be fully up for and yer lads would same as last year! #sleepyconnacht!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 18:44:43    1997998

Replying To festinog:  "Away outta that sham. Kept in it by a well taken but opportunistic goal. Galway led through out, and though we were nearly undone by nerves and inexperience in the last 10 minutes, it would take a real yoke to say we didn't deserve that win."
And I'm not a ballina sham boy!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 18:45:40    1998000

Best game so far this year.
Well done Galway but dont write off Mayo this year.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 11/06/2017 18:48:22    1998002

Mayo forwards same as ever. They just don't have "it"

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/06/2017 18:58:25    1998006

Replying To Spoddgy:  "More a game Mayo lost than Galway won for me, fair play to ye though ye took some great scores good luck in the final. Defensively I think Galway a suseptible and will be their downfall if it isn't fixed. Mayo still too far off the boil and forward wise not good enough to win."
If anyone has problems in their backs it's Mayo. The dog in the street knew Comer would destroy Cafferkey and so it happened..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 11/06/2017 19:05:35    1998010

YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEHHHHHAAAAAAAA!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 11/06/2017 19:10:09    1998017

As we Galwegians say when we beat Mayo in Galway " It's a great day for the natives".
Well done lads.Very well done.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 11/06/2017 19:14:14    1998019

Replying To arock:  "Dreadful Black card call, worst I have seen this year. Great game though."
He make some bad mistakes every match and it is a sign of the times when he is considered an inter county standard ref.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/06/2017 19:20:07    1998021

What a game!!! Well done Galway, can't wait till the final.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 11/06/2017 19:23:06    1998025

Replying To Belclare1:  "If anyone has problems in their backs it's Mayo. The dog in the street knew Comer would destroy Cafferkey and so it happened.."
Know well caff isn't the fullback we need. Trust me ye are going to get found out I'll wait for to be proven wrong

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 19:42:25    1998038

Replying To browncows:  "He make some bad mistakes every match and it is a sign of the times when he is considered an inter county standard ref."
Black card all day long he knew what he was doing he could have at least made it look he was trying to get out of the way

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 19:43:22    1998039

A great example of what provincial championship football should be all about. Was surprised at how good an atmosphere there was at it, Pearse Stadium would not usually be known for that. But if the players on the field are going at it 100% then even the most timid crowd will get swept up in it. Some massive shoulder hits and dodgy referee calls helped rouse the crowd as well. The RTE panel as well were full of praise for it and rightly so.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 11/06/2017 19:48:21    1998042

If a dub or Tyrone player carried on like a certain mayo freetaker today this place would go into indignant meltdown desperate stuff

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/06/2017 19:54:16    1998046

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Black card all day long he knew what he was doing he could have at least made it look he was trying to get out of the way"
And tell me why he should get out of the way ?

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 11/06/2017 19:58:40    1998049

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Black card all day long he knew what he was doing he could have at least made it look he was trying to get out of the way"
Don't be soft.COC basically conned the ref into giving a black card.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 11/06/2017 20:09:49    1998062

Well done Galway on a deserved victory.

I think it's cheap to blame Cillian as the Dinela poster pointed out. He is our best forward and needs more support which we don't have.

The famous Mayo attackimg half back line has been restrained under this management.

Tough to regroup but I am sure we won't give in without a fight.

The Galway keeper gave a poor Galway aul buck beside me a heart attack.

14 men told in the second and funny neither team used the gale wind to their advantage.

Good luck to Galway in the final.

For Mayo...Keep the Faith sure what else can we do.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 11/06/2017 20:12:37    1998068

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "If a dub or Tyrone player carried on like a certain mayo freetaker today this place would go into indignant meltdown desperate stuff"
100% spot on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/06/2017 20:17:42    1998075

Replying To Condorman:  "Don't be soft.COC basically conned the ref into giving a black card."
I seen it Flynn looked at oconnor coming and stood there, he should have tried to get out of the way but he didn't. Its third man tackle if you cant see that then you don't know the rules!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 20:26:05    1998080

Replying To StopTheLights:  "And tell me why he should get out of the way ?"
He's blocking the man off the ball third man tackle black card offence

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 20:27:25    1998082

Replying To Belclare1:  "If anyone has problems in their backs it's Mayo. The dog in the street knew Comer would destroy Cafferkey and so it happened.."
In fairness comer will destroy most full backs he comes up against he's some baller

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 11/06/2017 20:29:29    1998087