Galway vs Mayo

I have to watch this match with the sound muted because I can't listen to Marty Morrissey.surely RTE can find someone better?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 11/06/2017 16:09:47    1997910

Agreed, Benny Tierney was good last night I thought.

How silly looking are all the lads wearing white, flashy boots in this game??

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 11/06/2017 16:23:21    1997918

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I have to watch this match with the sound muted because I can't listen to Marty Morrissey.surely RTE can find someone better?"
fair point!

good feisty old fashioned style game,but galway will blow if they lose with mayo down a man for so long.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/06/2017 16:42:26    1997929

Up a man and still only leading by one point after playing with a strong breeze does not bode well. That said Mayo only in it thanks to an opportunistic goal. All to play for, but Galway need a goal.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/06/2017 16:47:44    1997933

Whelan spouting the classic Dub Mayo player cheating tag. Flynn knew what he was doing

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 16:55:09    1997937

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I have to watch this match with the sound muted because I can't listen to Marty Morrissey.surely RTE can find someone better?"
He is an awful lush, a dreadful commentator can't stand him, brings nothing to the game worse if your listening to him on Radio at least will TV you can turn him down.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 11/06/2017 16:56:46    1997938

Dreadful Black card call, worst I have seen this year. Great game though.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 11/06/2017 16:58:27    1997939

Great game, Marty, white boots and all.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 11/06/2017 17:42:43    1997952

Great game Galway just edge it, they fell apart in the last 5 minutes some poor choices and a little naive but a great win for them. Mayo, what can you say, they should have could have won this but to be honest they were poor first half and the sending off was a disaster. Same oul issues with them I am sure they will stroll through the qualifiers but they lack a cutting edge. Ref was poor and not up to the speed and intensity of the game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 11/06/2017 17:44:30    1997955

Terrific game of football, congrats to Galway.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/06/2017 17:47:37    1997957

Great win for Galway,they look like a team that is improving all the time, some strong men there too, great old fashioned hits in this game,
Cillian O'Connor and AOS have been found out again, O'Connor trying to ref the game as usual, thought the ref was favouring Mayo and playing for a draw at the end, maybe that's just my perception though, I had a few quid on the draw but what the hell, enjoyed watching it, even on mute!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 11/06/2017 17:47:51    1997958

OMG, what a game, what a win. Came right down to the final whistle. Up Mayo

Mary_P (Mayo) - Posts: 19 - 11/06/2017 17:48:44    1997959

Cripes on a bile, I think I aged 10 years in those final 10 minutes. And to think that wasn't even a final. Fantastic win. We're back.

Great fourth quarter performance from Mayo and to think they were down to 14 men for most of that game. They'll still be around at the business end of the summer.

Gaillimh go deo!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/06/2017 17:52:20    1997962

Replying To Mary_P:  "OMG, what a game, what a win. Came right down to the final whistle. Up Mayo"
Some craic all right Mary. Great to see some life back in Connacht football. Best of luck going forward, unless we meet again! ;)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/06/2017 17:55:06    1997964

Fair play to Galway, deserved winners today. On to the playoffs and we'll have to buck up no matter what opposition. Forget about hoping for a handy draw, we should get the heads and bodies right, be ready and willing against tough Ulster opposition if that's what the draw brings.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 11/06/2017 17:55:22    1997965

More a game Mayo lost than Galway won for me, fair play to ye though ye took some great scores good luck in the final. Defensively I think Galway a suseptible and will be their downfall if it isn't fixed. Mayo still too far off the boil and forward wise not good enough to win.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 17:57:25    1997968

Replying To Spoddgy:  "More a game Mayo lost than Galway won for me, fair play to ye though ye took some great scores good luck in the final. Defensively I think Galway a suseptible and will be their downfall if it isn't fixed. Mayo still too far off the boil and forward wise not good enough to win."
Away outta that sham. Kept in it by a well taken but opportunistic goal. Galway led through out, and though we were nearly undone by nerves and inexperience in the last 10 minutes, it would take a real yoke to say we didn't deserve that win.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/06/2017 18:11:38    1997978

Great game, very entertaining with the result in doubt till the last blow.The ref certainly gave Mayo every opportunity to draw it and what a draw that would have been! Full house for the replay for sure.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 11/06/2017 18:13:33    1997982

Galway nearly bottled it but Mayo if they had 15 on 15 probably would have won.
Going in patches without scoring is a huge problem in football these days.
Mayo can build up a head of steam once more in the qualifiers Galway will probably win Connaught but getting over the quarter final hoodoo is a must this year for them.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/06/2017 18:19:06    1997987

Congrats Galway that was some game. Best to Mayo, they never let up, expect them to waltz into August. Looking forward to Liathrim/Ros game. Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1672 - 11/06/2017 18:19:09    1997988