Galway vs Mayo

Gusts up to 25mph in Salthill on Sunday, Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 08/06/2017 20:57:30    1997094

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Gusts up to 25mph in Salthill on Sunday, Gaillimh Abu"
Hope the speed vans aren't out.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 08/06/2017 21:29:18    1997108

Replying To Soma:  "I'd be very surprised if Aidan O'Shea is not in from the start. It looks like it will be wet and windy Sunday, they are the conditions he can do real damage in."
Whatever about Aidan, I thought we might see Danny Kirby getting a start. He's always been a strong lad, but this year he's really looked the part when coming on. That apart I've no real concerns about the starting 15, though Harrison's omission is a mild surprise. A lot will depend on how much work the two panels have done. I expect that will be Galway so, unless Mayo's experience is brought to bear, our neighbours will find themselves facing the Rossies for the second year running. I wouldn't rule out McStay's lads if that happens.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/06/2017 21:34:22    1997111

Wet and windy in Salthill : mist rolling in from the sea. Could be a dour affair and maybe that could favour Mayo. I'm thinking the first draw of the championship, which then goes to et on the day.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 08/06/2017 21:37:26    1997114

We're ready for the influx of all the Mayo supporters, who will come from their houses as far a field as, Oranmore, Doughiska, Roscam, Dun na Corribe and Salthill.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 09/06/2017 12:19:40    1997272

Replying To The_DOC:  "We're ready for the influx of all the Mayo supporters, who will come from their houses as far a field as, Oranmore, Doughiska, Roscam, Dun na Corribe and Salthill."
Yeah no one is travelling from Mayo at all!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 09/06/2017 12:30:00    1997275

Replying To The_DOC:  "We're ready for the influx of all the Mayo supporters, who will come from their houses as far a field as, Oranmore, Doughiska, Roscam, Dun na Corribe and Salthill."
Nice to see some of the Galway people supporting Mayo!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 09/06/2017 13:26:03    1997298

Replying To the_walls:  "Yeah no one is travelling from Mayo at all!"
Sure don't ye all either work, live and/or go to college in Galway?

Hon the banter! #banter #Mexico #buildTheWall

See ye Sunday

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 09/06/2017 13:37:26    1997308

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sure don't ye all either work, live and/or go to college in Galway?

See ye Sunday"
Arent' ye lucky...we bring our hard work, education, labour and culture to Galway....sure without us Galway would be a dull place ;) Up Mayo!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 09/06/2017 14:11:24    1997320

Replying To yew_tree:  "Arent' ye lucky...we bring our hard work, education, labour and culture to Galway....sure without us Galway would be a dull place ;) Up Mayo!"
At least ye get the craic as well - cant wait for Sunday lads. May the best team hold the bragging rights for the foresable future

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 709 - 09/06/2017 14:51:20    1997339

Replying To yew_tree:  "Arent' ye lucky...we bring our hard work, education, labour and culture to Galway....sure without us Galway would be a dull place ;) Up Mayo!"
Exactly. Take Mayo people out of the city and it would lose a huge chunk of it's population. Anyway, the Mayo border is only 20 minutes up the road!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 09/06/2017 15:18:19    1997350

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sure don't ye all either work, live and/or go to college in Galway?

See ye Sunday"
Or in my case: none of those things :)

Ya'd think the Herron chokers would have been grateful for the Mayo man leading them out of the wilderness in the 90s...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/06/2017 15:31:04    1997357

'Twas a lovely wilderness to be led out of.... with two Sam maguires..... shame he couldn't do the same for ye bucks eh???

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 09/06/2017 15:40:16    1997359

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Gusts up to 25mph in Salthill on Sunday, Gaillimh Abu"
Will be much calmer along the Suck valley. Take care in Salthill.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/06/2017 16:23:37    1997367

It's getting closer to time, may the best team win.
Good luck Galway and safe travels to everyone heading to the match.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 11/06/2017 10:54:43    1997820

Can't believe I'm actually saying this but I'm actually looking forward to watching a Connaught semi final for a change.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 11/06/2017 12:25:16    1997853

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Can't believe I'm actually saying this but I'm actually looking forward to watching a Connaught semi final for a change."
It' s called Connacht since we kicked out Cromwell and we have great semi's here all the time

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 11/06/2017 12:48:38    1997857

Looking forward to this one, Mayo will be bursting for revenge after Galway turned them over last year in Castlebar. Good rivalry but they do seem to support each other against other teams (particularly when one is already knocked out of the champsionship), which dilutes the rivalry a bit for me.

Ps, any truth to the story that in a 1930s connacht final between these two, Mayo got a late equalizing goal and the Mayo player who scored it raised the green flag himself, I hope it's true, sounds class!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/06/2017 13:07:24    1997864

Replying To Htaem:  "Looking forward to this one, Mayo will be bursting for revenge after Galway turned them over last year in Castlebar. Good rivalry but they do seem to support each other against other teams (particularly when one is already knocked out of the champsionship), which dilutes the rivalry a bit for me.

Ps, any truth to the story that in a 1930s connacht final between these two, Mayo got a late equalizing goal and the Mayo player who scored it raised the green flag himself, I hope it's true, sounds class!"
There's no truth in it! It was a Galway man by the name Nestor and Mayo won the replay! I'd find it hard to back Galway footballers when Mayo are out I'd like to see their hurlers do well

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/06/2017 14:32:09    1997891

Replying To Spoddgy:  "There's no truth in it! It was a Galway man by the name Nestor and Mayo won the replay! I'd find it hard to back Galway footballers when Mayo are out I'd like to see their hurlers do well"
I got it the wrong way around, but that's a pity, I was hoping that story was true.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/06/2017 15:31:33    1997899