Fair Play Tomás O'Sé

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ah right

So Kerry U21's were a one man team

I get you now"
After the first 10 mins of the U21s semifinal we outscored Galway 2:09 to 1:06 .

we were wiped out at midfield and with only about 25% possession at midfield we only lost by 4 points.

Those are the facts you can like them or lump them.

As for red thumbs! They don't bother me and I don't take them personally .

I do enjoy your obsession with all things Kerry though as it shows you care.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/05/2017 22:39:07    1990854

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "So the county with the biggest population by a huge margin have only had 1 player (who quickly returned) while other far smaller counties have had multiple players poached away

What an amazing coincidence!"
I don't think you understand the words 'coincidence' or 'amazing'.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 22:49:51    1990862

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Galway played really well and thats for sure, and they cleaned us out at midfield, why? Because our best midfielder was in Oz."
If the Galway forwards brought their shooting boots would have won by a lot more.must kicked 20 wides?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 26/05/2017 03:57:20    1990885

Replying To bennybunny:  "You said 'I doubt I'll be screaming ...' Subjective. Fair enough. That is a lot different to saying it cannot be done. Any Irish person can wish another Irish lad well in another non-Gaelic sport (amazing that I would have to even write a sentence like that). You can wish Mark O'Connor well without 'screaming' at the TV. That is what it is all about. The begrudgery is..well..Irish. That is our national sport."
No, you appear to have picked me up wrong. People who say we lose players all the time to other sports are omitting the fact that those players are still representing us whether it be Munster Rugby or Ireland soccer team.
I wish any young lad heading off the world of luck and genuine hope of success, like I've said before I fear the likes of Clifford or O Connor will likely be back in a few years and be a shadow of their former selves. Please don't use Kennellys All Ireland as a rebuttal, he's the only one, Marty Clarke and Tommy Walsh more apt. Spare me your Irish Begrudgery sob story

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2017 05:57:07    1990886

Replying To Laois76:  "Where did the poster 'Snufalufagus' go to? He was very entertaining. Even though he called himself after a Bosco character he had a certain wit and panache. Signing off his posts formally etc."
Ah now he was some dose

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2017 06:06:04    1990887

Replying To JamsieMac:  "No, you appear to have picked me up wrong. People who say we lose players all the time to other sports are omitting the fact that those players are still representing us whether it be Munster Rugby or Ireland soccer team.
I wish any young lad heading off the world of luck and genuine hope of success, like I've said before I fear the likes of Clifford or O Connor will likely be back in a few years and be a shadow of their former selves. Please don't use Kennellys All Ireland as a rebuttal, he's the only one, Marty Clarke and Tommy Walsh more apt. Spare me your Irish Begrudgery sob story"
If Mark O'Connor plays with Ireland against Oz in the compromise rules will that make you happy? That is his only opportunity to represent ireland anyway. Not of course that should make a difference here.

Should we shun horse racing folk because they don't represent Ireland?

These are Irish guys going to play another sport abroad - like the soccer players. According to you it is perfectly fine to wish the soccer players well because they can still play with an Ireland (and bear in many, many Irish born players in England don't get the chance) team but it is wrong for a guy to take up an opportunity to play a sport that he can potentially do well in just because that sport doesn't give you an opportunity to scream at the TV?????

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/05/2017 08:53:00    1990895

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Ah now he was some dose"
JamesieMac Marty Clarke in my opinion has been the only natural footballer that went to OZ and came back from OZ a natural footballer after spending a considerable amount of time over there. I don't say it was Aussie Rules that messed him up more his illness.

All others Tommy Walsh, Tadhg Kennelly , A Toal lad with Armagh (i think) and many more came back where a duck looked a more natural kicker of the ball than them!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 26/05/2017 09:03:17    1990897

Replying To woops:  "JamesieMac Marty Clarke in my opinion has been the only natural footballer that went to OZ and came back from OZ a natural footballer after spending a considerable amount of time over there. I don't say it was Aussie Rules that messed him up more his illness.

All others Tommy Walsh, Tadhg Kennelly , A Toal lad with Armagh (i think) and many more came back where a duck looked a more natural kicker of the ball than them!"
Tommy Walsh got injured. Tadgh Kennelly won an All-Ireland with Kerry. Zach Tuohy has come back and played with PortLaoise. Michael Shields came back and won an All-Ireland with Cork. Ciran Kilkenny came back and won an All_ireland with Kilkenny. Michael Quinn, Brendan Murphy have come back and fitted it and become as good as any players on their team.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/05/2017 09:56:25    1990911

How about Mark O'Connor's view on all of this. He is speaking to Australian paper of course - if anybody can post a link to him saying that he hates being out there and would rather be back in Dingle - say if he was speaking to the Kerry man - then please post it:

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/sport/afl/geelong-cats-rookie-mark-oconnor-caught-in-middle-of-irish-spat/news-story/30df74323efa4924938077c50b5bbde3

No need, here is an excerpt of Mark O'Connor speaking to Radio Kerry's terrace talk.

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/mark-oconnor-tadhg-kennelly-365727

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/05/2017 10:21:31    1990919

Tommy Walsh got injured. Tadgh Kennelly won an All-Ireland with Kerry. Zach Tuohy has come back and played with PortLaoise. Michael Shields came back and won an All-Ireland with Cork. Ciran Kilkenny came back and won an All_ireland with Kilkenny. Michael Quinn, Brendan Murphy have come back and fitted it and become as good as any players on their team.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts:3465 - 26/05/2017 09:56:25

John Heslin went out to Richmond as well and he's one of the best forwards in the country.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/05/2017 10:31:10    1990922

Replying To bennybunny:  "Tommy Walsh got injured. Tadgh Kennelly won an All-Ireland with Kerry. Zach Tuohy has come back and played with PortLaoise. Michael Shields came back and won an All-Ireland with Cork. Ciran Kilkenny came back and won an All_ireland with Kilkenny. Michael Quinn, Brendan Murphy have come back and fitted it and become as good as any players on their team."
Zach Tuohy only plays the County Final every year with Portlaoise which they'd win without him anyway, 9 times out of 10.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/05/2017 10:43:06    1990927

Replying To woops:  "JamesieMac Marty Clarke in my opinion has been the only natural footballer that went to OZ and came back from OZ a natural footballer after spending a considerable amount of time over there. I don't say it was Aussie Rules that messed him up more his illness.

All others Tommy Walsh, Tadhg Kennelly , A Toal lad with Armagh (i think) and many more came back where a duck looked a more natural kicker of the ball than them!"
I should add that you are most likely right that their skill set for Gaelic football does change somewhat. That is inevitable. After all, it is a different sport with only some commonalities. I would not describe their kicking skills as you have done. It is a tad unfair. My point (and that of MesAmis) is that players can come back and fit in just fine. They may even bring some different skills and knowledge back with them. A possibilty that should not be ignored.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/05/2017 10:57:28    1990933

Wasn't Toal. Kevin Dyas was the Armagh player

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 26/05/2017 11:05:52    1990934

Looks like we've got a real banter lad on our hands here.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 26/05/2017 11:13:18    1990937

bennybunny I am all for lads going over and taking a chance at forging a career in a professional sport.
They come back prob better athletes but lose a lot of their natural ability for GAA

i wonder how many of the Kerry squad that played in 8 AIs in the 00's look back and regret wasting a decade of their life working in jobs they didn't enjoy because they were handy for the football.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 26/05/2017 11:21:07    1990939

I see Evan Murphy and cillian mcdaid from Galway and allireland minor winner Stefan okunbar from Kerry have been called up to a second AFl audition in Australia in September , which means they are as good as signed up and will be heading off down under.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2017 09:51:15    1993395