Fair Play Tomás O'Sé

Jesus lad, you get my point so stop being so pedantic. Are you just looking to keep your post numbers ticking over or something?

They were/are both potentially superstars that's why this hurts esp when its own of you own facilitating it.

That's the issue we in Kerry have about it all.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:2539 - 25/05/2017 12:47:54

Not being pedantic just highlighting the hysterical hyperbole being attached to one young man so far from Kerry making a life choice.

It's surprising that a young lad from your county getting a wonderful opportunity to broaden his horizons "hurts" you so much. Because when you take away all the hysteria that's what it boils down to. You not wanting your fellow county man to choose his own path in life.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 13:15:58    1990631

Replying To Laois76:  "'Showing up'!! Don't flatter yourself JimBob."
Haha , jimbo is the Eric cartman of hoganstand :-) screw you guys oil going home :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/05/2017 13:16:54    1990632

With you 100% Hermit. I feel a lot of posts are just masking Kerry begrudgery. All sweeping statements about the opportunities presented for the chaps etc. But no county is being targeted the way Kerry is presently.

The posts and posters actually remind me of the people who constantly bemoan the state of Kilkenny football. The veneer is very thin.
Laois76 (Laois) - Posts:319 - 25/05/2017 12:49:13

So how many Kerry players have gone over to Oz in comparison to other counties?

How many multiples of the nearest county must it now be up to?!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 13:18:08    1990634

Replying To MesAmis:  "Jesus lad, you get my point so stop being so pedantic. Are you just looking to keep your post numbers ticking over or something?

They were/are both potentially superstars that's why this hurts esp when its own of you own facilitating it.

Not being pedantic just highlighting the hysterical hyperbole being attached to one young man so far from Kerry making a life choice.

It's surprising that a young lad from your county getting a wonderful opportunity to broaden his horizons "hurts" you so much. Because when you take away all the hysteria that's what it boils down to. You not wanting your fellow county man to choose his own path in life."
Again missing the REAL point, the real issue most of us down here have is what T Kennelly is getting away with by using his inside knowledge of Kerry GAA. Do you think its just coincidence that's its Kerry's brightest prospects that are being targeted?

Kennelly is actively targeting Kerry's best prospects because its easier for him to get to them than it would be for players in other counties. He knows well what he's doing and he can masquerade behind his 'opportunity' and 'further lads career' stick all he wants, we have his number down here.

Trust me, you don't know the guy like people in Kerry do.

And as the Laois poster states, judging by many of the posters on here who are so supportive of what Kennelly is at, its very clear this is only thinly veiled delight by the usual cohort that Kerry's inter-county prospects are taking a hit. So be it.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/05/2017 13:51:19    1990655

Replying To MesAmis:  "With you 100% Hermit. I feel a lot of posts are just masking Kerry begrudgery. All sweeping statements about the opportunities presented for the chaps etc. But no county is being targeted the way Kerry is presently.

The posts and posters actually remind me of the people who constantly bemoan the state of Kilkenny football. The veneer is very thin.

How many multiples of the nearest county must it now be up to?!"
I agree with you mesamis most of this is baloney.
I agree Mark O Connor was prob the standout player of those first 2 minor teams and Clifford is the star of the next 2 minor minors and big losses to the future of Kerry football. But it is only rumour at the moment about Clifford , no real facts that he will go.
But overall Kerry has not been massively affected by Aussie player recruitment.

The way I look at it we look to be crying over Mark O Connor.
Remember Tyrone were the same when Kyle Coney went, he returned due to home sickness. But who in Tyrone gives a damn about him now the fact he is not playing with the seniors.
I bet he would love to have another crack at Aussie Rules if he had the chance.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/05/2017 13:51:37    1990656

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts:10719 - 25/05/2017

Kildare lost Paul Cribbin, Sean Hurley, Paddy Brophy and Dan Flynn to the AFL. All have since returned as the vast majority have done, and will more than likely continue to do.

Kerry must have lost 5 or 6 lads seeing as they're being targeted more than the rest...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 25/05/2017 14:13:08    1990665

On the gaa hour podcast recently tadgh kennelly was asked to come on for an interview but said he wasn't available at the moment but would later in the summer.

However he also set to clarify that there has been no approach by him or his club in regards to Clifford, zero.

I would have thought that maybe the type of player Clifford is, a talented inside forward and finisher is something that wouldn't necessarily
lend itself to Aussie rules, could it be that the concerns here are a bit unfounded?

Also I think to be fair the gist of the argument o shea was making is kinda lost in all the rhetoric, across the country we lose players to Aussie rules so is there something that can be done to entice our players to stay more?

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 25/05/2017 14:37:21    1990673

How many Irish GAA lads are currently playing in the AFL top flight?

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 25/05/2017 14:38:36    1990675

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "So how many Kerry players have gone over to Oz in comparison to other counties?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts:10719 - 25/05/2017

Kildare lost Paul Cribbin, Sean Hurley, Paddy Brophy and Dan Flynn to the AFL. All have since returned as the vast majority have done, and will more than likely continue to do.

Kerry must have lost 5 or 6 lads seeing as they're being targeted more than the rest..."
Seemingly facts don't count on this thread.

You can say what you want about other sports, without a shred of evidence to back up another sport being primitive, you are seemingly not allowed to highlight such with some, claims Kerry is getting targeted more than anyone, claim that this a great danger to the GAA without any sort of logical reasoning etc etc etc

Good laugh this thread :)

Best good old fashioned HS thread there's been in a while.. nice bit of slagging, nice bit of throwing toys out of the pram, conspiracy theories!

Fact is ONE Kerry young lad with potential has signed a contract and may prove to be a useful AFL player

That is all. Yet for some reason this is "National " news ??

Meh.. it's really not.

Also calling someone's obvious ignorance of another sport ignorant, is in fact ignorant.

Hmmmm

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 25/05/2017 14:43:19    1990678

Replying To woops:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "With you 100% Hermit. I feel a lot of posts are just masking Kerry begrudgery. All sweeping statements about the opportunities presented for the chaps etc. But no county is being targeted the way Kerry is presently.

I agree Mark O Connor was prob the standout player of those first 2 minor teams and Clifford is the star of the next 2 minor minors and big losses to the future of Kerry football. But it is only rumour at the moment about Clifford , no real facts that he will go.

Remember Tyrone were the same when Kyle Coney went, he returned due to home sickness. But who in Tyrone gives a damn about him now the fact he is not playing with the seniors.
I bet he would love to have another crack at Aussie Rules if he had the chance."
Thank feck

A Kerry man willing to look beyond his own nose

Hats off to you!

Good post Woops

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 25/05/2017 14:46:46    1990679

Replying To tearintom:  "On the gaa hour podcast recently tadgh kennelly was asked to come on for an interview but said he wasn't available at the moment but would later in the summer.

However he also set to clarify that there has been no approach by him or his club in regards to Clifford, zero.

I would have thought that maybe the type of player Clifford is, a talented inside forward and finisher is something that wouldn't necessarily
lend itself to Aussie rules, could it be that the concerns here are a bit unfounded?

Also I think to be fair the gist of the argument o shea was making is kinda lost in all the rhetoric, across the country we lose players to Aussie rules so is there something that can be done to entice our players to stay more?"
You don't mean to say that all of this is vastly over blown hear say do you...?!?

NOOOO NEVER!

Never would have guessed it!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 25/05/2017 14:49:15    1990681

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "Jesus lad, you get my point so stop being so pedantic. Are you just looking to keep your post numbers ticking over or something?

It's surprising that a young lad from your county getting a wonderful opportunity to broaden his horizons "hurts" you so much. Because when you take away all the hysteria that's what it boils down to. You not wanting your fellow county man to choose his own path in life."
Again missing the REAL point, the real issue most of us down here have is what T Kennelly is getting away with by using his inside knowledge of Kerry GAA. Do you think its just coincidence that's its Kerry's brightest prospects that are being targeted?

Kennelly is actively targeting Kerry's best prospects because its easier for him to get to them than it would be for players in other counties. He knows well what he's doing and he can masquerade behind his 'opportunity' and 'further lads career' stick all he wants, we have his number down here.

And as the Laois poster states, judging by many of the posters on here who are so supportive of what Kennelly is at, its very clear this is only thinly veiled delight by the usual cohort that Kerry's inter-county prospects are taking a hit. So be it."
The Hermit

It's one player chief... ONE

I take no pleasure in it apart from the fact that a young Irish man might just do well for himself in a professional setting

That's the honest truth, if you were honest you'd also admit that you have a personal disliking for TK for reason outside of sport.

Listen honestly

I said the same about Kilkenny when he left, disappointed but hats off to him... I said the same about Rory, Jack, Mannion and Niall Corkery who all left the Dublin's setup for professional reasons.

Young Mark is doing the same thing and I wish him well, this is not a national crisis and does not warrant your sort of scare mongering in the slightest.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 25/05/2017 14:58:39    1990685

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To woops:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "With you 100% Hermit. I feel a lot of posts are just masking Kerry begrudgery. All sweeping statements about the opportunities presented for the chaps etc. But no county is being targeted the way Kerry is presently.

I bet he would love to have another crack at Aussie Rules if he had the chance."
Thank feck

A Kerry man willing to look beyond his own nose

Hats off to you!

Good post Woops"]To be fair to the Kerry lads i would be gutted if say King Con or some of the U21 All Ireland winners went.

On Clifford, hasn't Kennelly said that he has never had contact with him ant that it is "very unlikely" that that the lad will go this week.

Although a blow to Kerry its only been a handful of Kingdom lads who have gone out over the years hasnt it? Kennelly, Walsh and O' Connor, it has effected other counties with less resources more significantly, Kildare and one or two other counties spring to mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/05/2017 15:02:53    1990686

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Haha , jimbo is the Eric cartman of hoganstand :-) screw you guys oil going home :-)"
Haha!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 25/05/2017 15:16:55    1990694

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I think TheMaster is back and in deep disguise."
Why do some of you Mayo posters call yourselves names from the 1950s? The Master,The Flaker etc.

You sound like a Batman comic villain..

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/05/2017 15:24:08    1990698

Replying To jimbodub:  "You don't mean to say that all of this is vastly over blown hear say do you...?!?

NOOOO NEVER!

Never would have guessed it!

:)"
Very articulate JimBob.

Toodle!!?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/05/2017 15:26:41    1990700

Replying To Laois76:  "Why do some of you Mayo posters call yourselves names from the 1950s? The Master,The Flaker etc.

You sound like a Batman comic villain.."
Thanks. The family are very proud.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 25/05/2017 16:06:03    1990718

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Thanks. The family are very proud."
Not the one way we all go :)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/05/2017 16:24:33    1990727

And as the Laois poster states, judging by many of the posters on here who are so supportive of what Kennelly is at, its very clear this is only thinly veiled delight by the usual cohort that Kerry's inter-county prospects are taking a hit. So be it.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:2540 - 25/05/2017 13:51:19

What magic inside knowledge is big bad Tadhg using?

Noticing that the lad playing in the minor All-Ireland Final broadcast live on national telly is quite good? That lad that all the local and national papers are tipping for stardom! Some inside knowledge!

So far one Kerry lad has been targeted/slashed offered a job!

Calm down with the hyperbole. Every county is going to be affected at different times. Kildare have a had a good few leave as have Dublin in past years. It happens all over the country. It's not too bad for the likes of Kerry and Dublin as they have a lot of talents coming through in anyways.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 17:03:28    1990738

Replying To MesAmis:  "Again missing the REAL point, the real issue most of us down here have is what T Kennelly is getting away with by using his inside knowledge of Kerry GAA. Do you think its just coincidence that's its Kerry's brightest prospects that are being targeted?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:2540 - 25/05/2017 13:51:19

What magic inside knowledge is big bad Tadhg using?

Noticing that the lad playing in the minor All-Ireland Final broadcast live on national telly is quite good? That lad that all the local and national papers are tipping for stardom! Some inside knowledge!

So far one Kerry lad has been targeted/slashed offered a job!

Calm down with the hyperbole. Every county is going to be affected at different times. Kildare have a had a good few leave as have Dublin in past years. It happens all over the country. It's not too bad for the likes of Kerry and Dublin as they have a lot of talents coming through in anyways."

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 25/05/2017 17:22:50    1990745