Fair Play Tomás O'Sé

Replying To Laois76:  "How do you know for definite Breffni?"
Same as you're so convinced that the AFL is primitive perhaps ?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/05/2017 19:11:19    1990398

Replying To Laois76:  "Again you can't argue a point without calling someone ignorant.

Your arrogance and self importance knows no bounds!!

At least in this post you gave a few reasons why you like Aussie Rules. I suppose for that you must be commended. But your overall behaviour is that of a small minded individual who resorts to insult when challenged. I think a nerve has been hit somewhere along the line."
Calling some ignorant for displaying ignorance isn't name calling or slagging

And in this case he's 100% right

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/05/2017 19:12:52    1990400

I think TheMaster is back and in deep disguise.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 24/05/2017 19:39:29    1990403

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I think TheMaster is back and in deep disguise."
Nah I think we have a Kerryman on our hands!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/05/2017 19:46:50    1990404

Replying To jimbodub:  "Why are you taking my comment out of context?

Quite an ignorant thing to do."
Are you going to answer or hide behind a down thumb further proving my point?

Why are you taking my comment out of context?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/05/2017 20:09:14    1990409

Anyway zzzzzz

Done showing up this "new" poster for now but think we'll all get further opportunities with one so pig headed.

Toodles

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 24/05/2017 20:20:25    1990412

Replying To Laois76:  "You can't compare Sweetnam, Zebo, O'Leary, Roy Keane etc. They played all codes up along and made a choice. They weren't swooped on when they were after being developed to the finished article."
All those players had a choice. You are right.

You claim the AFL 'swooped' in take other players? Your wording.

You saying that Pearse Hanley, Zach Tuohy had no choice? They had to go.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/05/2017 20:35:31    1990417

Replying To bennybunny:  "All those players had a choice. You are right.

You claim the AFL 'swooped' in take other players? Your wording.

You saying that Pearse Hanley, Zach Tuohy had no choice? They had to go."
Ok some of those players weren't swooped but Kenneally is swooping in my opinion.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 24/05/2017 23:54:42    1990471

Replying To bennybunny:  "Not semantics. More like an accurate, clear definition to facilitate you to keep up!!

Not upset at all by it. It is just ignorant. Not upsetting in the slightest.

No connection with AFL but I do think it is a fabulous game. In my opinion it takes the skills that we marvel at in Gaelic football (high fielding and accurate kick passing) and enhances them (in my opinion-to emphasise).

I agree that the compromise rules used to be extremely thuggish and the AFL players were largely responsible (or it appeared that way to me).

I would rather if the likes of Setanta O Hailpin and Ciaran Sheehan stayed in Cork to play with us. I would also rather if Tomas O'Leary, Darren Sweetnam, David Meyler, Simon Zebo, John Egan had continued to play gaelic games. They were all outstanding young players that represented Cork at some level. None of this is to say that I, or anybody, has the right to curtail anybody's opportunities. There is no poaching or stealing of players. People make choices whether they want to go or not."
There's a very big difference. The lads you mentioned along with Shane Long, Niall Quinn, Seamus Coleman etc are at least representing Ireland and we can all cheer them on. Doubt I'll be screaming at the tv when Geelong is playing.
anyone who supports this practice needs to ask themselves; If Diarmuid Connolly, Sean Cavanagh, Michael Murphy, Ciaran Kilkenny, Kieran Donaghy and the likes all went off to pursue the dream of AFL., what kinda putrid games would we be left with. It's hard enough to watch as is

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 25/05/2017 02:39:04    1990484

anyone who supports this practice needs to ask themselves; If Diarmuid Connolly, Sean Cavanagh, Michael Murphy, Ciaran Kilkenny, Kieran Donaghy and the likes all went off to pursue the dream of AFL., what kinda putrid games would we be left with. It's hard enough to watch as is
JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts:319 - 25/05/2017 02:39:04

If all those mentioned above had have gone to Australia most of them would be back now playing Gaelic Football. In fact Ciarán Kilkenny did get a chance to go and came back because it wasn't for him.

The fact being missed by the doom merchants is that most players won't go. It is only a tiny minority of players that will even go over on trial in the first place and the vast majority of those will be back playing with their counties in a few years in anyways!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 08:13:36    1990500

Ok some of those players weren't swooped but Kenneally is swooping in my opinion.
Laois76 (Laois) - Posts:316 - 24/05/2017 23:54:42

He's not kidnapping the lads!

He's offering them a choice. Same as their friends will offer them choices to go away travelling, or their girlfriends might offer them a choice to move away and not play football, work might offer them a choice between advancement and football.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 08:16:20    1990502

Replying To JamsieMac:  "There's a very big difference. The lads you mentioned along with Shane Long, Niall Quinn, Seamus Coleman etc are at least representing Ireland and we can all cheer them on. Doubt I'll be screaming at the tv when Geelong is playing.
anyone who supports this practice needs to ask themselves; If Diarmuid Connolly, Sean Cavanagh, Michael Murphy, Ciaran Kilkenny, Kieran Donaghy and the likes all went off to pursue the dream of AFL., what kinda putrid games would we be left with. It's hard enough to watch as is"
You said 'I doubt I'll be screaming ...' Subjective. Fair enough. That is a lot different to saying it cannot be done. Any Irish person can wish another Irish lad well in another non-Gaelic sport (amazing that I would have to even write a sentence like that). You can wish Mark O'Connor well without 'screaming' at the TV. That is what it is all about. The begrudgery is..well..Irish. That is our national sport.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 25/05/2017 10:33:26    1990542

Mark is going to be a massive loss to us down here in Kerry and to the GAA in general.

I just watched the 2014 minor final last night again and he was outstanding he was marking a lad called eoghan bàn Gallagher (who is playing mighty stuff for the Donegal seniors now) and Gallagher had to be subbed along with the other Donegal midfielder before the 50th minute that day.

Mark was also man of the match in the 2015 hogan cup final as well as the allireland minor final of that year.

Mark is a great grandnephew of the great Tom gaga O'Connor from dingle who captained Kerry to allireland success back in the 50s and marks mother is a first cousin to the great tommy Doyle of Kerry so he's from good stock.

I've been playing and following football within my county for the last 35/36 years and in my opinion mark was the best midfielder I've seen he has it all and he would have helped us greatly in the years ahead.

It was no surprise to me that he made it in to the geelong starting team so fast because he is just a gifted footballer.

I hope ye are all correct and that mark will be back in 2 years but I doubt it very much .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/05/2017 11:25:42    1990573

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mark is going to be a massive loss to us down here in Kerry and to the GAA in general.

I just watched the 2014 minor final last night again and he was outstanding he was marking a lad called eoghan bàn Gallagher (who is playing mighty stuff for the Donegal seniors now) and Gallagher had to be subbed along with the other Donegal midfielder before the 50th minute that day.

Mark was also man of the match in the 2015 hogan cup final as well as the allireland minor final of that year.

Mark is a great grandnephew of the great Tom gaga O'Connor from dingle who captained Kerry to allireland success back in the 50s and marks mother is a first cousin to the great tommy Doyle of Kerry so he's from good stock.

I've been playing and following football within my county for the last 35/36 years and in my opinion mark was the best midfielder I've seen he has it all and he would have helped us greatly in the years ahead.

It was no surprise to me that he made it in to the geelong starting team so fast because he is just a gifted footballer.

I hope ye are all correct and that mark will be back in 2 years but I doubt it very much ."
It's still only potential that he had. Nothing definite.

The point being made is that the majority will come back and play for their counties again. The whole 'AFL threat' is hyperbolic nonsense when we look at the reality.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 11:49:01    1990579

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mark is going to be a massive loss to us down here in Kerry and to the GAA in general.

I hope ye are all correct and that mark will be back in 2 years but I doubt it very much ."
That's the nub of it Kingdomboy, whatever others on here might think of the reaction to this in Kerry it is not about sour grapes over any young fella's getting an opportunity to try a whole new life.

It's about the fact that one of our own has abused his contacts within his home county to entice a once in a generation player away from a career in the Green and Gold and is now set on doing the same for the other once in a generation player we have also managed to produce.

For me it's the equivalent of our team of the 2000's being deprived of players the calibre of Gooch or Declan O'Sullivan before they had the chance to make their mark.

Like you I hope Mark comes back and wears the Kerry colours with distinction in the years to come but seeing what Australia did to the force of nature that was Tommy Walsh, I too fear the worst.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/05/2017 11:51:41    1990581

It's about the fact that one of our own has abused his contacts within his home county to entice a once in a generation player away from a career in the Green and Gold and is now set on doing the same for the other once in a generation player we have also managed to produce.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:2538 - 25/05/2017 11:51:41

So both of them are once in a generation players from the same generation?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/05/2017 12:35:02    1990605

Replying To jimbodub:  "Calling some ignorant for displaying ignorance isn't name calling or slagging

And in this case he's 100% right"
Calling someone ignorant is in itself ignorance.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/05/2017 12:39:43    1990610

Replying To jimbodub:  "Anyway zzzzzz

Done showing up this "new" poster for now but think we'll all get further opportunities with one so pig headed.

Toodles"
'Showing up'!! Don't flatter yourself JimBob.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/05/2017 12:43:24    1990615

Replying To MesAmis:  "It's about the fact that one of our own has abused his contacts within his home county to entice a once in a generation player away from a career in the Green and Gold and is now set on doing the same for the other once in a generation player we have also managed to produce.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:2538 - 25/05/2017 11:51:41

So both of them are once in a generation players from the same generation?"
Jesus lad, you get my point so stop being so pedantic. Are you just looking to keep your post numbers ticking over or something?

They were/are both potentially superstars that's why this hurts esp when its own of you own facilitating it.

That's the issue we in Kerry have about it all.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/05/2017 12:47:54    1990619

Replying To TheHermit:  "That's the nub of it Kingdomboy, whatever others on here might think of the reaction to this in Kerry it is not about sour grapes over any young fella's getting an opportunity to try a whole new life.

For me it's the equivalent of our team of the 2000's being deprived of players the calibre of Gooch or Declan O'Sullivan before they had the chance to make their mark.

Like you I hope Mark comes back and wears the Kerry colours with distinction in the years to come but seeing what Australia did to the force of nature that was Tommy Walsh, I too fear the worst."
With you 100% Hermit. I feel a lot of posts are just masking Kerry begrudgery. All sweeping statements about the opportunities presented for the chaps etc. But no county is being targeted the way Kerry is presently.

The posts and posters actually remind me of the people who constantly bemoan the state of Kilkenny football. The veneer is very thin.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/05/2017 12:49:13    1990620