Fair Play Tomás O'Sé

Replying To bennybunny:  "Excellent post."
It's easy to write a decent post when it's just basic sense.

Cheers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2017 17:08:33    1989899

Hermit, i appreciate given your name that maybe you keep yourself to yourself, but anyone who follows GAA knew well what a player Ciaran KK would be, He had already played for the Dubs for a year at the time sure and was regularly scoring ridiculous tallys in club and underage football and hurling at the time ffs
I would say he was more known nationally as a prospect that ye're young lad was prior to Tomas' article at the weekend if we are honest

Your opinion on poples opinions on Kerry are unreal! Your like a stereotype of a little englander, in Kerry...............

A little kerryman, if you will!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/05/2017 17:37:41    1989914

People were talking about Ciaran Kilkenny as an outstanding prospect.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 23/05/2017 17:53:22    1989920

The Dublin CB obviously told Tadhg where to go and fair play to them we sat on our hands and allowed the him steal our best prospects

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 23/05/2017 17:58:51    1989923

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "The Dublin CB obviously told Tadhg where to go and fair play to them we sat on our hands and allowed the him steal our best prospects"
No, Ciaran went, he was there, and doing well, but he never "loved the game" so he came back to a game he loved. Simple as that.
Nothing to do with the DCB whatsoever

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/05/2017 18:12:00    1989934

Replying To Breffni39:  "Paul Mannion as well"
Ha

Oh yeah! :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2017 18:16:07    1989935

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hermit, i appreciate given your name that maybe you keep yourself to yourself, but anyone who follows GAA knew well what a player Ciaran KK would be, He had already played for the Dubs for a year at the time sure and was regularly scoring ridiculous tallys in club and underage football and hurling at the time ffs
I would say he was more known nationally as a prospect that ye're young lad was prior to Tomas' article at the weekend if we are honest

Your opinion on poples opinions on Kerry are unreal! Your like a stereotype of a little englander, in Kerry...............

A little kerryman, if you will!"
Clifford hasn't even signed a contract with the AFL ffs.. If I was him I'd be more interested in what young O'Connor has to say about it over someone like O'Se who doesn't have first hand experience on what it's like...

If I was him looking at O'Connor I'd be thinking I want a piece of that.. but that's me

If he doesn't and stays good for him, if he does all the best to him!

He's not anyone's property and all counties are open to losing "potential" decent players

We lost 3 recently for professional / study reasons. 3 AI winners at that.. only 2 have come back!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2017 18:27:59    1989940

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "The Dublin CB obviously told Tadhg where to go and fair play to them we sat on our hands and allowed the him steal our best prospects"
No we didn't

Where are you pulling that gibberish from?

A number of Dub players attended trials, McCaffrey and Nolan off the top of my head, obviously Kilkenny too and prob more..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2017 18:30:22    1989943

We lost 3 recently for professional / study reasons. 3 AI winners at that.. only 2 have come back!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:16800 - 23/05/2017

Bullsh*t.

Sure everyone knows rural counties are losing out cos the only jobs going are in Dublin. How could Dublin lose out when it comes to jobs...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 23/05/2017 19:12:02    1989960

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "We lost 3 recently for professional / study reasons. 3 AI winners at that.. only 2 have come back!

Bullsh*t.

Sure everyone knows rural counties are losing out cos the only jobs going are in Dublin. How could Dublin lose out when it comes to jobs..."
not sure if serious......................

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/05/2017 19:24:30    1989967

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "We lost 3 recently for professional / study reasons. 3 AI winners at that.. only 2 have come back!

Bullsh*t.

Sure everyone knows rural counties are losing out cos the only jobs going are in Dublin. How could Dublin lose out when it comes to jobs..."
Paul Mannion, Jack McCaffrey and Rory O'Carroll all left the panel over the last few seasons for professional/Study reasons

Can't think of his name now but we also lost a player with potential who moved to London for work reasons in 2010/11

Dubs lads what was his name again?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2017 19:36:27    1989973

not sure if serious......................

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:7386 - 23/05/2017

Not serious...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 23/05/2017 19:48:31    1989977

Replying To jimbodub:  "

Bullsh*t.

Paul Mannion, Jack McCaffrey and Rory O'Carroll all left the panel over the last few seasons for professional/Study reasons

Can't think of his name now but we also lost a player with potential who moved to London for work reasons in 2010/11

Dubs lads what was his name again?"
Kevin Nolan left Jimbo?
MOTM in 2011 AL Final

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/05/2017 20:02:01    1989982

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hermit, i appreciate given your name that maybe you keep yourself to yourself, but anyone who follows GAA knew well what a player Ciaran KK would be, He had already played for the Dubs for a year at the time sure and was regularly scoring ridiculous tallys in club and underage football and hurling at the time ffs

A little kerryman, if you will!"
Jesus your some cranky old coot aren't you?

The hypocrisy of YOU of all people accusing someone else of being solely concerned with their own county.

To emphasis the above point you state that 'anyone who followed GAA' knew about Kilkenny when he was underage but you think no one heard of David Clifford until O'Se's article at the weekend???!!!

Seems I'm not the only one living in a cave these days.

When one of yer own starts abusing his connections within his native county to carry off your county's future superstars and ye start yelling and shouting they'll be plenty on here to call ye up on it.

Enjoy the game against Carlow in Portlaoise anyway. Isn't it great for ye that the GAA can't even have the decency to give Carlow the home tie they earned!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/05/2017 20:49:39    1989994

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not trying to brow beat anyone. You called a professional sport primitive. And talented Irish players can get the chance of a lifetime over there to get paid to play the sport. As for your response? We get it, you bleed GAA bla bla bla. So what? Involved in the GAA all my life, coaching a senior team now. What has that got to do with this topic? Just nonsense to try and equate that work representing a professional sports team in another country. Totally different circumstances. And you bring up education and opportunities here? Again so what? Nothing to do with the topic. How many of the lads that went and came back don't have degrees? How many that went and stayed don't have back up qualifications?"
I called a professional post primitive. Shock, horror!! Is that not allowed?!

The bankers that ruined the country were professional too. But we best not say anything bad about them. After all they're 'professionals'.

You really love the word don't you. In your own words 'professional' so what?

I stand by my opinion, that 'amateur' game of hurling at the weekend was a far better spectacle than aussie rules.

I don't begrudge any young lad but as DamotheDub pointed out some of us have a different opinion of that sport and find playing for our counties a better goal.

'Bleed gaa bla bla.'? I'm very well versed on many other sports that i admire.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/05/2017 21:45:22    1990019

Replying To jimbodub:  "Nah

Calling a professional sport like AFL primitive is 100% ignorant IMO

It's far from that. It sort of portrays a dislike for the sport just because a few GAA players want to give it a go..

Slagging off the sport as an out and out GAA man, with an obvious dislike for players wanting to leave, not sure that he could prove that GAA is more skilful tbh

It was a poor description of a sport with plenty of skill involved, many of the same skills found in football!!

It made zero sense to call it primitive as it portrays our own game in a poor light.

Good on any young man wanting more for himself and giving another option a go.. not everyone shares the same nationalistic pride and there's a whole big world out there with many opportunities."
The kicking skills with the round ball are far more skilfull JimBob. Kicking an oblong ball involves a straight punt there's little else to it. The foot passing and the skills of Kerry and Tyrone in the 00s and the present Dublin team's play is way ahead of Aussie Rules. You don't get anyone with Diarmuid Connolly's repertoire of skills in Aussie Rules. Many like Tommy Walsh can hardly play gaelic when they return. They end up like automatons running in straight lines.

Again the only one displaying 100% ignorance is yourself because mentally you haven't the ability to look beyond your own viewpoint. That's ignorance.

I've examined your point and given reasons why i disagree.

And like Flakey from Mayo you are caught up in 'professional'. All professional means in team sport is there's enough money behind a sport to sustain payment, it means nothing about the quality of the game.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/05/2017 21:54:35    1990023

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To if_in_doubt:  "To him Kennelly is not thinking of the betterment Kerry football, the Princes of the Pigskin.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts:731 - 23/05/2017

And why should he be? He's doing his job, he doesn't owe anything to Kerry football does he? Nice for him to come home and win an All Ireland no doubt he's got a job to do now. No different to any other recruiter really.

Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over."
"Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over"

Exactly.

Many Kerry fella's have a strong position in the media, all of a sudden Kerry losing one promising player to date has become a "national" issue all of a sudden!

As I said.. some can look beyond their own nose down there and you wouldn't hear a peep out of em if Dublin, Mayo, Kildare players were heading off

Self serving agenda and using the national media to achieve it."
I've been expressing the same opinion since 2006. Is there not any part of you that wants to see Clifford, a potential great, achieve that very potential in gaelic? Or would you prefer see him going because he's from another county? A rival county.

Ah no you have the player's best interest at heart i'm sure..

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/05/2017 21:58:08    1990026

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "We lost 3 recently for professional / study reasons. 3 AI winners at that.. only 2 have come back!

Bullsh*t.

Dubs lads what was his name again?"
Kevin Nolan left Jimbo?
MOTM in 2011 AL Final"]Found him

Niall Corkery

Left the panel to become a trader in London.

He was a decent footballer but left the panel to continue his professional career

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/still-a-mad-dub-despite-trading-places-1.595872?mode=amp

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2017 22:25:00    1990035

Tadhg is nothing but an oil salesman and doesn't give a damn about any of the Irish lads he poaches

What if the player comes back from Australia in 2/3 years time and is crippled having made relatively small money.

People comparing lads choosing Soccer or Rugby are totally missing the point as those sports would have developed those players at a young age as well as the GAA and aren't just stealing them at no cost when they have developed fully

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 23/05/2017 22:25:47    1990036

Replying To Damothedub:  "Excellent post , the norm is to be labelled a dinosaur that's what I normally get"
Thanks very much Damo. You're entitled to your opinions without being labeled. The opinion that a young fella would do anything to wear the Sky Blue of Dublin or the Blue and White of Laois above an Aussie Rules contract is a valid one and many chaps feel that way today.

Likewise every young fella, in conjunction with his family, have the right to decide whether to give a career down under a go. This is a point lost also, a lot of those targeted are boys and parents must enter the equation.

And to reiterate expressing the opinion that one feels Aussie Rules is less skilfull than gaelic football is also legitimate. We should be free to state this without derogatory labels.

And as for not being allowed to criticise the skills of a 'professional' game... i'll leave it at that.

Plus if one does not particularly like the actions or past actions of an Aussie Rules recruiter, that shouldn't be off limits. Or any literature produced by the said recruiter that was very distasteful.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/05/2017 22:31:17    1990040