Fair Play Tomás O'Sé

Replying To jimbodub:  "Many more will be lost to soccer and rugby and general lack of opportunity in rural Ireland

AFL is the least of our worries in terms of losing talent

Also well said young man, Mark O'Connor has a few choice words directed at O'Se and the general tone directed at Kennelly

See below

You" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=270487"
You are 100% right about soccer and rugby.

I think there is a deeper thing between O'Se and and Kennelly.
To me there is undertones of:
'You are a Kerry man trying to take our young fellas!
What would your father say?'

In other words to O'Se's mind this is sacrilegious.

To him Kennelly is not thinking of the betterment Kerry football, the Princes of the Pigskin.

I think O'Se wouldn't be so bothered if Kennelly was going after every other county except Kerry!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 23/05/2017 10:51:44    1989718

Replying To Laois76:  "There's a general consensus now that the individual should make his mind up, making a great living trumps everything, being a 'professional' player in a 'great' country is the be all and end all. If you diverge from this view point you're painted as ignorant and daft like i've been. Yet i'm sure come club county final time and aib club championship some of the same commentators will be banging the local 'community' drum.

I'm 41 years old and when i grew up the main sporting aim i had was to play for my county, Laois in hurling or football. Money didn't enter the equation. I wanted that jersey, i'd bleed for that jersey. And thankfully i got to wear it and they were the proudest days of my life. MONEY WOULDN'T BUY it. I wouldn't have found anywhere near the fulfillment wearing the Hawthorn, Brisbane, Collingwood, Essendon, Brisbane, Sydney Swans or any other Aussie jersey. Whether my viewpoint is a little quaint, so what, i'm sure some others share it.

Posters like the Flaker seem to want to brow beat people to their point of view. I studied hard also and had plenty of good career oppertunities here. Everyone is entitled to their opinions, if you disagree you can just say so without labels of being daft or ignorant as another poster used."
Not trying to brow beat anyone. You called a professional sport primitive. And talented Irish players can get the chance of a lifetime over there to get paid to play the sport. As for your response? We get it, you bleed GAA bla bla bla. So what? Involved in the GAA all my life, coaching a senior team now. What has that got to do with this topic? Just nonsense to try and equate that work representing a professional sports team in another country. Totally different circumstances. And you bring up education and opportunities here? Again so what? Nothing to do with the topic. How many of the lads that went and came back don't have degrees? How many that went and stayed don't have back up qualifications?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 23/05/2017 11:03:44    1989721

Ah schtop lad, this is a Gaelic forum and we're talking about Gaelic players being poached to go play in Australia. Leave the plumbers to the plumbing forum. But to answer your question in context, at least a plumber can get a plumbing job back at home, a Gaelic player who gave up on school to try his hand at Aussie Rules is going to come home to work at what exactly??

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts:318 - 23/05/2017

I don't know.

Are many of them giving up school anyways? I would have thought they were all going over with at least the Leaving Cert behind them?

What are they going to work at if they stay at home? Chances are they'll go to college. There's nothing to stop them doing that if they come home is there? Plus they're a bit older at that stage so they might have a better idea of what they actually want to do with life rather than just going to college for the sake of it like many people seem to do.

If a lad studied whilst over in Australia then maybe he could continue that when he comes home, or maybe he'd have a degree behind him and would be able to get a job in whatever field he's qualified in. AFL clubs seem happy to facilitate players studying in college (part-time at least) so if that's something the player was interested in then I don't see it being an issue when he's over there.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 23/05/2017 11:17:04    1989725

To him Kennelly is not thinking of the betterment Kerry football, the Princes of the Pigskin.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts:731 - 23/05/2017

And why should he be? He's doing his job, he doesn't owe anything to Kerry football does he? Nice for him to come home and win an All Ireland no doubt he's got a job to do now. No different to any other recruiter really.

Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 23/05/2017 11:22:35    1989731

Replying To Damothedub:  "Excellent post , the norm is to be labelled a dinosaur that's what I normally get"
Nah

Calling a professional sport like AFL primitive is 100% ignorant IMO

It's far from that. It sort of portrays a dislike for the sport just because a few GAA players want to give it a go..

Slagging off the sport as an out and out GAA man, with an obvious dislike for players wanting to leave, not sure that he could prove that GAA is more skilful tbh

It was a poor description of a sport with plenty of skill involved, many of the same skills found in football!!

It made zero sense to call it primitive as it portrays our own game in a poor light.

Good on any young man wanting more for himself and giving another option a go.. not everyone shares the same nationalistic pride and there's a whole big world out there with many opportunities.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/05/2017 11:47:53    1989747

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "To him Kennelly is not thinking of the betterment Kerry football, the Princes of the Pigskin.

And why should he be? He's doing his job, he doesn't owe anything to Kerry football does he? Nice for him to come home and win an All Ireland no doubt he's got a job to do now. No different to any other recruiter really.

Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over."
"Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over"

Exactly.

Many Kerry fella's have a strong position in the media, all of a sudden Kerry losing one promising player to date has become a "national" issue all of a sudden!

As I said.. some can look beyond their own nose down there and you wouldn't hear a peep out of em if Dublin, Mayo, Kildare players were heading off

Self serving agenda and using the national media to achieve it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/05/2017 11:52:18    1989748

Replying To bennybunny:  "That is life though. People work in certain jobs. Learn some skills and then move on to better things. It happens all the time.

I am a GAA coach. If one of my lads had an opportunity to go to Australia to be a professional sports player, then I would wish him well. Frankly anybody that would be begrudge that lad should be let no where near children.

There are lads that I have coached that have went to Australia to go picking fruit. Guys have gone to London, New York etc. One of our best players went to Canada last year. A massive loss to us. But we wished him well. We hope that he has a great time. He is working in a shop!!

The Aussies are not engaging in child abduction. Also, give guys like Mark O'Connor, Darragh Joyce some respect. I assume they are capable adults than can make decisions that are best for themselves."
I don't be grudge the players, I suppose I would be happy enough if they sought out the opportunity for themselves. I suppose similar to Tomas O'Sé, I just don't like the AFL recruiters using the GAA as an academy.

Thousands of GAA followers follow their teams in the hope of that magic day when you win a provincial or all Ireland title. I bring my young fella now, as a GAA person I want to be able to show him these amazing men like JBM and Larry Tompkins that I witnessed when I was a kid. I have to admit that I don't want these converts to succeed in the AFL if there are 5 of our most talented young players recruited this year and 3 or 4 make it that number will grow for the next year.

I'd love Mark O'Connor to get a bout of home sickness, return, line out for Kerry, get a sponsored car, a scholarship, maybe a coaching role and plenty of endorsements so that he would have a very profitable and successful career as a GAA player. That should be possible.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 338 - 23/05/2017 12:07:00    1989760

A few thoughts...

- Every county has lost lads to other sports. Niall McGinn (Aberdeen) and Conor McKenna (Essendon) would both probably be lining out for Tyrone this weekend were they not professionals in other sports. Other counties will have their own examples. It's obviously disappointing for GAA fans, but I think it's a good thing that young Irish sportsmen have such opportunities nowadays.

- The number of gaelic footballers who actually go to AFL and make it is tiny. Only half a dozen in the last 40 years have played 100+ games. Others have had brief success, but not really made a career for themselves. For many, choosing to stay out there with limited success seems to have been a lifestyle choice rather than a career move.

- The GAA is far more greatly affected by lads being paid to play football in USA every summer. There is hardly a club in Ireland that doesn't have their plans hit by these departures every year. I'd see this as a bigger issue than the elite few going to AFL.

- I have no problem with Australian teams coming to Ireland for talent. The AFL is a business, and that is how business works - you find cheaper, more skilled resources than your competitors. However, what does grate on me and, I suspect Tomas O'Se, is that it's Tadhg Kennelly who is the main recruiter. Kerry (and the Irish media) rolled out the red carpet to Kennelly in 2009 but, moments after winning his Celtic Cross, dancing his jig and writing his book, he was gone again.

Had Tadhg remained in Australia and never played for Kerry, I'd have no issue here. He chose a professional career, and is entitled to make money as he wishes. However, to suspend that professional career for a year, indulge his personal ambitions as an amateur, then return to his professional career to the obvious detriment of that same amateur sport and his former team, well, that's poor form.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 23/05/2017 12:23:44    1989768

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To if_in_doubt:  "To him Kennelly is not thinking of the betterment Kerry football, the Princes of the Pigskin.

Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over."
"Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over"

Exactly.

Many Kerry fella's have a strong position in the media, all of a sudden Kerry losing one promising player to date has become a "national" issue all of a sudden!

As I said.. some can look beyond their own nose down there and you wouldn't hear a peep out of em if Dublin, Mayo, Kildare players were heading off

Self serving agenda and using the national media to achieve it."
Ah Jimbo, after a few weeks staying quiet and licking the wounds after the League final I see you're on the war path again against the mighty Kingdom.

I'm sure you and other Dubs on here, the Evening Hearld and yer own sizeable corp of ex-county press men wouldn't pass a comment if say the likes of Alan Brogan suddenly became an AFL recruiter and started snapping up some of yer brightest prospects from those minor and U-21 teams of yours.

Of course you would keep a stiff upper lip, just like we don't hear anything out of ye in the media as regards other team's players or tactics or referee appointments coming up to big games or after them in the case of the League final!!!!

I also see in an earlier post you claim Dublin have lost plenty of inter-county players to other sports, would you care to give us examples of players of the potential of O'Connor and Clifford that Dublin have lost in recent times??

If ye were losing players of the caliber that we have/potentially are going to lose you would be up in arms as well so give over.

I would like the rest of you all to also bare in mind that we are not just talking about any ordinary inter-county players (if there is even such a thing). We are talking about two players, Mark O'Connor and David Clifford, that had/have the potential to be absolute superstars of Gaelic football.

This is the equivalent of losing a Gooch to another game.

When a sport starts losing its potential icons its dangerous times for us all.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/05/2017 12:32:06    1989775

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "A few thoughts...

- Every county has lost lads to other sports. Niall McGinn (Aberdeen) and Conor McKenna (Essendon) would both probably be lining out for Tyrone this weekend were they not professionals in other sports. Other counties will have their own examples. It's obviously disappointing for GAA fans, but I think it's a good thing that young Irish sportsmen have such opportunities nowadays.

- The number of gaelic footballers who actually go to AFL and make it is tiny. Only half a dozen in the last 40 years have played 100+ games. Others have had brief success, but not really made a career for themselves. For many, choosing to stay out there with limited success seems to have been a lifestyle choice rather than a career move.

- The GAA is far more greatly affected by lads being paid to play football in USA every summer. There is hardly a club in Ireland that doesn't have their plans hit by these departures every year. I'd see this as a bigger issue than the elite few going to AFL.

- I have no problem with Australian teams coming to Ireland for talent. The AFL is a business, and that is how business works - you find cheaper, more skilled resources than your competitors. However, what does grate on me and, I suspect Tomas O'Se, is that it's Tadhg Kennelly who is the main recruiter. Kerry (and the Irish media) rolled out the red carpet to Kennelly in 2009 but, moments after winning his Celtic Cross, dancing his jig and writing his book, he was gone again.

Had Tadhg remained in Australia and never played for Kerry, I'd have no issue here. He chose a professional career, and is entitled to make money as he wishes. However, to suspend that professional career for a year, indulge his personal ambitions as an amateur, then return to his professional career to the obvious detriment of that same amateur sport and his former team, well, that's poor form."
Well said Thomas as regards the Kennelly thing, that is exactly what is upsetting us most down here about this whole thing.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/05/2017 12:55:24    1989783

To the Dublin posters, or anyone else in the know, can you confirm the number of Dublin players been invited & partaken in T Kennelly AFL trials in Ireland over the past 3/4 years. Has Con O Callaghan been approached. With Dublin's recent underage record, You would expect a fair bit of interest from the AFL recruiters.

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 23/05/2017 13:18:04    1989799

So true the Hermit. If it was Fenton and Con O'Callaghan being pursued the Dublin lads would be going ape.

I don't blame any of these guys for leaving. I was delighted for Mark making his debut a few weeks back and wish him very well. He won't be the last to go and with the terms now on offer to rookie Irish players improved so much I can see us (as in wider GAA community) losing more and more potential stars. It will only be the very best that will get offers which is a worry as you say.

We can in the meantime look at our own game and see what can be done to make it more attractive to stay. Until the game here goes semi professional I don't really see what that might be.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 23/05/2017 13:19:02    1989800

Replying To dahayeser:  "I don't be grudge the players, I suppose I would be happy enough if they sought out the opportunity for themselves. I suppose similar to Tomas O'Sé, I just don't like the AFL recruiters using the GAA as an academy.

Thousands of GAA followers follow their teams in the hope of that magic day when you win a provincial or all Ireland title. I bring my young fella now, as a GAA person I want to be able to show him these amazing men like JBM and Larry Tompkins that I witnessed when I was a kid. I have to admit that I don't want these converts to succeed in the AFL if there are 5 of our most talented young players recruited this year and 3 or 4 make it that number will grow for the next year.

I'd love Mark O'Connor to get a bout of home sickness, return, line out for Kerry, get a sponsored car, a scholarship, maybe a coaching role and plenty of endorsements so that he would have a very profitable and successful career as a GAA player. That should be possible."
I agree with all of what you said. I was gutted when I heard that Setanta left. I also felt that he would have done very well in Cork financially. He was doing well in fact. He was almost a cult hero down here (as you know) despite him playing only one year with our seniors! I thought when he came back to play the county final of 2004 v Cloyne (where 31,000 showed up - many just because he was playing), that he might stay. He might see how he was adored in Cork, realise he could do very well here ('almost' be a professional) and decide that ultimately he may prefer to be a superstar over here rather than a rookie in Oz (which is where he was at the time). In fact, I thought that would be the sensible decision.

However, Setanta chose Oz. It took us a while to get over it but, I am sure, we all respect that decision. That is all that is at play here. I think it is unfair to say that Australia is poaching GAA players. Every GAA player has the right to say no. They have the right to tell Kennelly to get lost. Some probably do. However, we know that lots of players will want to travel too. Loads go to New York. Some spend decent amounts of time there. Jamie Clark for example. You'll remember John Fitzgibbon in the 1990s. There was a load of hurling left in him. He went when he was 27. Kevin Kennedy and John Madden left Tipp.

The GAA can, and should try, their best to provide the best opportunities for young lads here (currently a lobsided season where they train excessively for few important games is a long, long way short of decent player welfare). The Aussies will do the same. Tadgh Kennelly will continue to do his job. All players will continue to excercise their right to do what is best for themselves. We should give over talk about poaching, stealing, robbing etc because that is simply not happening. Players are just excercising a choice.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/05/2017 14:53:34    1989833

Hopefully the two lads (if they both go) have great careers for themselves in Australia or else pick up some knowledge and come back stronger. The second is the most likely scenario as we have seen with the majority of lads that have gone over and come back. Most come back and become main players for their counties again.

The hysteria is a bit much. The lads will more than likely be coming back again - fitter, faster, stronger.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/05/2017 15:18:21    1989844

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "To him Kennelly is not thinking of the betterment Kerry football, the Princes of the Pigskin.

Exactly.

Ah Jimbo, after a few weeks staying quiet and licking the wounds after the League final I see you're on the war path again against the mighty Kingdom.

I'm sure you and other Dubs on here, the Evening Hearld and yer own sizeable corp of ex-county press men wouldn't pass a comment if say the likes of Alan Brogan suddenly became an AFL recruiter and started snapping up some of yer brightest prospects from those minor and U-21 teams of yours.

Of course you would keep a stiff upper lip, just like we don't hear anything out of ye in the media as regards other team's players or tactics or referee appointments coming up to big games or after them in the case of the League final!!!!

I also see in an earlier post you claim Dublin have lost plenty of inter-county players to other sports, would you care to give us examples of players of the potential of O'Connor and Clifford that Dublin have lost in recent times??

If ye were losing players of the caliber that we have/potentially are going to lose you would be up in arms as well so give over.

I would like the rest of you all to also bare in mind that we are not just talking about any ordinary inter-county players (if there is even such a thing). We are talking about two players, Mark O'Connor and David Clifford, that had/have the potential to be absolute superstars of Gaelic football.

When a sport starts losing its potential icons its dangerous times for us all."]utter bollocks

Ciaran KK left us when he was on the cusp of greatness to go down under. No one bedgrudged him, no one gave out about him, no one complained. It was seen as a shame for us as a county but we didnt bitch and moan.
He came back thanks be to God, but prior to his return when we all saw his future in Hawthorn, we all wished him well and there was no moaning about it.
And lest we forget, the best GAA player to ever play down under to the detriment of his own counties fortunes, was Jim Stynes. Remember him? And again, no one gave out and moaned, When we were knocking on the door in the 90's with a MF of Enda Sheehy and Paul Bealin et al pre 95, there wasnt anyone crying about the fella who abandoned us to Australia.

Hermit, your "facts" are about as reliable as a Sean Spicer press conference.
AGAIN

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/05/2017 15:21:25    1989846

When a sport starts losing its potential icons its dangerous times for us all.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:2532 - 23/05/2017 12:32:06

It really isn't though.

These two lads are potentially stars for Kerry. That's all.

If they stayed they could become all time greats or just another great minor that never quite made the impact that was expected.

Also history tells us that they'll more than likely come back and play for Kerry again.

I know yous feel a little burned over what happened to Tommy Walsh but it was injury that did him in. He could have gotten injured playing for Kerry or his club (O'Rahilly's?).

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/05/2017 15:23:29    1989847

As I've already correctly pointed out

Many more will be tempted by Rugby and Soccer

The hysteria being generated on this is stinks of self importance

It's not a national issue - it's ONE completely unproven at the highest level young lad.

We've all lost players to professional sports, sorry but that's the way it is and best of luck to them. The show must go on... Dublin last year lost Jack McCaffrey and Rory O'Carroll to their professional career / studies

A player of the year and multiple AI winners. Proven top class players.. We wished them well

We got on with it and won a Treble.

Kerry are on for the same thing now in 2017!

The show must go on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/05/2017 16:51:07    1989885

Replying To jimbodub:  "As I've already correctly pointed out

It's not a national issue - it's ONE completely unproven at the highest level young lad.

We've all lost players to professional sports, sorry but that's the way it is and best of luck to them. The show must go on... Dublin last year lost Jack McCaffrey and Rory O'Carroll to their professional career / studies

A player of the year and multiple AI winners. Proven top class players.. We wished them well

The show must go on"
Excellent post.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/05/2017 16:56:26    1989891

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  ""Strange how we never heard this much objection when lads from Kildare, Laois, Cork etc were heading over"

Exactly.

When a sport starts losing its potential icons its dangerous times for us all."]utter bollocks

Ciaran KK left us when he was on the cusp of greatness to go down under. No one bedgrudged him, no one gave out about him, no one complained. It was seen as a shame for us as a county but we didnt bitch and moan.
He came back thanks be to God, but prior to his return when we all saw his future in Hawthorn, we all wished him well and there was no moaning about it.
And lest we forget, the best GAA player to ever play down under to the detriment of his own counties fortunes, was Jim Stynes. Remember him? And again, no one gave out and moaned, When we were knocking on the door in the 90's with a MF of Enda Sheehy and Paul Bealin et al pre 95, there wasnt anyone crying about the fella who abandoned us to Australia.

Hermit, your "facts" are about as reliable as a Sean Spicer press conference.
AGAIN"]What facts did I present Liam, I'm only giving an opinion. An opinion I suspect would be very close to the truth mind

Every one can see Clifford is something very special, we're people honestly talking about Kilkenny in the same light back when? You'd probay know so I'll leave you to answer that.

But to retirate to say Dublin would not be peed if this was going on, by one of their former sons, is nonesense. Now that's a fact, not an opinion.

Spicer out.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/05/2017 17:01:53    1989894

Replying To jimbodub:  "As I've already correctly pointed out

The show must go on"
Paul Mannion as well

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 23/05/2017 17:06:25    1989898