B Flynn's comments on A O'Shea

Replying To ziggy32001:  "tell ya what could do with a few physical players now! :)"
Ha ha!

I know. We're the same in Laois, the Dempseys etc. They don't breed them like they used to.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 22/05/2017 17:53:52    1989507

James Horan sticking his oar in now.

Honestly, I'd love to see Mayo win an All Ireland but the fact that likes of him just doesn't get the perfectly valid point that Flynn was making just shows why Mayo never win anything and choke when it counts. Aidan O Shea isn't the kind of player that plays on teams that win things...he does nothing like what Keegan and Boyle do for the team...real team footballers who perform when it counts.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 22/05/2017 18:14:04    1989513

Ex players desperate for media work will say anything to get attention. Brolly is the master of this.
Trying to be controversial for controversy sake. Although Flynn was an excellent player he is a terribly bland pundit. This was a plea for attention.

AOS is damned if he does and damned if he doesnt. I applaud him for the time he give to young supporters. It was a challenge match ffs. To train like they do and give their time like they do to their young fans and then get slated is cringy carry on ..

Its an amatuer sport. These lads are not robots. We dont own them. They deserve a bit more respect.

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 22/05/2017 18:33:52    1989523

Replying To Laois76:  "Personally i don't subscribe to Bernard Flynn's opinions on Aidan O'Shea as i don't know enough the latter's conduct in training etc with the Mayo team to be able to comment.

To onion breath, who commented that Bernard Flynn was 'lucky and ordinary', that's one of the most ridiculous statement's i ever heard. He was as good a corner forward as i've seen. Pure class. A county doesn't win 4 All-Irelands over the last 30 years through luck either! That's a really disparaging statement to a county that has produced so many excellent footballers. They've had a few overly physical players but what county doesn't, and what county wouldn't want them."
Yeah onionbrain statement was laughable to say the least. I'll tell you what id take a Bernard Flynn on Meath team anytime now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/05/2017 18:44:46    1989525

What do folks want from Aidan O'Shea?

Ye see people in the GAA people moaning (not least on these pages) about how rugby and soccer get more coverage and how they'll corrupt the minds of the Nations youth. Yet as soon as a charismatic figure with something to say for himself and a willingness to make a few kids happy he gets run down by the very media that benefits from his openness.

I haven't seen many Mayo fans give out about his behaviour. Could that be because they realise that every selfie Aidan O'Shea takes with youngsters is helping to keep them coming through the club gates around the county on a Saturday am?

Weirdly only Joe Brolly seems to be the only one to appreciate this

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 22/05/2017 22:37:18    1989623