Intermediate Football Championship 2017

Replying To AustinGleeson6:  "Bad form from Aran IMO.

Like its Williamstown they were playing. Not Corofin.

They should have been banking on beating them regardless anyways.

Not appealing the result over a sub."
Bad form from yourself Austin.

Williamstown are good enough to be in senior without a shadow of a doubt.

They have balance across their entire team - unlike your home team of Killerrerin/Clonbur who have just three excellent forwards. The same goes for Claregalway, who are overly reliant on the Moran brothers & Danny Cummins!

Scantermediate (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 19/10/2017 17:04:28    2056285

Cg for the win. Very strong in middle 3rd k/c midfield very poor. Cg 3 ta 4 points if not more. K/c wont turn up they are hopeless without walsh, and walsh like his teammates are soft and dont like a bit of rain..

Williamstown if what im hearing is true dont deserve to be thrown out.

Johnsnow (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 19/10/2017 19:32:39    2056327

Once you play illegally anywhere, you're then illegal everywhere. If he's illegal, Aran will be awarded the game.

topoftheright13 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 19/10/2017 19:56:03    2056332

Who are the Moran brothers?

WolfeTone (Galway) - Posts: 123 - 19/10/2017 20:07:44    2056335

I don't think aran have sufficient evidence against williamstown. The galway winner is out on the 4/5 November....so it will have to be sorted by then.
As for the replay, if K/C don't come up with a plan to nullify Commons in midfield and Danny in attack then they are in serious bother. Added to the fact that Moran won't be as poor as he was the last day.
K/C will need their other 5 forwards to step up to help Shane Walsh out. Rabbitte,Murphy,Ryan are all capable of being matchwinners on their day but they must step up and prove themselves.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 342 - 19/10/2017 20:14:08    2056339

Replying To Scantermediate:  "Bad form from yourself Austin.

Williamstown are good enough to be in senior without a shadow of a doubt.

They have balance across their entire team - unlike your home team of Killerrerin/Clonbur who have just three excellent forwards. The same goes for Claregalway, who are overly reliant on the Moran brothers & Danny Cummins!"
Killererin/Clonbur... that's funny. Logistical nightmare for training though.

VictorMeldrew (Galway) - Posts: 93 - 19/10/2017 20:48:41    2056344

Replying To topoftheright13:  "Once you play illegally anywhere, you're then illegal everywhere. If he's illegal, Aran will be awarded the game."
Nothing will come of this and rightly so. It's not like Aran have clout of Portumna or Williamstown have pedigree of Turlough or history with co board for that matter.

VictorMeldrew (Galway) - Posts: 93 - 19/10/2017 20:52:59    2056349

Replying To VictorMeldrew:  "Nothing will come of this and rightly so. It's not like Aran have clout of Portumna or Williamstown have pedigree of Turlough or history with co board for that matter."
the islands have won their appeal..

Plasticbag (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 20/10/2017 14:07:51    2056576

Replying To Plasticbag:  "the islands have won their appeal.."
the appeal is due to be decided upon next week according to Galway Bay FM

Pookie_Monster (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 20/10/2017 16:53:01    2056635

Replying To Plasticbag:  "the islands have won their appeal.."
Is this true??
Couldnt be!!

Johnsnow (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 20/10/2017 17:30:02    2056651

Replying To Pookie_Monster:  "the appeal is due to be decided upon next week according to Galway Bay FM"
Jaysus no rush lads there is just a county final to play and then a Connacht championship after.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 20/10/2017 18:33:12    2056668

Will tuam be playable tomorrow, I know it doesn't really matter cause the county board won't care about player welfare and will just want it played, but what kind of condition will tuam be in?

ozbound (Galway) - Posts: 71 - 20/10/2017 18:34:15    2056669

Replying To Johnsnow:  "Is this true??
Couldnt be!!"
It's true unfortunately. I fear for the future of the game if this becomes the norm...

Scantermediate (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 20/10/2017 19:56:41    2056694

Replying To Scantermediate:  "It's true unfortunately. I fear for the future of the game if this becomes the norm..."
Beagh & Portumna set the standard in this stuff and have been rewarded so football is merely following suit... sad stuff

millertime (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 20/10/2017 20:37:56    2056703

Replying To millertime:  "Beagh & Portumna set the standard in this stuff and have been rewarded so football is merely following suit... sad stuff"
The evidence Aran islands have is pictures from social media from what I'm hearing. After that I'm not sure if anything else exists to prove culpability by the player/club. If this is true then I fear the GCB and Connaught Council are setting a dangerous precedent for any future cases of this nature.

diggerhitachi (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 20/10/2017 22:12:14    2056714

Yeah, I'd say the Galway County Board probably haven't a clue of the precedent they have made. Random photos from social media are now grounds to throw teams out of the championship! They could have been photoshopped or anything...can see this sort of craic happening a lot in the future!

MantisTobbogan (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 21/10/2017 01:53:18    2056729

Replying To diggerhitachi:  "The evidence Aran islands have is pictures from social media from what I'm hearing. After that I'm not sure if anything else exists to prove culpability by the player/club. If this is true then I fear the GCB and Connaught Council are setting a dangerous precedent for any future cases of this nature."
What are the circumstances of the alleged ineligible player (was the player sanctioned to play for another club and not transfer back etc....) and Grounds for the GCB Judgment?

Fan Down Under (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 21/10/2017 08:45:05    2056739

Ya, I don't think the Galway county board realise the precedent they have set. Random photos from social media are now grounds to throw teams out...the photos could have been photoshopped or anything. Can see this happening a lot in the future now!

MantisTobbogan (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 21/10/2017 08:59:49    2056740

Replying To Fan Down Under:  "What are the circumstances of the alleged ineligible player (was the player sanctioned to play for another club and not transfer back etc....) and Grounds for the GCB Judgment?"
As far as I am aware there was no sanction applied for or granted. I am only hearing bits and pieces of the story but from what I have heard from people close to the situation these pictures are all of the evidence. What I can only assume from that is there is no paperwork either with the club or Croke Park or indeed any team in the US to indicate a player was legally sanctioned to play. What the pictures show I don't know.

diggerhitachi (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 21/10/2017 10:17:37    2056752

Replying To diggerhitachi:  "As far as I am aware there was no sanction applied for or granted. I am only hearing bits and pieces of the story but from what I have heard from people close to the situation these pictures are all of the evidence. What I can only assume from that is there is no paperwork either with the club or Croke Park or indeed any team in the US to indicate a player was legally sanctioned to play. What the pictures show I don't know."
Thanks for the update. Then why is that an issue for Williamstown as the player is legal for the club? - that's an issue for the individual and the club in America if there's no sanction.

Aran Islands can't play the final if the objection is upheld - similar issues previously have confirmed same.

The hurling issue is different with group stages and points involved!!! Taughts???

Fan Down Under (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 21/10/2017 11:47:16    2056773