Intermediate Football Championship 2017

Replying To WunderBar:  "Shane Walsh took an insane amount of time to kick the 45, the Referee despite a few bizzare decisions got one right in this instance. Fairly evident Walsh backed himself to kick the 45 and was merely running down the clock to minimise the time afforded to Claregalway to level. I think all these instances of poor sportsmanship need to punished on a more regular basis if possible. the time wasting we see in the first half of fixtures with anything bordering on a 3 on the Beaufort scale is very off putting.

On the game itself, have to feel their is more improvement to come from Kilkerrin. Claregalway looked to be very well drilled and used numbers to overcome their lack of a physical presence across the back line. This was counter intuitive given Cummins spent most of the game out around the middle but looked lethal whenever he got forward. Kilkerrin will need to develop a plan to deal with Claregalways big midfielder. Claregalway will need to focus more resources on stopping Shane Walsh, with the caveat however that Kilkerrin also have a few capable forwards who didn't feature on Sunday owing to the blanket employed by Claregalway"
Ridiculous post, almost as bad as the referee's performance on the day. There was some argie-bargie off the ball about 10 metres from where Shane Welsh was beginning his run up, and he was patiently waiting for this childishness to stop. The referee had a howler & I fully expect to see him reffing my Junior B team's games next year, where I'll give him plenty of stick from the sideline. I can't see past Killererin-Clonbur, any update on the Aran appeal?

Scantermediate (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 17/10/2017 18:44:46    2055831

Replying To NathinButSteel:  "Cant see anyone on the K/C panel being able to stop the big midfielder who was lording the kickouts the last day abroad in Tuam which was the key difference between the two teams in the first 45 mins imo with K/C only coming back into the game when the big man got his marching orders.

Also, If K/C stand any chance in the replay Shane Walsh will have to produce a carbon copy of his previous performance. Amazing and all as Shane Walsh is inconsistency is his Achilles heel. Some personnel changes in the Claregalway Half back line with a perhaps more mobility there to counter Walsh's marauding runs and shore up the Cg defence a wee bit which should see them win by 5 points imo with Cummins bagging a few goals.

Also just touching on the Aran appeal - have heard from a few people close to the club they are confident of the result being turned over and apparently have social media evidence. You just wouldn't know with these things though and I'd be mindful of the fact the nuclease of power when it comes to decision making in the Galway Football hierarchy lies far away from Aran Islands and is situated somewhere closer to North Galway ;-)"
Claregalway kicked most of their kickouts long and their midfield dominated where as k/c kicked the majority of theirs short and built from there.

it wouldn't surprise me to see k/c leave players out of their fullforward line to let claregalway go short and try and break them down on the way out rather than contest in the middle.

I'd say there's a lot more left in 3/4 of k/c forwards..

K/c by 4/5

Plasticbag (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 17/10/2017 22:01:26    2055877

CG more balanced and have subs as good as whats on the field....resources and power to win the day. walsh wont be that good again and without that they are sunk. cg by 5

squares_edge (Galway) - Posts: 680 - 18/10/2017 17:38:04    2056064

Replying To squares_edge:  "CG more balanced and have subs as good as whats on the field....resources and power to win the day. walsh wont be that good again and without that they are sunk. cg by 5"
I have to disagree after watching the game the last day.

Claregalway played to their full potential tbh while bar k/c backs only Shane Walsh preformed.

Murphy rabbit and Ryan will be chomping at the bit the next day I can only imagine after their performance the last day.these guys are quality footballers that underperformed the last day where as claregalways lads all played pretty well with not a whole lot of room for improvement.

Plasticbag (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 18/10/2017 19:25:11    2056081

It will be a serious game of football. Two good footballing teams. Hopefully there won't be any mad referring decisions made that day. Does anyone what the story is with the other semi final? Did the islands appeal?

sdf (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 18/10/2017 19:27:24    2056083

If Killererin are to progress we'll need to keep a close eye on Sean Moran & his brother Paddy in the forward line. Danny Cummins seemed to drop very deep. We'll also need to get more ball into Rabb & Johnny Ryan as we're expecting a blanket defence & a couple of man markers on Shane Welsh.

If we get the conditions - we expect us to emerge victorious. For an intermediate side, our blend of free-flowing & fast-paced football is second to none. Perhaps Kevin Welsh should pop out to the game to see the 'dry ball, fast sod' approach that could potentially be implemented into the senior set up.

This is the real county final. The battle will be won in the dressing room. Despite this - we believe that this is our year. Kikerrerein Abu

Scantermediate (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 18/10/2017 22:28:38    2056119

Moran's and Danny along with Rohan to cause more trouble the next day. Commons dominated midfield and K/C were v poor in that sector. When Shane Walsh plays well, all the rest of the forwards don't as he dominates the ball. Goals will be the difference so whoever can break the other down, Murphy is a goal supremo for KC along with Rabbitte, Danny played too far from goal the last day so him and Rohan/McGoldrick will be the dangermen to the KC net. The Weather could ruin this so it will turn into a lottery with this storm possibly!

highball12 (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 18/10/2017 23:05:52    2056124

Replying To sdf:  "It will be a serious game of football. Two good footballing teams. Hopefully there won't be any mad referring decisions made that day. Does anyone what the story is with the other semi final? Did the islands appeal?"
appeal??? on what grounds??

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 19/10/2017 10:23:45    2056156

Replying To Scantermediate:  "If Killererin are to progress we'll need to keep a close eye on Sean Moran & his brother Paddy in the forward line. Danny Cummins seemed to drop very deep. We'll also need to get more ball into Rabb & Johnny Ryan as we're expecting a blanket defence & a couple of man markers on Shane Welsh.

If we get the conditions - we expect us to emerge victorious. For an intermediate side, our blend of free-flowing & fast-paced football is second to none. Perhaps Kevin Welsh should pop out to the game to see the 'dry ball, fast sod' approach that could potentially be implemented into the senior set up.

This is the real county final. The battle will be won in the dressing room. Despite this - we believe that this is our year. Kikerrerein Abu"
scan,
surely if you are from where you say you are, you can spell your clubs name properly!!!

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 19/10/2017 10:25:18    2056157

Replying To Scantermediate:  "If Killererin are to progress we'll need to keep a close eye on Sean Moran & his brother Paddy in the forward line. Danny Cummins seemed to drop very deep. We'll also need to get more ball into Rabb & Johnny Ryan as we're expecting a blanket defence & a couple of man markers on Shane Welsh.

This is the real county final. The battle will be won in the dressing room. Despite this - we believe that this is our year. Kikerrerein Abu"
scan,
surely if you are from where you say you are, you can spell your clubs name properly!!!

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 19/10/2017 10:44:05    2056163

Not sure what minorchamp09 above is referring too ?

The referee wasnt the worst the last day and certainly not the cause of the game ending a draw......

Really looking forward to the replay.

I shall be there - Will you ?

AustinGleeson6 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 19/10/2017 12:25:32    2056194

Replying To fearruanua:  "scan,
surely if you are from where you say you are, you can spell your clubs name properly!!!"
Heard you the first time Rua.

It was the autocorrect on my iBlower - don't know why you're getting so hung up on my spelling when we've two major talking points on our hands.

1. Will the referee be as poor as two weeks ago this Saturday.
2. Will it be the islanders waiting for the victors in the final.

I firmly believe that if we can keep the Moran brothers quiet, we will come out on top - particularly if Claregalway play Danny & Goldrick as deep again. Expect Rabb to have a big game along with Johnny Ryan also!

Scantermediate (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 19/10/2017 12:38:25    2056200

Looking forward to the game Saturday hopefully the weather won't put a stop to it,c/g I think will edge it,they have a strong midfield where k/c don't have a midfield at all,with Cummins and Moran they've two sharp shooters ,k/c have walsh and at a push rabbitte only other player worth talking about,was at the first game ryan was very wasteful with the ball and surely only in the team at this stage for the odd point or 2 from frees,as for what one of there forwards done the last day(think it was murphy) tried to backheel the ball into the net should have been taking off by management,tight game but c/g to win

C/g fan

Galwayboy75 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 19/10/2017 12:45:20    2056201

Aran have lodged an appeal on the grounds that one of Williamstown's subs played illegally in America during the summer.

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 19/10/2017 13:53:12    2056218

As the Arran-Williamstown case is an exact copy of the Turloughmore case I think we can say without question Williamstown will be booted out of the championship and rightly so - considering photographic evidence of the player in question playing in New York exists.

I don't think this matters in the long run as everyone knows the real final will be played this Saturday.

Just seen at lunchtime the bookies have changed their tune since the last day and now have Claregalway installed as 4/6 Favs against the K/C men (5/4).

NathinButSteel (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 19/10/2017 14:03:18    2056222

Bad form from Aran IMO.

Like its Williamstown they were playing. Not Corofin.

They should have been banking on beating them regardless anyways.

Not appealing the result over a sub.

AustinGleeson6 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 19/10/2017 15:07:11    2056240

Replying To manager5:  "Aran have lodged an appeal on the grounds that one of Williamstown's subs played illegally in America during the summer."
I am not sure that there will be any grounds for throwing Williamstown out of championship. It seems that no Williamstown player applied for a summer transfer to USA so then no player could be playing illegally for them.
Now if a player was proven to have played illegally in USA, remember the burden of proof is on the objectors, then that player could be found to have played illegally. If that was the case, and I'm not saying it is then the player would be subject to a ban.
However Williamstown can not be held accountable for this. The player was their registered player when he played. There was no question about his eligibility because they had not been involved in any transfer situation.
They are not required to know what players might do in USA or anywhere else. They have no way of knowing what they do nor are they responsible for them.
Remember Tony Keady (RIP). he was suspended for playing illegally in USA but there was no sanction against Galway at the time.

crusher (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 19/10/2017 15:16:04    2056242

I hope the Aran objection is only a rumour. Teams using a legal loophole to get back into the championship is totally ridiculous. Aran were beaten fair and square on the pitch. If they were good enough, they would have beaten a limited Williamstown Team. Williamstown deserve there place in the County Final (regardless of whether one of their subs played in the states or not).

Pookie_Monster (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 19/10/2017 15:19:49    2056245

Replying To fearruanua:  "appeal??? on what grounds??"
Taken from the galway footballers homepage "Oileáin Árann have lodged an objection into the eligibility of one of the Williamstown players following Williamstown's win in the County Intermediate Football Semi-Final two weeks ago. The player, over which the objection is based, is alleged to have played in America during the summer." I heard the rumour during the week about this. I dont think its right be it football or hurling that this carry on is happening in our county

sdf (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 19/10/2017 15:53:42    2056257

Replying To Pookie_Monster:  "I hope the Aran objection is only a rumour. Teams using a legal loophole to get back into the championship is totally ridiculous. Aran were beaten fair and square on the pitch. If they were good enough, they would have beaten a limited Williamstown Team. Williamstown deserve there place in the County Final (regardless of whether one of their subs played in the states or not)."
Totally agree, clubs objecting against other clubs on technicalities is very unsporting and smacks of sore losers.......but the days of taking your beating are over, We now have a situation where the current favorites for the senior hurling c'ship are the very club who by their actions stole the place of a group rival through a technical objection....... common sense, sportmanship and fair play don't come into it.
I despise the fact that Aran are objecting but then again they are only following the lead of Portumna.....

Sincerely hope nothing comes of it, these objections and their aftermath do more damage to the game than some lad going out playing a match for his club....what he does or doesn't do in America shouldnt come into it.......his club needed him so let him play

But the holier than thou rulebook afficionados will likely throw all this out the window and side with the unsporting objector

millertime (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 19/10/2017 16:18:27    2056264