Aidan O'Shea's Comments

Replying To Gleebo:  "IMO Aidan would be well advised to stay away from the media and other distractions like basketball and concentrate on improving as a footballer."
My boss is a Mayo man, a die hard. I remember his disgust last year (or the year before, can't remember which) when a week before the All Ireland QF or Semi Final ( i can't remember which) he decided to go and get corn rows in his hair and post it all over social media. Talk about not having your head in the game and being more interested in your appearance and 'likes' on social media. We work with one of the Dublin players and my boss asked him what Gavin would say if one of our lads did that, he said they'd be sent home and said not to be surprised if come the weekend the corn rows were gone. They were.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 04/05/2017 10:52:35    1984408

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "My boss is a Mayo man, a die hard. I remember his disgust last year (or the year before, can't remember which) when a week before the All Ireland QF or Semi Final ( i can't remember which) he decided to go and get corn rows in his hair and post it all over social media. Talk about not having your head in the game and being more interested in your appearance and 'likes' on social media. We work with one of the Dublin players and my boss asked him what Gavin would say if one of our lads did that, he said they'd be sent home and said not to be surprised if come the weekend the corn rows were gone. They were."
Ah stop have Dublin got 4 or 5 hairstyles lined out at the start of the year that players need to obey???

The lad is an amateur anything he does off the pitch and outside training is his own business.

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 04/05/2017 12:03:24    1984433

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "My boss is a Mayo man, a die hard. I remember his disgust last year (or the year before, can't remember which) when a week before the All Ireland QF or Semi Final ( i can't remember which) he decided to go and get corn rows in his hair and post it all over social media. Talk about not having your head in the game and being more interested in your appearance and 'likes' on social media. We work with one of the Dublin players and my boss asked him what Gavin would say if one of our lads did that, he said they'd be sent home and said not to be surprised if come the weekend the corn rows were gone. They were."
I dunno, I'm not sure that a player's appearance has anything to do with it, tbh. Ciarán MacDonald had cornrows at one stage, dyed his hair, had tattoos etc. but he was Mayo's talisman for years. Players like Paul Galvin, Eoin Mulligan etc. all obviously had their own sense of style but won multiple All-Irelands.

I just think that in Mayo, the last thing fellas need are distractions from winning Sam. There have been, unfortunately, far too many episodes over the decades where off-pitch nonsense scuppered the team's chances on the pitch.

I do agree that it's hard to imagine an episode like the managerial putsch of 2015 happening in Dublin, Kerry or Kilkenny, though.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/05/2017 12:15:23    1984439

Ciarán MacDonald was mocked for being different (white boots, hair etc) even by those in the Sunday Game Studio.
Eoin Mulligan was not.

Why? Well because Mayo have not crossed the line we are always going to be open to ridicule and mocking. One just has to view some of the pathetic comments online around the AOS/Brehany spat.
If you are winning All Ireland's people don't question what you do.

I have stated I would rather the likes of AOS stay quiet and be ready for championship but it's a free world and all that. They are not professional players.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 04/05/2017 13:16:33    1984448

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ciarán MacDonald was mocked for being different (white boots, hair etc) even by those in the Sunday Game Studio.
Eoin Mulligan was not.

Why? Well because Mayo have not crossed the line we are always going to be open to ridicule and mocking. One just has to view some of the pathetic comments online around the AOS/Brehany spat.

I have stated I would rather the likes of AOS stay quiet and be ready for championship but it's a free world and all that. They are not professional players."
Nobosy will ever beat Micheal Jackson RIP...... Good man Conor

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 04/05/2017 13:52:07    1984466

Replying To yew_tree:  "Ciarán MacDonald was mocked for being different (white boots, hair etc) even by those in the Sunday Game Studio.
Eoin Mulligan was not.

I have stated I would rather the likes of AOS stay quiet and be ready for championship but it's a free world and all that. They are not professional players."
Loved C Mcdonald he killed me and 50 thousand Dubs but loved him , for me he was a maverick but equally he was focused , hated seeing us come up against him. AOS may not be as focused in my own opinion.
Currently one of the best club players in Dublin an aged ,Mark Vaughan last person to wear a strange haircut in blue if you discount Eoghan O Gara's shaved hair.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/05/2017 14:31:38    1984480

Replying To Damothedub:  "Loved C Mcdonald he killed me and 50 thousand Dubs but loved him , for me he was a maverick but equally he was focused , hated seeing us come up against him. AOS may not be as focused in my own opinion.
Currently one of the best club players in Dublin an aged ,Mark Vaughan last person to wear a strange haircut in blue if you discount Eoghan O Gara's shaved hair."
The blonde bombshell now red ripper mark Vaughan has been in a rich vein of form maybe jim will bring him back into the fold ????

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/05/2017 14:50:06    1984485

Replying To yew_tree:  "I see nothing wrong with 'factually incorrect' comment as we have only heard one side of the story.

Now the follow up "that's unfortunately the way the paper wanted to write it" - Yeah that comment does not sound good but I think it's more a pop at Connelly/Holmes and not the actual paper. We all say things we don't mean.

Here is the thing, I don't think AOS is good at interviews. He appears shy and awkward at interviews. If I was him when asked about the heave I would have said "No comment, we are done".

On Martin Breheny - Don't believe for a second he is outraged, he is delighted (as a Galway man) at this story has gained traction again.

Anyway it's more unwanted side story from Mayo which makes us look like the Newcastle of the GAA."
I don't think that the piece today does anything for Breheny's credibility. I don't remember O'Shea naming Breheny - simply referring to a particular newspaper. This appears to be a personal attack on O'Shea.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/05/2017 19:06:14    1984555

Replying To neverright:  "I don't think that the piece today does anything for Breheny's credibility. I don't remember O'Shea naming Breheny - simply referring to a particular newspaper. This appears to be a personal attack on O'Shea."
Don't agree
O Shea took umbrage and decided to label the interview as been doctored without giving any reason as to why
breheny simply refuted any claims that he doctored or changed the interview to suit a narrative, breheny is entitled to defend his work as it's his livelihood.
If there's any truth to o sheas claims then why didn't he give the reasons?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/05/2017 19:36:30    1984566

Replying To neverright:  "I don't think that the piece today does anything for Breheny's credibility. I don't remember O'Shea naming Breheny - simply referring to a particular newspaper. This appears to be a personal attack on O'Shea."
Couldn't disagree more he responded on behalf of his paper he's a decent journalist and his integrity was called into question suggest you read the article again , no one has suggested it was personal prior to yourself if that's how you see it fair enough just don't know how the hell you can come to the conclusion based on the actual article , which leads to to think did you even read it

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/05/2017 19:41:43    1984567

Replying To hill16no1man:  "The blonde bombshell now red ripper mark Vaughan has been in a rich vein of form maybe jim will bring him back into the fold ????"
Like when Mossie was on fire for Vincent's I was of the same opinion no steps backwards unless your lacking in the experience side of things unfortunately old MV has age but not actually that much winning experience , will say fair play to him all the same

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/05/2017 19:43:41    1984568

Breheny's article today :

'Deeply hurt by being forced out in the harshest of circumstances after only one season, Holmes and Connelly gave their version of events in raw detail previously unheard of in GAA management.'

Breheny's article last December :

'Being forced to resign from county team management, with the players announcing they will strike if you stay on, is a deeply upsetting experience for anyone, let alone a pair who had completed only one season, which had ended in defeat by the eventual All-Ireland champions.'

Is it not factually incorrect to say Connelly and Holmes were forced out? They weren't sacked or forced out. They walked because they claimed it was for the good of Mayo football if they left and avoided a strike. Their choice. They claim that they didn't want certain players dictating how the team was run but rather than be strong managers and face them down, giving them no option but to try and get the players to strike, they left. Why was that? They had nothing to lose at that point, maybe even a bit more integrity if they were sacked and the reason for that became public. I have no reason to think this, heard no rumours, but I think there were personality clashes, regretted heated words exchanged and none of this has been revealed. The stuff that happens at times between management and players and could have been resolved. Unfortunately neither party wanted to fix whatever it was that broke the relationship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7369 - 04/05/2017 20:34:27    1984577

I'm struggling to understand. Aiden oshea isn't supposed to defend himself when his name and character is attacked but it perfectly fine for a journalist to write a whole article in a national newspaper when he is questioned?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 04/05/2017 21:55:01    1984594

Replying To Damothedub:  "Couldn't disagree more he responded on behalf of his paper he's a decent journalist and his integrity was called into question suggest you read the article again , no one has suggested it was personal prior to yourself if that's how you see it fair enough just don't know how the hell you can come to the conclusion based on the actual article , which leads to to think did you even read it"
"that's unfortunately the way the paper wanted to write it" .
Every article is written and presented in the way a journalist feels it should be written and presented provided it is not at odds with the particular newspaper guidelines. So Breheny is simply defending his own article and O'Shea, as is his right, is pointing out that he did not like the slant given to the article. Breheny may well feel that he is infallible and that his writing should not be questioned

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/05/2017 22:33:28    1984596

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I'm struggling to understand. Aiden oshea isn't supposed to defend himself when his name and character is attacked but it perfectly fine for a journalist to write a whole article in a national newspaper when he is questioned?"
The point is he didn't defend himself , its like a child saying I didn't do it when the jam is spilt all over the floor its not a defence its a statement , equally he has said he wasn't given right of reply again incorrect the squad as a unit as was their want chose not to reply , you cant come out later and say I was given a chance to defend myself , at this time there is no value in going over it further as it would most likely drag further into the summer and be detrimental to Mayos chances of success, N one knows all the ins and outs of this what we do know is the following
Divorce
Article outling previous management grievances
Silence from players
Statement from AOS during an interview saying well very little really

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 05/05/2017 09:25:39    1984627

Replying To neverright:  ""that's unfortunately the way the paper wanted to write it" .
Every article is written and presented in the way a journalist feels it should be written and presented provided it is not at odds with the particular newspaper guidelines. So Breheny is simply defending his own article and O'Shea, as is his right, is pointing out that he did not like the slant given to the article. Breheny may well feel that he is infallible and that his writing should not be questioned"
It should be remembered that the article was one side of the argument. Just because it was published in a newspaper doesn't mean it's the truth some people should remember that or maybe they see who the player is and just need an excuse to have a pop at him.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/05/2017 09:33:02    1984632

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I'm struggling to understand. Aiden oshea isn't supposed to defend himself when his name and character is attacked but it perfectly fine for a journalist to write a whole article in a national newspaper when he is questioned?"
No O shea wouldn't give a single reason as to why he is accusing the journalist and newspaper of doctoring the interview, if your going to make them accusations you got to accompany them with facts and he didn't give any which reflects poorly on the claims.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/05/2017 09:58:48    1984637

Replying To Spoddgy:  "It should be remembered that the article was one side of the argument. Just because it was published in a newspaper doesn't mean it's the truth some people should remember that or maybe they see who the player is and just need an excuse to have a pop at him."
Your replies are typical of most on here all objectivity out the window unlike Yewtree who can actually comment without referencing cliché after cliché , no one wants to think bad of their team or a player hell I see it all the time with D Connolly , but man up have a real opinion once in a while it doesn't hurt , take off the Red and Green glasses you might still feel the same way and your opinion might not change contray to opinon on here you wont have commited treason and you wont be less of a fan.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 05/05/2017 10:05:29    1984639

Replying To Damothedub:  "Your replies are typical of most on here all objectivity out the window unlike Yewtree who can actually comment without referencing cliché after cliché , no one wants to think bad of their team or a player hell I see it all the time with D Connolly , but man up have a real opinion once in a while it doesn't hurt , take off the Red and Green glasses you might still feel the same way and your opinion might not change contray to opinon on here you wont have commited treason and you wont be less of a fan."
Take off you navy and blue glasses yourself. You didn't read all of that post. Brehenys article was only Holmes and connellys version of event that will not necessarily be the truth. The fact is we will never know who is telling the truth, you choose to believe Holmes and Connelly without hearing the side of the players. Now I didn't agree with actions of the players at the time neither do I agree with Holmes and Connelly doing the interview a year later. If like breheny said why didn't O'shea respond at the time of the article instead of now I ask why did the article come out a year after the incident and not at the time? Why wait till Mayo lost in the final, what would have happened if Mayo had won would Holmes and Connelly have done it for the good of Mayo football then? Would Brehony not have been better not to named players in the article?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/05/2017 10:19:47    1984644

Replying To hill16no1man:  "No O shea wouldn't give a single reason as to why he is accusing the journalist and newspaper of doctoring the interview, if your going to make them accusations you got to accompany them with facts and he didn't give any which reflects poorly on the claims."
its not like he did an interview on the matter he was asked a question on it by a journalist he didn't delve too far into it it's still not a reason for the the 'accused' journalist to write a full article in response.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/05/2017 10:23:02    1984645