Junior A Hurling 2017

None of the junior clubs won a game at the weekend. Best were MB who managed a draw with tommies. All the rest were badly beaten.
Sylane beaten by 14, Salthill by 13, Barna/Furbo by 18 and skehana by 17. Some serious hammerings there.

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 24/04/2017 11:32:48    1982142

Maybe these teams should stick to football and then the junior hurling c'ships could run to schedule. And I'm talking from experience here.

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 230 - 24/04/2017 12:17:08    1982169

Sylane is a very strange one, but maybe years of having players from 6/7 clubs and 2 counties has caught up with them.BFurbo got a hiding from MB last year aswel. Saw MB and Larkins drew, so it looks like Mb the best of the junior teams. Be intersting to see how many of the second teams lose players in the next couple of weeks. Galway getting to League Final has helped in that sitaution.

puckemhard (Galway) - Posts: 227 - 24/04/2017 13:25:10    1982200

I know the junior A teams of senior clubs are always stronger at the start of the year and they will weaken as more lads pulled into senior championship but I can't remember a weekend of results like this before.

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 24/04/2017 15:39:09    1982250

Replying To John Doe:  "Maybe these teams should stick to football and then the junior hurling c'ships could run to schedule. And I'm talking from experience here."
And what's the reason for senior hurling games not sticking to fixtures John Doe this year being an example? And don't say to facilitate the Galway team because one of the main reasons Galway have not won an All-Ireland is because of the rivalry between clubs seeping into county team!

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 26/04/2017 17:50:32    1982965

Replying To Gmon:  "And what's the reason for senior hurling games not sticking to fixtures John Doe this year being an example? And don't say to facilitate the Galway team because one of the main reasons Galway have not won an All-Ireland is because of the rivalry between clubs seeping into county team!"
The club rivalry thing seeping into Galway hurling is a joke. Look at how galway have played since 2012. They have played fairly well apart from 2013 and 2014. They all seem to be getting on fine to me. If a lad gets a ball on the field he is not wondering what club he is from before he hits it to him. Anyway, club aside, most of these lads all hurl with each other or against each other in college

gimp2 (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 27/04/2017 09:11:25    1983064

Replying To Gmon:  "And what's the reason for senior hurling games not sticking to fixtures John Doe this year being an example? And don't say to facilitate the Galway team because one of the main reasons Galway have not won an All-Ireland is because of the rivalry between clubs seeping into county team!"
also, the main reason we have not won an all Ireland is because we have not been good enough. Nothing to do with rivalry or anything else. We now have a team which we can all get behind and support

gimp2 (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 27/04/2017 09:12:59    1983065

Cmon lads can we all not get along and go back to blaming the Dual clubs for ruining Junior Hurling :)

puckemhard (Galway) - Posts: 227 - 27/04/2017 09:56:25    1983072

Already fixtures haven't being played in the Junior 1. The county board either have no respect for junior players or lack any sort of intelligence. If you look at the masterplan for the Junior A and Junior 1 championship, they have fixtures down for the same weekend. They also have a six week gap in the middle of the summer. How are lads supposed to book holidays, weddings, J1's etc.

dapoormansson (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 03/05/2017 08:12:19    1984099

Yeah that's a joke, they also have dual clubs with no games last weekend or this but have games same weekend as inter/senior football champ next weekend. Cop on 101

puckemhard (Galway) - Posts: 227 - 05/05/2017 10:45:18    1984649

How are knockouts shaping?

Tiddlywinks77 (Galway) - Posts: 270 - 23/08/2017 17:40:31    2036872

I think they played some round of knockout last weekend? it seems all over the place according to the website.

puckemhard (Galway) - Posts: 227 - 12/09/2017 08:27:26    2045127

County board fairly clattering through the fixtures. Some quarter finals down for decision this weekend.

Left in the race are Larkins, Turlough, craughwell, Sylane, mellows, Abby duinry, st Thomas 's.

Craughwell the team to beat followed by sars.

thecut (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 12/09/2017 18:35:30    2045333

Replying To thecut:  "County board fairly clattering through the fixtures. Some quarter finals down for decision this weekend.

Left in the race are Larkins, Turlough, craughwell, Sylane, mellows, Abby duinry, st Thomas 's.

Craughwell the team to beat followed by sars."
Thanks for the update, it just seems like the Junior A championship has been littered with walkovers this year, some teams not even playing half the group games. They should probably look at it again.
The junior 1 is out this weekend aswel, with Sylane and Mb playing even though they are both through? and the same with Berana and Bsloe? surely this is a waste of a weekend ? Sometimes it baffles.

puckemhard (Galway) - Posts: 227 - 13/09/2017 10:03:31    2045542

Were out at the weekend against Sarsfields. I wouldn't write the Turlough lads of yet.

padthepostman (Galway) - Posts: 150 - 15/09/2017 15:56:07    2046265

Great performance from the lads today, James Horan factor rubbing off on our second team, we were fitter and hungrier than Sarsfields not to mention better hurlers!

padthepostman (Galway) - Posts: 150 - 17/09/2017 17:38:16    2046778

Replying To padthepostman:  "Great performance from the lads today, James Horan factor rubbing off on our second team, we were fitter and hungrier than Sarsfields not to mention better hurlers!"
you were at that Sars turlough game then ya???? Who was good for turlough. Wat was final score

Anthony7891 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 19/09/2017 12:49:23    2048032

Replying To padthepostman:  "Great performance from the lads today, James Horan factor rubbing off on our second team, we were fitter and hungrier than Sarsfields not to mention better hurlers!"
did sars not win by 5 pts or is that a mistake on the galway gaa website.

fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 19/09/2017 14:36:21    2048099

G' man Pad, nice effort in trying to wind us up about the great " Turlough lads". We all know the mess ye lads and James are walking into and no doubt ye will bring the whole senior championship to a grinding halt.G'man!

thecut (Galway) - Posts: 332 - 19/09/2017 17:49:26    2048205

Sylane and Micheal Breathnach in Junior 1 final this weekend, they have played in last 3 finals, and nothing between them, im sure Sylanes main aim is going up intermediate, so they might have a few changes in the lineup, luckily for them all theyre football clubs have no game this weekend ( unless the mayo lads have) so they should have everyone at the ready, including Kevin Brady, saw him play during the summer, didnt know he had transferedd back from Castlegar???
Breathnach should have Maidhc o Conghaile and Sean denvir playing but i think its Sylanes to lose ,

puckemhard (Galway) - Posts: 227 - 03/10/2017 14:06:02    2052709