Club Championships 2017

Replying To 890202:  "You mean other than the holiday paid for by the county board earlier in the year? Or a week in October after their clubs are finished"
You mean the training week in Portugal? Great holiday that, go train for a dog like a week.......
God forbid, these lads might also want a holiday with their girlfriend, before some of them go back to college, etc.
I actually don't know why I am bothering defending them, this is the most nonsensical argument in a while! Probably a bunch of 50-60 year old dinasaurs the lot of ye.
Nothing to say about the 16 walkovers in hurling and football in the past 2 weeks alone? No? Is nobody allowed have a holiday?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 16/08/2017 20:50:19    2034444

Replying To mrfox:  "The excuse to play without the county players is a pointless one as I've shown why it won't work. Come up with a decent alternative rather than just play without county players"
I have already told you the alternative, have a proper fixtures calender where people can plan their life. Either that or play without them. End of story. There is no other alternative, other than like is happening here that players are voting with their feet and saying screw that nonsense.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 16/08/2017 20:57:29    2034448

Replying To Pinkie:  "I have already told you the alternative, have a proper fixtures calender where people can plan their life. Either that or play without them. End of story. There is no other alternative, other than like is happening here that players are voting with their feet and saying screw that nonsense."
Answer this for me then. I have spelt it out already but you choose to ognore it. How is playing without your county players going to work if some players withdraw from the county set up so they can play with there club. Surely this will weaken the county team.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 16/08/2017 21:20:21    2034470

Replying To Pinkie:  "You mean the training week in Portugal? Great holiday that, go train for a dog like a week.......
God forbid, these lads might also want a holiday with their girlfriend, before some of them go back to college, etc.
I actually don't know why I am bothering defending them, this is the most nonsensical argument in a while! Probably a bunch of 50-60 year old dinasaurs the lot of ye.
Nothing to say about the 16 walkovers in hurling and football in the past 2 weeks alone? No? Is nobody allowed have a holiday?"
They are going on another holiday with the same bunch of lads that they went to Portugal with. Also I'd be very surprised if more than 2 or 3 of the Wexford senior hurling panel have a wife and kids so there is no need to include that in your argument

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 16/08/2017 23:31:38    2034523

Replying To Pinkie:  "You mean the training week in Portugal? Great holiday that, go train for a dog like a week.......
Nothing to say about the 16 walkovers in hurling and football in the past 2 weeks alone? No? Is nobody allowed have a holiday?"
Training like a dog?
In what fashion?

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 17/08/2017 06:59:27    2034548

Replying To mrfox:  "Another throwaway excuse. Teams who give walkovers are fined and I think they should be fined more. Again you fail to acknowledge that some of these lads do play football. Stick to the facts maybe."
so,you think teams who cant field a team due to everybody being on hols should be fined more?
i will ask you again,is nobody entitled to a holiday just because they are letting a gaa club down?
is this a job or a hobby?
good luck to you if the gaa is your life,but for many it is a past time and they have a life outside it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/08/2017 09:27:26    2034565

The problem isn't holidays...

The problem is the fixtures, the Co. Board know the GAA's fixtures, why can they not produce a fixture list in January with a date for every game, other counties can do it, why are we failing so badly?

Secondly, Friday night games, why? James's game down for half 8 tomorrow night.... laughable with a third of the panel working in Dublin, very tough on players, no reason why this game cant be played Saturday or Sunday.

comc (Wexford) - Posts: 108 - 17/08/2017 10:58:48    2034607

Replying To comc:  "The problem isn't holidays...

The problem is the fixtures, the Co. Board know the GAA's fixtures, why can they not produce a fixture list in January with a date for every game, other counties can do it, why are we failing so badly?

Secondly, Friday night games, why? James's game down for half 8 tomorrow night.... laughable with a third of the panel working in Dublin, very tough on players, no reason why this game cant be played Saturday or Sunday."
I dont see how a game on at 8.30 affects people working in Dublin. It gives ample time to be there. There are multiple games on across the county all weekend, I dont see any issue in Friday night games, particularly one at 8.30.

IMO, the county players going off is a big F. You to the club set up in the county. Yes its their life and they can do what they want etc. but who funds their trip to Portugal. Who funds their gear and all the meals they get. Who funds their training centre and everything else they get handed to them. The public and club players. Club players sit around all summer waiting for the county players to be finished so they can get to play, and now once that happens, the county players arent even bothered. What message is that sending out? All it is doing is creating an elitist attitude between club and county, and they wont be long remembering their club once all the perks stop.

They work and train hard, no one doubts that for one minute. But it is their decision to do so. They arent forced to do it. Everyone is grateful for what they do and support them well. This reads to me like they couldnt give a crap about the club set up, and its not an avenue they should go down as not only is it the clubs that helped get them to where they are, the clubs are financing their county setup too.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 17/08/2017 13:45:50    2034676

have you played a game at 8.30 on a Friday, after work a 50 hour week and then commuting 3 hours down the n11? if one were to work until 5.30 on Friday and commute to the game they would probably be there in time for throw in at 8.30 but not in time to be warmed up properly or anything like that after sitting through traffic. If you have and have had no ill effects fair play to you, for one I find it very tough.

Yes there are games on across the county this weekend, only one is on Friday night from what I can see.

comc (Wexford) - Posts: 108 - 17/08/2017 14:39:14    2034702

Replying To james2011:  "I dont see how a game on at 8.30 affects people working in Dublin. It gives ample time to be there. There are multiple games on across the county all weekend, I dont see any issue in Friday night games, particularly one at 8.30.

IMO, the county players going off is a big F. You to the club set up in the county. Yes its their life and they can do what they want etc. but who funds their trip to Portugal. Who funds their gear and all the meals they get. Who funds their training centre and everything else they get handed to them. The public and club players. Club players sit around all summer waiting for the county players to be finished so they can get to play, and now once that happens, the county players arent even bothered. What message is that sending out? All it is doing is creating an elitist attitude between club and county, and they wont be long remembering their club once all the perks stop.

They work and train hard, no one doubts that for one minute. But it is their decision to do so. They arent forced to do it. Everyone is grateful for what they do and support them well. This reads to me like they couldnt give a crap about the club set up, and its not an avenue they should go down as not only is it the clubs that helped get them to where they are, the clubs are financing their county setup too."
Finishing work at 5.30 in Dublin is a big problem if you have a game in wexford at 8.30!

hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 17/08/2017 14:43:41    2034707

lads ye are both fairly exaggerating things here. Friday Dublin traffic is bad, no doubting that. But 3 hours? Unless you are on public transport then. But as over 1/3 of the team is there, surely you can grab a lift of a team mate. I have played Friday evening games having travelled from Dublin. I'm not going to say its handy, far from it, but its a minor inconvenience in the scheme of things. Your game could be on at 7, like the Shels Glynn game that precedes the St James' game, which is far more of an inconvenience. And most work places are favourable enough to let people go a bit early on a Friday too if you know in advance.

Also seems to be 12 adult games fixed for Friday evening.

No matter what way fixtures lie, people will always moan at it regardless.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 17/08/2017 15:02:32    2034718

Looking ahead to the weekend's football action and to steal a phrase from golf, it's very much the "moving" round as regards to the ultimate make-up of the groups:

Shelmaliers vs Glynn Barntown: Glynn are very much in "must-win" territory. Only just beat Sarsfields the last day which on the face of it doesn't look great, as the other two teams that beat Sars done so handy enough. Shelmaliers are the form team in the championship so far, and manfully stuck to their convictions last day against Castletown despite failing to score in the first half. Their system is a tough one to build a big score against, and they have plenty of quality all over the field. Glynn will be up for this, but I think the malaise has set in. Shels

St,Martin's vs St.James': the tie of the round and a repeat of the 2015 decider. In a New Ross district dominated group, James' won't be too upset with their current record of 1W-1D-1L. They have gradually improved their scoring game-per-game, having hit a rather tame 1-7 in the opening round, to averaging about 15.5 points in the two games since. Martin's got out of dodge with a draw vs Fethard last day out, and there is just this feeling that their hurling exploits are having an adverse affect on their form in the football, despite being unbeaten after three rounds. Hardest game to call, but I will give a hesitant vote to James

Fethard vs Gusserane: the weekly Ross derby and meeting of recent underage partners. Gusserane were humbled by Taghmon last day out, and are clearly operating well below the standards they set themselves last year. Panther seems to be a big loss, and Graeme Cullen didn't feature the last day either (don't know the reason). Fethard perhaps should have taken the scalp of Martin's but will be nonetheless pleased with their campaign so far. Inconceivable to see a team draw three matches from four group games, so going to give the nod to Fethard. Their graph is just slightly higher at the minute.

Taghmon vs Horsewood: Taghmon produced the shock of the championship so far with their winning margin against Gusserane in round three. Have compiled a win and a loss since their opening round reversal to Martins. Horeswood pulled off a deserved draw with Jimmies despite the absence through suspension of PJ Banville, but are still in dire need of a win in a group with no stand-out favourites for the bottom. Nevertheless, I tip Taghmon to win and ensure their qualification.

Castletown vs Starlights: Castletown imploded spectacularly in the second half against Shelmaliers, but in truth looked off the pace from the first whistle. The long lay-off since the first two rounds took it's toll (not that it is an excuse). Starlights have been steadily improving over the last couple of years, and have always been a bogey team for the north county men. However, Castletown's defence still remains formidable despite the loss the last day out, and with Starlights rumoured to be shorn a couple of their key players, I tip Castletown to return to winning ways and book their quarter-final ticket.

St.Anne's vs Sarsfields: if Sars can't get themselves pumped up for a must-win game in Wexford Park against district rivals, they might as well prepare for the relegation final already. There were signs of a bit of an upturn in form when they asked a few questions of Glynn in the final quarter in the previous round, while Anne's have struggled to find their true identity with back-to-back defeats to their name. Not the most attractive pairing of the weekend, but Anne's should still have enough to notch a crucial win.

Intermediate
Ferns vs Rosslare: Rosslare

HWH Bunclody vs Clongeen: Bunclody

St.Fintan's vs Adamstown: Draw

St.Mary's (M) vs Kilanerin:Kilanerin

Ballyhogue vs Duffry Rovers: Duffry

St.Joseph's vs Bannow: Bannow

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1424 - 17/08/2017 15:19:33    2034729

Replying To james2011:  "lads ye are both fairly exaggerating things here. Friday Dublin traffic is bad, no doubting that. But 3 hours? Unless you are on public transport then. But as over 1/3 of the team is there, surely you can grab a lift of a team mate. I have played Friday evening games having travelled from Dublin. I'm not going to say its handy, far from it, but its a minor inconvenience in the scheme of things. Your game could be on at 7, like the Shels Glynn game that precedes the St James' game, which is far more of an inconvenience. And most work places are favourable enough to let people go a bit early on a Friday too if you know in advance.

Also seems to be 12 adult games fixed for Friday evening.

No matter what way fixtures lie, people will always moan at it regardless."
why would I bother exaggerating?

I have a dislike for Friday night games that's just my opinion, we played at 7 last weekend, I don't see the need for them.

comc (Wexford) - Posts: 108 - 17/08/2017 15:26:54    2034737

james2011, the club setup has failed everybody, not the inter county players failing it. It is the reason players are just walking away, teams are giving walkovers, etc.
The inter county game needs to be compressed into about 8 weeks, from start to finish, in both codes. There is no need to play the Ulster championship say over 10 weeks. Play all quarters one weekend,semis the next,final the next. Job done. I can already see the "oh we cant have players playing every week" well fine then but don't complain when the clubs have no matches for months on end.
The inter county game has completely consumed the club game, the time has come to shout stop. And if walkovers, etc make people stand up and realise that the current situation is completely unsustainable, then maybe it'll be for the long term betterment of the game.
The is not a problem unique to Wexford either. We just love to complain and find problems and blame whoever we can scapegoat more than most.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/08/2017 20:48:41    2034890

Replying To comc:  "why would I bother exaggerating?

I have a dislike for Friday night games that's just my opinion, we played at 7 last weekend, I don't see the need for them."
There is no issue having a dislike for Friday night games. But there are only a few grounds and referees available for a weekend. If you compress those 12 games into Saturday or Sunday you run into other issues. Having them on Friday solves that somewhat. It's not perfect, but sure what is? Ye can go to Bobs after on the Friday and not have to worry about games on Saturday or Sunday.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 18/08/2017 11:37:19    2035058

Replying To Pinkie:  "james2011, the club setup has failed everybody, not the inter county players failing it. It is the reason players are just walking away, teams are giving walkovers, etc.
The inter county game needs to be compressed into about 8 weeks, from start to finish, in both codes. There is no need to play the Ulster championship say over 10 weeks. Play all quarters one weekend,semis the next,final the next. Job done. I can already see the "oh we cant have players playing every week" well fine then but don't complain when the clubs have no matches for months on end.
The inter county game has completely consumed the club game, the time has come to shout stop. And if walkovers, etc make people stand up and realise that the current situation is completely unsustainable, then maybe it'll be for the long term betterment of the game.
The is not a problem unique to Wexford either. We just love to complain and find problems and blame whoever we can scapegoat more than most."
It is nothing about scapegoating or complaining. But the club game is held up during the best summer months because of county player involvement. Then when the county players are free to play, they dont. So what is the point in holding up games for them?

I also dont disagree with the point of compressing the intercounty season, and that is in for next year which should help.

But this isolated incident of the county players going off on holiday is a serious F you to their clubs. Yes they have their own lives as I noted already, but they wouldnt be where they are without the clubs. It creates a divide and elitism.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 18/08/2017 11:40:30    2035059

james2011, that is exactly why I say, go play the games without them. No matter what we decide, the current situation is completely untenable and just like the families who are on holiday at the moment, they are proving that people no longer care about the GAA as they do about other parts of their lifes.
That is their choice, and everybody is entitled to a holiday. Maybe it doesnt suit the players to go on holiday in Sept/Oct? I know nothing about their circumstances or reasoning. Maybe those posting anonymously on a message board should ask them if they have a reason before posting?
If the GAA cant provide a calender in Spring which means people can say "I can go on holiday in August, no matches there", then don't be complaining if teams are giving walkovers because they are on holiday.
We have a lot to learn as an organisation, I dont play soccer or rugby but I know lads can tell every weekend they have and have not got a game till next summer. That is where the GAA need to get to.
Until then, dont be surprised if players, families etc say f this I am going on holiday.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 18/08/2017 12:48:18    2035088

Replying To Pinkie:  "james2011, that is exactly why I say, go play the games without them. No matter what we decide, the current situation is completely untenable and just like the families who are on holiday at the moment, they are proving that people no longer care about the GAA as they do about other parts of their lifes.
That is their choice, and everybody is entitled to a holiday. Maybe it doesnt suit the players to go on holiday in Sept/Oct? I know nothing about their circumstances or reasoning. Maybe those posting anonymously on a message board should ask them if they have a reason before posting?
If the GAA cant provide a calender in Spring which means people can say "I can go on holiday in August, no matches there", then don't be complaining if teams are giving walkovers because they are on holiday.
We have a lot to learn as an organisation, I dont play soccer or rugby but I know lads can tell every weekend they have and have not got a game till next summer. That is where the GAA need to get to.
Until then, dont be surprised if players, families etc say f this I am going on holiday."
But they do provide a calendar. Everyone in Wexford knows that June is the free month with no games in it. And everyone knows that August and September will be by far the busiest months.
http://www.wexfordgaa.ie/2016/02/draft-fixtures-plan-2016/ was the plan issued last season.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 18/08/2017 13:01:47    2035095

Replying To james2011:  "But they do provide a calendar. Everyone in Wexford knows that June is the free month with no games in it. And everyone knows that August and September will be by far the busiest months.
http://www.wexfordgaa.ie/2016/02/draft-fixtures-plan-2016/ was the plan issued last season."
There was also one issued this year, obviously people prefer to give out about it rather than looking for the information which was supplied to all clubs

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 18/08/2017 13:49:11    2035103

Replying To 890202:  "There was also one issued this year, obviously people prefer to give out about it rather than looking for the information which was supplied to all clubs"
i am not sure about this but i was told,by somebody in my club,that they had a 2nd round of championship matches in the 2017 plan for may which was cancelled.
so what is the point?families want to go on holidays in august,after exams,schools,etc are finished.they would be better off keeping the 2 week in august free.it is a nightmare,but one must be sat down and looked at.should 8 weeks in june/july be used to run off the championships?that way,exams etc arent impacted.
after all the debate,at the end of the day,none of us have an answer to suit everybody! :)

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/08/2017 14:14:11    2035104