Club Championships 2017

Replying To shamedmodelman:  "It is scandalous, at least three senior teams without some of their best players, inter and junior teams also without players. Would ya stop please of course they are going on the lash, 5 days in Ibiza.....

I just feel for the average club player whom has had their season stopped for 11 weeks waiting on these 'county stars' who then decide its ok to up sticks and head off for a holiday in the middle of the championship. What sort of message does it send out to young players in these clubs???

County players chose to be county players nobody is forcing them to train in November, if you want to play that's what you do. They show a total lack of respect for clubmates, members and the Wexford Football Championships by doing what they are doing."
Spot on. The best inter county players, they always dug deep for their clubs. Thats part of the reason they were/are the best. And of course clubmen and women pay in at the turnstiles and buy all county tickets etc. I would say it will turn off goodwill from a fair few people, and by the way all you people that say 'so what?', that matters. Where do you practice loyalty first but at club level. Some people on here who are purely agenda-driven in their bias miss the big picture here. Strong clubs = strong county. Irrespective of your 'preferences'.

busterdouglas (Waterford) - Posts: 37 - 15/08/2017 16:39:35    2033721

Replying To shamedmodelman:  "It is scandalous, at least three senior teams without some of their best players, inter and junior teams also without players. Would ya stop please of course they are going on the lash, 5 days in Ibiza.....

I just feel for the average club player whom has had their season stopped for 11 weeks waiting on these 'county stars' who then decide its ok to up sticks and head off for a holiday in the middle of the championship. What sort of message does it send out to young players in these clubs???

County players chose to be county players nobody is forcing them to train in November, if you want to play that's what you do. They show a total lack of respect for clubmates, members and the Wexford Football Championships by doing what they are doing."
Agree, 100%

irishmanabroad (Wexford) - Posts: 48 - 15/08/2017 17:50:14    2033764

Who cares. If they aren't playing football, they are entitled to do whatever they want. As usual, the usual suspects just looking for stuff to have a go about.
I have said for a long time the club action should continue without the club players throughout the summer. It is better than the mess we have at present.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 15/08/2017 19:16:22    2033810

Replying To Pinkie:  "Who cares. If they aren't playing football, they are entitled to do whatever they want. As usual, the usual suspects just looking for stuff to have a go about.
I have said for a long time the club action should continue without the club players throughout the summer. It is better than the mess we have at present."
If club championship went ahead without the county players you will have the county players who are loyal to there clubs opting out of county so they can play with there club. The county team then suffer

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 15/08/2017 21:52:12    2033912

Replying To perfect10:  "but,they are not missing any matches?"
Read the local paper next week and you'll see who was missing for each team

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 16/08/2017 08:25:28    2034003

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Read the local paper next week and you'll see who was missing for each team"
but,if they dont play football....why is the problem?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/08/2017 09:10:36    2034015

Replying To Pinkie:  "Who cares. If they aren't playing football, they are entitled to do whatever they want. As usual, the usual suspects just looking for stuff to have a go about.
I have said for a long time the club action should continue without the club players throughout the summer. It is better than the mess we have at present."
Club people care.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 16/08/2017 09:35:25    2034022

Replying To perfect10:  "but,if they dont play football....why is the problem?"
They do play football

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 16/08/2017 11:22:55    2034092

Replying To perfect10:  "but,if they dont play football....why is the problem?"
4 senior teams all in the shake up will be missing players this weekend. That's not to mention the Inter/Junior Teams.

A total lack of respect and a big F*** you to the county board who look after these guys so well during the year.

No problem with them going away on holiday but not when there is a full round of club games.

shamedmodelman (Wexford) - Posts: 42 - 16/08/2017 11:34:46    2034101

So, with club action likely to continue till September/October, and country training starting probably in October, when are they GUARANTEED a holiday period?
These players are letting nobody down, they do more than enough for the GAA, they are not slaves to the organisation. They are entitled to a holiday. It is the GAA's fault that the calender does not have a defined closed season, I think it is more than time the GAA did more to suit the players and this is the first generation to say enough is enough.
And before anybody says it, I would say the same if it was a round of hurling fixtures they were missing, or if it was a bunch of the footballers going over a hurling weekend, etc.
Time for the GAA to cop on and sort out the fixtures mess. Players have been slaves to them for long enough. Either sort out the fixtures, have a proper calender with a defined closed season, or else just play without the county players. Either/or.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 16/08/2017 14:20:14    2034233

Replying To Pinkie:  "So, with club action likely to continue till September/October, and country training starting probably in October, when are they GUARANTEED a holiday period?
These players are letting nobody down, they do more than enough for the GAA, they are not slaves to the organisation. They are entitled to a holiday. It is the GAA's fault that the calender does not have a defined closed season, I think it is more than time the GAA did more to suit the players and this is the first generation to say enough is enough.
And before anybody says it, I would say the same if it was a round of hurling fixtures they were missing, or if it was a bunch of the footballers going over a hurling weekend, etc.
Time for the GAA to cop on and sort out the fixtures mess. Players have been slaves to them for long enough. Either sort out the fixtures, have a proper calender with a defined closed season, or else just play without the county players. Either/or."
They are indeed, every club player waiting for them to come back for three months has every right to feel let down.

shamedmodelman (Wexford) - Posts: 42 - 16/08/2017 14:33:16    2034241

Replying To Pinkie:  "So, with club action likely to continue till September/October, and country training starting probably in October, when are they GUARANTEED a holiday period?
Time for the GAA to cop on and sort out the fixtures mess. Players have been slaves to them for long enough. Either sort out the fixtures, have a proper calender with a defined closed season, or else just play without the county players. Either/or."
They are letting all involved in the GAA in their clubs down.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 16/08/2017 14:58:52    2034254

Replying To shamedmodelman:  "They are indeed, every club player waiting for them to come back for three months has every right to feel let down."
Agreed

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 16/08/2017 14:59:17    2034256

what about the SIXTEEN walk overs that there have been in the last 2 weeks,why arent you up in arms about those?many of the matches involved amalgamated teams,etc too.
the problem goes far deeper than a few county players,and deny it all you want a few players who dont play a code they have no interest in are not the problem.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/08/2017 15:09:00    2034265

and just to add,i am certain some of these walk overs involved clubs of some of you up in arms about this.
look closer to home and get your own house in order.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/08/2017 15:10:32    2034267

Replying To perfect10:  "what about the SIXTEEN walk overs that there have been in the last 2 weeks,why arent you up in arms about those?many of the matches involved amalgamated teams,etc too.
the problem goes far deeper than a few county players,and deny it all you want a few players who dont play a code they have no interest in are not the problem."
Shame on those people, thinking they can go on a holiday before their children go back to school. They are a disgrace, they have let their clubs down, blah blah etc etc.
They should have cancelled the holiday, played the match, and not bothered with the holiday. That'd teach them for wanting a week in the sun.
Disgrace the lot of them.............

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 16/08/2017 15:26:53    2034279

The excuse to play without the county players is a pointless one as I've shown why it won't work. Come up with a decent alternative rather than just play without county players

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 16/08/2017 17:16:30    2034344

Replying To perfect10:  "what about the SIXTEEN walk overs that there have been in the last 2 weeks,why arent you up in arms about those?many of the matches involved amalgamated teams,etc too.
the problem goes far deeper than a few county players,and deny it all you want a few players who dont play a code they have no interest in are not the problem."
Another throwaway excuse. Teams who give walkovers are fined and I think they should be fined more. Again you fail to acknowledge that some of these lads do play football. Stick to the facts maybe.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 16/08/2017 17:21:12    2034348

Replying To perfect10:  "and just to add,i am certain some of these walk overs involved clubs of some of you up in arms about this.
look closer to home and get your own house in order."
How can you be certain???

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 16/08/2017 17:22:18    2034351

You mean other than the holiday paid for by the county board earlier in the year? Or a week in October after their clubs are finished

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 16/08/2017 18:40:35    2034393