Club Championships 2017

Can ye tell me a bit about Joe Hagan please lads, curious

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 31/10/2017 15:38:23    2059315

Replying To mrfox:  "And to think that Joe Hagen wasn't even approached by the football management selection committee to see if he was interested in the senior football job. Surely there is question marks over the committee because of this."
That committee have not made one good appointment yet and while their heart is in the right place they are not performing.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 31/10/2017 16:33:58    2059329

How are Kilanerin looking against Raheens on Saturday?

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1139 - 02/11/2017 22:15:37    2059904

Replying To Wicklowman:  "How are Kilanerin looking against Raheens on Saturday?"
Expecting raheens to be a big physical side but I would give kilanerin a chance here. They have a solid team with some quality players. Obviously forde is still massive for them but their captain kavanagh, hobbs at full back and Hughes midfield have been great for them in the semi and final. I've been told that Devitt is back in contention which would be a huge boost for them having been without him all year.

Trueblue123 (Dublin) - Posts: 27 - 03/11/2017 12:33:06    2060053

Replying To Trueblue123:  "Expecting raheens to be a big physical side but I would give kilanerin a chance here. They have a solid team with some quality players. Obviously forde is still massive for them but their captain kavanagh, hobbs at full back and Hughes midfield have been great for them in the semi and final. I've been told that Devitt is back in contention which would be a huge boost for them having been without him all year."
Good call Trueblue, any reports on this one

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 04/11/2017 21:43:33    2060504

Replying To yelowbelly:  "Good call Trueblue, any reports on this one"
8 apiece with 5 minutes to go and with ford sent off, it was looking like extra time. Kilanerin got a nice point from their full forward and then niall hughes sealed it with a long range free to finish it off 10 8 .

Raheens will feel they left it behind them after kicking close to 20 wides, especially in the second half. But to kilanerins credit their backs were extremely patient and disciplined when it came to raheens attacking.

Forde was making the most of everything and constantly getting onto the ref and ended up getting a second yellow and shown the line. Not one of his better days.

Devitt made an appearance for the last 5 minutes which was good to see but Hughes and kavanagh are serious players and were key to kilanerins win.

St Marty's from westmeath are next for them who won't be a push over.

Trueblue123 (Dublin) - Posts: 27 - 05/11/2017 21:25:48    2060662

2 big games tomorrow,good luck to fethard v john lockes.
the intermediate final is a hard game to call,i seen 20 minutes of crossabeg in their semi v monageer and they didnt look great,a 5 week lay off for st annes wont be good for them.paidi foley v d o keefe will be an almighty battle,will st annes be fresher?crossabeg have a fair few miles of late,so i will give the piercestown men the nod but finals are a odd breed,and crossabeg have momentum.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/11/2017 17:06:43    2061650

best of luck to the teams representing wexford in leinster competitions this weekend,
just seeing the odds for fethard game fethard 9/2 with some bookies john lockes 1/7 1/8 with most bookies,
seems very strange to be that much of a gap in the betting for a final but bookies are rarely wrong i suppose...

purple2 (Wexford) - Posts: 15 - 10/11/2017 17:58:35    2061658

Replying To purple2:  "best of luck to the teams representing wexford in leinster competitions this weekend,
just seeing the odds for fethard game fethard 9/2 with some bookies john lockes 1/7 1/8 with most bookies,
seems very strange to be that much of a gap in the betting for a final but bookies are rarely wrong i suppose..."
Think the junior and intermediate provincial championships started around 2001 and on average Kilkenny clubs win Leinster about 4 times out of every 5 years in both, guessing that's the reason

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/11/2017 10:35:12    2061702

great win by fethard my opinion was john lockes had an attitude of we just have to turn up here and result will follow,
fethard tore in to them from word go and they didnt know what hit them,people saying ref was giving soft frees to fethard
from what i saw he was as bad for both teams,and an awful lot of mouthing from lockes lads anytime free was giving cost them dearly,
fethard were more hungrier for it and deserved the win,thought ruari tubritt ciaran dwyer joe sutton and all fethard lads were good,
but for me there captain garrett foley was outstanding for most of match maybe a 5 minute spell whwn he wasnt in it but a very fine game from him..

purple2 (Wexford) - Posts: 15 - 11/11/2017 14:52:19    2061726

Too many Wexford teams have neglected the opportunity to put in a serious effort into the Leinster championships whether it be football or hurling.
Fethard certainly didn't seem happy with just winning the county championship and are now one game away from Croke Park. The buzz that it will generate in their club will be phenomenal and fair play to them. A Leinster junior championship is a fine achievement and they will now be starting back training in January preparing for intermediate hurling and also an All Ireland semi-final
Fine win from Kilanerin also today to get to the intermediate football final, any victories at provincial level are great. Well done to both teams and lets hope Starlights can follow suit tomorrow.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 11/11/2017 18:40:09    2061739

I have a liking for St Martin's to beat Cuala this weekend in Parnell Park.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 13/11/2017 11:48:54    2062042

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "I have a liking for St Martin's to beat Cuala this weekend in Parnell Park."
Some of the results from the weekend just prove that, with the right attitude & approach, anything is possible. Callan were 1/7 with the bookies and you could have got any price you wanted on Rathnew !!

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 13/11/2017 14:32:35    2062090

Replying To yelowbelly:  "Some of the results from the weekend just prove that, with the right attitude & approach, anything is possible. Callan were 1/7 with the bookies and you could have got any price you wanted on Rathnew !!"
Yeah shackles are off St Martin's, pressure of being defending champions on Cuala. St Martins going up there with nothing to lose really, a team full of young lads with mix of experience in the right places they have every chance of beating Cuala.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 13/11/2017 16:19:22    2062114

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Yeah shackles are off St Martin's, pressure of being defending champions on Cuala. St Martins going up there with nothing to lose really, a team full of young lads with mix of experience in the right places they have every chance of beating Cuala."
If Rory O Connor is out though, he'll be a huge loss to the Martins. They do have a lot of quality, but Rory brings that X factor to the team.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 13/11/2017 22:20:03    2062175

Replying To james2011:  "If Rory O Connor is out though, he'll be a huge loss to the Martins. They do have a lot of quality, but Rory brings that X factor to the team."
I think Rory will play I dont believe anything from the local paper anymore. St Martins to win on Sunday by 3-5 points.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 15/11/2017 15:52:45    2062491

St.Martins remind me of Cuala in the 2015 leinster championship when they got beaten by Oulart. At that stage Cuala were a bit young and not as developed as they are now.
I think it's a year too early for the martins. Unfortunately, I reckon it's Cuala by a point or two.

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 315 - 15/11/2017 18:12:34    2062539

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Too many Wexford teams have neglected the opportunity to put in a serious effort into the Leinster championships whether it be football or hurling.
Fethard certainly didn't seem happy with just winning the county championship and are now one game away from Croke Park. The buzz that it will generate in their club will be phenomenal and fair play to them. A Leinster junior championship is a fine achievement and they will now be starting back training in January preparing for intermediate hurling and also an All Ireland semi-final
Fine win from Kilanerin also today to get to the intermediate football final, any victories at provincial level are great. Well done to both teams and lets hope Starlights can follow suit tomorrow."
I think you will find that St.Mogues have to fulfill a fixture in Ruislip in the quarter final on Nov 25th before preparing for the semi final!

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 65 - 17/11/2017 18:08:52    2062911

Have to play brother pearses next....

edshamrocks (Wexford) - Posts: 385 - 18/11/2017 13:17:28    2062956

best of luck to the martins hopefully they can get the result wont be easy though

purple2 (Wexford) - Posts: 15 - 19/11/2017 13:53:04    2062998