Club Championships 2017

perfect10 - some man to dissect just about every post that borders on someone having their own individual opinion.

jpb (Wexford) - Posts: 132 - 25/10/2017 22:58:06    2058021

Replying To luvgaa:  "Watershed week for Wexford hurling, St Martin's new kids on the block bursting with youth and talent. Oulart the old gunslingers fading back to the pack after a glorious era. Buffers Alley launching a book about history, wrong priorities"
What are you going on about ?
The book is an Autobiography of one of the finest hurlers ever to ply for wexford , he has
Won every honour on the game.

It will be a long time
Unfortunately that another Wexford man can
Say the same.

Camanmad (Wexford) - Posts: 6 - 26/10/2017 01:46:10    2058043

As far as I have heard 17 year olds will be allowed play U20? It would be stupid not to let them as most teams cant field u21 with the way things are. They have said that they are hoping each team will be guaranteed at least 5 games so you would have to assume that there will be groups and a knockout with probably 2 grades as it is now. Also thwy had said that either football or hurling run off early in the year and then the if its football or hurling left in July, August.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 26/10/2017 08:40:42    2058057

Replying To Teddy5:  "Very disappointed it came in, speaking from a parents point of view, my 15 year old son was a sub on a under 16 team this year, and I always said to him next year is your strong year how wrong I was, so another year on the bench, loads more like him, my son will give up hurling I say, no games in two years how could you blame him,"
All I can say to that is to tell your son to have the sliothar, hurl and football out against the wall for 15 minutes every evening when he comes home from school then he will make up the lacking skill.
Also agree that if a club is not giving under 15's a run on their under 16 team it is obviously a win at all cost club and ultimately they will be the ones who will be lacking.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 26/10/2017 09:15:41    2058063

Replying To hurler101:  "I think its fine up until u20. Huge problems will come about if they insist on only taking players that are 18, 19 and 20 at this grade. Look how many clubs amalgimate at u21 level. That takes in 17-21 year olds! Where will the players come from. Secondly, when will the run this u20?? Along the timeline of u21?

A lot of unknowns at this grade for me and thats never good. The entire thing seems rushed for some reason, id just like to have gotten more details on the running of it.

The other grades, i see no issue bar a few lads loosing out here and there but that always happens with change."
Under 20 is in at intercounty level in football already and its only a matter of time before this follows with hurling so it makes perfect sense in my opinion.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 26/10/2017 09:16:45    2058064

From my take of the County Board meeting last Tuesday under 17 year olds cannot play the new U.20 competition .
If this was allowed happen then the move from U.18 to U.17 would look very silly as the fixture problems caused by the crossover of players from underage to adult was the single biggest reason for all the year changes.

PolPeist (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 26/10/2017 14:14:48    2058185

Replying To perfect10:  "what is this about a book that buffers alley launched?i thought it was an individual who has gave his life to club and county and has a lot to be proud of.
tell us what you have done in the games,or are doing?"
St Martin's and Oulart s great players put a huge amount of work into their underage players not quiz time and books. Cant say the same about the Alley legends other that shouting abuse on match days. Mick Jacob a sing example of a truly club man

luvgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 26/10/2017 18:38:19    2058309

Replying To luvgaa:  "St Martin's and Oulart s great players put a huge amount of work into their underage players not quiz time and books. Cant say the same about the Alley legends other that shouting abuse on match days. Mick Jacob a sing example of a truly club man"
If you'd been on the receiving end of some of the horrendous refereeing that the alley have in the last few years you'd be furious too.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 26/10/2017 20:07:37    2058351

Replying To 890202:  "If you'd been on the receiving end of some of the horrendous refereeing that the alley have in the last few years you'd be furious too."
Poor excuse for deplorable behaviour, some would say because of it the Alley could not buy a decesion from most refs.

luvgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 26/10/2017 20:34:35    2058363

Reminds me, was at an under 12 game a few years ago when another 'Alley legend' was shouting over to one of their players -

"That's it, ya have him where you want him, he's no good, you're better than him"

The chap he was referring to was my own young lad... who was probably 10 at the time. If he didn't look old enough to be my great grandfather I'd have split him in two.

jpb (Wexford) - Posts: 132 - 26/10/2017 21:06:09    2058373

Replying To PolPeist:  "From my take of the County Board meeting last Tuesday under 17 year olds cannot play the new U.20 competition .
If this was allowed happen then the move from U.18 to U.17 would look very silly as the fixture problems caused by the crossover of players from underage to adult was the single biggest reason for all the year changes."
Yes I think you are correct which is absurd. Most teams struggle to have players at U21 level where you have 17, 18, 19 20, and 21 year olds, how are you supposed to have players for U20 with now just 3 ages to choose from????? I am for all the other changes but this age has to include 17 year olds aswell, I know in our club we definitely wont have a team and you will see amalgamations all over the place at this grade!! Only the big clubs will be able to field teams and the smaller clubs get left behind again!

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 27/10/2017 09:24:52    2058476

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Yes I think you are correct which is absurd. Most teams struggle to have players at U21 level where you have 17, 18, 19 20, and 21 year olds, how are you supposed to have players for U20 with now just 3 ages to choose from????? I am for all the other changes but this age has to include 17 year olds aswell, I know in our club we definitely wont have a team and you will see amalgamations all over the place at this grade!! Only the big clubs will be able to field teams and the smaller clubs get left behind again!"
17 year old not playing adult competitions means the under 17 championship could be finished in fine weather, it could be the curtain raiser for senior finals like years ago.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 27/10/2017 10:23:21    2058494

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "17 year old not playing adult competitions means the under 17 championship could be finished in fine weather, it could be the curtain raiser for senior finals like years ago."
Yes agreed but still dosent solve the problem of teams not going to be able to field a 15 players for the U20, I think this should of at least been kept to U21 and then you would have a choice of u18, u19, u20, and u21.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 27/10/2017 11:43:02    2058524

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Yes agreed but still dosent solve the problem of teams not going to be able to field a 15 players for the U20, I think this should of at least been kept to U21 and then you would have a choice of u18, u19, u20, and u21."
I reckon it will be kept at under 21, and anyone here who agrees with that needs to persuade their co.board rep to vote for the under 21 option rather than under 20

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 27/10/2017 11:54:47    2058529

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "17 year old not playing adult competitions means the under 17 championship could be finished in fine weather, it could be the curtain raiser for senior finals like years ago."
It would still make no difference. Plenty of underage teams are still in (or just finished) shields they couldnt care less about that were not held up by adult games! Only minor is held up by adult. All the rest are free to go. The only case i can think of this year is the premier minor grades!

hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 27/10/2017 17:50:13    2058652

Was in Wexford park yesterday. Intermediate semi final replay was an absolute cracker of a game, one of the most exciting I've seen for years. Ballymurn were 11 points clear at one point in the second half but monageer scored 1-08 without reply to bring the game to extra time, then in extra time monageer went 5 points up and were still 2 points up until Ballymurn scored a goal from a last minute 20 metre free to see them win by a point. The free itself was a dubious call in my opinion but overall the referee had a decent game.

Football then, the Starlights just totally dominated the Martins from the second the ball was thrown in. Only for a bad mistake which led to the goal Starlights could have been home and dry by half time. They kicked some lovely scores from Darragh Pepper, Alan Tobin and Rory O Connor taking some wonderful scores. A well balanced team who try to play an enjoyable brand of football to look at. Considering they were in the relegation final this year it just goes to show what a little application and confidence can do for a team.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 30/10/2017 09:51:15    2059067

Replying To 890202:  "Was in Wexford park yesterday. Intermediate semi final replay was an absolute cracker of a game, one of the most exciting I've seen for years. Ballymurn were 11 points clear at one point in the second half but monageer scored 1-08 without reply to bring the game to extra time, then in extra time monageer went 5 points up and were still 2 points up until Ballymurn scored a goal from a last minute 20 metre free to see them win by a point. The free itself was a dubious call in my opinion but overall the referee had a decent game.

Football then, the Starlights just totally dominated the Martins from the second the ball was thrown in. Only for a bad mistake which led to the goal Starlights could have been home and dry by half time. They kicked some lovely scores from Darragh Pepper, Alan Tobin and Rory O Connor taking some wonderful scores. A well balanced team who try to play an enjoyable brand of football to look at. Considering they were in the relegation final this year it just goes to show what a little application and confidence can do for a team."
I have been off the grid for the last week and so had no pre-game county final opinions, but onr thing I will say is that I have been stating my belief for a while now that St.Martin's backs are vulnerable. And it certainly rang true on Sunday. They don't like been run at and if Daithi in particular isn't cleaning up the middle third, they struggle.

Fair play to Starlights though. They got their game-plan spot on and flooded bodies at Martins from the first whistle. A hugely impressive victory and arguably one of the best championship winning runs of all time considering they dispatched of the top two in the market in the semi final and final, and comfortably beat a St.James side that have a recent reputation of peaking in September.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1424 - 30/10/2017 23:24:00    2059191

Replying To 890202:  "Was in Wexford park yesterday. Intermediate semi final replay was an absolute cracker of a game, one of the most exciting I've seen for years. Ballymurn were 11 points clear at one point in the second half but monageer scored 1-08 without reply to bring the game to extra time, then in extra time monageer went 5 points up and were still 2 points up until Ballymurn scored a goal from a last minute 20 metre free to see them win by a point. The free itself was a dubious call in my opinion but overall the referee had a decent game.

Football then, the Starlights just totally dominated the Martins from the second the ball was thrown in. Only for a bad mistake which led to the goal Starlights could have been home and dry by half time. They kicked some lovely scores from Darragh Pepper, Alan Tobin and Rory O Connor taking some wonderful scores. A well balanced team who try to play an enjoyable brand of football to look at. Considering they were in the relegation final this year it just goes to show what a little application and confidence can do for a team."
+1

Two very enjoyable games, the Intermediate semi was an absolute cracker... one of the best club games I've watched in a while.

However, why did the referee have Monageer re-take the free that would have won them the game? Having put the first effort over the bar (was a tricky one), the ref then made them re-take it and they missed the 2nd attempt. Shortly after the ref blew it up and the game went to extra time. Felt really sorry for Monageer, they did not deserve to lose that game.

jpb (Wexford) - Posts: 132 - 31/10/2017 10:24:59    2059230

The sun came down on the Wexford senior football championship 2017 on Sunday evening last and yet again there were surprise winners to the championship. A team who were struggling in 2015 and 2016 were taken over by a very good man in Joe Hagan and with the help of locals like Purt Doyle he fashioned them into a serious football team who knew their game plan and had every other team figured out.
Plain and simple unless you put the ball dead any turnover inside their 45 meant they broke forward at speed into the space left in the forwards. Very hard to play against and in my opinion St Martins were tactically kicked up a stick. St Martins were forced to shoot under pressure time and time again and the wides count grew rapidly for them, without a moment of brilliance from Ciaran Lyng in the first half the game would have been put to bed at half time.
I must add that some of the St Martins players did look tired but ultimately when a team is playing with such spirit and organisation its like chasing shadows, if St Martin's had started well I have no doubt tiredness would not have been an issue.
Hopefully a few of the Starlights boys give the county team a good shout and heres hoping they go out and give a good account of themselves in the Leinster championship. Its 13 years since a Wexford team won a game in the Leinster championship and that team was Starlights with a replay win over Rathvilly in Dr Cullen Park.
Praise to Rapparees Starlights they have put in huge work at underage and the fruits are beginning to flourish.
Who will win the 2018 Wexford Senior Football Championship? Its like the grand national anyone from 12 teams could win it.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 31/10/2017 12:39:13    2059267

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "The sun came down on the Wexford senior football championship 2017 on Sunday evening last and yet again there were surprise winners to the championship. A team who were struggling in 2015 and 2016 were taken over by a very good man in Joe Hagan and with the help of locals like Purt Doyle he fashioned them into a serious football team who knew their game plan and had every other team figured out.
Plain and simple unless you put the ball dead any turnover inside their 45 meant they broke forward at speed into the space left in the forwards. Very hard to play against and in my opinion St Martins were tactically kicked up a stick. St Martins were forced to shoot under pressure time and time again and the wides count grew rapidly for them, without a moment of brilliance from Ciaran Lyng in the first half the game would have been put to bed at half time.
I must add that some of the St Martins players did look tired but ultimately when a team is playing with such spirit and organisation its like chasing shadows, if St Martin's had started well I have no doubt tiredness would not have been an issue.
Hopefully a few of the Starlights boys give the county team a good shout and heres hoping they go out and give a good account of themselves in the Leinster championship. Its 13 years since a Wexford team won a game in the Leinster championship and that team was Starlights with a replay win over Rathvilly in Dr Cullen Park.
Praise to Rapparees Starlights they have put in huge work at underage and the fruits are beginning to flourish.
Who will win the 2018 Wexford Senior Football Championship? Its like the grand national anyone from 12 teams could win it."
And to think that Joe Hagen wasn't even approached by the football management selection committee to see if he was interested in the senior football job. Surely there is question marks over the committee because of this.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 31/10/2017 14:59:15    2059308