Club Championships 2017

Replying To mrfox:  "Except that county players in other counties have not done what happened in our county last wend"
That is 100% untrue. This has happened in Tipp, Clare and Galway before. But that doesn't suit your agenda, does it? Get over it.

Anyway, something I really care about. Weekends predictions!

Oylegate vs Cloughbawn: Oylegate have made senior hurling look easy, a semi final at least must be their target. Oylegate to win.
Glynn vs Shelmaliers: Shels to win by 3.
Buffers Alley-Rathnure: How both their stock as fallen, both now also-rans. Rathnure are coming again, young team, will win by 3.
Rapparees-Oulart: Oulart to win.
Ferns-Harriers: They might meet again in the relegation final the way things are looking. Harriers to win.
St.Martin's- Naomh Eanna: Martins at a canter.

I hope these predictions do better than my last try did!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/08/2017 17:02:16    2037256

Replying To Pinkie:  "That is 100% untrue. This has happened in Tipp, Clare and Galway before. But that doesn't suit your agenda, does it? Get over it.

Oylegate vs Cloughbawn: Oylegate have made senior hurling look easy, a semi final at least must be their target. Oylegate to win.
Buffers Alley-Rathnure: How both their stock as fallen, both now also-rans. Rathnure are coming again, young team, will win by 3.
Ferns-Harriers: They might meet again in the relegation final the way things are looking. Harriers to win.

I hope these predictions do better than my last try did!"
It is not completely untrue

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 24/08/2017 17:36:05    2037271

Replying To Pinkie:  "That is 100% untrue. This has happened in Tipp, Clare and Galway before. But that doesn't suit your agenda, does it? Get over it.

I hope these predictions do better than my last try did!"
I think these will win:
Oylegate
Shels
Rathnure
Oulart
Ferns
St Martin's

However I believe the Rapps will put it up to oulart and should be closer than expected by many. I also believe ferns and the harriers will be a very tight game.
Pinkie - Ferns and the Harriers can't meet in the relegation final, its the bottom team in each group who go into relegation.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 24/08/2017 18:04:49    2037281

Replying To mrfox:  "It is not completely untrue"
so,basically what you are telling us is FAKE news????
if it is not completely untrue,you are saying it is not the truth,right?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 25/08/2017 09:13:07    2037414

Oylegate vs Cloughbawn: oylegate
Buffers Alley-Rathnure: alley.
Rapparees-Oulart: oulart.
Ferns-Harriers: harriers.
St.Martin's- Naomh Eanna: martins

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 25/08/2017 09:14:28    2037416

Replying To 890202:  "I think these will win:
Oylegate
Shels
Rathnure
Oulart
Ferns
St Martin's

However I believe the Rapps will put it up to oulart and should be closer than expected by many. I also believe ferns and the harriers will be a very tight game.
Pinkie - Ferns and the Harriers can't meet in the relegation final, its the bottom team in each group who go into relegation."
Oh I completely forgot it wasn't the bottom 2. Win this weekend vital for both teams.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/08/2017 09:46:24    2037428

Replying To perfect10:  "so,basically what you are telling us is FAKE news????
if it is not completely untrue,you are saying it is not the truth,right?"
It happened. Get over it and move on

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 25/08/2017 10:23:14    2037442

Lads, the continued debate regarding lads going on holidays is getting beyond tedious at this stage. Surely its time to agree to disagree and get back to predictions and match reports. Thanks

jpb (Wexford) - Posts: 132 - 25/08/2017 10:54:24    2037455

Replying To jpb:  "Lads, the continued debate regarding lads going on holidays is getting beyond tedious at this stage. Surely its time to agree to disagree and get back to predictions and match reports. Thanks"
Yeah lets move on they let their clubs down end of story

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 25/08/2017 11:35:04    2037472

Replying To mrfox:  "It happened. Get over it and move on"
To be fair to him, I think it is you who needs to get over it and move on.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/08/2017 11:51:34    2037488

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Yeah lets move on they let their clubs down end of story"
or,in some peoples opinion,the gaa and the lack of a co ordinated fixture list,let them down.
anyway move on.agree to differ.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 25/08/2017 12:48:04    2037528

Replying To perfect10:  "or,in some peoples opinion,the gaa and the lack of a co ordinated fixture list,let them down.
anyway move on.agree to differ."
A free week after the Waterford quarter final defeat should have been made available for them to go on the lash in Ibiza then everyone would have had a clear run at the club championships. Either that or the players could have organised a week away after the club championship was over.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 25/08/2017 12:54:22    2037532

Replying To Pinkie:  "To be fair to him, I think it is you who needs to get over it and move on."
I know it happened and have moved on. Thanks for the advice.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 25/08/2017 13:36:15    2037557

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "A free week after the Waterford quarter final defeat should have been made available for them to go on the lash in Ibiza then everyone would have had a clear run at the club championships. Either that or the players could have organised a week away after the club championship was over."
maybe that week didnt suit them......if they had a holiday booked for that week,there would have been ww3 on here!!!!!!
can somebody offer opinions on the matches over the weekend while the lads who have forgotten what is was like to be young get over the chips on their shoulders and anti-hurling agenda?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 25/08/2017 14:46:55    2037604

Replying To mrfox:  "I know it happened and have moved on. Thanks for the advice."
if you know it happened,in spite of the inconsistencies in your story,then that is grand.good to hear you have moved on.
enjoy your weekend,i am sure they are having a great time on holidays and couldnt care less what mrfox thinks!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 25/08/2017 14:48:08    2037606

Replying To perfect10:  "maybe that week didnt suit them......if they had a holiday booked for that week,there would have been ww3 on here!!!!!!
can somebody offer opinions on the matches over the weekend while the lads who have forgotten what is was like to be young get over the chips on their shoulders and anti-hurling agenda?"
why do you persist in calling this an anti hurling agenda? you go on like you are some model dual supporter, but yet you are always on trying to cause issues about people being anti hurling when hurling has absolutely nothing to do with the discussion.

james2011 (Wexford) - Posts: 602 - 25/08/2017 14:56:52    2037614

Intermediate
Adamstown v Cushinstown - neither team going that well, both need to win this one. Adamstown just.
Shamrocks v Ballymurn - both will qualify I think shamrocks might be stronger but I've heard Paudi Foley is back for ballymurn. Shamrocks
Monageer v Blackwater - again I reckon another close game, but monageer are in better form so I'll go with them.
St James v St Anne's - I can't understand why st James are performing so poorly. They have great potential If they get it together but I reckon st annes
Craanford v Ballygarret - again this is a toss of a coin. Ballygarret just better for me
Askamore v Bunclody - Surprised that St Anne's beat Bunclody and I expect Bunclody to bounce back here.

Intermediate hurling is great with so many close games which could go either way. No standout team this year and it looks like it is shaping up to be a cracking championship.

I'll go through the intermediate A too just to have more of a focus on matches rather than holidays
St Pats v Rathnure - surprised that our lady's island beat st pats in the previous round. I'll go with rathnure
Duffry v Oulart - Again I was very surprised to see oulart losing to Marshalstown but they have lost some senior players. Duffry
Marshalstown v OLI - hard to call, I'll go with OLI

Liam mellows v shels - Shels in a tight game
Taghmon v fethard - both teams capable on their day of winning this grade. Fethard for me
Tara Rocks v Geraldine's - Tara rocks should be stronger all round.

Anyone for junior?
Alley v Bannow - Alley top of the group but bannow had a good win the last day. I'll go with a hesitant vote for bannow because the alley have lost a few and bannow are in form
Monageer v Horeswood - Poor start from Horeswood and a good start from monageer. However Horeswood have improved and monageer have lost a few so I'll go with Horeswood.
Tara rocks v Ferns - ferns for me. I think Tara rock amalgamation means this second team is probably a grade too high.
Davidstown v clongeen - davidstown were going terrible until they managed to get a win in both football and hurling so I'll give them the nod.
Rapps v Gusserane - Gusserane unbeaten and look on course to make the county final for the second year in a row so I'll go with them.
Rosslare v Harriers - Harriers aren't wonderful and I'd expect rosslare to be good enough to win.

And just for good measure I think rathnure, kilmore, Glynn and st martins to win the Junior A quarter finals and the duffry to win the relegation final in the same grade.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 25/08/2017 16:03:52    2037640

I am going to predict my finalists and champions in each grade and see how it goes.
senior:martins and oulart,martins winning.
senior relegation:ferns and clougbhan,ferns to be relegated.
intermediate:annes and ballymurn,annes winning
intermediate relegation:cushinstown and cranford,cushinstown to be relegated.
intermediate a:duffry and fethard,duffry to win.
intermediat a relegation:OLI and liam mellows,ladys island to be relegated.

will do football forecast on a football weekend

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 25/08/2017 17:12:49    2037664

Replying To perfect10:  "if you know it happened,in spite of the inconsistencies in your story,then that is grand.good to hear you have moved on.
enjoy your weekend,i am sure they are having a great time on holidays and couldnt care less what mrfox thinks!"
There back from there holiday since last Sunday in case you didn't know

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 26/08/2017 02:35:44    2037826

Was in Bellefield for two awful games. Cloughbawn are only a shadow of the team they were last year yet they led by 2 with 15 mins to go but oylegate have been finishing their games very strongly and scored 1-05 without reply. Strong performers were mick heffernan, Shane reck, Marty Kelly and Seamus Casey.
Second game was a strange one. Glynn very rarely show any fight and heart but when they do they are one of the best teams in the county and they showed it for about 10 minutes today and it was enough to edge past a poor performance by the shels. Refereeing could have been better in both games. Shels goalkeeper pulled straight across the Glynn goalscorer when he was running out. Umpires and linesman saw it yet only a yellow was given. Madness.

Other senior results were unsurprising but I wasn't at the games so I can't comment much more other than to say I've been impressed with rathnure so far and I think the rapps have improved a lot from the first two rounds. Harriers and ferns is a vital game tomorrow, a loss for ferns could see them in the relegation final, while a loss for the harriers could see the rapps in the relegation final, most probably against Cloughbawn who were poor enough again today.

Intermediate- monageer continue their unbeatem run with another closely fought victory while a second loss for the shamrocks means that the winner between shamrocks and blackwater in the last game will most probably qualify. Adamstown have condemned Cushinstown to the relegation final in this grade.

In the other group a big win for st James over st Anne's, I did say that if they get it all together they can beat anyone and the must have got it together today.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 26/08/2017 23:33:34    2038385