Should Galway GAA be split into 4

Replying To seanie_boy:  "You've too much time on your hands."
Well too much time for sure a total waste of time if a forum.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 16/06/2017 12:02:23    2000281

Replying To The_DOC:  "Hi All,

Just wondering what the thoughts are on splitting Galway in 4 to make it a level playing field for other counties? Galway's sheer dominance of both code over the last few months have left the majority of the country annoyed at the glaring disparigy when it comes to Galway V's the rest of Ireland. Many reports suggest that the sunny weather and allure of the Spanish Arch has drawn an population increase to the county.

Should the GAA HQ and Connacht Council look to divide the counties bubbling line of talent to ensure a level playing field for other counties by:

Football (Galway are now Connacht Seniors football champs, won the FBD 2 years in a row, U.21 champs and minor league champs):
- Divide the footballers into 2 and have maybe an over 25s and under 25s play as separate teams in the championship?
- Another alternative would maybe be 'townies' and country lads play as separate teams in the championship?

Hurling (Galway now in the league final after just having a laugh and a bit of craic in 1b for the last few months)
- Divide Galway teams into two maybe based on lads who hurl with even inch hurls (i.e 32, 34's) and lads who hurl with odd numbers (31's, 33.s etc.)
- Of course another suggestion is also that two Galway teams could be made up of lads with farms and lads who work in cusshy office/teaching jobs"
I'm cringing for you.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 16/06/2017 12:05:50    2000286

Yawn...this type thread has been done so many times before.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 16/06/2017 12:15:25    2000293

Haha I like threads like this. The funny thing is the Galway hurlers will find a way to mess up just as expectation reach a crescendo. So no All Ireland there. The footballers haven't a hope of winning the All Ireland. They are way off the standard.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 16/06/2017 14:04:24    2000350

Love it ! Lads it's a bit of banter seeing as there are always calls to split Dublin in 2 !

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 16/06/2017 15:04:38    2000383

This is more relevant now than ever, really though it would have been highlighted on the Sunday Game last night

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 03/07/2017 21:19:02    2009974

doc you must be some kinda visionary
by sunday evening we could be Connacht champions
at senior under 21 minor and under 17 for 2017

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 04/07/2017 09:07:28    2010141

Replying To rhudson:  "doc you must be some kinda visionary
by sunday evening we could be Connacht champions
at senior under 21 minor and under 17 for 2017"
and the ladies beat Mayo on Sunday..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 04/07/2017 12:15:45    2010324

I love thee way some Galway fans are counting provincial titles as a big thing these days (inc a Connacht Ladies title). Funny when Mayo were winning Connacht every year we were told it was no big deal.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/07/2017 13:23:28    2010379

Replying To yew_tree:  "I love thee way some Galway fans are counting provincial titles as a big thing these days (inc a Connacht Ladies title). Funny when Mayo were winning Connacht every year we were told it was no big deal."
The difference is when ye were winning Connacht we and everyone else were at our lowest ebb in decades... Even London got a final then..
Now, we beat a "top" team twice in the last two years..Anyways you are taking bait big time.. Look at the thread heading for Gods sake..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 04/07/2017 13:45:31    2010406

Replying To yew_tree:  "I love thee way some Galway fans are counting provincial titles as a big thing these days (inc a Connacht Ladies title). Funny when Mayo were winning Connacht every year we were told it was no big deal."
Looking from the history of the last 50 odd years maybe Mayo folk should take more joy from a provincial title. You know parades, speeches, drinking and enjoying the moment. That's as much enjoyment as your season will entail.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 597 - 04/07/2017 14:00:02    2010422

Replying To Belclare1:  "The difference is when ye were winning Connacht we and everyone else were at our lowest ebb in decades... Even London got a final then..
Now, we beat a "top" team twice in the last two years..Anyways you are taking bait big time.. Look at the thread heading for Gods sake.."
Are Mayo a top team though? Plenty of your county men don't seem to think so. Sure we only have the 3rd or 4th best set of forwards in Connacht according to most.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/07/2017 14:19:00    2010438

Replying To The_DOC:  "Hi All,

Just wondering what the thoughts are on splitting Galway in 4 to make it a level playing field for other counties? Galway's sheer dominance of both code over the last few months have left the majority of the country annoyed at the glaring disparigy when it comes to Galway V's the rest of Ireland. Many reports suggest that the sunny weather and allure of the Spanish Arch has drawn an population increase to the county.

Should the GAA HQ and Connacht Council look to divide the counties bubbling line of talent to ensure a level playing field for other counties by:

Football (Galway are now Connacht Seniors football champs, won the FBD 2 years in a row, U.21 champs and minor league champs):
- Divide the footballers into 2 and have maybe an over 25s and under 25s play as separate teams in the championship?
- Another alternative would maybe be 'townies' and country lads play as separate teams in the championship?

Hurling (Galway now in the league final after just having a laugh and a bit of craic in 1b for the last few months)
- Divide Galway teams into two maybe based on lads who hurl with even inch hurls (i.e 32, 34's) and lads who hurl with odd numbers (31's, 33.s etc.)
- Of course another suggestion is also that two Galway teams could be made up of lads with farms and lads who work in cusshy office/teaching jobs"
It might help to resolve the internal bickering between the various football and hurling factions.

Pookie_Monster (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 04/07/2017 14:37:40    2010455

Replying To yew_tree:  "Are Mayo a top team though? Plenty of your county men don't seem to think so. Sure we only have the 3rd or 4th best set of forwards in Connacht according to most."
4th...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 04/07/2017 15:10:46    2010480

Replying To Belclare1:  "4th..."
See...my god how did we dominate Connacht for 5 years. Galway and Roscommon should be ashamed of themselves for us run riot. The current Mayo team were never rated by Galway people.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/07/2017 18:59:59    2010642

Divided, it's been divided for years with real bitter hatred in football & hurling & between the two. There have been three nasty incidents this year alone in one code & there are two big controversies bubbling that are been swept under the carpet, if many of the big controversies of the last few years ever came out there would be a lot of red faces. The bitterness & division has held back Galway for decades as the talent produced at underage year on year is unbelievable but politics is rife. Galway Gaa is & has been used as a launching pad for one particular political party who dominate board level. Divide it, it's been well done over the years.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 04/07/2017 20:59:48    2010696

Replying To The_DOC:  "The flow of time is an illusion, the the past, present and future are equally real, and therefore time is tenseless"
I was thinking you'd say that after I spoke with you tomorrow.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/07/2017 23:21:58    2010782

Replying To The_DOC:  "The flow of time is an illusion, the the past, present and future are equally real, and therefore time is tenseless"
I was thinking you'd say something like that after I'd spoken with you tomorrow.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/07/2017 23:22:59    2010784

Replying To yew_tree:  "See...my god how did we dominate Connacht for 5 years. Galway and Roscommon should be ashamed of themselves for us run riot. The current Mayo team were never rated by Galway people."
For what it's worth Yew, I for one love watching the Mayo forwards. Especially after that last game in Salthill.

(Sorry bud, couldn't resist!)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/07/2017 23:28:36    2010787

Replying To FrDougalMaguire:  "Love it ! Lads it's a bit of banter seeing as there are always calls to split Dublin in 2 !"
That's all it is...a bit of banter - some people take themselves too seriously on this!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 05/07/2017 12:31:44    2010932