Venues for hurling

Replying To bloodyban:  "He's just stating a fact Breffni. Limerick love sports. Unfortunately Gaelic just never caught on and theres very little room for it to develop. If your a powerhouse you play rugby..if you've got some skills you play football. If youve got some of everything you play hurling. If you can't get a game you play gaelic"
It's just facts Breffni, thats all it is.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 12/04/2017 02:45:47    1978635

Replying To Breffni39:  "Look I get it, you're not willing to do anything to benefit the game elsewhere! It's grand, I've moved on."
good,because it is up to cavan and every other county who has an interest in hurling to get their own house in order,not for us to drive to cavan for a match to suit 50 kids who will tell daddy on the way home they want to play hurling,6 months later the hurl is gathering dust and used for starting the fire.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 12/04/2017 09:03:16    1978678

Ah lads now ye are just ridiculing the man by suggesting that it's easy to play football. And ye are coming across as "hurling snobs". Be fair to footballers. I mean it's very hard to catch a ball and then kick it. It took me over a month to get my 2 year old to be able to do both of those skills so be fair it's a hard sport to master!

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 12/04/2017 09:10:17    1978679

Replying To Killarney.87:  "It's just facts Breffni, thats all it is."
Fair enough, facts that contradict your last post

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 12/04/2017 09:37:21    1978689

I simply do not agree with the logic full stop. Nothing to do with hurling v football, this is a simple logistics issue.
There were maybe 100 people from Wexford in Galway which is a similar drive from my home in South Wexford to Breffini Park.
It is totally unreasonable, unrealistic, to expect people to spend 6 hours in the car for a match on Easter Sunday. It is far enough to go to Kilkenny.
I am all for supporting hurling in these sort of counties, but it is up to individual county boards to come up with a plan for the game, to get clubs playing hurling seriously and to get full time coaches in the counties where there is a demand and a purpose for them.
Playing hurling matches there would have no impact without the clubs taking the game seriously first - Tullamore is probably an hours drive, Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway play there all the time.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 12/04/2017 10:55:58    1978728

Mike
More like if you love alcohol you go and support rugby not play it.
the actual numbers playing rugby in limerick are very low for the amount of promotion it gets in the city, it's a spectators p**s up day out, hence why the publicans are pushing the government for years to get rid of the good Friday alcohol sales ban on them, sure they got a special dispensation a couple years back because munster were playing Leinster I think it was and tourism would suffer was the excuse haha sure

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/04/2017 21:24:02    1978929

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Mike
More like if you love alcohol you go and support rugby not play it.
the actual numbers playing rugby in limerick are very low for the amount of promotion it gets in the city, it's a spectators p**s up day out, hence why the publicans are pushing the government for years to get rid of the good Friday alcohol sales ban on them, sure they got a special dispensation a couple years back because munster were playing Leinster I think it was and tourism would suffer was the excuse haha sure"
Rugby in Limerick is Munster. And thats a brand rather than a team this stage. You have season ticket holders with Munster who haven't set foot inside an AIL ground. A divisional board hurling final in Limerick gets more at it than Shannon get in Coonagh at their games. In the 90s Limerick clubs dominated rugby in the country but then Munster took off and that died. And even at that Munster getting 26,000 for a handful of games a season isn't great when you consider it's the population of the whole province the support base is coming from. I'd expect Limerick to bring that alone to some Munster championship games!

And that's not a moan at rugby supporters. It's just a few facts. I go to Thomond Park myself now and again but at least I admit that I go for a few pints and don't really mind one way or another if Munster win. The casual sports fan in Limerick, city I should say, will support Munster but the majority of hardcore supporters in the county as a whole support the hurlers first with a passing interest in the rugby. And dare I say it a passing interest in the footballers. In fact you could say the 2 support bases are similar. For decades Munster had no following. None. You'd have 200 people at Munster v Leinster until 2000 and then it took off. The last few yrs Munster were going bad and nobody was going to Thomond Park. Our footballers were the same. No following until they got to a few Munster finals but as quick as they got the thousands following them they lost them again. The hurlers even during bad times will attract a crowd to Thurles or wherever come championship. That's the difference between the sports down here.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 12/04/2017 22:04:26    1978944

Replying To Breffni39:  "Fair enough, facts that contradict your last post"
You have an unhealthy bitterness towards Hurling and Hurling counties.

The annual 'lets criticise Kilkenny's lack of interest in football' thread is tiresome at this stage especially when Cavan don't bother entering a team in the national hurling league. Warwickshire have a team and Cavan don't and that is a fact.

Four Munster teams will play in the top two divisions of the national football league in 2018, fact.

One Ulster team will play in the top two divisions of the national Hurling league in 2018, that is a fact. Whereas five Munster teams will be in the top two divisions with Kerry just missing out on a third season in division 1b. Another fact is that sole Ulster team is Antrim. Hence why I'd be more willing to travel to Antrim to watch a hurling game than Cavan.

Antrim is further away from Tipperary than Cavan is, another fact but I'd rather head to the Glens of Antrim. That last bit is personal preference.

Are you happy now? You turned what was a good suggestion by Brian into another manufactured notion that all hurling fans or snobs.

I would love to see Hurling played in Cavan but I also respect the fact that there is no interest in the game in your county. Perhaps you should be more tolerable of Kilkenny's lack of interest in Gaelic Football.

Hurling is Kilkenny's passion, it's who they are, what they do and what they are renowned for. They shouldn't have to apologise to anyone for being passionate about hurling.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 13/04/2017 03:24:36    1978979

Replying To mike03:  "I never said that. Bar Kerry and a pocket of Cork nobody has any interest in football down here. Where did I say otherwise ?"
Ah come on Mike. Tipp won a minor All Ireland in foootball, were narrowly beaten in an U21 final and played in an All Irealnd Semi Final. Only once in the last forty seven years have Cavan appeared in a semi final and when did they win a minor final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 13/04/2017 03:32:01    1978980

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Ah come on Mike. Tipp won a minor All Ireland in foootball, were narrowly beaten in an U21 final and played in an All Irealnd Semi Final. Only once in the last forty seven years have Cavan appeared in a semi final and when did they win a minor final."
All true but we went down the same route in the 00s getting to munster minor finals and 21 all ireland final. In the long run the interest wasn't there to keep it up. Tipp will be the same. There was more from Tipp at the minor hurling first round last week than in Croke Park for a senior football league final. That's says it all to me.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 13/04/2017 12:21:54    1979045

I can see the logic of asking hurling teams to play in Clones or Breffni. It would generate some headlines for local and national media outlets. It would be a fillip for those promoting hurling in those counties. It would be a different venue for supporters to travel to. It would also be a different venue for the players. All those are valid positive ideas, no doubt about that.

I ma unsure about the value of holding high profile games for counties where there is little tradition of a sport and little real work being done at local level. The promotion of our games in general is ongoing and all things need to be seriously looked at. I do think that it would work if there was a lot of work done at local level first to encourage much greater active participation first and then you could make the point of having these high profile games as a reward. Access to players before and after these games would be crucial in helping promote the games themselves.
It would not be enough to just put the game in to Clones and leave it at that. A lot more effort and work would need to be done beforehand- and afterwards as well.
If we are serious about promoting our games then we need to be serious about putting in the real work beforehand and following it up later.
Carlow was the venue for many minor, and senior hurling championship games in the past as it was seen as a good neutral venue especially for Wexford and Kilkenny.
However these counties as well as others now have home and away arrangements and so, Carlow does not host such games any more. When these games were in Carlow did it increase the number of locals attending? - I believe that it made absolutely no difference what so ever to the attendance at all. Many from Wexford and Kilkenny prefer to have the new system in place.
The venue itself is also very important for the players - all hurling players want to play on a good surface. Newry was not a good playing surface for both Carlow and Antrim lately. That is the bottom line. We will have far better games if the right venue is chosen for our hurling teams in particular. But - Thurles a few years ago for a league final between Kerry and Carlow was not up to the standard. the grass was very very long and the sidelines had not been marked!!!! Yes in the 'home of hurling'. I kid you not!!!!
My point is that venues must be up to standard and the grass must be cut and the players treated with the respect that they deserve - no matter what county they come from.
Croke Park authorities try their best but sometimes it seems that picking a half way venue may not in fact be the best one for the teams.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 13/04/2017 15:15:19    1979119

I think maybe arranging a weekend of challenge games during the gap between league and championship between top sides in places that might not get much promotion might be a better option to test the appetite.
say for example
Tipp v wexford clones
Kilkenny v clare breffni park
Clare v Galway Carrick on Shannon
you could even double the weekend up with a football promotion weekend and play challenge games in places in football which don't see big games as much
Say for example
Dublin v Cork limerick
Kerry v Donegal Ennis
Mayo v Meath Belfast

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/04/2017 16:40:44    1979154

Replying To carlowman:  "I can see the logic of asking hurling teams to play in Clones or Breffni. It would generate some headlines for local and national media outlets. It would be a fillip for those promoting hurling in those counties. It would be a different venue for supporters to travel to. It would also be a different venue for the players. All those are valid positive ideas, no doubt about that.

I ma unsure about the value of holding high profile games for counties where there is little tradition of a sport and little real work being done at local level. The promotion of our games in general is ongoing and all things need to be seriously looked at. I do think that it would work if there was a lot of work done at local level first to encourage much greater active participation first and then you could make the point of having these high profile games as a reward. Access to players before and after these games would be crucial in helping promote the games themselves.
It would not be enough to just put the game in to Clones and leave it at that. A lot more effort and work would need to be done beforehand- and afterwards as well.
If we are serious about promoting our games then we need to be serious about putting in the real work beforehand and following it up later.
Carlow was the venue for many minor, and senior hurling championship games in the past as it was seen as a good neutral venue especially for Wexford and Kilkenny.
However these counties as well as others now have home and away arrangements and so, Carlow does not host such games any more. When these games were in Carlow did it increase the number of locals attending? - I believe that it made absolutely no difference what so ever to the attendance at all. Many from Wexford and Kilkenny prefer to have the new system in place.
The venue itself is also very important for the players - all hurling players want to play on a good surface. Newry was not a good playing surface for both Carlow and Antrim lately. That is the bottom line. We will have far better games if the right venue is chosen for our hurling teams in particular. But - Thurles a few years ago for a league final between Kerry and Carlow was not up to the standard. the grass was very very long and the sidelines had not been marked!!!! Yes in the 'home of hurling'. I kid you not!!!!
My point is that venues must be up to standard and the grass must be cut and the players treated with the respect that they deserve - no matter what county they come from.
Croke Park authorities try their best but sometimes it seems that picking a half way venue may not in fact be the best one for the teams."
You'll be glad to hear that the current grounds staff in Thurles are very good.

Ye don't seem to get much luck with pitches, if Newry a couple of weeks ago is anything to go by.

I think the GAA needs to invest in the improvement of pitch because there were plenty of games cancelled during the spring because of waterlogged pitches.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 13/04/2017 16:46:47    1979157

Replying To mike03:  "Rugby in Limerick is Munster. And thats a brand rather than a team this stage. You have season ticket holders with Munster who haven't set foot inside an AIL ground. A divisional board hurling final in Limerick gets more at it than Shannon get in Coonagh at their games. In the 90s Limerick clubs dominated rugby in the country but then Munster took off and that died. And even at that Munster getting 26,000 for a handful of games a season isn't great when you consider it's the population of the whole province the support base is coming from. I'd expect Limerick to bring that alone to some Munster championship games!

And that's not a moan at rugby supporters. It's just a few facts. I go to Thomond Park myself now and again but at least I admit that I go for a few pints and don't really mind one way or another if Munster win. The casual sports fan in Limerick, city I should say, will support Munster but the majority of hardcore supporters in the county as a whole support the hurlers first with a passing interest in the rugby. And dare I say it a passing interest in the footballers. In fact you could say the 2 support bases are similar. For decades Munster had no following. None. You'd have 200 people at Munster v Leinster until 2000 and then it took off. The last few yrs Munster were going bad and nobody was going to Thomond Park. Our footballers were the same. No following until they got to a few Munster finals but as quick as they got the thousands following them they lost them again. The hurlers even during bad times will attract a crowd to Thurles or wherever come championship. That's the difference between the sports down here."
I'd disagree there. There's about 7 senior AIL rugby clubs in the city and 1 senior hurling team and a few mediocre intermediate teams

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 13/04/2017 20:31:59    1979217

Replying To bloodyban:  "I'd disagree there. There's about 7 senior AIL rugby clubs in the city and 1 senior hurling team and a few mediocre intermediate teams"
The number of rugby clubs is greater but the support base these days is smaller. Between them they wouldn't get 3,000 at home games for most AIL games. You get more at a county junior final than is at a Shannon v Munsters game. Surely if Limerick is the home of rugby the clubs should be packed out on match days. They aren't because to the vast vast majority rugby in Limerick is Munster and only Munster.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 14/04/2017 07:02:41    1979308

Replying To Killarney.87:  "You'll be glad to hear that the current grounds staff in Thurles are very good.

Ye don't seem to get much luck with pitches, if Newry a couple of weeks ago is anything to go by.

I think the GAA needs to invest in the improvement of pitch because there were plenty of games cancelled during the spring because of waterlogged pitches."
Sometimes venues put no effort in depending on who is playing

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 14/04/2017 10:50:39    1979337

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I think maybe arranging a weekend of challenge games during the gap between league and championship between top sides in places that might not get much promotion might be a better option to test the appetite.
say for example
Tipp v wexford clones
Kilkenny v clare breffni park
Clare v Galway Carrick on Shannon
you could even double the weekend up with a football promotion weekend and play challenge games in places in football which don't see big games as much
Say for example
Dublin v Cork limerick
Kerry v Donegal Ennis
Mayo v Meath Belfast"
In fairness to the GAA, Limerick has already held an all ireland semi final replay.

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 14/04/2017 11:11:39    1979346

There are many factors to take into account

1. the pitch -Newry has been criticised, but Inniskeen in Co Monaghan has one of the best pitches in the country - fact
2. venue - Newry is probably half way betwenn the Glens and Carlow
3. facilities - some are shocking, I'm not knocking some venues, but you would be shocked at how small some of the changing facilities are, eg Carlow - but then again Carlow has one of the best warm-up facilities
4. Parking - Cusack Park has no parking facilities - and that's even for the competing teams.......
5. Water -bug-bear - running water, never mind the hot water, i'll not even try to embarrasse some counties with this one.....
6 Eating - alot of venues don't even haVE A ROOM WHERE YOU CAN SIT DOWN AND EAT AFTER A GAME - NOT ALL eat in hotels
7. accessibility to a venue - with match traffic , town/city traffic - Salthill
8. Spectator facilities - some venues are in the dark ages - navan, drogheda etc
9. press - how many have no wifi, only one or no telephone points - its 2017
10. bus/train access - Portlaoise is excell for this - but still a poor venue

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1675 - 14/04/2017 11:28:25    1979350

Replying To 73forever:  "In fairness to the GAA, Limerick has already held an all ireland semi final replay."
Yeah but the vast majority were probably mayo and Kerry supporters who got tickets for it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/04/2017 15:04:32    1979402

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "There are many factors to take into account

1. the pitch -Newry has been criticised, but Inniskeen in Co Monaghan has one of the best pitches in the country - fact
2. venue - Newry is probably half way betwenn the Glens and Carlow
3. facilities - some are shocking, I'm not knocking some venues, but you would be shocked at how small some of the changing facilities are, eg Carlow - but then again Carlow has one of the best warm-up facilities
4. Parking - Cusack Park has no parking facilities - and that's even for the competing teams.......
5. Water -bug-bear - running water, never mind the hot water, i'll not even try to embarrasse some counties with this one.....
6 Eating - alot of venues don't even haVE A ROOM WHERE YOU CAN SIT DOWN AND EAT AFTER A GAME - NOT ALL eat in hotels
7. accessibility to a venue - with match traffic , town/city traffic - Salthill
8. Spectator facilities - some venues are in the dark ages - navan, drogheda etc
9. press - how many have no wifi, only one or no telephone points - its 2017
10. bus/train access - Portlaoise is excell for this - but still a poor venue"
Portlaoise main problem is the traffic in the town because of the little roundabouts they have. Like it has motorway acess, train access, bus access and the town itself has three main entry points back to the m7 and one the tullamore exit, it has clear potential to be a very good 40 thousand ground if the gaa wanted to develop it that way but the town comes to a half with current road problems in the centre being the major factor even with only 10-12 thousand crowds.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/04/2017 15:13:39    1979405