Venues for hurling

Ulster Hurling Final is this weekend

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1675 - 10/04/2017 15:37:32    1978024

I would have no problem going to Cavan or Monaghan for a KK match

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 10/04/2017 15:51:49    1978032

Its a valid point, something ive often thought myself to be honest.

But in reality would many go (im saying this as someone whos married to a girl from that neck of the woods and whos family are heavily involved in the GAA)

I honestly couldnt see many nuetrals going to the games and realistically your just adding extra cost to the fans who will go.

What you could do with kids in the likes of Cavan or Monaghan (and other counties) is hold the games in Croker and offer schools/GAA Clubs up there free tickets to the games for the kids up to a certain age to encourage them that way.

Now maybe that might be deemed unfair on other counties etc who would pay to bring kids but im sure there are other options which could be explored.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 10/04/2017 16:22:32    1978041

Replying To Breffni39:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "What an odd post.

Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:11057 - 07/04/2017 17:03:30

Strange indeed.

Carlow to Newry would be a handy enough trip. Probably equal distance with the supporters coming from the Glens in anyways."
The implication that having to play a game in Newry is some sort of punishment speaks volumes."
I think the post had/has more to do with the Pairc Esler being a particularly heavy pitch for the small ball. Down don't even play their matches there, and we now know why.

In terms of location for that particular match, Mullingar would have been of near equi distance and more importantly would have been a much better pitch, but cest la vie.

In response to MesAmis, Antrim's hurling heartland may be based in the north of that county, but Carlow's equivalent is in the southern end of the county, which definitely made Newry something of a trek. Slightly more irksome having actually topped the division. There's a different criteria again in 1B of course, where Wexford were automatically promoted.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 509 - 10/04/2017 16:27:09    1978044

why not get bus loads of kids down from cavan to nowlan park?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/04/2017 17:26:29    1978071

Replying To perfect10:  "why not get bus loads of kids down from cavan to nowlan park?"
Aye bring the mountain to mohammed

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 10/04/2017 18:20:39    1978080

Hurling Snobs: "Hurling is the best game in the world, how can people not see this?"

Also Hurling Snobs "I'm willing to do almost nothing to promote it, in fact I'd boycott my own county before I'd even consider it"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 10/04/2017 18:26:17    1978082

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "Ulster Hurling Final is this weekend"
Best of luck to Armagh, ye are getting closer to Antrim.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/04/2017 19:19:39    1978107

Good idea Brian. I'd rather go to somewhere like Antrim, Down, Armagh or Derry where they have hurling teams and actually have respect for the game.

Cavan don't have a team and the locals would be too tight to pay 20 euro to see a hurling game anyway.

Tipp went up to Antrim in January for a weekend in remembrance of Fr Alec Reid and it was a great success.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/04/2017 19:23:32    1978110

Replying To Breffni39:  "Hurling Snobs: "Hurling is the best game in the world, how can people not see this?"

Also Hurling Snobs "I'm willing to do almost nothing to promote it, in fact I'd boycott my own county before I'd even consider it""
Breffni, if you don't mind me saying, you seem awfully touchy about the subject of hurling.
Did you have some kind of a bad experience to give you such a negative view of the game and its fans?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 10/04/2017 19:41:52    1978115

Replying To Breffni39:  "Hurling Snobs: "Hurling is the best game in the world, how can people not see this?"

Also Hurling Snobs "I'm willing to do almost nothing to promote it, in fact I'd boycott my own county before I'd even consider it""
That's a bit much. Is it promoting the game to play matches at a venue where they'll get a fraction of the attendance they would otherwise?

A better idea might be to promote the Ulster SHC itself, and have as many teams as possible playing for the main prize (i.e. not have Derry playing in the shield competition).

What do people make of having of playing the Ulster SHC off in April, just after the league ends, and a week before the Ring/Rackard/Meagher cups start? Is there any positive to it? That's a lot of matches in a very short space of time.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 10/04/2017 21:10:30    1978152

Replying To extranjero:  "Breffni, if you don't mind me saying, you seem awfully touchy about the subject of hurling.
Did you have some kind of a bad experience to give you such a negative view of the game and its fans?"
He probably wouldn't recognise a hurl from a shovel

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1910 - 10/04/2017 21:39:33    1978165

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "That's a bit much. Is it promoting the game to play matches at a venue where they'll get a fraction of the attendance they would otherwise?

A better idea might be to promote the Ulster SHC itself, and have as many teams as possible playing for the main prize (i.e. not have Derry playing in the shield competition).

What do people make of having of playing the Ulster SHC off in April, just after the league ends, and a week before the Ring/Rackard/Meagher cups start? Is there any positive to it? That's a lot of matches in a very short space of time."
I think the Ulster hurling championship was delayed by months a couple of years ago. There was a massive gap between the semi finals and final so this is probably what was done to address.

I remember one of Down's best hurling giving out yards about it at the time.

It would be nice to have the Ulster hurling final player in the summer. I guess it goes back to the overall fixture mess at the minute.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/04/2017 22:34:25    1978178

Replying To extranjero:  "Breffni, if you don't mind me saying, you seem awfully touchy about the subject of hurling.
Did you have some kind of a bad experience to give you such a negative view of the game and its fans?"
Yeah listening to hurling snobs on here for 10+ years. It would almost put you off what it is a fantastic game.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 11/04/2017 10:17:01    1978244

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "That's a bit much. Is it promoting the game to play matches at a venue where they'll get a fraction of the attendance they would otherwise?

What do people make of having of playing the Ulster SHC off in April, just after the league ends, and a week before the Ring/Rackard/Meagher cups start? Is there any positive to it? That's a lot of matches in a very short space of time."
I'm talking about specific hurling snobs on here and on this thread. Not hurling fans in general.

Sure a number of hurling fans have said it's a good idea.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 11/04/2017 10:18:20    1978245

Derry are in the Shield -as they got relagated last year.

Owenbeg fo0r USHC final - poor call , should have been Newry

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1675 - 11/04/2017 11:03:04    1978277

Replying To Breffni39:  "Aye bring the mountain to mohammed"
no,it is called keeping games convenient for the genuine supporters.
why should i drive to cavan when the extent of the cavan county boards interest in hurling is probably to barely field 15 for the lory meagher cup?
it is not up to wexford or tipp,this is up to the likes of cavan to get their house in order.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 11/04/2017 11:37:01    1978299

Replying To perfect10:  "no,it is called keeping games convenient for the genuine supporters.
why should i drive to cavan when the extent of the cavan county boards interest in hurling is probably to barely field 15 for the lory meagher cup?
it is not up to wexford or tipp,this is up to the likes of cavan to get their house in order."
Look if you're not willing to do anything to promote Hurling then that's grand. You're as bad as your uninformed view of Cavan Co Board.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 11/04/2017 12:37:25    1978323

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Would it be off any benefit to spreading the hurling gospel to play the national hurling league quarters semis and final at venues such as Brefni park, and Clones rather than always going to Thurles or Nowlan park where hurling is God anyway?"
Aye, and in return show the natives in Kilkenny and Munster the 'spectacle' and 'entertainment' of Ulster football games - you'd be guaranteeing Hurling's popularity amongst the youth there

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 11/04/2017 13:59:58    1978386

Replying To 73forever:  "Aye, and in return show the natives in Kilkenny and Munster the 'spectacle' and 'entertainment' of Ulster football games - you'd be guaranteeing Hurling's popularity amongst the youth there"
aaaand another hurling snob checks into the thread

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 11/04/2017 14:26:29    1978401