Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Replying To football first:  "Strange that he got appointed to do the div 1 league final. Who's in charge of the appointment process??"
Patrick Doherty was the guy defending the decision it said his title is national match officials manager. Couldn't tell you what county he from, I know Sean Walsh the former Kerry and munster chairman was running the refs body or whatever it's called last year but I don't know if he has anything to do with appointment of refs for games.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/04/2017 21:39:32    1977013

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Who's the LINES MEN ???? :-)"
wouldn't worry about them its the umpires your man will bring with him

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 07/04/2017 22:11:30    1977022

Replying To realdub:  "Paddy Neilan is the man in the middle, anyone know anything about him?"
A good ref although some team (maybe Down but not sure) were not too happy with him in a recent League game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/04/2017 23:06:22    1977034

Replying To arock:  "wouldn't worry about them its the umpires your man will bring with him"
Jesus so the Dubs have the money, the home advantage and now nosfeartu going for them!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/04/2017 23:08:17    1977036

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Patrick Doherty was the guy defending the decision it said his title is national match officials manager. Couldn't tell you what county he from, I know Sean Walsh the former Kerry and munster chairman was running the refs body or whatever it's called last year but I don't know if he has anything to do with appointment of refs for games."
Doherty from Westmeath

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 07/04/2017 23:13:20    1977037

Replying To arock:  "wouldn't worry about them its the umpires your man will bring with him"
Ah sure we'll have halkeye in crokepark.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/04/2017 23:51:41    1977045

After reading all the blah on here I do believe it is time that we all step aside and let Dublin 1 play Dublin 2,3 or 4 in the championship, league,O'Byrne Cup, whatever. We are mere fodder to the megacounty.

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 07/04/2017 23:55:35    1977046

I was just thinking we're after losing some serious players in the last 3 years in Kerry, Tomás o'sé Paul Galvin Declan O'Sullivan Marc o'sé Aidan o'mahony gooch cooper , 6 top class players, I really wish This period of transition was over.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/04/2017 04:22:29    1977051

Replying To noelnyc:  "After reading all the blah on here I do believe it is time that we all step aside and let Dublin 1 play Dublin 2,3 or 4 in the championship, league,O'Byrne Cup, whatever. We are mere fodder to the megacounty."
Excellent contribution to the thread well done.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/04/2017 09:39:30    1977073

We just want to play play well lads, stick to our process and be competitive if that takes us to a win is a wait and see at this point.

Kerry coming into this on the back of a really good result and im sure they are encouraged by recent success at club and under age level, i think Kerry have more then a really good chance tomorrow, seem to be playing well.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/04/2017 10:15:33    1977080

Kerry team looks like one set up to stop Dublin getting going, which is probably sensible given all the injuries and absences we have.

We need 2-3 goals to win and looking at the team I don't see it. Very hard to see anything other than a relatively straightforward Dublin victory. That said Dublin have hardly set the world alight during the league so who knows.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 08/04/2017 10:53:04    1977087

Ah superbluedub,(that is a lengthy moniker) try to find the humor in some statements, it seems my utterance upset you, I hope not? I go way back in time regarding the Dublin v Kerry rivalry and have the utmost respect for ye Dubs, believe me. This present Dub team is fine & resilient. Kerry had ye in Tralee in injury time and you never gave up. Besides your strength throughout the panel, it is Dublin's mettle in the closing stages of a match that differs them from the rest. That has been the telling facet in most of the Kerry v Dublin matches since 2011, bar last years league final. Kerry are almost up to ye and as people mention on this site, the underage wins by Kerry of late may produce great players for the future. But Dublin have their own youth crop coming on. I am hoping for an edge of the seat affair tomorrow, I would expect nothing less.

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 08/04/2017 10:58:48    1977091

An easy win for Dublin this weekend,but is this the last year of this fantastic team, here is a profile of the ageing players in their squad by the time the championship roll around in June. A lot of mileage in their legs and a lot to players to lose in one hit.

1 Cluxton 35
2 Fitusimons 28
3 McMahon 30
4 RoC 28 Already left squad
5Daly 30
6 o Sullivan 29
8 Bastick 36
9 MDMA 31
10 Flynn 31
11 McMenamon 30
12 O Gara 31
13 Andrews 29
14 Connolly 30
15 Brogan 33

I knew they have players in their early and mid twenties, but the above is still a lot to lose in one hit.

royce (UK) - Posts: 30 - 08/04/2017 11:16:22    1977094

A few fellow Dubs might want my head for saying this, but the more I think about tomorrow's game, I can't help thinking what a defeat would do for us further down the road for this season. I think it would have a very positive effect on our championship hopes.
And before anyone shouts 'EXCUSES' I think we will win.
No one likes losing, me included, but I know that win lose or draw, I'll have forgotten about it within a fortnight.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/04/2017 20:32:53    1977210

Replying To realdub:  "A few fellow Dubs might want my head for saying this, but the more I think about tomorrow's game, I can't help thinking what a defeat would do for us further down the road for this season. I think it would have a very positive effect on our championship hopes.
And before anyone shouts 'EXCUSES' I think we will win.
No one likes losing, me included, but I know that win lose or draw, I'll have forgotten about it within a fortnight."
I think a Kerry win tomorrow would help Dublin for the championship. They'd have a defeat out of the way and that record would be put to bed. It would also refocus the minds and remove any complacency.

No team has done a three in a row in recent history and you'd have to think Dublin will be vulnerable in the summer. The longer this unbeaten run goes on the bigger a distraction it'll be. I also think they'll win tomorrow but as you say I don't think Gavin would be that put out if they lost.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 08/04/2017 21:01:19    1977223

The smokey blue juggernaut look set for the 3 in-a-row in championship. It'll be another poor reflection of the state the game nationally.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7865 - 08/04/2017 21:27:41    1977231

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I think a Kerry win tomorrow would help Dublin for the championship. They'd have a defeat out of the way and that record would be put to bed. It would also refocus the minds and remove any complacency.

No team has done a three in a row in recent history and you'd have to think Dublin will be vulnerable in the summer. The longer this unbeaten run goes on the bigger a distraction it'll be. I also think they'll win tomorrow but as you say I don't think Gavin would be that put out if they lost."
Gavin doesn't strike me as the kind of manager that would be ok.with losing any match.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 08/04/2017 23:48:07    1977260

Replying To Marse:  "Gavin doesn't strike me as the kind of manager that would be ok.with losing any match."
Fair point. I still think that a narrow defeat would do them no harm with an eye on the championship. They have named a very strong team though so it's unlikely. Fair play to them.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/04/2017 08:35:06    1977271

Replying To legendzxix:  "The smokey blue juggernaut look set for the 3 in-a-row in championship. It'll be another poor reflection of the state the game nationally."
More old cod chat from the usual suspect, simply positioning himself to be able to declare a Kerry win as the most supreme accomplishment by a poor rural county.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 09/04/2017 10:46:16    1977298

Looking forward to this match,
Spicy build up with soundbites by ex players and managers during the week,
Sunday paper's sports pages dealing mainly with reviewing Gooch's greatness with very little previews of today's league final.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 09/04/2017 12:52:49    1977330