Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "There is no 'could argue' about it. The championship is the only competition that matters to most counties. A good example of this is Tyrone last weekend who came to Kerry with a chance of making the final and looked like they couldn't be bothered. Kerry and Mayo have had some really strange results throughout the league due to heavy training and playing experimental and inexperienced teams. The vast majority of teams are using it to try things, find new players and improve their fitness for the summer.

The exception is Dublin who have gone for it full pelt in recent seasons, often playing their championship team right from the start. More power to them, and they seem to value winning it. I actually didn't know how many Kerry had won until somebody mentioned it above and I doubt most Kerry people could tell you, nor do they care. Like I said above I'd like us to beat Dublin on Sunday because it's Dublin. The league trophy is irrelevant.

It has definitely improved as a competition in recent seasons and some of the games can be good. There are a lot of surprise results but the stakes aren't exactly high when most teams are content just to stay up."
"The league trophy is irrelevant"

Terrible to see that only one game a year counts, it's pure snobbery.

It's no wonder why soccer is so big in ireland with such attitudes

Real shame that Kerry got to the final with their fans complete disregard for the competition, there were far more deserving fans that deserved a day in CP.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 08:58:44    1976334

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "There is no 'could argue' about it. The championship is the only competition that matters to most counties. A good example of this is Tyrone last weekend who came to Kerry with a chance of making the final and looked like they couldn't be bothered. Kerry and Mayo have had some really strange results throughout the league due to heavy training and playing experimental and inexperienced teams. The vast majority of teams are using it to try things, find new players and improve their fitness for the summer.

The exception is Dublin who have gone for it full pelt in recent seasons, often playing their championship team right from the start. More power to them, and they seem to value winning it. I actually didn't know how many Kerry had won until somebody mentioned it above and I doubt most Kerry people could tell you, nor do they care. Like I said above I'd like us to beat Dublin on Sunday because it's Dublin. The league trophy is irrelevant.

It has definitely improved as a competition in recent seasons and some of the games can be good. There are a lot of surprise results but the stakes aren't exactly high when most teams are content just to stay up."
Dublin have been experimenting in the league the past number of years and it has paid great dividends. Not only have they blooded new players but also won the title. This year Lowndes, Carthy, McHugh, Scully, Reddin, Daly (returning) are all getting games. The big names are only coming back now (last 2 to 3 games) and this will allow them to hit the ground running in June. Gavin has been masterful in terms of his use of the league in the past 4-5 years, getting the balance right each time. People keep harping on about Dublin's bench winning them matches and this is the differentiator. That's nonsense of course. That bench will be starting in the championship. Granted having Scully, Lowndes, McHugh on the bench will be a good thing but the class A talent will be on the pitch.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/04/2017 09:03:45    1976337

'could argue' is kinda the point of the message board Genius

All I'm saying is that if you mixed the best elements of the league with the best elements of the championship you'd have a better overall competition. Forgetting the league for a moment, when was the last time that winning a Munster really meant something. I could put the same question to Dublin fans too, I dare say that Dub fans find a league victory more satisfying than another Leinster these days.

I know that the championship is the main prize but as a competition, for me, it would improve no end if more teams at the same level played each other throughout the competition rather than just from the quarter finals on.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/04/2017 09:18:51    1976342

Replying To keithlemon:  "'could argue' is kinda the point of the message board Genius

All I'm saying is that if you mixed the best elements of the league with the best elements of the championship you'd have a better overall competition. Forgetting the league for a moment, when was the last time that winning a Munster really meant something. I could put the same question to Dublin fans too, I dare say that Dub fans find a league victory more satisfying than another Leinster these days.

I know that the championship is the main prize but as a competition, for me, it would improve no end if more teams at the same level played each other throughout the competition rather than just from the quarter finals on."
Completely agree with that

I hold more value in the league these days compared to Leinster. Playing the best teams in the country

You can now see the attendances on the up in the leagues, people want a level playing field, competitive games, and that's exactly what you get, it's a better format, it really is, and the people are voting with their feet

The league is more enjoyable spectacle than the championship these days. Bar 2-3 top games during the knock out, the back door has stripped the value away from the provincial championships

The Championship is more like the FA cup.. with Prem League sides playing Div 3/4 sides

There are ways at being considered the best team in the country, some consider themselves champions of All Ireland without even being champions of their own province these days!

There is no greater champion than a treble winning champion. It's a great feeling seeing your county men stand behind all those trophy. You are the indisputable Champions.

As a fan, that's what you should long for.

Not posting your excuses before a ball is kicked.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 10:12:22    1976364

In fairness we have always blooded players in the early rounds of the league, the big boys usually start coming back towards the end and into the knock out stages. The fact is, we have been winning leagues whilst preparing young lads for future championship appearances. And its not the league as such that interests this Dublin team, its winning matches, end of.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 06/04/2017 14:00:12    1976502

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Often playing their championship team from the start??? Our forward line against our two biggest rivals (mayo/Kerry)

10. Carty 11. Kilkenny 12. Scully

13. Rock 14. O Gara/Andrews 15. Mchugh

If that's going full pelt team selection wise against our biggest rivals then you mustn't know our players."
i said 'in recent seasons', I know that many of Dublins main players weren't involved in all games this year. I was referring to the past few seasons. Dublin have often put out very strong teams quite early while others experiment. It's obviously paid dividends over the years and fair play to them.

I know Dublins players very well, i'm sick of the sight of them sure :)

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/04/2017 14:43:29    1976529

Replying To jimbodub:  ""The league trophy is irrelevant"

Real shame that Kerry got to the final with their fans complete disregard for the competition, there were far more deserving fans that deserved a day in CP."
I wouldn't agree with you completely on the Kerry fans there jimbo
Don't let some of the comments on this thread fool you, you only have to listen to radio Kerry to get the true feeling of the real Kerry fan there. The level of joy over the Donegal result was balanced out by the Monaghan loss. I know there wasn't a big crowd at the Monaghan game but there was a lot of fans genuinely annoyed by it. I wouldn't go so far as to say they were baying for Fitzmaurices blood but I know a few people down there that were pretty annoyed about what that performance and result meant.
Anyone who tries to downplay the Dublin game and the level of interest that was buzzing around Tralee for that weekend is talking nonsense. That game was huge for them. During the game the crowd were well up for it and really got behind their team. A lot of Kerry men were standing tall with the chests puffed out on the back of that result and were raging that they didn't get the result.
I don't think they were expecting to be appearing in the final but I fully believe Kerry fans will travel for it and make themselves heard.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/04/2017 15:02:49    1976538

Replying To keithlemon:  "I wouldn't agree with you completely on the Kerry fans there jimbo
Don't let some of the comments on this thread fool you, you only have to listen to radio Kerry to get the true feeling of the real Kerry fan there. The level of joy over the Donegal result was balanced out by the Monaghan loss. I know there wasn't a big crowd at the Monaghan game but there was a lot of fans genuinely annoyed by it. I wouldn't go so far as to say they were baying for Fitzmaurices blood but I know a few people down there that were pretty annoyed about what that performance and result meant.
Anyone who tries to downplay the Dublin game and the level of interest that was buzzing around Tralee for that weekend is talking nonsense. That game was huge for them. During the game the crowd were well up for it and really got behind their team. A lot of Kerry men were standing tall with the chests puffed out on the back of that result and were raging that they didn't get the result.
I don't think they were expecting to be appearing in the final but I fully believe Kerry fans will travel for it and make themselves heard."
Hope so

I honest don't get the stance of them all on here

All signing off the same hymn sheet

I hope they travel in numbers and may the best team win, we are supposed to enjoy our games, not belittle them.

For me it's a national final and from a Dublin side of things, our lads toiled very hard to get there, and I'll be 100% shouting them on, they deserve it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 15:18:48    1976546

Real shame that Kerry got to the final with their fans complete disregard for the competition, there were far more deserving fans that deserved a day in CP."
well said , one of the things I admire about the present dublin team is that they go out to win ever game and treat every opposition with the respect they deserve, i wouldn't be too bothered with the kerry lot and their" yerrah/ cute hoorism", people are fed up listening to this tripe being played out for years...........matches are won on the field not by talking b/s in the media to whoever is stupid enough to print it....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 06/04/2017 15:22:37    1976548

Replying To keithlemon:  "I wouldn't agree with you completely on the Kerry fans there jimbo
I don't think they were expecting to be appearing in the final but I fully believe Kerry fans will travel for it and make themselves heard."
This is very true, HS is not a fair reflection on how Kerry fans see things. They have admitted on Radio Kerry that they're afraid of Dublin at this stage, hence their horrendous style of play. The comments that come in reflect the same. John Kennedy unfortunately lets the show down with his bias, poorly thought out comments with a yerra here and a yerra there, time to move on John.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 06/04/2017 15:33:30    1976556

So your complaining that our lack of interest in the league is the reason soccer is taking over! And then in your next post you compare the GAA championship to the FA cup, can you see the irony in this?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/04/2017 15:38:05    1976559

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So your complaining that our lack of interest in the league is the reason soccer is taking over! And then in your next post you compare the GAA championship to the FA cup, can you see the irony in this?"
It's very similar to FA cup

Complete mismatch of opponents

Leagues are far mor competitive

As I said the sheer snobbery of the Kerry fans on here about the final of what has been league is disappointing

Almost regret Dublin handing you a final appearance by beating Monaghan now

A draw would have put Monaghan into the final, and you wouldn't see the Monaghan fans talking down our sports like this,

Plus Monaghan played manly football against Dublin in front of their home fans, true grit, and effort. Didn't have to resort to gutter ball like some

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 16:20:42    1976574

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hope so

I honest don't get the stance of them all on here

All signing off the same hymn sheet

I hope they travel in numbers and may the best team win, we are supposed to enjoy our games, not belittle them.

For me it's a national final and from a Dublin side of things, our lads toiled very hard to get there, and I'll be 100% shouting them on, they deserve it."
I know, it's uncanny the way a number of Kerry posters post nearly the exact same thing over and over
Not to mention coming in as backup when some Kerry posters need support on certain threads
It's nearly like they were ONE entity
Amazing really!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/04/2017 16:27:36    1976579

Replying To totalrecall:  "well said , one of the things I admire about the present dublin team is that they go out to win ever game and treat every opposition with the respect they deserve, i wouldn't be too bothered with the kerry lot and their" yerrah/ cute hoorism", people are fed up listening to this tripe being played out for years...........matches are won on the field not by talking b/s in the media to whoever is stupid enough to print it...."
Good post chief

Trust me, couldn't agree more

A very disingenuous bunch that love the smell of their own farts, bring them up on it, or lay on the banter a bit thick, and watch that mask slip a plenty.

Glad you finished the league on a high, honestly hope to see you give a good account of yourselves this year, hopefully McStay & co are tailoring your progress to peak at the right time, you've done great things at underage and it was a pity a number of talented players had to leave your panel, but anyway, what's there is solid, will be shouting for you in Connacht.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 16:47:26    1976589

Replying To keithlemon:  "I know, it's uncanny the way a number of Kerry posters post nearly the exact same thing over and over
Not to mention coming in as backup when some Kerry posters need support on certain threads
Amazing really!!"
It's almost cult like

Have enjoyed smelling their own farts down there for too long

That's why they get so flummoxed on here, been listening to self gratifying propaganda for too long.

I've a team of them after me.. :)

The green thumb brigade

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 16:52:46    1976590

Replying To keithlemon:  "I know, it's uncanny the way a number of Kerry posters post nearly the exact same thing over and over
Amazing really!!"
Sure listen, it's obvious there's a few of them being the sane poster

The familiarity is uncanny, but sure so what

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/04/2017 16:56:39    1976591

Not going to get carried away about this game.
I still think the result of this game does not really matter.
If Kerry win it would do wonders for Eamon Fitz himself but apart from that I don't think it really matters that much.
If Kerry win , it won't change the fact Dublin are still ahead of Kerry in the running for the All Ireland.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/04/2017 17:12:05    1976594

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's almost cult like

Have enjoyed smelling their own farts down there for too long

That's why they get so flummoxed on here, been listening to self gratifying propaganda for too long.

I've a team of them after me.. :)

The green thumb brigade"
Seems like you spend your day having a go at anything Kerry related.

I very rarely post on here anymore due to this kind of nonsense from posters like you who really dont have anything to add to a discussion bar then having a smart alec response, which turns most reasonable discussions into slagging matches.

Maybe that is why you are not very popular but it wouldn't take a genius to work that one out now would it.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 06/04/2017 17:21:04    1976595

Paddy Neilan is the man in the middle, anyone know anything about him?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 06/04/2017 18:41:54    1976630

Replying To realdub:  "Paddy Neilan is the man in the middle, anyone know anything about him?"
I think his Roscommon and he might have done one of Kerry's minor wins in the last year or two.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/04/2017 19:15:44    1976640