Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes I was giving out about Kerry's form, Fitzmaurice's selections and the fact we are throwing away games. Because the League is all about uncovering players and trying to make progress with a view towards the championship. Winning the League is secondary to this. If Kerry were playing well, trying new lads, still getting narrowly beaten and ended up mid table, I would have been happy.

We are in the final, its bonus territory we will go out to win.

But if you think a loss on Sunday is going to mean we are going to collapse in a crisis of self doubt and never be able to beat ye again than dream on.

Nice of you to have got in your little dig at the Gooch by the way,"
Cherry picking as per usual I see thehermit

Unfortunately there can be a lot of rose tinted glasses when a player retires

I paid him a glowing tribute but I'm an honest fellow and a glowing tribute is nothing without a bit of honesty, no one is perfect after all, and it wouldn't be telling the whole truth by just being adoring for the sake of it, better to give your honest opinion

He did whinge to refs an awful lot, on top of his obvious skills and outstanding talent. He was prone to to bothering refs and being in their ear, I don't like that carry on in a player, we've all marked the sort, but again you cherry picked the one negative

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 11:17:45    1975310

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Number 1 who are you talking to ? Is it me or the hermit? Coz I never said anything about the record.

Number 2 , why are you on the Kerry forum?
What we say on there is our own business.
Yes we were giving out about fitz but it wasn't coz we were losing games it was because of the way our team were playing and the lack of consistency .

Number 3 , cork won 4 leagues in a row as they also won div2 before they won 3 div 1 titles.

Also I guarantee you one thing , if we win on Sunday you won't hear us going on about it and that's for sure."
It's going to be a long week, with that fella posting his guff every 5 seconds Kingdomboy.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/04/2017 11:18:20    1975311

I had little to say before the predicted playing down of the game by certain Kerry posters

Unfortunately Kerry posters seem to like to say what they want on here, but how dare someone challenge them...

Can give it out alright, but can't take it whatsoever

Talking a very different game on the Kerry forum, then portraying a very different light on main page

It's called getting your excuses in early

Expect to be challenged Kerry lads because you're as see through as a wet paper-towel

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 11:45:43    1975326

Replying To Damothedub:  "Your right Jimbo
As far as Antrim is concerned I always watch for their results , I do wish more was done to promote both codes up north , and wish to god HQ would recognise the effort put in by Antrim against horrendous odds , two years ago I travelled with juvenile Dubs to Antrim we got to play Kilkenny who also travelled on a rugby pitch as Antrim let down by one of the colleges who neglected to tell them GAA ground was being reseeded , felt for the nordie lads as they were mortified.
But to the question at hand I hate how a whole calendar suddenly becomes about September , for me whoever wins on Sunday has achieved something and by Christ will have to work for it , if I didn't honestly feel that I wouldn't bother attend."
It's good to see the league meaning more nowadays.

As for winning it though, it's not that important. I believe the Kerry lads when they say they don't care about Sunday's result.

I think it's a pity and the GAA and their promotion of the competition has a lot to do with it.

Dublin GAA and their spring series initiative has shown that the league has more potential than is currently being tapped into outside of Dublin.

The final being 4 months away from these teams having a serious game is a further reason for me feeling it's not that meaningful.

Neither of these teams are close to being at full tilt for this game.

It'll probably still be good entertainment and for the 70 minutes both teams will have a cut at each other. The managers won't be showing their hands too much. I'd suspect if you were to ask them would they rather win or would they rather have no key player get injured they'd prefer to have no injuries.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 04/04/2017 12:07:42    1975342

I take on board your perceived approach to Kerry and the league lads. But could the argument be made that maybe that traditional approach is hampering Kerry when it comes to the championship. I mean there hasnt really been a sustained period of success since the last decade and in that time counties seem to have brought there A game more and more to the league.

The confusing thing about Kerry is that you never know quite were they are in the championship with a handy run through Munster (Leinster no different) every year and then have to make the jump to serious football challenges.

I also dont understand if the league is such a blank slate or experimental exercise, why Fitzmaurice doesn't try more offensive or attacking football systems like the 13 semi.

I can understand you lads based on recent results wanting to play down expectation, it seems the Kerry egg is a bit hard boiled so only fair not to want to crack it for another couple of years and recent Dublin results haven't been kind. Though i think there are many in the county team that another defeat against Dublin wouldn't auger well for. I would also say the crushing defeat in last years league final last year had a huge effect of the borad Kerry county persona and the teams/manager psychological approach to playing Dublin. I remember Kerry lads on here being really down after that game, so i guess it means something.

I suppose its up to individual counties and their approach to the league and fans on whether their team are taking seriously or just not up to standard. I suppose all we can gather based on fact that a strong showing in the league can be a valuable gauge come championship time.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/04/2017 13:13:32    1975385

Replying To Ulsterman:  "1989 All Ireland hurling final sound a bell?? Then again if Antrim, and by proxy Belfast, had even a tenth of the central funding Dublin gets we may be a bit more successful in both codes."
You cant say that or make any reference to the riches Dublin have received over the last 10 years Ulsterman and the change it has had on the GAA landscape, you will be accused of being jealous and bitter no matter how many facts you throw at them

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 04/04/2017 13:27:34    1975397

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm sorry I don't agree , the league is taken seriously by some teams but not by all.
I can guarantee you if or when ye beat us on Sunday neither I or the majority of my county men or women will give too hoots coz it's only the league .
and we're in bonus territory now, we've managed to avoid relegation and we get a day out in crokepark plus it gives our management team a chance to try a few different things against ye that might help us beat ye when it really counts in the summer if we should meet ye of course.

Our next real big game will be the first Sunday in July when we'll be more than likely playing Cork in the new P'U'C ."
Haha good man, but I don't buy it, you'll be sick if we beat you, and vice versa, the only thing is, the hurt will last about 24 hours for us, not sure about Kerry
Do it for the Gooch :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 04/04/2017 13:45:37    1975413

Hi all I'm back home for a couple of weeks on the weekend of the game. Would love to see a game while I'm over.

Will tickets be available for this game on matchday?

If not where can I order them from now.

ciaran1988 (Antrim) - Posts: 86 - 04/04/2017 13:54:25    1975421

Replying To jimbodub:  "Damo..

Just my take and tell me to go feck

But perhaps you were a bit hard on the Antrim lads there, I get what you're saying, Dublin have worked their arses off getting to this final, but Antrim have plenty to be proud about, I'd love to see the GAA invest further into games development in Antrim. There's huge potential there,

Don't be so hard on our urban brothers ;)"
Dublin and Kerry are the 2 best teams in the country and Sunday's final should be a cracker, looking forward to it immensely. This Dublin side are a cracking outfit, they will be up there when great teams are talked about.
Gaelic Games in Antrim and Belfast are struggling to the extent where soccer in Nationalist areas in the city is the No. 1 sport by a distance. I believe Croke Park and the Ulster Council have badly failed Belfast and Antrim. Good luck to Dublin for it's success and funding but the GAA should hang it's head in collective shame at their neglect if Gaelic Games in Ireland's SECOND biggest city and conurbation.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 04/04/2017 14:22:48    1975438

Replying To realdub:  "Haha good man, but I don't buy it, you'll be sick if we beat you, and vice versa, the only thing is, the hurt will last about 24 hours for us, not sure about Kerry
Do it for the Gooch :D"
Realdub
I'm nearly 42 years old in all my life I never even gave the league a second thought Barr I use get taken to exotic counties like Derry and mayo and Dublin for matches and we'd always get to eat in a hotel on those days but it never mattered if we won or lost once we saw a good performance from a few new guys or some old guys.
I'm telling you I'm more excited about going to t.g.i's on Sunday for the lunch then I am about the game and I'm not joking.
It's just the league and because it because it's become important to ye over the last few year doesn't mean it has for everyone,
Maybe the new generation will think more of it but I just can't get excited about it ( although maybe if we were playing Cork in the final I would a little)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/04/2017 14:26:41    1975442

Replying To ciaran1988:  "Hi all I'm back home for a couple of weeks on the weekend of the game. Would love to see a game while I'm over.

Will tickets be available for this game on matchday?

If not where can I order them from now."
Gaa.ie

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/04/2017 14:30:42    1975443

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Realdub
I'm nearly 42 years old in all my life I never even gave the league a second thought Barr I use get taken to exotic counties like Derry and mayo and Dublin for matches and we'd always get to eat in a hotel on those days but it never mattered if we won or lost once we saw a good performance from a few new guys or some old guys.
I'm telling you I'm more excited about going to t.g.i's on Sunday for the lunch then I am about the game and I'm not joking.
It's just the league and because it because it's become important to ye over the last few year doesn't mean it has for everyone,
Maybe the new generation will think more of it but I just can't get excited about it ( although maybe if we were playing Cork in the final I would a little)"
TGI's? sure that's just a glorified New Yorkers Kingdomboy, give me the Burger Shack anyday.

I'll be looking forward to a few scoops in Mulligans myself.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/04/2017 15:01:46    1975464

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Dublin and Kerry are the 2 best teams in the country and Sunday's final should be a cracker, looking forward to it immensely. This Dublin side are a cracking outfit, they will be up there when great teams are talked about.
Gaelic Games in Antrim and Belfast are struggling to the extent where soccer in Nationalist areas in the city is the No. 1 sport by a distance. I believe Croke Park and the Ulster Council have badly failed Belfast and Antrim. Good luck to Dublin for it's success and funding but the GAA should hang it's head in collective shame at their neglect if Gaelic Games in Ireland's SECOND biggest city and conurbation."
Soccer is probably the number 1 sport in most counties being honest. In terms of participation it definitely is number 1 in Cork. In terms of supporters, GAA games in Cork get a lot more than other sports. However, here, like most places across the country (I imagine) more people talk about Liverpool, Arsenal, Celtic than GAA. Now that our county teams are doing poorly, this will only increase.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/04/2017 15:02:50    1975467

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Realdub
Maybe the new generation will think more of it but I just can't get excited about it ( although maybe if we were playing Cork in the final I would a little)"
I'll take your word for it lad, but forget about Cork, it's us you have to worry about for the foreseeable :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 04/04/2017 15:08:19    1975471

Rubbish the League is not important, winning breadths winning. No its not the All-Ireland but I want us to keep the foot on Kerry's throat and win. Kerry have some young players and they need to get used to losing to us from the off.

I will not cry if we lose but we will have lost a big change to set a marker if we do.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/04/2017 15:11:27    1975474

Is it a harder achievement to win the league than an All Ireland?

You have to beat nothing but Div 1 teams, with games away from home against the best teams in the country

Dublin will perhaps only play 2-3 Div 1 teams to get to a possible final in 2017 and probably all in CP

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 15:56:44    1975516

Replying To jimbodub:  "Is it a harder achievement to win the league than an All Ireland?

You have to beat nothing but Div 1 teams, with games away from home against the best teams in the country

Dublin will perhaps only play 2-3 Div 1 teams to get to a possible final in 2017 and probably all in CP"
Definitely harder to win the AI.

Both only have 1 winner but teams have differing goals when it comes to league, also a good team who happens to be in division 2 won't be in the league hunt.

Every team is in the AI and the top teams are going to throw everything they have at it to win it.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 04/04/2017 16:36:13    1975546

What's that saying about protesting too much realdub?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 17:51:01    1975588

Replying To Whammo86:  "Definitely harder to win the AI.

Both only have 1 winner but teams have differing goals when it comes to league, also a good team who happens to be in division 2 won't be in the league hunt.

Every team is in the AI and the top teams are going to throw everything they have at it to win it."
Fair enough Whammo

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 17:57:47    1975593

Replying To jimbodub:  "What's that saying about protesting too much realdub?"
:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 04/04/2017 18:21:06    1975615