Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Anyone want to guess how many will be there in Croker this weekend?

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 366 - 03/04/2017 23:23:26    1975129

Regardless of what some say the league has completely changed in context and importance. The league is growing in popularity. Every GAA fan was watching all the divisions yesterday and was is likely to be one of the top days for the GAA this year as a spectacle including the championship, the crowds at the games yesterday and the unrivalled coverage and interest was immense. The league is growing in increased strength here as staying in division 1 and moving up divisions is a big deal now .

Gaa is changing as is the league, it's not a competition for shedding a turkey dinner anymore.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/04/2017 23:32:07    1975132

Replying To Damothedub:  "As someone who has prpbably never been involved in a final I can understand you having to guess as to how much teams fans would want to win a final , let me tell you your wrong.
Tralee showed us these guys are rubbing each other the wrong way , come Sept if either of them are successful that's the longest/best bragging rights there are , but its a long way till sept."
1989 All Ireland hurling final sound a bell?? Then again if Antrim, and by proxy Belfast, had even a tenth of the central funding Dublin gets we may be a bit more successful in both codes.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 04/04/2017 03:55:45    1975156

Replying To superbluedub:  "Would it make any difference to the result ? :)"
Ye mightn't hammer us by as much

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 04/04/2017 06:44:33    1975162

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Its only the league clon, when cork won 4 in a row not so long ago no1 was saying a thing about it, the reality is its only for blooding new players a bit like the McGrath cup only a little bigger.

To be honest I know we won't win on Sunday but if our new lads can hold theirs own against the mighty dubs in crokepark then il head for home a happy man."
+1 kingdomboy

hammersjamers (Kerry) - Posts: 5 - 04/04/2017 07:25:29    1975164

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Its only the league clon, when cork won 4 in a row not so long ago no1 was saying a thing about it, the reality is its only for blooding new players a bit like the McGrath cup only a little bigger.

To be honest I know we won't win on Sunday but if our new lads can hold theirs own against the mighty dubs in crokepark then il head for home a happy man."
For a county that don't care about the league you've certainly won a lot of them , 19 in total Dublin next with 12. Maybe you only care when yous win? And then it's not only the league. Listen Dublin Kerry for me always matters I know yous think the hurling county Cork is your biggest game but besides Munster history tells us all it's Dublin. I'm telling you if Kerry beat us Sunday the lift it will give your whole team will be huge, I guarantee Monaghan will be flying come summer after that unlucky defeat to Dublin they now know "Jesus lads were not that far away you know".

Big games can change a team completely, if Donegal didn't scrap over Kildare to set up that famous semi against Dublin they never win Sam in '12, after playing Dublin they also realised their not that far away either , so Kerry supporters should stop talking down big games cause you never know what a win can do for ya.

And yes I still blame Kildare for Donegal winning Sam in '12.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/04/2017 08:06:16    1975171

Replying To clondalkindub:  "For a county that don't care about the league you've certainly won a lot of them , 19 in total Dublin next with 12. Maybe you only care when yous win? And then it's not only the league. Listen Dublin Kerry for me always matters I know yous think the hurling county Cork is your biggest game but besides Munster history tells us all it's Dublin. I'm telling you if Kerry beat us Sunday the lift it will give your whole team will be huge, I guarantee Monaghan will be flying come summer after that unlucky defeat to Dublin they now know "Jesus lads were not that far away you know".

Big games can change a team completely, if Donegal didn't scrap over Kildare to set up that famous semi against Dublin they never win Sam in '12, after playing Dublin they also realised their not that far away either , so Kerry supporters should stop talking down big games cause you never know what a win can do for ya.

And yes I still blame Kildare for Donegal winning Sam in '12."
You "blame" Kildare for Donegal winning Sam the following year? Were you disappointed we won it or something? Also, the Kildare game was in 2011.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/04/2017 09:19:36    1975201

Replying To TheUsername:  "Regardless of what some say the league has completely changed in context and importance. The league is growing in popularity. Every GAA fan was watching all the divisions yesterday and was is likely to be one of the top days for the GAA this year as a spectacle including the championship, the crowds at the games yesterday and the unrivalled coverage and interest was immense. The league is growing in increased strength here as staying in division 1 and moving up divisions is a big deal now .

Gaa is changing as is the league, it's not a competition for shedding a turkey dinner anymore."
Funny how when the Capital do well in it (the same place that 90% of our national media is based), its a high profile competition that should replace the Championship.

I never recall all this talk when Cork were doing their 4 in a row only a few short years ago?

The League is a means to an end, not an end in itself, its always been thus and will remain as such until League standings count come Championship.

Having said all that, it's good to get another competitive game seeing as we will have more than 2 months to wait for our Championship debut. So like Kingdomboy, I'm hoping for a good performance from the younger lads and hopefully a few more signs of progress for the group as a whole. A win would be great but a performance is the main thing at this stage.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/04/2017 09:43:49    1975227

Replying To TheUsername:  "Regardless of what some say the league has completely changed in context and importance. The league is growing in popularity. Every GAA fan was watching all the divisions yesterday and was is likely to be one of the top days for the GAA this year as a spectacle including the championship, the crowds at the games yesterday and the unrivalled coverage and interest was immense. The league is growing in increased strength here as staying in division 1 and moving up divisions is a big deal now .

Gaa is changing as is the league, it's not a competition for shedding a turkey dinner anymore."
I'm sorry I don't agree , the league is taken seriously by some teams but not by all.
I can guarantee you if or when ye beat us on Sunday neither I or the majority of my county men or women will give too hoots coz it's only the league .
and we're in bonus territory now, we've managed to avoid relegation and we get a day out in crokepark plus it gives our management team a chance to try a few different things against ye that might help us beat ye when it really counts in the summer if we should meet ye of course.

Our next real big game will be the first Sunday in July when we'll be more than likely playing Cork in the new P'U'C .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/04/2017 09:52:24    1975236

Cork didn't do 4 in a row

They did 3 in a row between 09/10/11

It's not surprising to see a Kerry man take much interest in such an achievement seeing that Cork did it.

Although that is 6 years ago now.

The profile of the league has grown significantly since, the introduction of the Spring Series, live games on Saturday nights, and the far more competitive nature of the leagues that sees teams of similar standard facing off against each other, rather than the cake walk games we see at provincial level, has been bringing in increased crowds.

You can't argue with that, GAA supporters are voting with their feet, you're now seeing bigger crowds compared to most Championship matches attending league games

Talk down the league all you want, not surprising to see the likes of some of you doing it a few days before a league final against Dublin

You were on the Kerry forum giving out about Kerry loses, giving out about EF, giving out about throwing away games, all in relation to the league. Giving it socks about Dublin taking Kerry's record. Giving out that if you had of taken your chances you'd be in a final... but now that get to a final... who cares right?

So what are you at now exactly?

Seems quite obvious to me.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 10:02:38    1975247

I wonder if Kerry finished 3 points clear with +42 points and +30 points better than the nearest team, would Kerry fans be talking down this game?

Perhaps they know well that they fluked this final, and are worried about another high profile defeat against Dublin and are at pains to talk down the game?

There was 80k in Croker for last years final when Kerry were looking good...

I wonder how many will be there in 2017?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 10:14:57    1975259

Yiz are full of it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 10:16:08    1975260

No I don't know what it's like for Antrim to be in National league division 1 final.

But as a GAA nut from the age of about 5 I know where the league stands.

Let's put it like this I was able to list off the AI winners back to 1960 before I made a mistake. I got it wrong at 2013 for the league.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 04/04/2017 10:19:54    1975263

Damo..

Just my take and tell me to go feck

But perhaps you were a bit hard on the Antrim lads there, I get what you're saying, Dublin have worked their arses off getting to this final, but Antrim have plenty to be proud about, I'd love to see the GAA invest further into games development in Antrim. There's huge potential there,

Don't be so hard on our urban brothers ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 10:33:46    1975276

I'd be surprised if we get 80,000 this time around, but hopefully!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 04/04/2017 10:34:43    1975279

Replying To jimbodub:  "Cork didn't do 4 in a row

It's not surprising to see a Kerry man take much interest in such an achievement seeing that Cork did it.

The profile of the league has grown significantly since, the introduction of the Spring Series, live games on Saturday nights, and the far more competitive nature of the leagues that sees teams of similar standard facing off against each other, rather than the cake walk games we see at provincial level, has been bringing in increased crowds.

You can't argue with that, GAA supporters are voting with their feet, you're now seeing bigger crowds compared to most Championship matches attending league games

Talk down the league all you want, not surprising to see the likes of some of you doing it a few days before a league final against Dublin

You were on the Kerry forum giving out about Kerry loses, giving out about EF, giving out about throwing away games, all in relation to the league. Giving it socks about Dublin taking Kerry's record. Giving out that if you had of taken your chances you'd be in a final... but now that get to a final... who cares right?

Seems quite obvious to me."
Yes I was giving out about Kerry's form, Fitzmaurice's selections and the fact we are throwing away games. Because the League is all about uncovering players and trying to make progress with a view towards the championship. Winning the League is secondary to this. If Kerry were playing well, trying new lads, still getting narrowly beaten and ended up mid table, I would have been happy.

We are in the final, its bonus territory we will go out to win.

But if you think a loss on Sunday is going to mean we are going to collapse in a crisis of self doubt and never be able to beat ye again than dream on.

Nice of you to have got in your little dig at the Gooch by the way,

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/04/2017 10:36:09    1975280

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder if Kerry finished 3 points clear with +42 points and +30 points better than the nearest team, would Kerry fans be talking down this game?

Perhaps they know well that they fluked this final, and are worried about another high profile defeat against Dublin and are at pains to talk down the game?

There was 80k in Croker for last years final when Kerry were looking good...

I wonder how many will be there in 2017?"
Id say about 55thousand this year
Gaa last year marketed the finals for a month beforehand because they had that laochra thing on the day, this year they don't even give the teams a weeks break and no build up to market the finals which is a pity

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/04/2017 10:38:00    1975283

Replying To jimbodub:  "Cork didn't do 4 in a row

Seems quite obvious to me."
Number 1 who are you talking to ? Is it me or the hermit? Coz I never said anything about the record.

Number 2 , why are you on the Kerry forum?
What we say on there is our own business.
Yes we were giving out about fitz but it wasn't coz we were losing games it was because of the way our team were playing and the lack of consistency .

Number 3 , cork won 4 leagues in a row as they also won div2 before they won 3 div 1 titles.

Also I guarantee you one thing , if we win on Sunday you won't hear us going on about it and that's for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/04/2017 10:38:55    1975285

Replying To realdub:  "I'd be surprised if we get 80,000 this time around, but hopefully!"
I only went for the after show in 2016...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2017 10:40:03    1975286

Replying To jimbodub:  "Damo..

Just my take and tell me to go feck

But perhaps you were a bit hard on the Antrim lads there, I get what you're saying, Dublin have worked their arses off getting to this final, but Antrim have plenty to be proud about, I'd love to see the GAA invest further into games development in Antrim. There's huge potential there,

Don't be so hard on our urban brothers ;)"
Your right Jimbo
As far as Antrim is concerned I always watch for their results , I do wish more was done to promote both codes up north , and wish to god HQ would recognise the effort put in by Antrim against horrendous odds , two years ago I travelled with juvenile Dubs to Antrim we got to play Kilkenny who also travelled on a rugby pitch as Antrim let down by one of the colleges who neglected to tell them GAA ground was being reseeded , felt for the nordie lads as they were mortified.
But to the question at hand I hate how a whole calendar suddenly becomes about September , for me whoever wins on Sunday has achieved something and by Christ will have to work for it , if I didn't honestly feel that I wouldn't bother attend.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/04/2017 11:09:15    1975306