Dublin V Kerry NFL Final

Replying To yew_tree:  "Old age getting to Wayno..."
clearly pal!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/04/2017 09:15:37    1978219

Replying To endgame:  "It's certainly weighted against teams competing in the Ulster championship."
How anyone could down thumb your comment there is quite ridiculous

The current championship structure is very unfair on Ulster teams, it's really a poor format, Ulster teams are no doubt at a big disadvantage before a ball is kicked

Geographical advantages / disadvantages is a real thing and both factors have skewed the AI series for far too long.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/04/2017 09:31:20    1978226

Dub fans - Are you happier that you're coming into the championship on the back of a close loss with a number of last minute draws/wins instead of rocking in with your 5th league title in a row?
I remember 3 years ago, Dublin came in on the back of very impressive performances against Cork and Derry with everyone wondering how you could possibly beat them.......and then they met Donegal in the semi final and look what happened there

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 11/04/2017 09:58:16    1978237

Replying To El_Torro:  "9 weeks till Kerry play in the championship? no wonder they are fresh every August, the championship structure is a joke."
Not playing a div 1 team until qtr final minimum (semi last year) is hardly an advantage.
Whatever happened to training being no substitute for games?
I'd rather we had the level of opposition that Ulster gives than Munster......we'd win more then ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 11/04/2017 10:26:33    1978251

Replying To keithlemon:  "Dub fans - Are you happier that you're coming into the championship on the back of a close loss with a number of last minute draws/wins instead of rocking in with your 5th league title in a row?
I remember 3 years ago, Dublin came in on the back of very impressive performances against Cork and Derry with everyone wondering how you could possibly beat them.......and then they met Donegal in the semi final and look what happened there"
A bit of case of over analysing. It will back to normal for all contenders come the QFs of the championship. Its where everyone wants to be.
Dublin have been pushed in SFs and finals most years. Only losing the one in 4 years is a testament to how good a side they are. Don't see how the Donegal defeat related in any way to the league. Dublin got it wrong on the day and Donegal got it right, that's football.

When it comes to the 65th minute of a tough championship SF, Dublin , Kerry or anyone won't suddenly start thinking about a league game. How the game goes on the day will decide things, not what happened in April,

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 11/04/2017 10:30:48    1978254

Replying To AthboyCelt:  "Is it the end for Bernard Brogan?, looked a good bit off the pace yesterday, perhaps that was due to him just getting back or maybe the miles on the clock are taking it's toll. Great player at his best I must say."
BB can't be defined on yesterday alone. Yes his fitness level is likely behind others at this stage. Last time out, it was his goal that got us to the final when we were looking beaten. Despite not getting involved too much on Sunday, the fact that he was left on the pitch says to me that the manager wanted him to get a tough game under his belt. May be a case of now springing him from the bench in certain games but still a great player to have in your team.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 11/04/2017 10:39:51    1978261

Jim Gavin has said that he had made mistakes in his selection last Sunday, it is reasonable to presume
from that, he intends making some changes to the forwards for the championship from the starting six
on Sunday last. I believe, if he dosent, it is most likely Dublin will not win the All-Ireland this year. As we all
know Dublin just got over the line to win last years All-Ireland, scoring an incredibly low score in the
drawn All-Ireland final and now losing the league final on Sunday. So changes will need to be made in
the forwards. Any of the six forwards that started last Sunday other than Kieran Kilkenny are vulnerable
to being deselected from the starting six. Bernard Brogan is possibly the most vulnerable despite being
Dublins most outstanding and valuable player prior to last year, Stephen Cluxton has now that honour
as a result of his consistency since 2011 and Bernard Brogans poor performance last year. The next most
vulnerable is Paddy Andrews, he made no impression last Sunday and did not have a good year last year.
If Dublin can come up with a reliable place kicker Dean Rock is vulnerable. Diarmuid Connolly with three
black cards in the last 3 matches (including the All-Ireland club semi-final) that does not inspire confidence.
Paul Flynn needs to rediscover his form, one good match is not sufficient.
By the business end of the championship possibly only two will loose out on the starting six forwards but
Dublin will need to make changes in the forwards, if they are to win three in a row.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 11/04/2017 12:48:35    1978333

Replying To keithlemon:  "Dub fans - Are you happier that you're coming into the championship on the back of a close loss with a number of last minute draws/wins instead of rocking in with your 5th league title in a row?
I remember 3 years ago, Dublin came in on the back of very impressive performances against Cork and Derry with everyone wondering how you could possibly beat them.......and then they met Donegal in the semi final and look what happened there"
I'm pretty happy to be honest, a challenge was put down on Sunday and it might just been what the Doctor ordered for the team, there are many questions being asked about starting places, age and hunger.

Its a fantastic challenge really and the loss should drive self improvement, we would have learned nothing with the win.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/04/2017 13:03:11    1978343

Replying To fainleog:  "Jim Gavin has said that he had made mistakes in his selection last Sunday, it is reasonable to presume
from that, he intends making some changes to the forwards for the championship from the starting six
on Sunday last. I believe, if he dosent, it is most likely Dublin will not win the All-Ireland this year. As we all
know Dublin just got over the line to win last years All-Ireland, scoring an incredibly low score in the
drawn All-Ireland final and now losing the league final on Sunday. So changes will need to be made in
the forwards. Any of the six forwards that started last Sunday other than Kieran Kilkenny are vulnerable
to being deselected from the starting six. Bernard Brogan is possibly the most vulnerable despite being
Dublins most outstanding and valuable player prior to last year, Stephen Cluxton has now that honour
as a result of his consistency since 2011 and Bernard Brogans poor performance last year. The next most
vulnerable is Paddy Andrews, he made no impression last Sunday and did not have a good year last year.
If Dublin can come up with a reliable place kicker Dean Rock is vulnerable. Diarmuid Connolly with three
black cards in the last 3 matches (including the All-Ireland club semi-final) that does not inspire confidence.
Paul Flynn needs to rediscover his form, one good match is not sufficient.
By the business end of the championship possibly only two will loose out on the starting six forwards but
Dublin will need to make changes in the forwards, if they are to win three in a row."
Connolly's place is not vulnerable. Has to start every time , too good a player. Paul Flynn does a lot of under rated work in the middle so is not a forward in the conventional sense. Dean Rock will play as a reliable free kick taker is a must. Paddy was never a banker to start but has put in some great games in recent years. BB probably could be used more from the bench.

What is being missed is that Dublin generally depend on their panel of forwards to win the game. What separated them in key games v Mayo and Kerry is the forward subs making big impacts. So Dublin again will have O Gara, Kevin Mc , Mannion, Costello and a couple of others lads tested in the league (with reasonable success I felt) to play their part as well as the 6 who started on Sunday. Form at the time I guess will decide which 6 will start.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 11/04/2017 13:05:20    1978344

Replying To poguemahone:  "Connolly's place is not vulnerable. Has to start every time , too good a player. Paul Flynn does a lot of under rated work in the middle so is not a forward in the conventional sense. Dean Rock will play as a reliable free kick taker is a must. Paddy was never a banker to start but has put in some great games in recent years. BB probably could be used more from the bench.

What is being missed is that Dublin generally depend on their panel of forwards to win the game. What separated them in key games v Mayo and Kerry is the forward subs making big impacts. So Dublin again will have O Gara, Kevin Mc , Mannion, Costello and a couple of others lads tested in the league (with reasonable success I felt) to play their part as well as the 6 who started on Sunday. Form at the time I guess will decide which 6 will start."
How do you know how Jim Gavin feels in regard to three black in three consecutive matches by Diarmuid
Connolly. In any event if he gets another black card he will be suspended. We all know that Dean Rock
is an excellent place kicker but that does not ensure selection and of course I know the strength of the Dublin
panel. I am just making the point that Dublin need something extra if they are to win three All-Irelands in a
row. For example if Paul Mannion can produce in big matches what he did last Sunday from a starting position
or Cormac Costelloe can do what he did on All-Ireland final from a starting position or if Con O Callaghan, Niall
Scully or Conor McHugh can make significant contributions in the championship then Dublin will have a great
chance in winning three in a row but it will take something extra.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 11/04/2017 14:45:27    1978416

Replying To fainleog:  "How do you know how Jim Gavin feels in regard to three black in three consecutive matches by Diarmuid
Connolly. In any event if he gets another black card he will be suspended. We all know that Dean Rock
is an excellent place kicker but that does not ensure selection and of course I know the strength of the Dublin
panel. I am just making the point that Dublin need something extra if they are to win three All-Irelands in a
row. For example if Paul Mannion can produce in big matches what he did last Sunday from a starting position
or Cormac Costelloe can do what he did on All-Ireland final from a starting position or if Con O Callaghan, Niall
Scully or Conor McHugh can make significant contributions in the championship then Dublin will have a great
chance in winning three in a row but it will take something extra."
Of course I don't know what Jim Gavin thinks but most of us would be surprised if DC gets dropped. Winning 3 in a row takes a lot for many reasons. Don't see it as Dublin needing something special or something we don't have. They will however need to produce their top form when it matters. Its the sum of the players that have brought success over for the last 4 years. The team JG puts out over 70 minutes has to be trusted by Dub fans. See no reasons for panic or reasons to start writing off players. Well documented how fierce it is for places in the panel, so no one is going to be there if the management has any doubts on their form or ability. I believe Dublin's forwards will be as good as any come the championship.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 11/04/2017 15:43:26    1978455

Replying To fainleog:  "How do you know how Jim Gavin feels in regard to three black in three consecutive matches by Diarmuid
chance in winning three in a row but it will take something extra."
Agree fainleog your wise beyond your county boundary my friend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/04/2017 15:56:40    1978465

Replying To Superglue:  "Not playing a div 1 team until qtr final minimum (semi last year) is hardly an advantage.
Whatever happened to training being no substitute for games?
I'd rather we had the level of opposition that Ulster gives than Munster......we'd win more then ;-)"
Too true. 9 weeks wait is a bit of a joke during the prime playing months especially considering the high the players must be feeling after last Sunday. The sooner the better this super 8 yoke comes into the championship. At least we can get to see 3 or 4 extra games instead of waiting half the year for a proper contest. Cork are always there and Tipp are improving but to say any of them are a worry would be exaggerating things a bit.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/04/2017 16:03:46    1978470

Replying To endgame:  "It's certainly weighted against teams competing in the Ulster championship."
The facts would suggest otherwise:

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/long-county-wait-first-championship-game-362951

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/04/2017 10:22:24    1978718

A question to the Dublin supporters on here,
Do ye still think the league is as Important as the championship?
Last week I said win or lose it's only the league and I was savaged by some dubs for saying it , I also said the hurt from defeat would only last a few hours compared to a championship defeat.
I bet the league defeat on Sunday doesn't hurt as much as the defeat to Donegal in 2014 does it?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/04/2017 11:33:24    1978746

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "A question to the Dublin supporters on here,
Last week I said win or lose it's only the league and I was savaged by some dubs for saying it , I also said the hurt from defeat would only last a few hours compared to a championship defeat.
I bet the league defeat on Sunday doesn't hurt as much as the defeat to Donegal in 2014 does it?"
Its April, its a league game. Mind you, its important for momentum etc to win games like the league final. But Dublin know what they have to do. While Id never advocate losing.......its probably a kick up the bottom the Dubs needed.

So fair play to Kerry. Good win. Played really well.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 12/04/2017 11:43:04    1978754

I bet the league defeat on Sunday doesn't hurt as much as the defeat to Donegal in 2014 does it?"
You didn't hear that from me kingdomboy1, of course it's not as important. I am in some way not too disappointed at all we lost :D
I think you understand.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 12/04/2017 12:02:56    1978764

Congrats on the win mate, its a long time coming, hard win, but thoroughly deserved. I didn't say it was as important as the Championship, I did say it is becoming increasingly more important competition and I still believe it is, a great achievement to win it outright also. Another great achievement finishing top of the pile amongst your peers in a round robin, so both counties can take a lot of the process. The final itself is a great day out and the icing on the cake, had great craic with you lads, Kildare and Galway on Sunday.

We have a great year ahead and you lads set down a marker and challenge on Sunday cant wait to see how it all unfolds, hopefully it proves that you just pulled the whiskers of the tiger.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/04/2017 12:03:48    1978765

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats on the win mate, its a long time coming, hard win, but thoroughly deserved. I didn't say it was as important as the Championship, I did say it is becoming increasingly more important competition and I still believe it is, a great achievement to win it outright also. Another great achievement finishing top of the pile amongst your peers in a round robin, so both counties can take a lot of the process. The final itself is a great day out and the icing on the cake, had great craic with you lads, Kildare and Galway on Sunday.

We have a great year ahead and you lads set down a marker and challenge on Sunday cant wait to see how it all unfolds, hopefully it proves that you just pulled the whiskers of the tiger."
Sunday looked more like throwing a stray cat out the door ;D

Only messing, Dublin weren't themselves for large parts so we won't be patting ourselves on the back to hard at all.

Then again Kerry weren't great for most of the first half so we have plenty of improving to do too.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/04/2017 12:28:24    1978770

Replying To TheHermit:  "The facts would suggest otherwise:

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/long-county-wait-first-championship-game-362951"
Can I refer you to Darragh O Se's comments to the Irish Times last July ?
Along the lines of Kerry teams not caring how they got to Croke "the handier route the better" followed by the candid admission the system was "stacked against Ulster teams".

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 12/04/2017 12:36:39    1978775